Summary
What do they do? California Pan-Ethnic Health Network combines community organizing, research and policy advocacy. It seeks more equitable access to publicly and privately financed health care. The conditional estimate prices a coverage-preservation component at full recipient cost, not its complete portfolio.
Why we’re interested in this organization:
A statewide policy portfolio can influence access beyond the number of people directly reached.
Its research connects demographic disparities to specific delivery-system problems.
Current budget and original financial sources allow independent checks of claims and capacity.
Our main reservations:
Neither policy participation nor a preserved public budget establishes the extra gift's causal share.
Existing reserves, grants and public enforcement make marginal funding additionality uncertain.
More reporting, treatment contacts or financial relief do not automatically produce QALYs.
What do you get for your dollar? $153.8M per better life: ten additional quality-adjusted life years in California. Conditional partial-health estimate at full recipient cost; other portfolio benefits unpriced..
Central 6.675113839285714 policy capacity-year equivalents and 16.687784598214286 net California coverage-person-years. Modeled equivalents, not jobs promised or enrollees observed.
1. What do they do?
California Pan-Ethnic Health Network, EIN 94-3306223, combines community networks, policy advocacy, research and technical assistance. Its strategic plan emphasizes translating data into action, defending existing care and strengthening community-led policy capacity. This is not a direct clinical-service recipient, and this report does not recast it as one. Strategic plan 2023–2028
The July 2026 multilingual Our Money, Our Health Care campaign adds public education and engagement around affordability and system change. Website visits, voter pledges and language availability are activity measures; their health value depends on subsequent policy and service changes. Our Money, Our Health Care launch
2. Monitoring and information sharing
The original July 2026 Landscape of Access report examines adult Medi-Cal data, principally FY2020–2023, alongside later quality/workforce measures. Its access definition is at least one service; continued engagement means at least five, not clinical recovery. It explicitly warns that recent reforms cannot be evaluated from these earlier data. Figure 18, visually checked, shows 42.8% of 2023 specialty inpatient stays followed by step-down care within seven days and 47.9% with none recorded. These are stays, not unique patients saved. Landscape of Access: Mental Health Disparities in Medi-Cal
The state confirms an existing statutory performance-dashboard framework, including AB 470, which CPEHN sponsored. The defensible success is improved accountability infrastructure, not all statewide care delivered under Medi-Cal. A new gift needs evidence that better analysis or organizing changes a funded action, uptake or delay. Mental Health Services Performance Dashboard statutory framework
Track pre-specified policy objectives, unsuccessful efforts, distinct partner contributions, implementation timing, actual effective care, unique beneficiaries and finite health outcomes. A stable access rate during rising enrollment is not itself evidence of zero policy impact.
3. Qualitative assessment
CPEHN's June 2026 budget statement credits communities and legislative allies for blocking or delaying several health cuts. Current DHCS guidance independently confirms the dental change is delayed to July 1, 2027, while distinguishing existing members from new applicants. The agency also specifies a $21,000 single-person asset limit beginning that date. Those policy differences are real; the counterfactual without CPEHN or without an additional donation is not independently measured. Response to final FY2026–27 budget agreement Current dental benefit-change FAQ Current Medi-Cal asset-limit FAQ
Affordability work has multiple mechanisms. Randomized retrospective medical-debt relief found no average improvement in measured health or utilization, cautioning against translating face-value debt into health. That is not a trial of prospective insurance or hospital financial assistance. A Kaiser Permanente regression-discontinuity study found increased utilization and management of treatment-sensitive conditions after financial assistance, with utilization effects dissipating after three quarters; it did not supply a CPEHN QALY yield. Effects of Medical Debt Relief: Evidence from Two Randomized Experiments Financial assistance and health-care utilization at Kaiser Permanente
Public spending preserved by advocacy still consumes resources and may displace other services. Count effective access net of these alternatives, not every dollar protected as a health benefit. Rights, participation and financial security have value that a health-only price does not fully represent.
4. What do you get for your dollar?
The conditional coverage-preservation estimate is $153.81 million per ten California QALYs, charging all $4,984,085 of gross recognized recipient costs. It is a planning prior for one component, not a complete portfolio value. A 30% allocation to comparable policy capacity and a $224,000 loaded capacity-year are judgments; the latter uses the previously reviewed advertised $160,000 salary midpoint plus 40% overhead. Neither a live vacancy nor a donation-dependent position is assumed.
We assume each capacity-year is associated with 100 conditional California person-years avoiding genuine uninsurance through future coverage-protection implementation, then retain 10% as CPEHN's net contribution beyond coalition/public alternatives and 25% as ordinary-funding response. The 100-person-year yield is not an empirical success rate or a share of a past budget win. It implies 16.688 additional coverage-person-years. At a judgmental 0.02 QALY per person-year and 3% discount, health is 0.324035 California QALYs. Only one benefit-year per person is counted.
This component concerns full coverage preserved, not dental-only services valued as full insurance. Current enacted protections remain in the baseline. Other behavioral-health, dental, affordability, rights and organizing outcomes are unpriced. A public-resource sensitivity adds a judgmental $5,000 per net coverage-person-year; it is not a public expenditure forecast or a net societal opportunity-cost estimate.
Model, assumptions and sensitivity
Full annual recipient gross recognized resources including donated services, all functions. Priced coverage slice excludes other portfolio health; public clinical resources separately tested. Annual full cost is a ratio normalization, not a verified donation tranche; proportional scaling assumes the stated policy-capacity response.
California coverage-person-years only, g_CA=1; no national or dental-only coverage equivalent. Not an allocation based on headquarters.
F=C*f/k; Y=F*y*a*b; Q_CA=Y*q/(1+d); price10=10*C/Q_CA. y is conditional full-coverage person-years per capacity-year, before CPEHN attribution a and ordinary funding response b. Each benefit lasts one year; no repeated lifetime gain. Public resource stress adds Y*5000 to C.
- C
- 4984085 USD/year gross recognized recipient costs (observed). 2025 return plus $14,000 donated services. [return25] [schedule2025]
- f
- 0.3 capacity allocation fraction (judgment). Unrestricted portfolio allocation judgment.
- k
- 224000 USD/capacity-year (judgment). 160000 advertised midpoint times1.4 overhead; not a current vacancy or observed marginal cost. [jobs]
- y
- 100 conditional California insured person-years/capacity-year (judgment). Explicit policy productivity prior; not a forecast or past-win share.
- a
- 0.1 net CPEHN causal contribution (judgment). Beyond partners and ordinary public action.
- b
- 0.25 ordinary-funding response (judgment). Capacity, reserve and restricted-grant substitution.
- q
- 0.02 QALY/additional insured person-year (judgment). Clinical transfer judgment below Oregon mapped value; not dental-only health. [oregon]
- d
- 0.03 annual discount (judgment). One-year benefit only.
- Q_other_CA
- null California QALYs (unknown). Other portfolio effects not priced.
Conditional coverage-capacity central: Cost: $5.0M; California QALYs: 0.3240346523925104; all-population QALYs: 0.3240346523925104. f=.3;k=224000;y=100;a=.1;b=.25;q=.02;d=.03.
Weak influence and response: Cost: $5.0M; California QALYs: 0.00008064862459546926; all-population QALYs: 0.00008064862459546926. f=.1;k=300000;y=10;a=.02;b=.05;q=.005;d=.03.
Favorable coverage influence: Cost: $5.0M; California QALYs: 84.00898395361381; all-population QALYs: 84.00898395361381. f=.5;k=180000;y=1000;a=.25;b=.5;q=.05;d=.03.
No additional coverage: Cost: $5.0M; California QALYs: 0; all-population QALYs: 0. a=0 or b=0.
Net adverse stress: Cost: $5.0M; California QALYs: -1; all-population QALYs: -1. One California QALY lost to displaced better policy/services; judgment, not observed harm.
Complete portfolio unknown: Cost: $5.0M; California QALYs: unknown; all-population QALYs: unknown. Other effects may dominate.
Add coverage resource stress: Cost: $5.1M; California QALYs: 0.3240346523925104; all-population QALYs: 0.3240346523925104. Same health; $5000 per net additional coverage-person-year, judgment only.
Counterfactual: Already enacted budget protections, public administration, county programs and co-advocates proceed. Only future policy implementation preserving actual insurance beyond those alternatives counts. Dental-only delay and existing dashboard activity receive no full-insurance credit.
Attribution: a includes coalition and alternative implementation attribution, b gift capacity/substitution; each once. Conditional y is not already donor-attributable, and no further probability is added. Source role salary is scale only.
Conditional policy productivity, allocation and contribution are uncalibrated judgments. Clinical transfer from Oregon is uncertain; this is neither measured CPEHN effectiveness nor complete portfolio rank.
Sensitivity
- Central price $153813333.33333334/10 California QALYs. Public resource stress adds $83438.92299107143.
- No past budget protection is assigned retrospectively to a future gift.
- Tenfold lower y gives tenfold higher price; the productivity prior dominates.
Unresolved inputs
- Current flexible campaign allocation and donation-responsive staffing.
- Future full-coverage mechanism and causal person-year yield beyond public/co-advocate baseline.
- Empirical clinical transfer, public costs and overlap with other organizations.
- Other portfolio effects and health opportunity costs.
5. Funding and previous grants
The original accrual returns and donated-service reconciliation yield gross expenses of $3,519,505 in 2023, $3,815,465 in 2024 and $4,984,085 in 2025, a comparable mean of $4,106,351.67. The prior-year comparison comes from the 2024 filing. Original 2024 Form 990 with 2023 comparative
In 2025, program expense was $4,487,641, administration $410,932 and fundraising $71,512. Revenue was $6,689,367, including $842,834 government grants. Ending net assets were $14,139,878, comprising $8,618,940 without donor restrictions and $5,520,938 restricted. These balances and the surplus make the marginal funding plan important; neither automatically proves saturation nor establishes a current cash gap. The original return's submission/signature date is not represented as its publication date. Original 2025 Form 990
The recruiting firm's live page advertises campaign leadership, but its undated posting does not prove the role is still vacant or donation-dependent. Ask whether an ordinary contribution advances hiring, preserves capacity otherwise lost, supports community partners, funds a specific implementation opportunity, or changes reserve plans. The donation target is the official site's outbound Donate link; no transaction was made. Deputy Director campaign-leadership search Official site donation link
Fresh original Schedule D checks add $19,000 donated services in 2023 and $14,000 in 2025, with none in 2024. The 2025 return already includes $41,391 of investment expenses excluded from audit presentation; these are not added twice. All three returns show no separately netted event or inventory cost. This corrects the earlier return-only resource denominator.
Annual expenses
Organization-level spending, including programs, administration and fundraising. The research list averages three comparable, consecutive full fiscal years when available.
- FY 2023: $3.5M; California Pan-Ethnic Health Network, 12-month period, Accrual gross recognized recipient expense: return expense plus donated services excluded from return; investment fees retained.. Source
- FY 2024: $3.8M; California Pan-Ethnic Health Network, 12-month period, Accrual gross recognized recipient expense: return expense plus donated services excluded from return; investment fees retained.. Source
- FY 2025: $5.0M; California Pan-Ethnic Health Network, 12-month period, Accrual gross recognized recipient expense: return expense plus donated services excluded from return; investment fees retained.. Source
6. Sources
- Original 2025 Form 990. California Pan-Ethnic Health Network, IRS filing via ProPublica. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Original 2024 Form 990 with 2023 comparative. California Pan-Ethnic Health Network, IRS filing via ProPublica. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Strategic plan 2023–2028. California Pan-Ethnic Health Network. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Landscape of Access: Mental Health Disparities in Medi-Cal. California Pan-Ethnic Health Network. Published: 2026-07-29; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Mental Health Services Performance Dashboard statutory framework. California Department of Health Care Services. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Response to final FY2026–27 budget agreement. California Pan-Ethnic Health Network. Published: 2026-06-26; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Current dental benefit-change FAQ. California Department of Health Care Services. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Current Medi-Cal asset-limit FAQ. California Department of Health Care Services. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Our Money, Our Health Care launch. California Pan-Ethnic Health Network. Published: 2026-07-20; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Deputy Director campaign-leadership search. NPAG, recruiting for CPEHN. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Effects of Medical Debt Relief: Evidence from Two Randomized Experiments. Kluender, Mahoney, Wong and Yin, Quarterly Journal of Economics. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Financial assistance and health-care utilization at Kaiser Permanente. Adams et al., American Economic Review: Insights. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- The Value of Medicaid: Interpreting Results from the Oregon Health Insurance Experiment. Finkelstein, Hendren and Luttmer, Journal of Political Economy. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Official site donation link. California Pan-Ethnic Health Network. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Original 2023 Schedule D expense reconciliation. CPEHN / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Original 2024 Schedule D expense reconciliation. CPEHN / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Original 2025 Schedule D expense reconciliation. CPEHN / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.