Summary
What do they do? Institute for Safer Trucking analyzes crashes, supports affected families and presses for safer commercial vehicles. Its work includes automatic emergency braking, speed and underride protections, insurance policy and survivor resources. Our best estimate is roughly $1.6 million per 10 USA QALYs, driven by an explicitly subjective chance of accelerating braking adoption rather than a measured charitable treatment effect.
Why we’re interested in this organization:
Automatic braking has a concrete causal chain to fewer crashes, supported by real-world truck data and regulatory engineering analysis.
A small specialist team brings policy experience and relationships with crash survivors; Road Safe America joined it in 2023.
A national standard could benefit many road users, and the model charges every recipient expense while counting only one health pathway.
Our main reservations:
The strongest uncertainty is whether another dollar changes policy or deployment; meeting access and public comments do not establish that effect.
The speed-limiter proposal was withdrawn in July 2025, and the current AEB agenda still describes a proposed rule—not a final mandate.
Meaningful unrestricted assets and an undisclosed next-dollar workplan weaken funding urgency; supplier and plaintiff-firm partnerships merit conflict scrutiny.
What do you get for your dollar? $1.6M per better life: ten additional quality-adjusted life years in USA. Braking-policy mortality only.
Reports, survivor resources and advocacy engagements are observed service categories, not health units. Model bridge uses residual risk-weighted fleet deployment, additional crash fatalities prevented, then discounted QALYs; no policy-win-to-QALY shortcut.
1. What do they do?
The current portfolio combines research, survivor engagement and multiple vehicle-safety priorities. Survivor resources explain police, insurance, legal and emotional-support issues; Advocacy Days connect families with decision-makers. These are tangible services, but no verified number of effective counseling episodes or safety installations per dollar was located. The health estimate therefore concerns prospective braking adoption—not guide distribution, personal stories or compensation awards.
2. Monitoring and information sharing
The April 2025 congressional statement shows substantive advocacy for braking standards. It does not demonstrate that IST changed a decision. The 2026 agenda still lists a supplemental proposal, with a planned July 2026 date; a planned date is not proof of publication. The July 2025 withdrawal overrides stale homepage language about a forthcoming speed-limiter rule. Useful monitoring would record policy text changes attributable to staff, actual compliant fleet exposure, counterpart decisions absent IST, and follow-up health outcomes—not national crash trends alone.
3. Qualitative assessment
The primary truck study compared Class 8 vehicles on limited-access highways in 2017–2019: AEB was associated with 41% fewer rear-end crashes and 12% fewer police-reportable crashes overall. It was observational, not a randomized charity trial; vehicle selection and bundled technologies limit transport. The NHTSA proposal provides an engineering-to-fatality bridge. We use its AEB-specific 106 annual deaths, not the combined AEB/ESC headline of 155. Future voluntary uptake and implementation are discounted again only for changes after that baseline. Staff experience supports a nonzero policy-role judgment; commercial and legal partners create both useful expertise and incentives that should be disclosed. Other advocacy and survivor benefits are unpriced, not declared worthless.
4. What do you get for your dollar?
At FY2024 scale, five years cost $1.83 million. Our model gives that support an expected 11.1 USA QALYs, approximately $1.6 million per 10 QALYs. This is a portfolio expected value: most realizations may produce no discernible acceleration. The central judgment assumes a 15% coalition-enabled acceleration chance, 10% IST contribution, 50% marginal funding additionality, and a two-year lead in risk-weighted deployment. The favorable scenario is about $44,000 per 10 QALYs; the poor one exceeds $3 billion, with explicit zero and negative cases. Those endpoints are scenarios, not statistical confidence limits.
Only mortality benefits are priced; nonfatal injury reduction is omitted. Twenty QALYs per avoided death is a rounded judgment, not an observed IST result. Full recipient expenses remain in the numerator. Truck hardware, fleet maintenance, regulator work and other charities' budgets are not charitable-recipient spending and are excluded from this donor-cost metric. They remain real social costs: the regulator estimated $396 per AEB installation and substantially larger costs when ESC is also needed. We do not count financial crash savings as QALYs, or subtract them from recipient expense. A social cost-effectiveness analysis would separately compare earlier installation costs and displaced spending in both adoption paths.
Model, assumptions and sensitivity
All recipient program, management and fundraising expenses; five-year constant-FY2024 cost cohort. Only prospective AEB mortality health is quantified. Not restricted AEB efficiency, not total social cost.
Domestic heavy-vehicle crash prevention. Central 99% of modeled health is assigned to residents of 50 states plus DC, allowing 1% nonresident road users. This is a judgment, not a measured residence share; foreign/territorial policy effects excluded.
Fj(t)=min(cap, rate*max(0,t-Lj+1)); A=sum(t=1..T)[F1(t)-F0(t)]/(1.03^t). H=D*r*q*A. Q_all=b*(p*a*H-h); Q_USA=g*Q_all. Cost=C*Y; price=10*Cost/Q_USA when positive. For normalized support G, multiply both cohort cost and Q by G/(C*Y); no linear scaling claim beyond small marginal support.
- C
- 365248 USD / recipient year (observed). FY2024 total functional expenses; no separately netted direct-event, rental, gaming or inventory costs reported. All programs and overhead charged. [ist-irs24]
- Y
- 5 recipient years (judgment). Five-year policy-support cohort priced at constant FY2024 annual scale; not a restricted AEB budget.
- D
- 106 annual fatalities prevented at completed AEB deployment (observed). NHTSA modeled AEB component only, not 155 AEB-plus-ESC deaths. Already adjusts pre-proposal voluntary uptake and dark/weather performance; forecast, not measured deaths. [ist-aeb-rule]
- r
- 0.5 remaining opportunity and transport multiplier (judgment). Halve the 2023 AEB opportunity for subsequent voluntary uptake, narrower eventual rule, real-world transport and execution. Does not reapply all historical uptake already removed from D. [ist-aeb-rule] [ist-agenda]
- q
- 20 discounted QALYs per averted death (judgment). Rounded mixed-age adult road-user expectation; approximately decades of future survival adjusted for quality and 3% discounting at time of death. Range 10–25; not the regulator's monetary fatal-equivalent metric.
- L1
- 5 first deployment year with successful acceleration (judgment). Accounts for regulatory finalization plus new-vehicle compliance lead time; not a claim of a currently effective mandate. [ist-agenda] [ist-aeb-rule]
- L0
- 7 first deployment year absent accelerated coalition effort (judgment). Same eventual adoption but two years later; public agencies, manufacturers and other advocates continue in the counterfactual.
- rate
- 0.07 fraction of residual opportunity deployed / year (judgment). Risk-weighted fleet replacement approximation; slower than immediate installation. Not observed current vehicle penetration.
- cap
- 1 maximum residual-opportunity coverage (judgment). Coverage is of the remaining D*r opportunity, not all trucks.
- T
- 25 future years (judgment). Central deployment paths converge before year 25. The poor scenario converges in years 32–33, so its 25-year truncation omits later positive acceleration benefit; it is not a complete-duration lower bound.
- discount
- 0.03 annual benefit discount rate (judgment). Discount event-year benefits; q is separately discounted from event onward, not double discounting the same interval.
- p
- 0.15 probability of acceleration due to incremental coalition work (judgment). Fifteen percent over five years recognizes pending statutory process and adverse policy climate. Not probability any rule ever passes. This is a subjective expected-value estimate, not identified causal likelihood. [ist-agenda] [ist-speed-withdrawal]
- a
- 0.1 IST contribution conditional on coalition-enabled acceleration (judgment). Ten percent recognizes experienced staff, survivor engagement and stated participation while reserving 90% for agencies, manufacturers and other advocates. No historical rule credited wholesale. [ist-team] [ist-statement] [ist-partners]
- b
- 0.5 marginal support additionality (judgment). Half allows reserves, donor substitution and staff capacity; current public evidence does not identify a funded-versus-unfunded workplan. [ist-irs24]
- g
- 0.99 share of modeled road-user QALYs accruing to 50-state/DC residents (judgment). Domestic crash mechanism, with 1% allowance for nonresident road users. Not measured residence; test .95–1. No territorial or foreign regulatory effects credited.
- h
- 0 other net health harm over five-year cohort, before b and g (judgment). Other portfolio branches and technology-induced harm set net zero centrally; not proven zero or a lower bound. Negative outcomes included in sensitivity.
- deploymentPaths
- [{"year":1,"with":0,"without":0},{"year":2,"with":0,"without":0},{"year":3,"with":0,"without":0},{"year":4,"with":0,"without":0},{"year":5,"with":0.07,"without":0},{"year":6,"with":0.14,"without":0},{"year":7,"with":0.21000000000000002,"without":0.07},{"year":8,"with":0.28,"without":0.14},{"year":9,"with":0.35000000000000003,"without":0.21000000000000002},{"year":10,"with":0.42000000000000004,"without":0.28},{"year":11,"with":0.49000000000000005,"without":0.35000000000000003},{"year":12,"with":0.56,"without":0.42000000000000004},{"year":13,"with":0.6300000000000001,"without":0.49000000000000005},{"year":14,"with":0.7000000000000001,"without":0.56},{"year":15,"with":0.77,"without":0.6300000000000001},{"year":16,"with":0.8400000000000001,"without":0.7000000000000001},{"year":17,"with":0.9100000000000001,"without":0.77},{"year":18,"with":0.9800000000000001,"without":0.8400000000000001},{"year":19,"with":1,"without":0.9100000000000001},{"year":20,"with":1,"without":0.9800000000000001},{"year":21,"with":1,"without":1},{"year":22,"with":1,"without":1},{"year":23,"with":1,"without":1},{"year":24,"with":1,"without":1},{"year":25,"with":1,"without":1}] annual risk-weighted coverage fractions (judgment). Inspectable central paths, F1/F0. Multiplication by D*r yields averted-death opportunity; neither advocacy contacts nor report downloads enter health arithmetic.
Subjective expected value: two-year acceleration: Cost: $1.8M; USA QALYs: 11.074696225260762; all-population QALYs: 11.18656184369774. Parameters {"C":365248,"Y":5,"D":106,"r":0.5,"q":20,"b":0.5,"p":0.15,"a":0.1,"g":0.99,"L1":5,"L0":7,"rate":0.07,"cap":1,"T":25,"h":0}; discounted deployment difference A=1.4071146973204707.
Larger, earlier coalition effect: Cost: $1.8M; USA QALYs: 413.5016257271946; all-population QALYs: 417.6784098254491. Parameters {"C":365248,"Y":5,"D":106,"r":0.8,"q":25,"b":0.8,"p":0.4,"a":0.2,"g":0.99,"L1":3,"L0":7,"rate":0.1,"cap":1,"T":25,"h":0}; discounted deployment difference A=3.0784080912842637.
Small marginal role and weak residual opportunity: Cost: $1.8M; USA QALYs: 0.0056329431619284755; all-population QALYs: 0.005689841577705531. Parameters {"C":365248,"Y":5,"D":106,"r":0.2,"q":10,"b":0.1,"p":0.03,"a":0.02,"g":0.99,"L1":8,"L0":9,"rate":0.04,"cap":1,"T":25,"h":0}; discounted deployment difference A=0.44731458944225877.
Only one-year acceleration: Cost: $1.8M; USA QALYs: 5.619180843358912; all-population QALYs: 5.675940245817083. Parameters {"C":365248,"Y":5,"D":106,"r":0.5,"q":20,"b":0.5,"p":0.15,"a":0.1,"g":0.99,"L1":5,"L0":6,"rate":0.07,"cap":1,"T":25,"h":0}; discounted deployment difference A=0.7139547479015199.
Only 10% funding additionality: Cost: $1.8M; USA QALYs: 2.2149392450521526; all-population QALYs: 2.237312368739548. Parameters {"C":365248,"Y":5,"D":106,"r":0.5,"q":20,"b":0.1,"p":0.15,"a":0.1,"g":0.99,"L1":5,"L0":7,"rate":0.07,"cap":1,"T":25,"h":0}; discounted deployment difference A=1.4071146973204707.
Deployment unchanged: Cost: $1.8M; USA QALYs: 0; all-population QALYs: 0. Parameters {"C":365248,"Y":5,"D":106,"r":0.5,"q":20,"b":0.5,"p":0.15,"a":0.1,"g":0.99,"L1":5,"L0":5,"rate":0.07,"cap":1,"T":25,"h":0}; discounted deployment difference A=0.
No policy benefit plus one QALY net harm: Cost: $1.8M; USA QALYs: -0.495; all-population QALYs: -0.5. Parameters {"C":365248,"Y":5,"D":106,"r":0.5,"q":20,"b":0.5,"p":0,"a":0.1,"g":0.99,"L1":5,"L0":7,"rate":0.07,"cap":1,"T":25,"h":1}; discounted deployment difference A=1.4071146973204707.
Ten QALYs of other net harm: Cost: $1.8M; USA QALYs: 6.124696225260763; all-population QALYs: 6.18656184369774. Parameters {"C":365248,"Y":5,"D":106,"r":0.5,"q":20,"b":0.5,"p":0.15,"a":0.1,"g":0.99,"L1":5,"L0":7,"rate":0.07,"cap":1,"T":25,"h":10}; discounted deployment difference A=1.4071146973204707.
Counterfactual: Public agencies, manufacturers and other advocates continue. Both deployment paths ultimately converge; only acceleration is counted. D already removes pre-NPRM voluntary adoption; r allows subsequent erosion and transport. Existing donor/reserve/public substitution is represented by b.
Attribution: Conditional IST coalition contribution a=10%, separate from coalition-enabled acceleration probability p=15%; neither is observed. Staff experience and public engagement support a nonzero expectation but cannot identify its magnitude. Do not add this national estimate to overlapping charity or state estimates.
Subjective expected-value alpha, not endorsement or observed impact. Central path and p/a/b can all fail; zero or net harm is possible. Scenario bounds do not bound every future. Quantified mortality-only pathway with unpriced other portfolio health is not a proven lower bound.
Sensitivity
- Central A=1.4071146973 discounted residual-opportunity years and H=1491.5415792 QALYs before policy attribution and funding additionality.
- At other central inputs, p*a must exceed 0.0247353 to beat $1 million per 10 USA QALYs, or 0.2473531 to beat $100,000. Central p*a=0.015.
- Any omitted net harm exceeding 22.3731 QALYs over the five-year cohort erases central positive health before b and g. Harm is not discounted by p*a.
- Halving q or r doubles the price. Reducing b from .5 to .1 raises it fivefold. A one-year lead is tested directly; no lead means zero.
- Changing residence share from .99 to .95 raises price by .99/.95; this is small beside uncertain policy attribution. Excluded nonfatal benefits could improve health yield, but cannot repair zero policy additionality.
Unresolved inputs
- Current recipient budget, funded-versus-unfunded projects, staffing capacity and donor restrictions; no verified marginal workplan.
- Evidence tying IST-specific work to a change in adoption timing or performance standard, with other advocates' and agency contributions separated.
- Current voluntary AEB uptake by vehicle class, risk-weighted fleet turnover, future final-rule coverage/compliance and age-specific fatalities.
- Social opportunity cost and unintended health effects of accelerated equipment requirements, and measured health from the rest of the portfolio.
5. Funding and previous grants
The original FY2024 return reports $365,248 of expense: $311,588 program, $39,396 management and $14,264 fundraising. It reports $303,964 revenue, $34,435 cash, $598,138 publicly traded investments, and $635,726 net assets without donor restrictions. FY2024 statements were neither independently reviewed nor audited according to the return. No current capital need or costed incremental policy workplan was located. Assets are not all cash, and the accounting reserve is not proof that gifts have no value.
Original FY2023 and FY2022 expenses are $286,009 and $336,891. These are comparable accrual recipient totals, with no reported direct expenses netted against fundraising or merchandise revenue; their three-year average with 2024 is $329,383. Road Safe America joined during 2023, so program mix changed and the mean is not a constant-output unit cost. Government grants were $123,057 in 2023 but none reported in 2024. Private support could replace reserves, other donors or future public support, which is why central funding additionality is only 50%. Current staffing and an independently costed unfunded opportunity are beta priorities.
Annual expenses
Organization-level spending, including programs, administration and fundraising. The research list averages three comparable, consecutive full fiscal years when available.
- FY 2022: $337K; Institute for Safer Trucking, EIN 84-4943816, 12-month period, Accrual; original Form 990 full recipient expense including any reported netted direct costs. Source
- FY 2023: $286K; Institute for Safer Trucking, EIN 84-4943816, 12-month period, Accrual; original Form 990 full recipient expense including any reported netted direct costs. Source
- FY 2024: $365K; Institute for Safer Trucking, EIN 84-4943816, 12-month period, Accrual; original Form 990 full recipient expense including any reported netted direct costs. Source
6. Sources
- FY2024 Form 990, original IRS e-file. Institute for Safer Trucking / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- FY2023 Form 990, original IRS e-file. Institute for Safer Trucking / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- FY2022 Form 990, original IRS e-file. Institute for Safer Trucking / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Current team and Road Safe America merger. Institute for Safer Trucking. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Current priorities and survivor support. Institute for Safer Trucking. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Advocacy Days. Institute for Safer Trucking. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Survivor Support Guide. Institute for Safer Trucking. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Partners, including technology suppliers and plaintiff firms. Institute for Safer Trucking. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Statement to House trucking hearing. Institute for Safer Trucking and Road Safe America. Published: 2025-04-01; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Effectiveness of front crash prevention systems in reducing large truck real-world crash rates. Eric Teoh / IIHS / Traffic Injury Prevention. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Heavy Vehicle Automatic Emergency Braking NPRM, especially pp. 170–177. NHTSA and FMCSA. Published: 2023-07-06; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- 2026 regulatory agenda: heavy-vehicle AEB. Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs / NHTSA. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Withdrawal of heavy-vehicle speed-limiter proposals. NHTSA and FMCSA / Federal Register. Published: 2025-07-24; retrieved: 2026-09-13.