Summary
What do they do? Harm Reduction Services provides free harm reduction and health-navigation services in Sacramento and nearby California communities. Its portfolio includes sterile equipment and naloxone distribution, infection testing, HIV case management, treatment navigation and a partner free clinic. Staff combine practical supplies with nonjudgmental support and connections to medical care.
Why we’re interested in this organization:
A physical site and mobile services can reach people who face stigma and practical barriers to conventional care.
Naloxone rescue and reduced infection exposure have plausible direct health pathways supported by wider intervention evidence.
The CARES Foundation independently describes continued Project Reach activity in its 2025 grantee report.
Our main reservations:
No current HRS-specific dataset links additional unrestricted dollars to unique people, use of supplies, deaths prevented or sustained treatment.
State supplies, grant-funded operations, other providers and emergency response make total service counts a poor measure of a new donor's contribution.
Original recent returns now anchor total cost, but repeated self-reported reach and unmeasured marginal funding yield leave the numerical estimate highly judgment-dependent.
What do you get for your dollar? $3.1M per better life: ten additional quality-adjusted life years in California. Overdose-prevention benefits only.
Central: 294.817 nominal annual SSP service-person equivalents per $100,000 at total-recipient cost; 147.408 after d; 73.704 after m; 36.852 expected unique opioid-risk people with relevant additional protection after x. Their finite survival difference yields 0.330334 all-population QALYs and 0.323727 California QALYs. These are modeled additional people, not observed HRS outputs, rescued lives or kit counts.
1. What do they do?
HRS's current service page lists a Sacramento counter and weekday mobile distribution of sterile equipment, naloxone and safer-use supplies. Ryan White case managers help people with HIV enter and remain in care, including practical transport and support. ERA helps people navigate treatment and Medi-Cal enrollment; a referral is not verified treatment initiation or retention. The Joan Viteri Memorial Clinic is a partner clinic staffed by UC Davis medical students with physician oversight. Its contribution cannot be credited entirely to HRS.
2. Monitoring and information sharing
The 2025 CARES grantee report confirms Project Reach's equipment, overdose prevention, testing and street-clinic activities. It does not provide HRS-specific incremental health results. The prior 2024 funder summary reports totals across multiple grantees; its 2.2 million syringes and other aggregate outputs must not be attributed to HRS. A useful monitoring dataset would distinguish unique recipients from visits and repeat kits; record kits actually used, reported rescues, independent mortality outcomes and sustained linkage to care; and document whether recipients would otherwise obtain equivalent supplies. Confidential service delivery is valuable, but privacy-preserving aggregate follow-up is needed for this estimate.
New original-return review adds self-reported annual SSP scale, but not a fresh outcome series. The FY2025 and FY2023 Schedule O repeat the same program descriptions and reach figures. We therefore use reported scale only as a discounted cost-model anchor, not as verified current unique people or donor-caused health.
3. Qualitative assessment
CDC's SSP overview describes an association with lower HIV/HCV incidence and no increase in crime or illegal drug use. This supports the service mechanism, not a measured HRS effect. Walley and colleagues found lower community overdose mortality associated with Massachusetts overdose education/naloxone implementation in 2002–2009; the ecological, nonrandomized design and pre-fentanyl setting limit transfer to current Sacramento. Neither a naloxone kit nor a reported reversal equals a death prevented: another responder might have intervened and some overdoses would resolve. Survivors also face subsequent mortality. A QALY bridge must estimate additional survival and its quality over time. Respectful low-barrier care and relationships may help reach people missed elsewhere, but that advantage is not measured here.
A more recent counterweight is the HEALing Communities cluster-randomized trial: its bundled intervention produced an overdose-mortality rate ratio of 0.91 (95% CI 0.76–1.09), without a statistically significant primary effect. It neither isolates naloxone nor estimates HRS, but cautions against transferring large early community associations directly. California post-overdose ED records and an Ontario cohort inform the model's risk scale; these selected patients are not representative of all SSP recipients. The model's individual 10% incremental hazard reduction remains a subjective prior.
4. What do you get for your dollar?
Our conditional best-estimate scenario is about $3.1 million per ten additional California QALYs. This is a judgment-based estimate, not a measured HRS result. Original returns now verify recipient expenses of $1,938,389, $2,062,785 and $1,695,969 for the three 12-month fiscal years ending June 2023–2025: a $1,899,047.67 annual mean. The model uses the latest total, retaining the costs of every program and support function.
Schedule O reports roughly 5,000 SSP people annually. The same number appears in FY2023, so it is not a fresh, deduplicated dataset. We halve nominal reach for that uncertainty, halve proportional delivery for funding replacement and capacity limits, and assume half the resulting people receive relevant sustained overdose protection. These are explicit assumptions, not observed fractions. The resulting additional protection is much smaller than gross service reach, while the model retains all recipient costs.
For these people, the central scenario assumes a 2% annual opioid-fatality hazard and a 10% incremental reduction lasting one year. It integrates the resulting survival difference over ten years, including ongoing overdose and other mortality, a 0.7 health-utility weight, 3% annual discounting and 98% California attribution. It never awards a fresh lifetime to each rescue. The resulting cost per ten California QALYs is about $3.1 million. Simultaneous favorable and adverse assumptions produce roughly $75,000 to $38 billion per ten QALYs; these are stress scenarios, not confidence bounds. Complete substitution can produce no additional benefit. Restricting modeled reach to the separately reported 500 annual training participants raises the central price tenfold. Other potentially valuable HRS services receive no separate health credit in this partial model, and the estimate is not a proven lower bound.
Model, assumptions and sensitivity
Full ordinary unrestricted recipient gift, analytically normalized to C=$100,000. All portfolio/support costs remain in the denominator. E/Y is total recipient expense per nominal annual SSP person, NOT SSP-only unit cost. No naloxone purchase price, restricted gift allocation or extra leverage is assumed. Third-party incremental resource costs remain unknown; this is a donor-dollar rather than societal-cost estimate.
g_CA=0.98 central, 1 favorable and 0.9 adverse are explicit judgments about where direct survivor health is enjoyed. Sacramento and neighboring California service geography is observed; longitudinal residency/migration is not. No population-share or headquarters allocation.
Let E=1,695,969 USD/year and Y=5,000 nominal SSP people/year. N=(C/E)*Y*d*m*x is the expected unique opioid-risk people whose naloxone-response protection is additionally sustained, where d adjusts reported reach for stale/duplicate figures, m adjusts average scale for marginal funding replacement/capacity, and x is the fraction with relevant effective protection. Let h=lambda+mu. S_without(t)=exp(-h*t); S_with(t)=exp(-h*t+lambda*e*min(t,tau)). Q_all=N*u*integral_0^T [S_with(t)-S_without(t)]*exp(-r*t)dt. Q_CA=g_CA*Q_all; price_10_CA=10*C/Q_CA if positive. With a=h-lambda*e and A(k,z)=(1-exp(-k*z))/k, per-person q=u*[A(a+r,tau)-A(h+r,tau)+(exp(lambda*e*tau)-1)*(exp(-(h+r)*tau)-exp(-(h+r)*T))/(h+r)], for T>=tau. Protection changes only opioid fatal hazard for finite tau; afterward both arms again face the same recurrent overdose and other mortality hazards.
- C
- 100000 USD ordinary gift (judgment). Analytical normalization only; not an observed expansion request.
- E
- 1695969 USD recipient expenses/year (observed). FY ending June 2025 original Form 990 Part IX total; all programs and support retained. [hrs-990-2025]
- Y
- 5000 nominal SSP people/year (observed). Schedule O reports approximately this scale; the wording and number are repeated in FY2023, so freshness and deduplication are not established. It is not verified additional or unique reach. [hrs-o-2025] [hrs-o-2023]
- d
- 0.5 current unique share of nominal reach (judgment). Halve repeated self-reported annual scale because no fresh deduplicated series is available; scenario range 0.2–1, not an empirical interval. [hrs-o-2025] [hrs-o-2023]
- m
- 0.5 marginal delivery relative to proportional average scale (judgment). Allow half otherwise proportional expansion to replace funding, replenish reserves or fail to add capacity. SSP reliance on donations makes positive delivery plausible; reserves/grants prevent assuming 100%. Range 0.1–0.8, with separate zero case. [hrs-o-2025] [hrs-funding] [hrs-990-2025]
- x
- 0.5 share with relevant sustained opioid-overdose protection (judgment). Not every SSP recipient uses opioids or gains a usable response network. Current SSP distributes Narcan and includes mobile outreach; reported training covers only 500 annually, so no assumption that all SSP recipients are newly trained. Range 0.2–0.8. This selects usable access among eligible opioid-risk recipients; e separately represents their conditional mortality reduction and does not repeat reach or funding discounts. [hrs-ssp] [hrs-o-2025]
- lambda
- 0.02 annual opioid-fatality hazard without gift (judgment). External risk calibration, not HRS observation. Older California post-overdose ED cohort had 1,863 unintentional overdose deaths/100,000 person-years; Ontario cohort had 1.9% opioid-related mortality in one year. Both are selected recent-overdose cohorts, not general SSP users, and predate the current fentanyl environment. Range 0.005–0.04 is subjective. [ca-post-overdose] [ontario-post-overdose]
- mu
- 0.03 annual competing non-opioid mortality hazard (judgment). Combined central all-cause hazard is 0.05/year; Ontario post-overdose all-cause mortality was 5.3%. Constant long-run hazard is a simplifying prior, not cohort survival follow-up. Range 0.02–0.05. [ontario-post-overdose]
- e
- 0.1 incremental proportional opioid-fatal hazard reduction while protected (judgment). Discounted transfer judgment: older ecological OEND study associated implementation with 27–46% lower community mortality, whereas recent bundled cluster trial estimated RR 0.91 with CI 0.76–1.09. Neither identifies individual HRS effect. Central 10%, stress 1–25%, plus zero, explicitly accounts for other responders and existing naloxone. [walley] [healing-rct]
- tau
- 1 years of additional protection (judgment). One finite year, not permanent risk removal or one year for every repeated kit. Adverse 0.25 year.
- T
- 10 years of survival accounting (judgment). Finite horizon; adverse 5, favorable 20. Continued high mortality in both arms prevents fresh full lifetimes after recurrent rescues.
- u
- 0.7 quality-adjusted life-year utility weight (judgment). Health-state utility assumption, not a value assigned to the person. Stress 0.5–0.8; no HRS utility measurement.
- r
- 0.03 annual continuous QALY discount rate (judgment). Explicit modeling convention in all scenarios.
- g_CA
- 0.98 California share of modeled health (judgment). Mostly local direct beneficiaries, with allowance for migration; stress 0.9–1. [hrs-ssp] [hrs-o-2025]
- incremental third-party cost
- null USD (unknown). Public drug stock, partner clinician time and other induced costs are not measured; societal cost-effectiveness would require them. [ndp] [hrs-m-2025]
Central — subjective conditional estimate: Cost: $100K; California QALYs: 0.3237272964918562; all-population QALYs: 0.3303339760120982. {"d":0.5,"m":0.5,"x":0.5,"l":0.02,"o":0.03,"e":0.1,"tau":1,"T":10,"u":0.7,"g":0.98}; E=1695969,Y=5000,r=0.03,C=100000. Parameters d,m,x,lambda (l),mu (o),e,tau,T,u,g are judgments; this is not a confidence bound.
Favorable joint stress scenario: Cost: $100K; California QALYs: 13.33219380511069; all-population QALYs: 13.33219380511069. {"d":1,"m":0.8,"x":0.8,"l":0.04,"o":0.02,"e":0.25,"tau":1,"T":20,"u":0.8,"g":1}; E=1695969,Y=5000,r=0.03,C=100000. Parameters d,m,x,lambda (l),mu (o),e,tau,T,u,g are judgments; this is not a confidence bound.
Adverse joint stress scenario: Cost: $100K; California QALYs: 0.00002619654031705469; all-population QALYs: 0.000029107267018949653. {"d":0.2,"m":0.1,"x":0.2,"l":0.005,"o":0.05,"e":0.01,"tau":0.25,"T":5,"u":0.5,"g":0.9}; E=1695969,Y=5000,r=0.03,C=100000. Parameters d,m,x,lambda (l),mu (o),e,tau,T,u,g are judgments; this is not a confidence bound.
No additional protection: Cost: $100K; California QALYs: 0; all-population QALYs: 0. m=0 or e=0: complete replacement, no capacity expansion or no improvement over existing responses. No finite positive cost-per-QALY.
Counterfactual: Existing HRS portfolio, grants, state-supplied naloxone, other distributors, informal sharing and EMS continue without the donation. The central m=0.5 allows half proportional service expansion to disappear through replacement, reserves or capacity constraints. The e=0.1 reduction is incremental versus available alternative responses, not the biological reversal success rate.
Attribution: Count the expected unique-person cohort once, not a new lifetime for every kit or reported reversal. Use the full recipient cost so no extra program-allocation factor is applied. Give no additional QALY credit here to HIV/HCV prevention, case management, clinic care or treatment navigation because joint marginal pathways are unresolved; this is a partial-health portfolio estimate, not a demonstrated lower bound. Shared delivery and existing public naloxone are incorporated through marginal delivery/effect assumptions, without claiming that donor cash purchases the drug.
This is a transparent subjective conditional best-estimate scenario, not an identified HRS treatment effect or statistical expected value. New primary accounts and self-reported scale anchor cost; d, m, x, risk and effect remain judgments. The wide favorable/adverse combinations are stress scenarios, not confidence limits or hard bounds. Zero benefit remains plausible. Other portfolio benefits and possible harms are unmodeled; the positive branch cannot certify net benefit.
Sensitivity
- Central price is about $3.1 million per ten California QALYs; favorable about $75,000 and adverse about $38 billion. These simultaneous stress scenarios are not statistical confidence bounds.
- Using only the reported 500 annual overdose-training participants as Y, without changing any other factor, divides benefit by ten and raises price to $30.89 million. This is a consequential alternative, not proof that existing SSP participants lack protective naloxone.
- Replacing latest E with verified three-year expense mean $1,899,047.67 raises central price to $3,458,905.01. No cash-only expense series is inferred by subtracting donated contributions.
- At fixed risk/survival assumptions, halving d, m, x or g halves QALYs and doubles price. d and m represent different mechanisms: reported unique/current scale versus financing additionality.
- At central per-person q=0.00896377893 and g=0.98, $1 million per ten QALYs requires approximately 113.84 additionally protected people per $100,000; $100,000 requires 1,138.37. Central yields 36.85.
- Zero is not excluded, and the favorable number is not an achievable offer. If the gift only sustains existing services that would otherwise continue, the incremental branch vanishes.
Unresolved inputs
- Fresh privacy-preserving annual unique SSP reach and overlap with training, opioid use and actual response networks.
- Marginal staffing/outreach plan and unrestricted cash requirement; current grants, replacement behavior, restricted balances and capacity.
- California client baseline fatality risk and differential timely response with versus without HRS, not reported reversal counts.
- Duration of useful protection, recurrent mortality, utility and migration follow-up.
- Joint non-overlapping HIV/HCV, treatment and clinic effects; incremental public/partner resource costs.
5. Funding and previous grants
The donation page describes a broad range of uses for gifts and offers a direct donation route; no purchase or transaction was made. HRS expressly says Sacramento County does not fund its SSP or drug-use supplies. That does not establish that all SSP costs are donor-dependent. California's NDP FAQ says qualified organizations can obtain free naloxone and test strips, subject to approval and funding; HRS's current allocation was not verified. The 2025 CARES report identifies HRS as a grantee, without establishing an unfilled marginal budget. Additional donations may finance outreach that makes free supplies useful, replace other funding, or build reserves. A costed expansion or threatened-service plan, current liquid resources, grant restrictions and delivery capacity are needed before making a donor-ready claim.
Fresh FY2025 accounts report $540,198 without donor restrictions and $234,490 with restrictions. These are net assets, not available cash or verified funding room. Schedule M reports $384,175 of donated drugs/medical supplies at fair market value; it does not identify naloxone units, remaining stock or the next donation's use. The model does not subtract that contribution from expenses or presume unlimited donated supply.
Annual expenses
Organization-level spending, including programs, administration and fundraising. The research list averages three comparable, consecutive full fiscal years when available.
- FY 2023: $1.9M; Harm Reduction Services Inc., EIN 68-0300656, 12-month period, Original Form 990; accrual; July–June 12-month fiscal year; recipient total expenses including noncash accounting. Source
- FY 2024: $2.1M; Harm Reduction Services Inc., EIN 68-0300656, 12-month period, Original Form 990; accrual; July–June 12-month fiscal year; recipient total expenses including noncash accounting. Source
- FY 2025: $1.7M; Harm Reduction Services Inc., EIN 68-0300656, 12-month period, Original Form 990; accrual; July–June 12-month fiscal year; recipient total expenses including noncash accounting. Source
6. Sources
- Harm Reduction Services home. Harm Reduction Services. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Syringe Service Program. Harm Reduction Services. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Ryan White Case Management. Harm Reduction Services. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Education, Response and Access. Harm Reduction Services. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Joan Viteri Memorial Clinic. Harm Reduction Services. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Donations. Harm Reduction Services. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Funding Sources. Harm Reduction Services. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- 2025 Grantees: Summary of Accomplishments. The CARES Foundation. Published: 2026-04-30; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- 2024 Grantees: Summary of Accomplishments. The CARES Foundation. Published: 2025-04-29; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Harm Reduction Services Inc IRS expense extracts. ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Naloxone Distribution Project FAQ. California Department of Health Care Services. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Strengthening Syringe Services Programs. CDC. Published: 2024-03-20; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Opioid overdose rates and implementation of overdose education and nasal naloxone distribution in Massachusetts. Walley et al. / BMJ. Published: 2013-01-31; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Form 990, fiscal year July 2022–June 2023. Harm Reduction Services / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Form 990, fiscal year July 2023–June 2024. Harm Reduction Services / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Form 990, fiscal year July 2024–June 2025. Harm Reduction Services / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- FY2025 Form 990 Schedule O program descriptions. Harm Reduction Services / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- FY2023 Form 990 Schedule O program descriptions. Harm Reduction Services / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- FY2025 Form 990 Schedule M noncash contributions. Harm Reduction Services / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Mortality Following Nonfatal Opioid and Sedative/Hypnotic Drug Overdose. Goldman-Mellor et al. / American Journal of Preventive Medicine. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- One-Year Mortality After Emergency Department Visit for Nonfatal Opioid Poisoning. Annals of Emergency Medicine. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Community-Based Cluster-Randomized Trial to Reduce Opioid Overdose Deaths. HEALing Communities Study Consortium / New England Journal of Medicine. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.