Summary
What do they do? Western Center uses litigation, policy advocacy and legal support to improve health care, housing and public benefits for low-income Californians. Its staff work on issues such as coverage renewal, replacement dentures and birth-center licensing. The conditional estimate prices additional California coverage-related health using the full recipient cost, while leaving other portfolio benefits unpriced.
Why we’re interested in this organization:
Statewide legal and administrative work offers potentially large reach, with specific evidence of implemented reforms rather than only advocacy statements.
Current primary financial reporting separates the operating nonprofit from its endowment foundation and makes all-recipient spending inspectable.
Medicaid access has credible causal health evidence, and new county reporting creates a practical starting point for measuring implementation.
Our main reservations:
The central implementation, coalition and funding-response assumptions are explicit judgments, not measured success probabilities; public-agency and other-donor substitution may be substantial.
Training attendance, reporting laws and populations covered by a policy cannot be counted as additional healthy people.
Coverage gains can be temporary, provider capacity can remain constrained, and housing, benefits and national litigation outcomes overlap or fall outside California.
What do you get for your dollar? $77.1M per better life: ten additional quality-adjusted life years in California. Judgment-based partial-health at full recipient cost; remaining portfolio health unpriced..
Central conditional 10,000 first-year net coverage equivalents become 100 expected donor-attributable first-year equivalents after p*a*b, plus 50 in year two before discount. Calls, training and eligibility are not coverage equivalents.
1. What do they do?
Western Center’s ordinary donation recipient is the California nonprofit, EIN 95-2897721, not a restricted health campaign or its separate endowment foundation. It funds legal staff, policy analysis, litigation, support for local advocates, grants and shared operations across health, housing and public benefits. Recipient and donation route
The 2025 annual report records 107 trainings, more than 4,200 participants and 1,208 technical-assistance responses. It describes replacement-denture litigation with Bay Area Legal Aid, birth-center licensing advocacy, coverage-renewal intervention after the Los Angeles fires, and implementation of county call-center reporting. These show mechanisms and organizational activity, not causal QALYs; the roughly 10,000 annual denture-denial/request figure is not a verified count of extra completed treatments. Its SNAP shutdown lawsuit was voluntarily dismissed after Congress funded SNAP, so the current homepage’s older emergency language should not be treated as a live funding opportunity. 2025 report
2. Monitoring and information sharing
A useful implementation chain is unusually concrete. DHCS identifies Western Center and the Coalition of California Welfare Rights Organizations as SB 1289 co-sponsors; the law requires county call-center reporting beginning January 2026. DHCS legislative summary The operational guidance defines call volume, wait time by language and abandonment, with important exclusions for after-hours calls and callback systems. County instructions A public dataset now covers January–June 2026 and was updated September 5. It verifies data publication, not improvement in call handling or retention. Current dataset
Next measurements should link unique eligible callers to resolved applications, coverage-days and delivered treatment, using county-level comparison trends and controlling for renewal rules, staffing and other navigation programs. For denture litigation, measure approved and completed replacements that would otherwise not occur, time without functional dentures, repeat losses and validated health utility. For birth centers, track new licensed capacity, Medi-Cal contracting, actual births and transfers—not licenses alone.
3. Qualitative assessment
The strongest external bridge is coverage to health, not advocacy to health. Oregon’s randomized Medicaid lottery improved self-reported health and depression, while its two-year clinical study did not detect significant effects on measured physical outcomes. This is not proof of no physical benefit; it does caution against automatically counting life-saving effects for every new enrollee. Clinical trial A later economic analysis maps self-rated health to an approximately 0.05 quality-adjusted health-state difference; that mapping and its survey population limit transfer to current California recipients. Economic analysis Near-elderly expansion evidence finds a 0.132 percentage-point annual mortality reduction in an eligible-population comparison, not per newly enrolled person and not a Western Center effect. It is not added to the utility bridge. Mortality study
Implementation is a real constraint. CDPH confirms AB 55 licensing changes effective January 2026, but licensure does not itself create staff, contracts or safe additional deliveries. Official guidance Western Center’s own listening-session research identifies inadequate reimbursement and insurance contracts as continuing barriers. Birth-center research The enacted 2026–27 budget delays some cuts but retains others, illustrating why policy duration and reversals must be modeled rather than assuming permanent gains. Current budget analysis
The priced scenario concerns additional resolution of coverage problems after the already-required county reporting begins. Publishing call statistics is baseline, not a new donor benefit. A 0.02 annual health-utility increment is a judgment-based attenuation of the approximately 0.05 Oregon mapping, not an observed California effect. The model counts net coverage beyond ordinary renewal, replacement insurance and existing navigation, and does not separately add mortality. Its population scale and implementation probabilities need prospective verification before this can be interpreted as an empirically calibrated forecast.
4. What do you get for your dollar?
The corrected gross operating-expense series is $6,805,266 in 2023, $7,077,961 in 2024 and $7,409,717 in 2025, with a three-year mean of $7,097,648. These restore direct event benefits of $142,255, $215,053 and $179,353 respectively to the reported operating expenses. The separate foundation is excluded, and interentity transfers are not counted twice. These are recognized recipient resources, not a complete valuation of outside donated legal work or public resources. 2023 audit 2024 audit 2025 audit
The conditional central estimate is approximately $77.1 million per 10 California QALYs for a coverage-implementation component, not the whole portfolio. It charges three years of full recipient expense, $22,229,151. The scenario posits 100,000 unique Californians at risk of an administrative coverage interruption, of whom 10% gain otherwise-lost coverage conditional on successful additional implementation. Neither number is a measured WCLP opportunity or a count of callers. A 20% probability of that additional implementation, 20% WCLP causal contribution and 25% ordinary-funding responsiveness yield 100 expected additional first-year coverage equivalents. Half persist for a second year; none are credited afterward. At an explicitly attenuated 0.02 QALY per coverage-year and 3% year-end discount, this gives 2.8843 California QALYs. The third year of cost is included even though this conservative model credits only the first two years of coverage.
Joint low and high assumptions yield approximately $2.95 trillion and $1.30 million per 10 QALYs. These are subjective sensitivity cases, not statistical bounds. Complete substitution gives zero, and an adverse policy or administrative effect can produce net harm. Housing, public benefits, dentures and birth-center pathways remain unpriced rather than assumed worthless. Public medical spending, provider time and coalition resources would increase a full societal-cost denominator; the displayed price does not treat those resources as free.
Model, assumptions and sensitivity
Three years of full recognized operating-recipient gross expense, including separately netted event benefits; excludes separate foundation and avoids transfer duplication. Only a coverage-health component is priced, not complete portfolio or societal return.
g=1 only for the explicitly California-filtered coverage cohort. This is not the share of all organizational or national litigation benefits.
C=3*7409717=22229151; QCA=N*u*p*a*b*q*(1/1.03+r/1.03^2). Central N=100000,u=.1,p=.2,a=.2,b=.25,q=.02,r=.5 gives 2.8843434819492884 QALYs. Price10=10*C/QCA. No coverage benefit after year two.
- Cannual
- 7409717 USD per year (observed). 7230364 reported operating expense plus 179353 direct event benefits. [audit25]
- cost years
- 3 years (judgment). Full recipient cost over a bounded implementation period.
- N
- 100000 unique California people (judgment). Unobserved at-risk cohort hypothesis, not dataset call volume; sensitivity 10000–250000. [callguidance] [calldata]
- u
- 0.1 conditional net coverage gain fraction (judgment). Beyond normal renewal, other insurance and navigation; test .01–.1. [callguidance]
- p
- 0.2 additional implementation probability (judgment). Not historical policy win rate; test .05–.5. [annual25] [budget26]
- a
- 0.2 WCLP causal contribution (judgment). Coalition/public-agency overlap; test .05–.3. [annual25] [99024]
- b
- 0.25 ordinary-funding responsiveness (judgment). Replacement financing and existing resources; test .05–.5. [audit25]
- q
- 0.02 QALY per net coverage-year (judgment). Attenuated 40% of approximately .05 Oregon mapped health-state difference; requires one-year persistence, not measured California yield; test .005–.05. [oregon] [oregonclinical]
- r
- 0.5 second-year retention fraction (judgment). No benefit after year two; test .25–.9.
- d
- 0.03 annual discount rate (judgment). Year-end discount.
- g
- 1 California share of specified branch (judgment). Cohort explicitly limited to California residents. [annual25]
- outside costs
- null incremental societal USD (unknown). Medical, administrative and coalition resources not quantified. [oregon] [99024]
- other portfolio health
- null QALYs (unknown). Housing, public benefits, dentures and birth-center effects unpriced. [annual25]
central: Cost: $22.2M; California QALYs: 2.8843434819492884; all-population QALYs: 2.8843434819492884. N=100000;u=0.1;p=0.2;a=0.2;b=0.25;q=0.02; second-year retention=0.5; three-year cost, at most two coverage years;3% discount. Explicit subjective scenario, not measured WCLP probabilities.
low: Cost: $22.2M; California QALYs: 0.00007540767273070035; all-population QALYs: 0.00007540767273070035. N=10000;u=0.01;p=0.05;a=0.05;b=0.05;q=0.005; second-year retention=0.25; three-year cost, at most two coverage years;3% discount. Explicit subjective scenario, not measured WCLP probabilities.
high: Cost: $22.2M; California QALYs: 170.5509473088887; all-population QALYs: 170.5509473088887. N=250000;u=0.1;p=0.5;a=0.3;b=0.5;q=0.05; second-year retention=0.9; three-year cost, at most two coverage years;3% discount. Explicit subjective scenario, not measured WCLP probabilities.
No additional implementation: Cost: $22.2M; California QALYs: 0; all-population QALYs: 0. Complete substitution or no additional coverage.
Illustrative net harm: Cost: $22.2M; California QALYs: -1; all-population QALYs: -1. One California QALY lost through adverse administrative or policy consequences; judgment stress case, not observed.
Whole portfolio unestimated: Cost: $22.2M; California QALYs: unknown; all-population QALYs: unknown. Other portfolio health remains unresolved.
Counterfactual: Without the additional gift, existing staff, restricted grants, foundation transfers, public agencies, lawmakers, local legal aid and co-counsel continue their planned work. Count only a change in success probability, timing, scope or implementation above that counterfactual; settled historical cases are not purchased anew. Already mandatory call reporting continues; only additional coverage resolution beyond it enters this branch. Benefits begin during the three-year effort. An additional three-year delay raises the price by 1.03^3, about 9.3%.
Attribution: p is coalition-level success of a specified extra implementation change; a is WCLP's causal share of that change; b is ordinary-funding responsiveness after replacement donors and existing financing. Unlike the prior DeltaP formulation, p does not already include a or b. These distinct assumptions are not empirically calibrated.
Conditional subjective central for a selected coverage-health component. Population, marginal uptake, implementation and attribution are unobserved priors. Joint cases are not confidence bounds. Zero and harm are retained; unpriced portfolio benefit is not zero.
Sensitivity
- N,u,p,a,b dominate and remain unverified; no precise success probability is disguised as evidence.
- Zero utility or complete replacement gives no health gain. Coverage duration is finite and may be shorter than assumed.
- Adding outside resource cost E changes price to10*(22229151+E)/QCA.
- No separate mortality, denture or housing QALYs are added to the coverage utility bridge.
Unresolved inputs
- Current ordinary-gift allocation and costed extra staff/case/implementation plan.
- Counterfactual success, timing and scope with and without that extra capacity, holding or modeling co-counsel and agency responses.
- Unique marginal California recipients and care uptake, linked to actual coverage or treatment days rather than total eligibility.
- Utility trajectories and evidence-transfer by age, condition, policy and replacement care; harms and duration/reversal.
- Incremental medical, administrative and partner resources and overlap across policy and legal pathways.
5. Funding and previous grants
The 2025 audit reports $2,154,071 for health, $1,687,854 for housing, $1,942,365 for public benefits/economic justice, $650,733 for management and $795,341 for fundraising. Operating revenue was $6,654,858 against $7,230,364 reported expenses net of direct event benefits, or $7,409,717 after restoring those event costs; a $333,045 recovery of a prior loss is a separate other change, not recurring fundraising. Operating net assets were $4,328,215, of which $3,820,497 were donor restricted. The separate board-designated foundation held $5,226,678 and transferred $480,000. Its assets are potentially available by board action, not a proven reason that a donation is unnecessary. 2025 audit
State Bar-funded subcontracts are visible in the original return, including fair-housing and medical-debt work with partner legal-aid organizations. This makes partner overlap and restricted-funding substitution concrete rather than hypothetical. 2024 return The State Bar documents broader funding pressure, but its sector-wide economic-return claim is neither a Western Center marginal funding gap nor a QALY estimate. Funding brief A current unrestricted hiring, litigation or implementation plan—with the work forgone absent a donation—is still needed.
Annual expenses
Organization-level spending, including programs, administration and fundraising. The research list averages three comparable, consecutive full fiscal years when available.
- FY 2023: $6.8M; Western Center on Law & Poverty, Inc. operating nonprofit, 12-month period, Audited accrual, WCLP operating-entity column plus separately netted direct event benefits; excludes separate foundation. Source
- FY 2024: $7.1M; Western Center on Law & Poverty, Inc. operating nonprofit, 12-month period, Audited accrual, WCLP operating-entity column plus separately netted direct event benefits; excludes separate foundation. Source
- FY 2025: $7.4M; Western Center on Law & Poverty, Inc. operating nonprofit, 12-month period, Audited accrual, WCLP operating-entity column plus separately netted direct event benefits; excludes separate foundation. Source
6. Sources
- Donate and recipient identity. Western Center on Law & Poverty. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- 2025 Annual Report. Western Center on Law & Poverty. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- 2025 audited financial statements, including operating-entity columns. Harrington Group / Western Center on Law & Poverty. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- 2024 audited financial statements. Harrington Group / Western Center on Law & Poverty. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- 2023 audited financial statements. Harrington Group / Western Center on Law & Poverty. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- 2024 Form 990, Part III and Schedule I. Western Center on Law & Poverty / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Enacted 2026–27 health budget comparison with statutory citations. Western Center on Law & Poverty. Published: 2026-07-16; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- 2024 Legislative Summary: SB 1289 co-sponsors and implementation. California Department of Health Care Services. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- All County Welfare Directors Letter 25-32. California Department of Health Care Services. Published: 2025-12-30; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- County Medi-Cal Call Center Data; updated September 5, 2026. California Department of Health Care Services. Published: 2026-08-06; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- AB 55 revised licensing requirements, AFL 26-10. California Department of Public Health. Published: 2026-03-03; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Opening Doors to Birth Centers. Western Center on Law & Poverty and research collaborators. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- The Value of Medicaid: Interpreting Results from the Oregon Health Insurance Experiment. Finkelstein, Hendren and Luttmer / Journal of Political Economy. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- The Oregon Experiment—Effects of Medicaid on Clinical Outcomes. Baicker et al. / New England Journal of Medicine. Published: 2013-05-02; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Medicaid and Mortality: New Evidence from Linked Survey and Administrative Data. Miller, Johnson and Wherry / NBER. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- At a Precipice funding brief announcement. State Bar of California. Published: 2025-11-24; retrieved: 2026-09-13.