Summary
What do they do? Headstrong pays a network of clinicians to provide trauma-focused outpatient care to veterans, service members and family members connected to their care. It offers therapist matching, in-person and telehealth treatment, with the first 30 sessions provided without a client charge. The intended health benefit is relief of persistent trauma-related distress and functional impairment through treatment that would otherwise be delayed, inaccessible or unsuitable.
Why we’re interested in this organization:
The intervention is direct clinical treatment supported by randomized evidence and VA recommendations, not awareness activity counted as health.
Current disclosures provide treatment-session volume, client counts, treatment fees and access time, enabling a transparent service-cost benchmark.
Nationwide telehealth and private clinician matching plausibly address barriers that remain even when veterans have insurance or VA eligibility.
Our main reservations:
Headline outcome percentages rely on selected treatment-duration/completer samples and do not establish incremental health effects for all clients.
A complete treatment episode can cost much more than one session; current episode length, attrition, durability and alternative-care use remain uncertain.
Public and private care can substitute, and unrestricted reserves can finance services without the next donation; our central does not indicate exceptional cost-effectiveness.
What do you get for your dollar? $2.0M per better life: ten additional quality-adjusted life years in USA.
2025 reported 52,000 sessions and 2,947 clients; 70% of sessions via telehealth per Form990. These are annual services, not incident treatment courses. At central c=$275 and n=30, the normalization buys 36.36 nominal sessions or1.212 episode-equivalents before the funding and counterfactual discounts.
1. What do they do?
Headstrong's current pathway includes intake, therapist matching and trauma-focused care such as CPT, EMDR and prolonged exposure. The first 30 sessions have no client charge; extended treatment includes a copay paid to the therapist. These are paid clinicians, not a volunteer-surgery model. Its 2025 report records 52,000 sessions, 2,947 clients, 12 days on average to care and in-person coverage in 20 states plus DC, alongside telehealth nationwide. Sessions delivered to continuing clients are not completed new treatment courses.
2. Monitoring and information sharing
The public outcome page qualifies its improvement statistics as applying to clients with at least 15–20 sessions or completed treatment. The annual report's chart shows a newer 61% PTSD-symptom-reduction metric without a sufficient denominator or definition to use as a causal effect. An earlier program description provides paired PCL-5 scores for only 89 clients: 73 initially above its PTSD cutoff and 54 afterward. This is encouraging but uncontrolled and selectively observed. We need entry-cohort follow-up including early exits, completed episode length, diagnosis mix, utility outcomes and use of alternative care. Satisfaction, symptom-score changes and historical suicide counts are not directly converted into QALYs.
3. Qualitative assessment
The VA recommends CPT, EMDR and prolonged exposure. A 60-veteran wait-list trial supports CPT's causal symptom benefit. However, a larger veteran trial comparing two active therapies found substantial dropout—about 47% for CPT and 56% for prolonged exposure—so completer success is not a safe population effect. A randomized US cost-utility trial found an intention-to-treat advantage of 0.056 QALYs over one year for prolonged exposure versus sertraline. It largely enrolled civilian women and is an anchor, not a directly transferable Headstrong effect. No suicide-prevention benefit or separate depression benefit is added.
4. What do you get for your dollar?
Total 2025 Form 990 expenses divided by reported sessions imply roughly $269 per session, including organizational overhead; treatment fees alone imply about $157. Our model uses $275 per session and 30 sessions per treatment-entry equivalent, or $8,250 before additionality adjustments. Its cautious judgment central is about $2.0 million per 10 USA QALYs. The favorable and pessimistic scenarios are about $82,000 and $474 million, with a separate zero-additionality case; these are stress tests, not confidence bounds. The model discounts clinical transfer, relapse/counterfactual catch-up and care available elsewhere. Current data do not justify calling Headstrong a high-confidence bargain. The decisive upside would be shorter equally effective courses reaching genuinely unserved clients.
Model, assumptions and sensitivity
Ordinary unrestricted recipient donation, with all accounting overhead included in session cost; no cherry-picked trauma modality. G=$10,000 is arithmetic normalization only. Donor cost is gross, with no fee-for-service leverage or avoided medical-cost deduction assumed. Paid clinicians already enter the cost. Patient time, extended-care copays and incremental downstream care are excluded from donor cost and tested separately where possible.
Reported domestic in-person network and all-50-state telehealth support predominantly 50-states/DC resident benefits. Central g=.99, favorable1 and pessimistic.95 are residence-share judgments allowing overseas/territorial service-member spillover; client military status is not residence. A verified residence extract is missing.
Episode-equivalents = G/(c×n). q = q1 × sum[t=1..T](p^(t−1)/(1.03^t)). Q_all = G/(c×n) × q × f × b × s. Q_USA = Q_all×g. Price per10 =10G/Q_USA. q1 is a net intention-to-treat first-year increment, already including trial attrition/treatment burden; no additional completer multiplier is applied.
- G
- 10000 USD normalization (judgment). Calculation unit, not a quoted funding opportunity.
- 2025 expenses
- 13963947 USD (observed). Form990 total expense; annual report gives14029100, not silently substituted. [hs-99025] [hs-ar25]
- 2025 sessions
- 52000 sessions (observed). Rounded organizational report; more than52000 in990, use conservative52000 denominator. [hs-ar25] [hs-99025]
- 2025 clients
- 2947 clients/year (observed). Annual report page6; not completed course count. [hs-ar25]
- c
- 275 USD/session including overhead (judgment). Rounded above13963947/52000=$268.54; sensitivity200–350 reflects capacity and delivery cost. [hs-99025] [hs-ar25]
- n
- 30 sessions/entry-equivalent (judgment). Current first30 free and historical mean32/median20 inform full-episode prior; annual sessions/client cannot identify episode length. Sensitivity15–45. [hs-care] [hs-program-paper]
- q1
- 0.05 net first-year QALY/therapy offer (judgment). Close to external randomized0.056 PE-vs-sertraline estimate, not copied as Headstrong efficacy; trial mostly civilian women, benefits versus no adequate care may differ. Net intention-to-treat including dropout. [ptsd-utility-trial] [ptsd-veteran-rct] [ptsd-waitlist-rct]
- p
- 0.8 annual persistence factor (judgment). 20% annual attenuation from relapse and comparator catch-up; external economic model uses expert relapse assumptions, not measured Headstrong persistence. [ptsd-model]
- T
- 3 years (judgment). Finite horizon; favorable5, pessimistic1. No lifetime symptom relief.
- f
- 0.8 clinical/population transfer factor (judgment). Further adjustment for military population, treatment mix/fidelity and family services; not an observed allocation. [hs-care] [hs-ar25] [ptsd-utility-trial]
- b
- 0.75 funding/capacity additionality (judgment). Expansion and demand support positive contribution, but reserves/replacement donors limit certainty. [hs-ar25] [hs-audit24] [hs-99025]
- s
- 0.6 counterfactual-care health additionality (judgment). Substantial need despite VA/insurance access, without treating all alternative care as absent. [hs-nyhealth] [hs-care]
- g
- 0.99 USA resident share (judgment). Domestic network implies mostly in-boundary; residence data not published. [hs-ar25]
- discount
- 0.03 annual (judgment). Analyst convention; all first-year gains discounted to year end.
- 2023 audited expense comparator
- 11640268 USD (observed). Audit differs from Form99011795084; retained as reconciliation rather than mixed in990 series. [hs-audit24] [hs-99024]
- Patient resource increment
- 1000 USD/episode-equivalent (judgment). Illustrative travel/time/copay cost addition; actual net downstream costs unknown.
Cautious treatment-access judgment: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 0.04990984939513714; all-population QALYs: 0.05041398928801731. c=275; n=30; q1=0.05; p=0.8; T=3; f=0.8; b=0.75; s=0.6; g=0.99; q=0.11553205878503965. Judgment scenario, not measured donor productivity.
Efficient treatment reaching otherwise untreated clients: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 1.2262179333194803; all-population QALYs: 1.2262179333194803. c=200; n=15; q1=0.12; p=0.9; T=5; f=0.95; b=0.95; s=0.9; g=1; q=0.45289674360830307. Judgment scenario, not measured donor productivity.
Long courses with limited additional access: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 0.00021081830790568656; all-population QALYs: 0.00022191400832177532. c=350; n=45; q1=0.01; p=0.5; T=1; f=0.6; b=0.3; s=0.2; g=0.95; q=0.00970873786407767. Judgment scenario, not measured donor productivity.
Equivalent treatment financed elsewhere: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 0; all-population QALYs: 0. b=0 or s=0; no finite favorable price.
Central with illustrative patient-resource cost: Cost: $11K; USA QALYs: 0.04990984939513714; all-population QALYs: 0.05041398928801731. Adds $1,000 per nominal entry-equivalent for time/travel/copays; not a measured societal ICER and no avoided costs credited.
Counterfactual: q1 compares an effective trauma-treatment offer with insufficient/less-effective care, not with perfect health. s discounts for an equivalent health trajectory through VA, military, insurer or other charity treatment; delayed treatment can yield partial additionality. b separately discounts for reserves, replacement funding and capacity not expanded by a gift. Annual persistence p includes relapse and untreated/comparator catch-up. No suicide mortality reduction is inferred from symptoms.
Attribution: f discounts transfer from researched modalities/populations to the actual mixture of adult trauma, family care and routine delivery. It is not the accounting program-expense share and does not remove overhead twice. Full-portfolio dollars remain in c. Clinical improvements and funding access are separate links.
The central is a deliberately cautious judgment informed by observed costs and external causal evidence, not a fitted organizational effect. First-year utility, long-term persistence, treatment episode length and counterfactual access dominate. Scenarios span plausible favorable and poor execution rather than statistical percentiles; zero health additionality remains possible.
Sensitivity
- At central inputs, halving episode length from30 to15 sessions halves the price only if net clinical efficacy is preserved; more sessions are not automatically more QALYs.
- With30 sessions at$275 and f×b×s×g=.3564, meeting$100,000 per10 requires q≥2.3148 per entry; meeting$1 million requires q≥.23148. Central q=.11553 meets neither.
- Holding central efficacy and other factors fixed, the$1 million threshold requires n≤14.97 sessions; the$100,000 threshold requires n≤1.50, which is inconsistent with a full clinical course.
- Dropping durability to one year raises central price to roughly$4.77 million per10. Benefit persistence beyond3years could improve the estimate but is not assumed without follow-up.
- No suicide deaths or family spillover are added. If validated, these could increase benefit; symptom reduction alone is insufficient evidence.
- Using2025 annual-report instead of tax expense changes the gross session benchmark by less than1%, much less than uncertainty in episode length or counterfactual care.
Unresolved inputs
- A current completed entry-cohort dataset linking total sessions across years, early exits, modality, diagnoses and health utility at6/12/24months.
- Whether marginal unrestricted dollars expand clinician capacity or replace committed fee-for-service, public/private funding or reserves.
- Client VA/insurance eligibility, previous treatment, likely alternative provider and waiting time without Headstrong.
- Current measured health utility or validated symptom-to-utility mapping, with adverse outcomes and missing follow-up included.
- Residence within50states/DC, not merely military affiliation or clinician location.
- Reconciliation of annual report, audited and Form990 financial differences; current2026 operating budget and reserve deployment plan.
- Actual patient copays/time costs and incremental downstream medical utilization, without assuming all avoided bills are net savings.
5. Funding and previous grants
The 2025 return reports $13.964 million expense, including $11.933 million program, $0.771 million management and $1.259 million fundraising; treatment fees are $8.172 million. Revenue is $13.637 million, including $0.991 million service fees. Net assets total $10.220 million, of which $5.362 million is unrestricted. The 2024 audit describes a minimum four-month operating reserve policy and a longer-term goal of eight to twelve months or more. A June 2026 funder account supports continuing access work but pools Headstrong with NYU services; it is not an isolated cost-per-patient experiment. No current marginal funding commitment was identified. Annual-report and filing totals differ slightly, and 2023 audited expenses differ from the tax return; the financial series below consistently uses Form 990 rather than silently mixing bases.
Annual expenses
Organization-level spending, including programs, administration and fundraising. The research list averages three comparable, consecutive full fiscal years when available.
- FY 2023: $11.8M; Head Strong Project Inc., EIN45-5261907, 12-month period, Calendar-year Form 990 total expense; consistent tax-return basis, not audited or annual-report totals.. Source
- FY 2024: $12.4M; Head Strong Project Inc., EIN45-5261907, 12-month period, Calendar-year Form 990 total expense; consistent tax-return basis, not audited or annual-report totals.. Source
- FY 2025: $14.0M; Head Strong Project Inc., EIN45-5261907, 12-month period, Calendar-year Form 990 total expense; consistent tax-return basis, not audited or annual-report totals.. Source
6. Sources
- Connect to care: 30 cost-free sessions and extended-care copay. The Headstrong Project. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- About Headstrong and qualified clinical outcome claims. The Headstrong Project. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- 2025 Annual Report, pages 2–9. The Headstrong Project. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Original Form 990, year ended December 2025. Head Strong Project Inc. / IRS via ProPublica. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Original Form 990, year ended December 2024. Head Strong Project Inc. / IRS via ProPublica. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Audited financial statements, December 2024 with 2023 comparison. Headstrong Project Inc. / SAX LLP. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Utilizing EMDR as the primary modality in a community veteran program. Trauma Treatment NYC / Weill Cornell Headstrong program authors. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Maintaining and maximizing veterans' access to mental health care, June 2026. New York Health Foundation. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Cost-effectiveness of prolonged exposure versus sertraline, randomized preference trial. Le et al. / Journal of Clinical Psychiatry. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Comparison of prolonged exposure versus cognitive processing therapy in 916 US veterans. Schnurr et al. / JAMA Network Open. Published: 2022-01-19; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Cognitive processing therapy for veterans with military-related PTSD. Monson et al. / Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Cost-effectiveness of psychological treatments for PTSD in adults. Mavranezouli et al. / PLOS ONE. Published: 2020-04-30; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Overview of psychotherapy for PTSD. US Department of Veterans Affairs, National Center for PTSD. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Give the gift of life-changing care. The Headstrong Project. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.