Summary
What do they do? Brightline combines environmental-justice advocacy, community air monitoring and purifier distribution. Its Eastern SF case study describes 150 purifiers; a later announcement reports 200 homes. These overlapping historical reach figures are not added together. The research hypothesis here is narrower: properly sized non-ozone filtration, installation, power, filters and follow-up for one adult SRO resident with respiratory symptoms. Delivery of that exact complete course is not verified. More
Why this approach interests us
- Reducing indoor particles may relieve respiratory illness when devices are correctly sized, used and maintained.
Our main reservations
- Relevant trials do not establish a positive generic utility effect for symptomatic SRO adults. Particle removal and reported satisfaction are not QALYs.
What do you get for your dollar?
Our provisional best estimate is $3.6M per better life—10 incremental QALYs. Brightline has distributed purifiers in Eastern San Francisco. We model a proposed additional six-month episode for one symptomatic adult, not the effectiveness of every Brightline activity. Its cost, health gain and additional delivery are judgment calls. Inspect the model and sources →
- cost per better life
- $3.6M — per 10 QALYs; six-month conditional donor model
- positive core scenarios
- $267K–$576M — Joint judgments, not a confidence interval; null and harm remain possible
- central unit budget
- $450 — One adult episode; all direct inputs assumed purchased
- funding room
- Unknown — Existing public support is not an unfunded offer
1. What do they do?
Brightline combines environmental-justice advocacy, community air monitoring and purifier distribution. Its Eastern SF case study describes 150 purifiers; a later announcement reports 200 homes. These overlapping historical reach figures are not added together. The research hypothesis here is narrower: properly sized non-ozone filtration, installation, power, filters and follow-up for one adult SRO resident with respiratory symptoms. Delivery of that exact complete course is not verified.
Select additional recipients
Identify symptomatic adults not already receiving suitable funded equipment or comparable assistance.
Install and maintain
Match clean-air delivery to the room; confirm tolerated fan speed, electrical safety, replacement filters and power funding.
Measure health, not only particles
Track repeated preference-based utility against a realistic concurrent comparator.
Scope of this review. Historical SF purifier distribution is verified. This complete episode, clinical cohort, device specification, next available place and restricted price are not verified current Brightline offers. Existing public and partner purifier provision, usual clinical care and alternative assistance without this gift; not permanently polluted air without any help.
2. Monitoring and information sharing
116 former smokers with moderate/severe COPD; two units for six months
Randomized active versus sham filtration trial. Primary SGRQ difference −1.55 (95% CI −5.75 to 2.65): no established improvement. A secondary exacerbation outcome favored filtration.
Our assessment. SGRQ is disease-specific, not a generic utility coefficient; the population and device dose differ from this SRO proposal.
164 children randomized; 12-week modified intention-to-treat analysis
Randomized child asthma filtration trial. No overall symptom-day benefit was established. ASUI is preference-based but disease-specific, not a measured adult-SRO QALY gain.
Our assessment. We retain this contrary evidence rather than extrapolating from particle reduction alone.
Eastern SF households and SRO outreach
Provider case study and announcements. Historical distribution is documented; reported symptom improvements are uncontrolled.
Our assessment. Reach proves activity, not causal efficacy, current available places or donor additionality.
3. Qualitative assessment
Reducing indoor particles may relieve respiratory illness when devices are correctly sized, used and maintained.
Key reservations
- Recipient identity is verified through the official-provider account chain; confirm willingness to restrict the gift and current legal standing before transactional advice.
- Identify an additional SRO cohort beyond funded commitments and actual capacity.
- Quote appropriate devices, labor, annual electricity and filters with paid/in-kind costs separated.
- Confirm room performance, use and maintenance; measure repeated preference utility against a concurrent realistic comparator.
- Deduplicate recipients and account for alternative public provision and displaced benefit.
- The positive utility assumptions are speculative. A null or negative effect could reverse this provisional opinion.
- General donation recipient Brightline Defense, EIN33-1131608, is linked through the official donation-provider account. This is not verification of a restricted offer or current legal standing.
Benefits not included in our estimate
- No separate PM reduction, gas removal, exacerbation, mortality, housing or caregiver QALY bonus.
- Do not sum Brightline and THC/other partner gains for the same resident/device.
- If displaced public devices would have different effects elsewhere, model benefit here minus foregone benefit there; the scalar additionality assumption is insufficient. Do not apply both full displacement and a second equivalent attenuation.
- If donor cash is reduced by public or donated inputs, show their full resource value separately; subsidy does not establish extra health.
- A replacement-filter-only tranche needs its own no-gift runtime comparator and cannot borrow new-device episode effects.
- Suitable non-ozone device, adequate clean-air delivery, tolerated fan speed, electrical safety and correct maintenance are required; ordinary HEPA does not remove gases or remediate mold sources.
- None of the positive scenarios is a confidence interval or posterior estimate. Zero or negative utility is credible.
4. What do you get for your dollar?
$3.6M per 10 QALYs
The central $450 budget is $200 device + $100 consumables/electricity + $150 outreach, installation and follow-up. Every component is an unquoted allowance. A judgmental 0.01 utility gain rises linearly over six months: 0.25 integrated years. Assuming half the delivery is additional gives 0.00125 incremental QALY. No positive utility coefficient is measured for this local program.
A better life is our comparison unit of 10 additional quality-adjusted life years (QALYs), potentially spread across people. These are uncertain estimates, not measured returns or verified donation offers.
How we calculate the estimate
DOLLARS PER 10 INCREMENTAL QALYS: 10 × $450 ÷ [0.5 × (0.01 × 0.25 − 0) − 0]
$3.6M
Model inputs and assumptions
- Complete paid delivery cost, USD
- 450 (range: 450 / 150 / 900). Constructed complete direct episode budget assuming every input is purchased by the donor; includes failed outreach/delivery work and administration. Not an observed gift price. Analyst judgment.
- Assumed plateau utility gain
- 0.01 (range: 0.01 / 0.03 / 0.001). Signed average utility at established effect across offered recipients, already averaging severity, response and clinical transfer. No positive numerical value is empirically calibrated. Analyst judgment.
- Months of linear onset
- 6 (range: 6 / 6 / 6). Linear ramp from zero to plateau; delayed secondary trial findings motivate caution but do not prove linear onset. Analyst judgment.
- Realized exposure share
- 1 (range: 1 / 1 / 0.25). Runtime and maintenance share of integrated benefit; do not add another adherence multiplier. Analyst judgment.
- Additional delivery share
- 0.5 (range: 0.5 / 0.75 / 0.25). Share of episodes additional to existing funded or substitute provision, assuming equal-effect replacement. Not measured capacity or funding room. Analyst judgment.
- Shared intervention harm, QALY
- 0 (range: 0 / 0 / 0). Nonnegative harm inherent in an additional episode and also present in an identical baseline replacement episode. Analyst judgment.
- Donor-specific harm, QALY
- 0 (range: 0 / 0 / 0). Nonnegative extra burden introduced by this donor intervention even if it creates no additional beneficial service; subtracted outside funding factor. Analyst judgment.
Joint six-month scenarios—not available donation packages
- central: $3.6M. 0.00125 incremental QALY per offer; 6 months
- favorable: $266.67K. 0.005625 incremental QALY per offer; 6 months
- pessimisticPositive: $576M. 0.000015625 incremental QALY per offer; 6 months
- null: No finite positive price. 0 incremental QALY per offer; 6 months
Uncertainty. Zero utility gain or pure replacement can give no positive benefit. Shared harms are reduced only under identical replacement; donor-specific disruption is subtracted even when no extra beneficial service is delivered.
Longer persistence is a separate stress test—not the headline
The $89K result requires the favorable $150 budget and 0.03 utility gain, then an extra six months at full effect with no additional delivery cost. That persistence is unverified and excluded from the core range and ranking.
SEPARATE TWELVE-MONTH STRESS: 10 × $150 ÷ (0.75 × 0.03 × 0.75 years)
$88.89K
QALY conversion assumptions
- favorableOneYearPersistence: $88.89K. 0.016875 incremental QALY; not a core ranking input
- sharedEpisodeHarm: No finite positive price. -0.00125 incremental QALY; not a core ranking input
- nonadditionalDonorSpecificHarm: No finite positive price. -0.001 incremental QALY; not a core ranking input
At central health assumptions, a complete episode would need to cost under $12.50 to beat $100K per 10 QALYs. We have not found that offer.
5. Funding and previous grants
We have not verified a priced additional SRO cohort, accepted gift restriction or remaining funding need.
The regional Air District allocated $4M for filtration, not $4M to Brightline. Brightline was named in a separate community-capacity grant selection with up to $300K per organization over three years; its exact executed filtration budget, spending and remaining balance are unverified. Neither number is room for more funding. Donated inputs could lower cash cost but remain resources; participant time and wider societal costs are excluded.
This review does not establish a verified marginal funding offer or a complete history of grants.
Opens the organization’s giving page. A general donation may not fund the specific activity modeled here; confirm allocation with the recipient.
6. Sources
- local-case-study. Brightline Defense. primary page inspected. Published: 2025; page heading and later photograph caption have mixed dates; retrieved: 2026-09-08 research audit.
- local-2025-announcement. Brightline Defense. provider-authored primary indexed text corroborated. Published: 2025-06-27; retrieved: 2026-09-08 research audit.
- current-local-feed. Brightline Defense. provider feed indexed text corroborated; exact post date unverified. Published: Not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-08.
- air-district-public-baseline. Bay Area Air District. primary page inspected. Published: 2026-06-03; retrieved: 2026-09-08.
- general-donation. Brightline Defense. Official page and public HTML independently re-inspected 2026-09-08. Published: Not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-08.
- clean-air-rct. Primary research publisher. primary trial text/table corroborated. Published: AJRCCM 2022;205:421-430; online 2021; retrieved: 2026-09-08 research audit.
- airweighs-rct. Primary research publisher. indexed primary trial/publisher passages corroborated; direct full-page retrieval unreliable. Published: 2025;13(10):2637-2646.e5; retrieved: 2026-09-08 research audit.
- asui-definition. Primary research publisher. primary indexed abstract inspected. Published: Integrating Patient Preferences Into Health Outcomes Assessment, 1998; retrieved: 2026-09-08 research audit.
- donation-provider-identity. Brightline Defense on Givebutter. Readable provider page and public HTML independently inspected. Published: Not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-08.
- jcs-cycle2-award. Bay Area Air District. Primary announcement independently verified through indexed full text; direct URL retrieval intermittent. Published: 2025-07-28; retrieved: 2026-09-08.
Annual expenses: years and sources
Average annual expenses (three consecutive fiscal years): $1,588,643. Organization size is separate from the modeled cost-effectiveness of a donation.
Brightline Defense Project
Whole-organization Form 990 Part I line 18; calendar fiscal years ending December 31.
2024 is the latest filing found. Current and prior-year values cross-checked in 2024 and 2023 returns. Whole organization, not air-filtration program only.