Summary
What do they do? Nourish California works to improve access to food through policy and implementation rather than operating a food bank. Its current work includes immigrant food-benefit access and CalFresh fruit and vegetable incentives. Our conditional estimate prices a finite produce-incentive implementation benefit using all recipient spending; other nutrition-policy benefits remain unpriced.
Why we’re interested in this organization:
Food-benefit access has a concrete material-welfare pathway, with randomized evidence that some benefit designs reduce food insecurity.
Current campaigns identify specific administrative and budget barriers.
Original audits reveal funding restrictions and recipient-scale costs.
Our main reservations:
Existing public funding and co-advocates prevent assigning a new donation all policy benefits.
Food insecurity reductions and produce purchases do not directly establish QALYs.
Current source updates materially narrow claims about immediacy and unfunded public opportunities.
What do you get for your dollar? $141.0M per better life: ten additional quality-adjusted life years in California. Conditional nutrition-access QALYs at full recipient cost; not full portfolio or societal cost-effectiveness..
Central 50 additional participant-equivalents for six months, or 25 person-years of improved nutrition access after causal adjustment. This is a modeled state, not observed reduced food insecurity or a count of redeemed transactions.
1. What do they do?
This is an ordinary contribution to the entire Nourish California recipient, EIN 94-3163142, not a restricted food purchase. Research, community engagement and nutrition-policy advocacy are included in the cost denominator. The organization co-leads Food4All with the California Immigrant Policy Center and works with broader partners. Current sponsor-deeming campaign Official donation route and portfolio
AB1049 is a concrete current pathway: removing sponsor-deeming requirements from state-funded CFAP eligibility. The enrolled September 1 text makes implementation no earlier than January 1, 2028, and later if required automation is not ready. It is not presented here as enacted or already producing benefits. AB1049 enrolled text
2. Monitoring and information sharing
The fiscal committee's older analysis estimates $163,500 for CalSAWS reprogramming and nine-to-twelve months after final guidance for automation. This is a public implementation cost, not Nourish's price or a forecast of additional recipients. The same analysis's existing CFAP caseload is not the population newly eligible under the bill. AB1049 Assembly Appropriations analysis
The state fruit-and-vegetable evaluation combines transactions and customer feedback, not a randomized health comparison. Its reported $17.9 million and 155,635 household figures do not support its stated $1,150 average; their simple quotient is about $115. The report does not resolve that discrepancy, so no per-household dose is inferred from it. Survey responses and redemption demonstrate engagement, not incremental dietary intake or health. Fruit and vegetable EBT pilot legislative evaluation
Track implementation timing, distinct additional benefit recipients, actual redeemed amounts, replacement of other food purchases, sustained diet/food-security changes and subsequent health. Avoid counting repeated monthly benefits as repeated lifetime gains.
3. Qualitative assessment
The February coalition request sought $100 million. Current CDSS information instead confirms $20 million additional 2026 funding, while the pilot remains temporarily paused pending restart. The relevant donation opportunity is no longer securing an entirely unfunded restart: it is any incremental expansion, earlier implementation or sustained access beyond the funded baseline. 2026 fruit and vegetable funding request Current fruit and vegetable EBT pilot status
Randomized Summer EBT research found a $60 monthly child benefit reduced very low child food security by about three percentage points. That outcome is not a QALY and the child/summer treatment is not sponsor-deeming reform or a produce rebate. Randomized Summer EBT food-security findings
A national SNAP microsimulation combines incentive effects, diet-disease estimates and health trajectories. Its five-year and lifetime results differ sharply, and its government cost perspective includes subsidies net of other costs. Its ICER cannot be inverted into health per donated Nourish dollar or applied to a short interrupted California pilot without rebuilding dose, horizon and population assumptions. SNAP financial incentives microsimulation
4. What do you get for your dollar?
The conditional produce-incentive implementation estimate is about $140.97 million per ten California QALYs, charging all $1,710,797 of annual recipient expense to this health component. It is not a complete portfolio return. The scenario considers 10,000 additional California participants receiving six months of meaningful improved food access beyond the already funded restart. This scale and exposure are judgments, not the existing pilot caseload or a forecast. The $60 monthly ceiling is not assumed to be the average benefit; the scenario uses $30 per month only to disclose associated public resources.
We assign a 10% incremental coalition implementation effect, 20% Nourish contribution and 25% ordinary-funding response. These are separate subjective priors, not observed probabilities or equal co-lead shares. Combined, they imply 25 additional nutrition-state person-years. At a judgmental 0.005 QALY per person-year and a 3% end-of-year discount, the result is 0.12136 California QALY. No mortality, household multiplier or lifetime diet effect is added. Existing appropriations and public implementation proceed in the counterfactual; only expansion or access beyond them counts.
The implied $1.8 million conditional incentive resource at $30 for six months becomes $9,000 after the same causal factors. Adding that face amount to recipient cost is a conservative resource sensitivity, not a claim that cash transfers equal real social costs. Unrecognized volunteer resources and any unreported investment fees would raise costs further. Failure, full substitution and adverse health remain possible.
Model, assumptions and sensitivity
All recipient annual audited expenses, not restricted campaign cost. Priced health is only a conditional produce-incentive access component. Public incentive and unrecognized volunteer resources are separately disclosed, so central is a donor-resource price rather than complete societal cost-effectiveness.
g_CA=1 for the explicitly modeled California CalFresh participant branch. No household multiplier, outside-state benefit or headquarters population shortcut.
Y=N*T*p*a*b; Q_CA=Y*u/(1+d). N is conditional additional California participants beyond funded baseline; T finite years of improved nutrition state; p coalition incremental implementation, a Nourish attribution, b gift response. C=E; P10=10*C/Q_CA. Public incentive sensitivity adds N*6*30*p*a*b to C centrally. Q_other_CA remains unknown.
- E
- 1710797 USD/year audited full-recipient expenses (observed). Current original audit, all functions. [audit25]
- N
- 10000 conditional additional California participants (judgment). Judgment of incremental implementation scale; not the historical 155,635 households or a forecast.
- T
- 0.5 years of improved nutrition state (judgment). Six months only; no later health persistence.
- p
- 0.1 incremental coalition implementation fraction (judgment). Subjective probability/intensity beyond the funded restart, not enactment probability.
- a
- 0.2 Nourish causal contribution fraction (judgment). Subjective contribution within coalition; co-leadership not sole credit.
- b
- 0.25 ordinary funding response (judgment). Substitution, capacity and reserves discounted once.
- u
- 0.005 QALY per improved nutrition-state person-year (judgment). Judgment; randomized food-security and modeled diet evidence motivate direction but do not calibrate this utility. [sebt] [qaly]
- d
- 0.03 annual discount rate (judgment). End-of-year finite delivery convention.
- incentive
- 30 USD/month conditional public incentive (judgment). Judgment below current $60 cap; not average redemption or a QALY input. [funding]
- Q_other_CA
- null California QALYs (unknown). Immigrant access and other nutrition-policy pathways omitted, not assigned zero true value.
Conditional nutrition-access central: Cost: $1.7M; California QALYs: 0.12135922330097088; all-population QALYs: 0.12135922330097088. N=10000; T=.5; p=.1; a=.2; b=.25; u=.005; d=.03.
Weak implementation and health: Cost: $1.7M; California QALYs: 0.000024271844660194176; all-population QALYs: 0.000024271844660194176. N=1000; T=.25; p=.02; a=.05; b=.1; u=.001; d=.03.
Favorable finite implementation: Cost: $1.7M; California QALYs: 36.407766990291265; all-population QALYs: 36.407766990291265. N=50000; T=1; p=.25; a=.3; b=.5; u=.02; d=.03.
No added access: Cost: $1.7M; California QALYs: 0; all-population QALYs: 0. p=0 or b=0.
Net adverse stress: Cost: $1.7M; California QALYs: -1; all-population QALYs: -1. One California QALY lost from displaced better services or unintended effects; subjective stress, not observed.
Complete portfolio unpriced: Cost: $1.7M; California QALYs: unknown; all-population QALYs: unknown. Other pathways are unknown.
Add attributable incentive face amount: Cost: $1.7M; California QALYs: 0.12135922330097088; all-population QALYs: 0.12135922330097088. Same clinical model; adds 10000*6*30*.1*.2*.25=$9000. Face value is a conservative resource sensitivity, not net social cost.
Counterfactual: Existing public appropriations, CDSS/CalSAWS operations, co-sponsors, retailers, grants and alternate assistance proceed without the extra gift. A temporarily paused but funded program is not an unfunded expansion by default.
Attribution: p, a and b are distinct priors and applied once. N already means additional access beyond existing funded operations; it is not all pilot participants. The assumed improved food state incorporates purchase substitution; no second independent diet multiplier is added.
Uncalibrated policy and utility priors dominate. This is a transparent conditional best estimate, not a confidence interval or complete portfolio value. Nutrition-state change does not have an established one-to-one QALY conversion. The utility prior represents expected net health area over the stated finite horizon, including treatment burden, within-horizon fade and competing mortality; it is not an endpoint score held indefinitely. No survival extension is credited.
Sensitivity
- Central price $140969672.8 per ten California QALYs; public-face-resource sensitivity $141711272.8.
- Halving duration or utility doubles the price. Implementation delay increases price; no restart alone earns credit.
- Strong case is not a calibrated upper bound. Costs of volunteers, public administration and health opportunity costs remain incomplete.
Unresolved inputs
- Current ordinary-dollar staffing/campaign allocation and funding substitution.
- Gift-induced policy implementation probability or timing.
- Affected new benefit recipients and additional redeemed benefits versus alternative assistance.
- Finite utility/survival effects for each actual nutrition intervention.
- Public resource opportunity costs, failures, harms and overlap with coalition partners.
5. Funding and previous grants
Audited expenses are $1,903,169 in FY2023, $2,096,886 in FY2024 and $1,710,797 in FY2025, all years ending June 30; mean $1,903,617.33. The audit basis is retained consistently rather than mixing tax-return totals. FY2024 audited financial statements with FY2023 comparison FY2025 audited financial statements
The 2025 audit shows $1,387,068 program expense, $284,691 administration and $39,038 fundraising. Revenue/support totaled $1,120,000; ending net assets were $1,064,097, including $369,407 unrestricted and $694,690 restricted. Most of the net-asset decline came from restricted balances, so the total deficit is not treated as an equal unrestricted funding gap. Its liquidity note targets six months of operating assets. The auditor dated its opinion October 10, 2025; publication date remains unknown. FY2025 audited financial statements
Ask for the current ordinary-dollar staffing and campaign plan, availability of restricted grants for that plan, and whether additional funding changes enactment, automation or retailer implementation. An unrestricted gift could be valuable for preserving expertise, but that mechanism is not quantified from the historical deficit alone.
The current audit's functional table and notes do not identify separately netted event expenses. Volunteer time that fails recognition criteria is explicitly excluded; the model does not call audited spending a complete societal resource inventory. Its investment-return policy permits net fees without an itemized fee amount, which remains a gross-cost limitation. The FY2024 functional comparative total contains a $50 discrepancy from the statement of activities; the existing audited statement-of-activities series is retained rather than silently changing years.
Annual expenses
Organization-level spending, including programs, administration and fundraising. The research list averages three comparable, consecutive full fiscal years when available.
- FY 2023: $1.9M; Nourish California, 12-month period, GAAP accrual audited; fiscal year ending June30. Source
- FY 2024: $2.1M; Nourish California, 12-month period, GAAP accrual audited; fiscal year ending June30. Source
- FY 2025: $1.7M; Nourish California, 12-month period, GAAP accrual audited; fiscal year ending June30. Source
6. Sources
- FY2025 audited financial statements. Nourish California. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- FY2024 audited financial statements with FY2023 comparison. Nourish California. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Current sponsor-deeming campaign. Nourish California. Published: 2026-08-27; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- AB1049 enrolled text. California Legislature. Published: 2026-09-01; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- AB1049 Assembly Appropriations analysis. California Assembly Committee on Appropriations, mirrored by TrackBill. Published: 2025-04-23; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Current fruit and vegetable EBT pilot status. California Department of Social Services. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Fruit and vegetable EBT pilot legislative evaluation. California Department of Social Services. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- 2026 fruit and vegetable funding request. Nourish California and coalition signatories. Published: 2026-02-24; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Randomized Summer EBT food-security findings. Klerman et al., Applied Economic Perspectives and Policy. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- SNAP financial incentives microsimulation. Mozaffarian et al., PLOS Medicine. Published: 2018-10-02; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Official donation route and portfolio. Nourish California. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.