Summary
What do they do? The Children's Partnership advances California child health through policy advocacy, research and community partnerships. Its work includes Medi-Cal renewal reform and a publicly financed high-school peer-support pilot. The numerical scenario prices a possible renewal-policy benefit using all recipient costs; it does not measure the value of the full portfolio.
Why we’re interested in this organization:
A concrete policy mechanism could reduce paperwork-related coverage gaps rather than merely generate advocacy outputs.
Current original accounts and a detailed pilot evaluation make the organization and implementation constraints inspectable.
Coalition, public-funding and clinical-transfer assumptions are separated and can be revised independently.
Our main reservations:
AB2201 was held in committee on August 13, 2026; future revival, appropriation and extra influence are subjective priors, not an observed opportunity with a calibrated probability.
The peer pilot lacks consistent baseline or controlled health outcomes; positive feedback cannot be converted to durable clinical gains.
The priced renewal slice excludes other portfolio benefits and harms, so its high conditional price must not be read as a complete ranking of TCP.
What do you get for your dollar? $160.7M per better life: ten additional quality-adjusted life years in California. Conditional renewal-policy QALYs at three years of full recipient cost; other portfolio health unpriced..
Discounted additional California person-years insured rather than uninsured due to a funding-sensitive renewal reform. Central 46.4434392122 additional insured person-years, converted to 0.9288687842 QALYs. Counts of bill supporters, school users, grants and favorable responses are not health outcomes.
1. What do they do?
TCP works on health coverage, youth mental health, immigrant-family safety, early care and education. Its current budget assessment describes both funded priorities and failures to fund its renewal and community-health-worker proposals. The ordinary donation route supports this recipient, not an exclusively purchased renewal or counseling service.
2. Monitoring and information sharing
The year-one peer evaluation reports 936 students using support at least once and 140 peer leaders; these groups are not added because overlap is unreported. Its methods note missing baseline data and inconsistent outcome tracking. A reported 96% feeling better immediately is not a controlled clinical effect. Funding-access delays limited implementation; final policy recommendations are scheduled for fall 2027. A different peer-leader randomized trial found no overall attempt reduction and possible harm with poor implementation in younger students; it is a caution about fidelity, not an estimate of TCP's program.
3. Qualitative assessment
The strongest scalable mechanism reviewed is simpler income and asset verification at Medi-Cal renewal. TCP is one of six listed AB2201 co-sponsors, not the sole producer of a policy change. The official text requires an appropriation; the history shows it held on August 13. The scenario therefore concerns a future equivalent reform and its implementation, not credit for an enacted 2026 bill. Coverage can improve health and financial protection, but no monetary welfare benefit is relabeled as a QALY.
4. What do you get for your dollar?
The conditional renewal-policy slice is about $160.7 million per 10 California QALYs. It charges three years of all-recipient spending ($14,929,704) and yields 0.929 discounted QALYs under explicit subjective policy and funding assumptions. This is not TCP's whole-portfolio health return. The LAO's March forecast of 400,000 fewer enrollees by June 2028 from six-month renewals is only a scale anchor, not a forecast of AB2201's effect. We assume 10% is remediable, half avoids actual uninsurance, 0.02 QALY per insured year, two benefit years, 5% incremental coalition success, 10% TCP attribution and 25% gift additionality. The Oregon experiment mapping informs but does not establish the 0.02 transfer. Zero and negative net effects remain possible; favorable stress assumptions are not a confidence interval.
Model, assumptions and sensitivity
All recipient accrual spending for three prospective years at FY2025 scale; no special gift restriction. Agency/public implementation spending is not added to recognized recipient expense. This is a private-donor price, not societal cost-effectiveness.
The modeled renewal population consists of California Medi-Cal residents; g=1 for this branch only. National policy spillovers, other TCP work and non-health welfare are excluded, not assumed geographically identical.
C=3*E. A=1/(1+d)^2+1/(1+d)^3. Y=N*r*u*A*p*a*b. Q_CA=Y*q+Q_other. P10=10*C/Q_CA when Q_CA>0. Central Q_other=0 is an accounting exclusion for the priced slice, not a finding of no other benefit.
- E
- 4976568 USD/year (observed). FY2025 whole-recipient total expense. [tcp25]
- N
- 400000 fewer enrollees by June 2028 in a forecast (observed). LAO reports administration forecast for six-month renewals; not an observed loss or AB2201-specific forecast. [lao-renewal]
- r
- 0.1 remediable fraction (judgment). Only one tenth of scale anchor affected by narrower income/asset evidence simplification; not source-calibrated. [ab2201]
- u
- 0.5 fraction avoiding uninsurance (judgment). Coverage termination does not always imply sustained uninsured time; excludes alternative coverage/re-enrollment. [oregon]
- q
- 0.02 QALY/additional insured person-year (judgment). Transfer below Oregon's 0.05 mapped self-reported health estimate; short gaps, population and clinical access differ. [oregon]
- p
- 0.05 incremental coalition implementation probability (judgment). Small subjective option value after held bill and appropriation failure; no empirical success-rate calibration. [ab2201-history] [tcp-budget]
- a
- 0.1 TCP coalition attribution fraction (judgment). Multiple advocates and state actors; TCP co-sponsor status is not a measured causal share. [tcp-renewal]
- b
- 0.25 marginal funding additionality (judgment). Allows large substitution given unrestricted reserves and existing public implementation resources. [tcp25] [dhcs-peer]
- T
- 2 benefit years (judgment). Carries June2028 forecast scale through two full modeled years; timing and persistence are assumptions, not source annual estimates.
- d
- 0.03 annual discount rate (judgment). Benefits arrive at years 2 and 3; no lifetime or perpetual persistence.
- Q_other
- null net QALYs from remaining portfolio (unknown). Excluded from priced slice; material whole-portfolio gap.
Renewal-policy slice: subjective central, not full portfolio: Cost: $14.9M; California QALYs: 0.928868784243457; all-population QALYs: 0.928868784243457. N=400000;r=.1;u=.5;q=.02;p=.05;a=.1;b=.25;T=2;lag=2;d=.03;other portfolio excluded.
No additional implementation or funding effect: Cost: $14.9M; California QALYs: 0; all-population QALYs: 0. p=0 or b=0; no finite positive health price.
Weak remedy and attribution stress: Cost: $14.9M; California QALYs: 0.0008359819058191113; all-population QALYs: 0.0008359819058191113. r=.03;u=.25;q=.005;p=.01;a=.03;b=.1;other inputs central.
Strong implemented reform stress, not likely upper bound: Cost: $14.9M; California QALYs: 178.34280657474375; all-population QALYs: 178.34280657474375. r=.3;u=.8;q=.05;p=.2;a=.2;b=.5;T=2 and timing unchanged.
Unpriced harm outweighs modeled slice: Cost: $14.9M; California QALYs: -1.0711312157565431; all-population QALYs: -1.0711312157565431. Stress only: 2 net additional QALYs lost elsewhere; not an observed harm estimate.
Counterfactual: Already planned county automation, federal compliance, other advocates and the funded pilot proceed without the additional ordinary gift. A future renewal reform must improve on that baseline; present AB2201 is held, not enacted. No effect from merely preserving current grant-supported activity is credited.
Attribution: p is coalition-induced incremental implementation probability over a three-year support window, including revival/appropriation, not the chance some law passes. a assigns only TCP's portion of that coalition contribution. b discounts additional ordinary funding for substitution, reserves and marginal capacity. No six-way equal attribution inferred from co-sponsorship.
High structural and subjective uncertainty. This finite central is a policy-option planning prior, not an empirically identified posterior or total portfolio return. Other policy and pilot outcomes could dominate either way. Scenarios are stress cases, not bounds or confidence intervals. The utility prior represents expected net health area over the stated finite horizon, including treatment burden, within-horizon fade and competing mortality; it is not an endpoint score held indefinitely. No survival extension is credited.
Sensitivity
- Price is inversely proportional to each r,u,q,p,a,b; tenfold error in a prior yields tenfold price error.
- At q=.02 the 3-year cost basis requires 7464.852 additional discounted insured person-years for $1m/10 QALYs, or 74648.52 for $100k/10; central has only46.4434.
- Do not add this renewal branch to NHeLP or other co-sponsor estimates without a joint overlap model; administrative loss groups may overlap federal-rule forecasts.
- Removing the clinical transfer or funding additionality collapses the finite result. Full portfolio rank remains unidentified.
Unresolved inputs
- Policy-specific eligible caseload and prevented uninsured duration under a feasible funded successor reform.
- Evidence that an ordinary gift changes TCP capacity and policy outcomes beyond existing grants/reserves.
- Causal coalition and TCP contribution; empirical calibration of revival/appropriation probability.
- Controlled clinical and harms results for peer support, overlap with existing care and unpriced portfolio benefits.
5. Funding and previous grants
The 2025 return reports $4,976,568 expenses, $5,492,357 revenue and $3,239,977 unrestricted net assets; restricted net assets were $6,745,074. Functional spending was $4,034,623 program, $659,310 administration and $282,635 fundraising. Schedule D reconciles audited expenses to the return and separately records $2 million agency funds. The 2024 return supplies the earlier comparative years. The pilot's $8 million public award is not an ordinary-gift funding gap. Recognized recipient expenses are not all governmental implementation costs, and reserves do not establish that donations are unnecessary.
A targeted review of the original 2023–25 returns confirms no separately netted fundraising or inventory costs and no Schedule D donated-service expense adjustment. The 2023 and 2024 return totals already include $44,279 and $22,318 of speaking-event expenses excluded from the corresponding audited-statement presentation. Those amounts are not added twice. The 2025 reconciliation matches $4,976,568 without adjustment. These costs cover the recipient, not all public implementation resources.
Annual expenses
Organization-level spending, including programs, administration and fundraising. The research list averages three comparable, consecutive full fiscal years when available.
- FY 2023: $4.4M; The Children's Partnership (EIN 46-4106389), 12-month period, Accrual Form 990 gross recipient expenses, including speaking-event costs; no netted fundraising/COGS or Schedule D donated-service addback reported.. Source
- FY 2024: $5.1M; The Children's Partnership (EIN 46-4106389), 12-month period, Accrual Form 990 gross recipient expenses, including speaking-event costs; no netted fundraising/COGS or Schedule D donated-service addback reported.. Source
- FY 2025: $5.0M; The Children's Partnership (EIN 46-4106389), 12-month period, Accrual Form 990 gross recipient expenses, including speaking-event costs; no netted fundraising/COGS or Schedule D donated-service addback reported.. Source
6. Sources
- 2025 Form 990, Parts I, III, VIII–X and XII. The Children's Partnership / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- 2024 Form 990, including prior-year comparative expenses. The Children's Partnership / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- 2025 Form 990 Schedule D: agency liability and audited reconciliation. The Children's Partnership / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- State builds California budget for child health equity. The Children's Partnership. Published: 2026-07-06; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Medi-Cal Renewal Relief Act (AB 2201) Brings Back Proven Public Health Strategy. The Children's Partnership. Published: 2026-04-27; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- AB2201 amended text. California Legislature. Published: 2026-07-02; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- AB2201 official bill history. California Legislature. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- The 2026-27 Budget: Medi-Cal Analysis. Legislative Analyst's Office. Published: 2026-03-02; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Peer-to-Peer Youth Mental Health: Year 1 Findings, November 2025. The Children's Partnership / Dr. Dee Strategies and KDSM Consulting. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- California launches pilot program in high schools to support youth mental health. California Department of Health Care Services. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Impact of the Sources of Strength Peer Leader Program on Suicide Attempt Rates in 40 High Schools: A Cluster Randomized Controlled Trial. Wyman and colleagues / School Mental Health. Published: 2025-09-05; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- The Value of Medicaid: Interpreting Results from the Oregon Health Insurance Experiment. Finkelstein, Hendren and Luttmer / Journal of Political Economy. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Official ordinary donation page. The Children's Partnership. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- FY2023 original IRS990. The Children's Partnership / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- FY2023 original IRS990ScheduleD. The Children's Partnership / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- FY2024 original IRS990ScheduleD. The Children's Partnership / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.