Summary
What do they do? Upstream USA trains and supports healthcare organizations to make patient-centered contraceptive counseling and a full range of methods available in routine care. Its work includes clinical and operational training, billing and data support, policy partnerships and the newer FreeBC direct-care initiative. The relevant health benefit is helping patients obtain the care they want and avoid unwanted health burdens, not treating fewer births or more device insertions as benefits by themselves.
Why we’re interested in this organization:
Randomized external evidence shows that provider training can improve contraceptive access and reduce pregnancy among patients who do not want to become pregnant.
Upstream has national implementation capacity and reports patient experience, including pressure to use a method, rather than relying solely on device uptake.
The newer direct-care pathway can address affordability and removal access, while established clinic partnerships may sustain improvements beyond the initial training.
Our main reservations:
Controlled Delaware results are much more modest than broad before-and-after claims, and increased LARC use is not equivalent to more patient-desired access or health.
Current unrestricted net assets are nearly seven times annual expenses, making a small new donation's effect on service expansion uncertain.
Patient health utility, persistence, new-patient reach and funding additionality dominate the model; the cautious central is poor, and zero or negative net benefit remains possible.
What do you get for your dollar? $591.9M per better life: ten additional quality-adjusted life years in USA.
Observed new partnership population in 2025: 445,000 reproductive-age patients; these are not additional contraceptive users. Central c=$107.1585 and b=.1 imply about $1,072 per funding-additional newly covered person. Central d=.001 and T=3 imply 0.002829 discounted patient-desired episodes avoided per such person, or about $379,000 per episode before patient-health conversion. These are modeled native outcomes, not reported outcomes.
1. What do they do?
Upstream's current impact page reports more than 280 partner healthcare organizations serving over a million reproductive-age patients annually. These are partner populations, not a count of patients whose care changed. Its 2025 return identifies newly added partnerships serving 445,000 reproductive-age patients, within a national expansion program. FreeBC currently offers Colorado patients free online pills, patches and rings and in-person methods with procedure/removal coverage. This new channel may have different costs and effects; no public marginal allocation or completed patient cohort was identified.
2. Monitoring and information sharing
The current impact page reports 92% satisfaction with method timing, 96% receiving sufficient information, and 93% reporting no pressure to choose a method; 4% reported pressure and 3% were unsure or did not respond. These are descriptive patient reports without a matched counterfactual, not proof that Upstream caused either every favorable experience or the reported pressure. It also reports tripled screening and roughly one in four primary-care patients receiving counseling or a method. Screening, counseling and initiation need separate denominators, patient preferences, removals, adverse events and longitudinal outcomes before conversion to health.
3. Qualitative assessment
In the 40-clinic randomized trial, training increased LARC selection and reduced pregnancy after family-planning visits from 15.4 to 7.9 per 100 person-years among young patients not wanting pregnancy that year; the abortion-visit subgroup did not benefit. This supports a mechanism, not Upstream's current population-average effect. Delaware Medicaid analysis found a late adult LARC increase of 0.26 percentage points and larger adolescent increases, but inconsistent any-method initiation. Public reimbursement changes accompanied private implementation. A synthetic-control study found no significant resident abortion-rate reduction. Patient health must be valued separately: pregnancy-context research shows that unintended, unwanted and unhappy are different categories and utility results depend strongly on measurement. We count neither an averted birth nor abortion as a QALY, attach no negative value to a child's existence, and retain treatment/coercion downside. A privately insured Delaware cohort found a 0.3-percentage-point increase in LARC insertion, concentrated in younger patients. It found no clear any-method initiation change; interpretation is access or method substitution, not demonstrated health gain.
4. What do you get for your dollar?
The cautious patient-health pathway gives about $590 million per 10 USA QALYs; a deliberately favorable scalable case is about $68,000, while the poor case has negative net health. This extraordinary spread is a warning against reading the central as measured precision. The planning cost is about $107 per newly covered reproductive-age patient, obtained from full recipient spending divided by new partner population; it is not a treatment cost or demonstrated marginal production rate. A small share of that population is assumed to experience additional patient-desired pregnancy avoidance, with a separately judged 0.01 QALY per avoided episode and an adverse-burden allowance. Noncontraceptive symptom relief, broader autonomy benefits and FreeBC's distinct pathway remain unquantified; none is silently asserted absent. This evidence does not support a confident high-EV recommendation for the next unrestricted donation.
Model, assumptions and sensitivity
Ordinary unrestricted recipient donation. G=$10,000 is arithmetic normalization only. c uses full recipient expenses, including operations, grants, management and fundraising, per new partner population as a conservative planning anchor. It is not observed marginal cost, and no existing patient is assumed newly treated merely by being covered. Partner clinical resource costs paid by insurance are excluded from donor cost but require a separate social-cost sensitivity. No avoided public spending is netted from the donation.
The original return identifies domestic partnerships and no foreign operational activity. FreeBC currently operates in Colorado. g=.99 is an outcome-weighted residence allowance for incidental nonresident/foreign spillovers; range .98–1. No national benefit is allocated by headquarters, citizenship or share of states covered. All US states and DC count.
D(T)=sum[t=1..T](1.03)^(-t). N=(G/c)×b. Q_all=N×(d×D×q−h). Q_USA=Q_all×g. Price per 10=10G/Q_USA only when Q_USA>0. d is Upstream-attributable patient-desired pregnancy episodes avoided per newly covered person-year; q is net patient health per episode, not lives not born. h is incremental treatment/adverse-experience health burden per newly covered person over the intervention horizon, retained even when d=0.
- G
- 10000 USD normalization (judgment). Arithmetic scale only, not a verified funding tranche.
- FY2025 expense
- 47685527 USD (observed). Original Form 990 full functional expense. [up-99025]
- New partner reproductive-age population
- 445000 patients in partner population (observed). 2025 accomplishment narrative; does not establish unique treated patients or causal health change. [up-99025]
- c
- 107.15848764044944 USD/newly covered person (judgment). 47,685,527/445,000 planning ratio. Full current spending includes maintenance and expansion, so not a measured marginal cost. Favorable25, poor200; linked service-cost data required. [up-99025]
- b
- 0.1 funding and capacity additionality (judgment). Large liquid investment base and nearly seven expense-years unrestricted net assets motivate a strong discount. Range0–.8 is sensitivity, not observed probability. [up-99025] [up-impact]
- d
- 0.001 additional patient-desired pregnancies avoided/person-year (judgment). One per1000 newly covered people, net of patient selection, usual care and public/partner attribution. Far below the trial's7.5/100 person-years in selected young family-planning patients. Modest Delaware adult initiation effects caution against broad transfer. Stress0–.02. The private-insurance increase was0.3percentage points; substituting methods may yield less pregnancy change than new access. [up-access] [up-abortion] [up-rct] [up-private]
- T
- 3 years of implementation effect (judgment). Same cohort, annual effect discounted3%; range1–5. No evidence verifies national persistence at this duration. [up-impact] [up-access]
- q
- 0.01 patient QALYs/desired episode avoided (judgment). Illustrative0.02 health-utility improvement for0.5year=.01 QALY. This is a cautious patient-health prior, not a measured study effect: generic health utility differences in pregnancy-context studies are small and confounded, VAS much larger, and TTO/SG often near null. Range0–.05. No birth, abortion or child-life count is valued as health. [up-utility08] [up-utility17]
- h
- 0.00001 incremental adverse patient QALYs/newly covered person (judgment). Allowance equivalent to1% experiencing.001 QALY of incremental pain, side effects or harmful pressure; this is not an observed adverse-event rate. Already relative to usual care. Poor.00002; no-harm0. Current pressure survey cannot establish causal excess. [up-impact] [up-coercion]
- g
- 0.99 USA resident health share (judgment). Domestic operational footprint; allow incidental nonresident benefit. Range.98–1. [up-99025] [up-freebc]
- Unrestricted net assets
- 332463472 USD (observed). 2025 Part X; nearly6.97times current annual expenses, not a commitment-adjusted runway. [up-99025]
- Unmodeled FreeBC/symptom/autonomy pathway
- null incremental QALYs/USD (unknown). Need allocation, additional completed care, clinical indication, utility change, and funding counterfactual; do not convert free-care availability or choice into QALYs automatically. [up-freebc] [up-impact]
Cautious current implementation and patient-health scenario: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 0.00016893904358000525; all-population QALYs: 0.00017064549856566188. c=107.15848764044944; b=0.1; d=0.001; T=3; D=2.828611354894681; q=0.01; h=0.00001; g=0.99. Discounted causal net patient-health pathway, not a valuation of births avoided.
Low-cost scalable access with sustained patient-desired benefit: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 1.462306299902251; all-population QALYs: 1.462306299902251. c=25; b=0.8; d=0.02; T=5; D=4.579707187194534; q=0.05; h=0.00001; g=1. Discounted causal net patient-health pathway, not a valuation of births avoided.
Little additional desired prevention and adverse burden: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: -0.00001940970873786408; all-population QALYs: -0.000019805825242718447. c=200; b=0.02; d=0.0002; T=1; D=0.970873786407767; q=0.001; h=0.00002; g=0.98. Discounted causal net patient-health pathway, not a valuation of births avoided.
Already-funded expansion fully substitutes: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 0; all-population QALYs: 0. c=107.15848764044944; b=0; d=0.001; T=3; D=2.828611354894681; q=0.01; h=0.00001; g=0.99. Discounted causal net patient-health pathway, not a valuation of births avoided.
No prevention benefit but incremental treatment burden: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: -0.00009238652222507681; all-population QALYs: -0.00009331971941926951. c=107.15848764044944; b=0.1; d=0; T=3; D=2.828611354894681; q=0.01; h=0.00001; g=0.99. Discounted causal net patient-health pathway, not a valuation of births avoided.
Central except no incremental treatment harm: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 0.00026132556580508206; all-population QALYs: 0.0002639652179849314. c=107.15848764044944; b=0.1; d=0.001; T=3; D=2.828611354894681; q=0.01; h=0; g=0.99. Discounted causal net patient-health pathway, not a valuation of births avoided.
Counterfactual: b isolates donor financing and implementation additionality given large reserves, committed expansion, other donors and capacity. d independently subtracts usual care, alternative contraception, public payment changes and other partners' contribution; it is not the combined Delaware program's observed initiation coefficient. Persistence covers the same new partner cohort, not repeated counting of cumulative reach. q excludes unwantedness labels that do not represent the patient's own preference and does not assume a delayed pregnancy eliminates lifetime maternity risk.
Attribution: The national implementation planning model includes all recipient spending in c and only a modest patient-health pathway in the numerator. Current funding allocations to FreeBC versus clinic implementation, recurrent support and advocacy are not observed. The central is a conditional cautious scenario, not a complete expected-value estimate or guaranteed lower bound. Unquantified symptom-treatment and autonomy gains could improve it; unwanted methods, removal barriers and side effects could worsen it.
Clinical trials support the access mechanism, but the geographic/patient transfer and marginal financing are judgments. Patient utilities are cross-sectional or hypothetical, not causal QALY measurements from Upstream patients. The range includes harm and zero; favorable/poor cases are joint stress tests, not confidence intervals. A patient-centered access program can have important autonomy value that a health-only QALY metric misses. That does not justify inventing a conversion.
Sensitivity
- At central c,b,q,T,h,g, the rate d needed for $100,000 per10 is3.827 patient-desired episodes avoided per covered person-year; for $1million it is.3830. These requirements are far above the central .001 and implausible as transferable population averages. This is a useful rejection threshold, not a forecast.
- At central effect settings, c would need to fall below about$0.018 per newly covered person for $100,000 per10, or$0.181 for $1million. Better funding additionality and larger causal health effects must accompany scale efficiencies to support high EV.
- With b=1 rather than.1, central price falls tenfold to about$59million per10; funding additionality alone does not make this narrow health pathway compelling.
- At central d and other inputs, q must be about38.27 QALYs per avoided episode for $100,000 per10 or3.83 for $1million. Those are not credible brief patient-health improvements and cannot be supplied by counting a child not born.
- The favorable case jointly assumes c=$25, b=.8, d=.02, five-year persistence and q=.05, yielding about$68,000 per10. It requires evidence for all these improvements, not simply choosing a high LARC uptake rate.
- Setting h=0 improves central price to about$383million per10. Setting d=0 while retaining incremental intervention burden produces negative health; harm is not discounted away by assuming no prevention.
- FreeBC could have a materially different direct-care cost and counterfactual, especially where alternatives disappear. No current service counts or marginal budget link it to the next ordinary recipient donation.
- Adding$15 per covered person of incremental partner clinical resource cost would increase central social cost by about14%, with no claimed public-cost savings; actual care utilization and reimbursements must replace this illustrative allowance.
- Generic health utilities and autonomy are not interchangeable. Counting educational attainment or public savings would require separate outcomes, not adding them to QALYs without a transparent bridge.
Unresolved inputs
- A current funding-contingent expansion budget explaining what does not happen with $332m unrestricted net assets absent new donations.
- Matched marginal national expenses, newly covered unique patients, actual preferred-method access, removals and care completion, including the FreeBC allocation.
- Causal changes in patient-desired pregnancy prevention or symptom relief relative to contemporary alternatives, with public/partner contributions separated.
- Repeated patient health-utility measurements with an appropriate comparator, duration and unwanted effects; current pregnancy-context utility differences are not causal treatment effects.
- Causal excess pain, side effects, removal barriers and pressure versus ordinary care, plus positive autonomy outcomes kept distinct from QALYs.
- Effect persistence, staff turnover and maintenance costs for the same partner cohort, not annual re-counting of stock reach.
- Outcome-weighted patient residence and payer/resource-cost data; no inference from the number of states.
5. Funding and previous grants
The original 2025 return reports $47.686 million total expenses: $37.170 million program, $6.266 million management and $4.249 million fundraising. Contributions were $133.495 million and total revenue $142.056 million, producing a $94.370 million surplus. Year-end unrestricted net assets were $332.463 million; $322.295 million of assets were publicly traded securities, so this is not merely an illiquid-building reserve. Spending was nearly flat from 2024 despite the contribution surge. Multi-year expansion may legitimately require reserves, but an actual funding-contingent budget is necessary before assuming a new donation finances otherwise-unfunded services. The comparable calendar-year expense average for 2023–2025 is $46.998 million. Public insurance, clinical partners and other philanthropy also fund the resulting care; those inputs are not attributed wholly to Upstream.
Annual expenses
Organization-level spending, including programs, administration and fundraising. The research list averages three comparable, consecutive full fiscal years when available.
- FY 2023: $45.4M; Upstream USA Inc., EIN35-2581424, 12-month period, Calendar-year Form990 PartIX total functional expense for the same legal recipient; all program, management and fundraising expenses.. Source
- FY 2024: $47.9M; Upstream USA Inc., EIN35-2581424, 12-month period, Calendar-year Form990 PartIX total functional expense for the same legal recipient; all program, management and fundraising expenses.. Source
- FY 2025: $47.7M; Upstream USA Inc., EIN35-2581424, 12-month period, Calendar-year Form990 PartIX total functional expense for the same legal recipient; all program, management and fundraising expenses.. Source
6. Sources
- FY2025 original Form 990. Upstream USA / IRS via ProPublica. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- FY2024 original Form 990. Upstream USA / IRS via ProPublica. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- FY2023 original Form 990. Upstream USA / IRS via ProPublica. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Current scale, patient experience and implementation measures. Upstream USA. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Current FreeBC services and Colorado availability. Upstream / FreeBC. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Delaware Contraceptive Access Now and Medicaid contraceptive initiation. Boudreaux et al., American Journal of Public Health. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Contraceptive access reform and abortion: Evidence from Delaware. Kim et al., Health Services Research. Published: 2023-04-09; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Reductions in pregnancy rates in the USA with long-acting reversible contraception: cluster randomized trial. Harper et al., Lancet. Published: 2015-06-16; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Measuring the effects of unintended pregnancy on women's quality of life. Schwarz et al., Contraception. Published: 2008-07-22; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Measuring health utility in varying pregnancy contexts. Lundsberg et al., Contraception. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Healthcare provider-based contraceptive coercion: US patient experiences. Swan and Cannon, International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health. Published: 2024-06-08; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Effect of contraceptive access reform on privately insured patients. Yoder and Boudreaux, PLOS ONE. Published: 2023-01-23; retrieved: 2026-09-13.