Summary
What do they do? Rx Outreach operates a nonprofit mail-order pharmacy with low cash prices and free standard delivery. It also provides separately funded medication assistance, including Fill the Gap for eligible older adults around St. Louis. Its promising health mechanism is preventing clinically important treatment gaps, not simply selling more prescriptions.
Why we’re interested in this organization:
Existing pharmacy infrastructure can reach patients and clinics without a general income application or insurance requirement.
Randomized free-medicine studies support a real adherence mechanism, especially when cost prevents necessary treatment.
Original financial schedules separate purchased medicines from donated inventory, making financial claims inspectable.
Our main reservations:
Additional human patient-years caused by an unrestricted donation, rather than earned revenue or partner funding, are not measured.
Medication class, patient risk, sustained use and realistic alternatives determine health yield; shipment totals cannot establish a QALY estimate.
Territorial and pet prescriptions are outside this human USA boundary, while current finances lag a changing pharmacy model.
What do you get for your dollar? $6.3M per better life: ten additional quality-adjusted life years in USA. Medication access; cardiovascular health quantified.
Observed 2024: 34,740 unique patients; 188,993 shipments; gross recipient expense $401.18 per unique patient or $73.74 per shipment. Identified non-in-kind expense proxy $323.74 per unique patient or $59.51 per shipment. Unique people are not full patient-years, shipments have varying days supply and polypharmacy, and donated inventory fair values distort resource prices. Desired causal unit is additional appropriately treated human patient-year, separated by drug/risk class and alternative care.
1. What do they do?
The current general pharmacy requires an available medication and valid prescription, not an income application, membership or insurance. Its clinic service supports patient-pay, clinic-pay and hybrid arrangements and can ship to a clinic for people without secure housing. Fill the Gap separately offers covered medicines free to eligible adults aged 55 or older, at or below 300% of the federal poverty level, in the St. Louis region; meeting eligibility does not guarantee enrollment. Current criteria allow insured patients and should not be replaced with older launch restrictions. Other assistance pathways include disaster relief and a Blue Circle Health partnership. An ordinary donation supports this mixed recipient, not exclusively the strongest free-medication pathway.
2. Monitoring and information sharing
A dated 2024 overview reports 34,740 unique patients, 188,993 shipped prescriptions and 2,534 facilities/clinics. Its geographic statement includes all 50 states, DC, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. These are delivery outputs, not additional treatment or health outcomes. The current donor page instead gives a loose 120,000-plus annual prescription claim without a reporting year; it is not a like-for-like trend. No usable recipient-level comparison of medication persistence, disease control, admissions or utility was found in this bounded review. A next evaluation should link human recipient-years, drug class, baseline cost-related nonadherence, alternative coverage, fills, actual use, harms and outcomes. Pet prescriptions need a separate denominator.
3. Qualitative assessment
CLEAN Meds randomized 786 Canadian primary-care patients reporting cost-related nonadherence. Free essential medicines improved appropriate adherence by 10.1 percentage points at two years, but available diabetes, blood-pressure and lipid outcomes were not statistically different; missing clinical measurements limit interpretation. Its one-year findings included better blood pressure, illustrating why a short-term surrogate should not be assumed permanent. The US MI-FREEE trial improved adherence by 4–6 points after myocardial infarction; the primary vascular-event/revascularization outcome was not significantly reduced, although a secondary first-major-vascular-event rate was 11.0 versus 12.8 per 100 person-years. ARTEMIS likewise improved medication persistence without a significant one-year cardiovascular-event reduction. These studies support plausibility, not a universal shipment-to-health multiplier. Our judgment is that targeted prevention of high-risk treatment interruption merits further diligence; the unrestricted recipient is not yet demonstrated to have unusually high health yield.
4. What do you get for your dollar?
Our best estimate: About $6.3 million per 10 USA QALYs through cardiovascular medication access. A $10,000 normalization supports about 12.5 additional patient-years after the funding discount. With 10% at post-MI-equivalent risk, half the trial event reduction and two discounted QALYs per event prevented, net benefit is about 0.0013 QALY per patient-year before geography. We adopt $400 per supported patient-year, anchored to $401 gross expense per unique patient, and 50% funding response. Our best-judgment post-MI-equivalent risk share is 10%, below the earlier 25% probe: the formulary spans broader cardiovascular, diabetes and respiratory conditions. Patient counts are not matched patient-years, so this remains a rough planning cost. Other clinical benefits remain unpriced. Favorable, zero and adverse cases remain in the transparent model; positive scenarios are not confidence bounds or verified funding offers.
Model, assumptions and sensitivity
Unrestricted support to Rx Outreach Inc., EIN35-2378788. Recipient expenses include pharmacy procurement, dispensing, staff, systems, overhead and fundraising. Gross book expenses include in-kind inventory; c is judgmental net recipient support needed per newly supported human patient-year, not retail drug value. Patient/clinic payments and sponsors can finance services without a new donation. Unmodeled pet services and other activities cannot be silently removed from the donation numerator. The cost of medication access borne by patients, providers or other funders is not free in a societal model; the reported donation skeleton does not claim total economic cost-effectiveness.
Human health of residents of 50 states plus DC. Observed 2024 service includes Puerto Rico and Virgin Islands, which are excluded. Current pet prescriptions are not human QALYs and require separate allocation before human patient-years. No outcome-weighted territorial share is available. g=.98 is the central geographic judgment; current St. Louis Fill the Gap human patients would be within boundary, but unrestricted allocations are not all Fill the Gap.
General skeleton: Q_USA = G × (b/c) × theta × g, where theta is net cumulative QALYs produced by one additional human patient-year of medication access, including later consequences discounted once. Inspectable post-MI test only: theta = f × e × t × q + z − h. f=share with trial-like high-risk post-MI prevention; e=0.018 fewer first major vascular events per patient-year (secondary MI-FREEE rate difference); t=transport/implementation attenuation; q=discounted net QALYs per event prevented; z=net health from other mechanisms; h=incremental adverse-treatment/access burden per supported human patient-year. Price = 10c/[b theta g] for positive theta. G=10000 merely normalizes disclosure arithmetic. No extra adherence multiplier is applied to e, which already measures intention-to-treat access effects.
- grossExpense2024
- 13936912 USD/year (observed). Original PartI line26 book-expense column, not charitable cash-disbursement column. [rxo-99024]
- purchasedDrugExpense2024
- 3132063 USD/year (observed). Already included in book expenses. [rxo-other24]
- inKindExpense2024
- 2690257 USD/year (observed). 2610784 inventory plus79473 other in-kind; subtraction yields proxy, not audited cash flow. [rxo-other24]
- earnedRevenue2024
- 10516967 USD/year (observed). Prescription program revenue can fund services independently of donations. [rxo-99024]
- uniquePatients2024
- 34740 reported people/year (observed). Dated activity sheet; not human USA patient-years. [rxo-impact24]
- shipments2024
- 188993 prescriptions/year (observed). Varying drug classes, days supply and people. [rxo-impact24]
- c
- 400 net unrestricted USD/supported human patient-year before financing adjustment (judgment). We adopt $400 per supported patient-year, anchored to $401 gross expense per unique patient, and 50% funding response. Our best-judgment post-MI-equivalent risk share is 10%, below the earlier 25% probe: the formulary spans broader cardiovascular, diabetes and respiratory conditions. Patient counts are not matched patient-years, so this remains a rough planning cost. Other clinical benefits remain unpriced. [rxo-other24] [rxo-impact24] [rxo-clinics]
- b
- 0.5 fraction of supported patient-years financing-additional (judgment). We adopt $400 per supported patient-year, anchored to $401 gross expense per unique patient, and 50% funding response. Our best-judgment post-MI-equivalent risk share is 10%, below the earlier 25% probe: the formulary spans broader cardiovascular, diabetes and respiratory conditions. Patient counts are not matched patient-years, so this remains a rough planning cost. Other clinical benefits remain unpriced. [rxo-donors] [rxo-funder]
- theta
- 0.0013 net cumulative QALYs/additional human patient-year (judgment). We adopt $400 per supported patient-year, anchored to $401 gross expense per unique patient, and 50% funding response. Our best-judgment post-MI-equivalent risk share is 10%, below the earlier 25% probe: the formulary spans broader cardiovascular, diabetes and respiratory conditions. Patient counts are not matched patient-years, so this remains a rough planning cost. Other clinical benefits remain unpriced. [rxo-clean2] [rxo-artemis]
- g
- 0.98 fraction of net human outcome accruing to USA residents (judgment). We adopt $400 per supported patient-year, anchored to $401 gross expense per unique patient, and 50% funding response. Our best-judgment post-MI-equivalent risk share is 10%, below the earlier 25% probe: the formulary spans broader cardiovascular, diabetes and respiratory conditions. Patient counts are not matched patient-years, so this remains a rough planning cost. Other clinical benefits remain unpriced. [rxo-impact24] [rxo-pets]
- e
- 0.018 first major vascular events prevented/patient-year (observed). Secondary MI-FREEE rate difference .128−.110. Primary endpoint not significant; not general pharmacy effect. [rxo-mifreee]
- f
- 0.1 fraction of additional human patient-years with trial-like post-MI risk (judgment). We adopt $400 per supported patient-year, anchored to $401 gross expense per unique patient, and 50% funding response. Our best-judgment post-MI-equivalent risk share is 10%, below the earlier 25% probe: the formulary spans broader cardiovascular, diabetes and respiratory conditions. Patient counts are not matched patient-years, so this remains a rough planning cost. Other clinical benefits remain unpriced. [rxo-gap] [rxo-impact24]
- t
- 0.5 clinical transport multiplier in conditional test (judgment). Attenuates trial access contrast; zero is plausible for substitution or no improved use. Does not claim a measured50% effect. [rxo-mifreee] [rxo-artemis]
- q
- 2 discounted net QALYs/event prevented in conditional test (judgment). Illustrative composite-event severity, recurrence and survival valuation; actual mix unavailable. Not a direct trial observation. [rxo-mifreee]
- z
- 0 net QALYs/patient-year from other clinical mechanisms (judgment). We adopt $400 per supported patient-year, anchored to $401 gross expense per unique patient, and 50% funding response. Our best-judgment post-MI-equivalent risk share is 10%, below the earlier 25% probe: the formulary spans broader cardiovascular, diabetes and respiratory conditions. Patient counts are not matched patient-years, so this remains a rough planning cost. Other clinical benefits remain unpriced. [rxo-pap]
- h
- 0.0005 QALYs/patient-year burden in conditional test (judgment). Explicit adverse-effects/access burden; no recipient harm measurement. Retained even at t0.
- cleanMedsAdherence
- 0.101 absolute adherence difference at2years (observed). External Canadian access experiment, not integrated adherent patient-years or QALYs; not directly multiplied into model. [rxo-clean2]
Best estimate — explicit judgment: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 0.015925; all-population QALYs: 0.01625. c=400; b=0.5; f=0.1; e=0.018; t=0.5; q=2; z=0; h=0.0005; g=0.98. We adopt $400 per supported patient-year, anchored to $401 gross expense per unique patient, and 50% funding response. Our best-judgment post-MI-equivalent risk share is 10%, below the earlier 25% probe: the formulary spans broader cardiovascular, diabetes and respiratory conditions. Patient counts are not matched patient-years, so this remains a rough planning cost. Other clinical benefits remain unpriced.
Post-MI clinical benchmark, not portfolio prediction: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 0.049; all-population QALYs: 0.05. c=400; b=0.5; f=0.25; e=0.018; t=0.5; q=2; z=0; h=0.0005; g=0.98. Algebraic benchmark only, not an estimate of Rx Outreach's recipient-level yield. One year of medication access; q includes any discounted later health consequences, not extra recurring event-years.
All additional patient-years have benchmark post-MI risk: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 0.21437499999999998; all-population QALYs: 0.21874999999999997. c=400; b=0.5; f=1; e=0.018; t=0.5; q=2; z=0; h=0.0005; g=0.98. Algebraic benchmark only, not an estimate of Rx Outreach's recipient-level yield. One year of medication access; q includes any discounted later health consequences, not extra recurring event-years.
Existing revenues or sponsors fully substitute: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 0; all-population QALYs: 0. c=400; b=0; f=0.25; e=0.018; t=0.5; q=2; z=0; h=0.0005; g=0.98. Algebraic benchmark only, not an estimate of Rx Outreach's recipient-level yield. One year of medication access; q includes any discounted later health consequences, not extra recurring event-years.
No incremental clinical improvement, with treatment burden: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: -0.006125; all-population QALYs: -0.00625. c=400; b=0.5; f=0.25; e=0.018; t=0; q=2; z=0; h=0.0005; g=0.98. Algebraic benchmark only, not an estimate of Rx Outreach's recipient-level yield. One year of medication access; q includes any discounted later health consequences, not extra recurring event-years.
No health gain and no additional burden: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 0; all-population QALYs: 0. c=400; b=0.5; f=0.25; e=0.018; t=0; q=2; z=0; h=0; g=0.98. Algebraic benchmark only, not an estimate of Rx Outreach's recipient-level yield. One year of medication access; q includes any discounted later health consequences, not extra recurring event-years.
Counterfactual: Compare to the medication access patients would actually obtain through existing Rx Outreach sales, clinic subsidies, insurance, Medicare/Medicaid, manufacturer assistance or other cash pharmacies. [Current Medicare Part D](https://www.medicare.gov/health-drug-plans/part-d/basics/costs) has a $2,100 2026 covered-drug out-of-pocket cap, while [Cost Plus Drugs](https://www.markcubancostplusdrugcompany.com/) supplies an alternative cash/mail-order channel. These do not eliminate all barriers, but old retail sticker-price savings are not the counterfactual. An unrestricted gift could subsidize already-paid fills, replace renewed grant support, finance marketing or sustain operations rather than add patient-years. b includes that financing additionality; t captures clinical transport, not the same funding discount.
Attribution: Do not attribute all efficacy of a prescribed drug to the dispensing charity. Prescribers, patients, manufacturers, clinics and public/private payers contribute. The trial event contrast incorporates access-induced uptake/adherence rather than treatment efficacy in fully adherent patients. Pharmacy-specific clinical mix and the share of services actually expanded by philanthropy remain unknown; no claim of zero alternative care.
We adopt $400 per supported patient-year, anchored to $401 gross expense per unique patient, and 50% funding response. Our best-judgment post-MI-equivalent risk share is 10%, below the earlier 25% probe: the formulary spans broader cardiovascular, diabetes and respiratory conditions. Patient counts are not matched patient-years, so this remains a rough planning cost. Other clinical benefits remain unpriced. Zero and adverse outcomes remain possible; the quantified pathway is not a complete portfolio valuation.
Sensitivity
- At c400,b.5,g.98, required theta is0.08163265 QALY/patient-year for100000USD/10QALYs and0.008163265 for1000000USD/10QALYs. These equal about29.8 and3.0 quality-adjusted days, respectively; they are required yields, not observed gains.
- In the narrow post-MI test with e.018,t.5,q2,z0,h.0005, the1million threshold needs f≥.4812925; the100000 threshold needs f≥4.562925, impossible at those assumptions. If f.25 instead, q must be≥3.85034 or36.5034 respectively. More benefit from other classes could improve the result; unknown z must be measured rather than assumed.
- Conditional c400,b.5,f.25,e.018,t.5,q2,z0,h.0005,g.98 yields0.049USAQALY per10000USD, or2.040816millionUSD/10QALYs. Raising f to1 alone yields0.214375USAQALY, or466472.30USD/10. These are benchmarks, not bounds.
- Halving c or doubling b halves positive price; observed non-in-kind expense less earned revenue is729688USD in2024, but dividing this by all patients does not identify marginal donation cost. Receipts, duration, inventories and free-versus-paid cohorts must be reconciled.
- If t0 with h retained, additional access can have a small negative modeled net effect; if b0 there is no modeled health gain. If all relevant benefit is already achieved through another channel, do not multiply full drug efficacy by shipment count.
- Changing g from.98 to.90 raises price by8.89%; targeted in-boundary assistance could have g1. Pet allocation must first be removed from human patient-years, not assigned animal health as human utility.
- Do not multiply CLEAN Meds'10.1-point adherence endpoint by all annual recipients or extrapolate one-year blood-pressure improvement indefinitely. No direct utility conversion, broad mortality credit or downstream payer savings is included.
Unresolved inputs
- Current2025/26 full-recipient budget, purchased versus donated inventory, fundraising/service costs, earned receipts, restricted commitments and cash; audited reconciliation of the unaudited2023 annual report's inconsistent printed subtotals.
- Incremental human patient-years made possible by the next unrestricted dollars, by standard pharmacy, partner-paid and free-medication programs; use actual waitlist/expansion capacity and existing sponsor renewals.
- Days supply and persistence by unique person, drug class, diagnosis, baseline risk and preexisting cost-related treatment interruption; separate pet recipients and PuertoRico/VirginIslands outcomes.
- Usual-care medication acquisition from insurance, manufacturer assistance, clinics and alternative cash pharmacies; estimate genuinely additional appropriate use without double-counting funding and adherence.
- Clinical event rates/utility and adverse-treatment consequences for the actual marginal mix, including how many patients resemble post-MI trial participants; determine q and unmodeled z.
- Evidence that routine donations expand Fill the Gap or another high-yield cohort rather than merely replacing existing grants or customer receipts; no restricted-program assumption is authorized.
5. Funding and previous grants
Original Form 990-PF book expenses were $12,368,983 in 2022, $21,535,029 in 2023 and $13,936,912 in 2024, averaging about $15.95 million. The 2024 expense schedule already includes $3,132,063 of purchased drug costs, $2,610,784 of in-kind inventory and $79,473 of other in-kind expense; do not add drug costs again. Removing only identified in-kind expenses leaves a $11,246,655 non-in-kind expense proxy, not cash flow. The corresponding proxies rose from $7.12 million in 2022 and $9.05 million in 2023: the gross decline does not show improved efficiency. In 2024, prescription revenue was $10,516,967, contributions $2,892,140 and the book deficit $516,395. Year-end unrestricted net assets were $1,640,703, with $437,272 in savings/temporary cash investments; these are dated figures, not a current runway forecast. The 2026 clinic page says nearly all inventory is now purchased directly, so prior donated-drug shares may be obsolete. Deaconess's December 2025 award supports Fill the Gap expansion but does not establish an unfunded patient quota or matching leverage. A current budget, program-specific subsidy schedule, committed grants and waitlist are needed.
Annual expenses
Organization-level spending, including programs, administration and fundraising. The research list averages three comparable, consecutive full fiscal years when available.
- FY 2022: $12.4M; Rx Outreach Inc., EIN35-2378788, 12-month period, Calendar-year Form990-PF PartI line26 revenue-and-expenses-per-books column; gross recipient expenses including purchased and donated medicines and all support costs.. Source
- FY 2023: $21.5M; Rx Outreach Inc., EIN35-2378788, 12-month period, Calendar-year Form990-PF PartI line26 revenue-and-expenses-per-books column; gross recipient expenses including purchased and donated medicines and all support costs.. Source
- FY 2024: $13.9M; Rx Outreach Inc., EIN35-2378788, 12-month period, Calendar-year Form990-PF PartI line26 revenue-and-expenses-per-books column; gross recipient expenses including purchased and donated medicines and all support costs.. Source
6. Sources
- 2024 Form 990-PF, original filed return. Rx Outreach / IRS via ProPublica. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- 2023 Form 990-PF, original filed return. Rx Outreach / IRS via ProPublica. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- 2022 Form 990-PF, original filed return. Rx Outreach / IRS via ProPublica. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- 2024 other expenses schedule. Rx Outreach / IRS via ProPublica. Published: 2025-07-17; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- 2023 other expenses schedule. Rx Outreach / IRS via ProPublica. Published: 2024-08-16; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- 2022 other expenses schedule. Rx Outreach / IRS via ProPublica. Published: 2023-07-12; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- 2024 communities served and impact, two-page overview. Rx Outreach. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Current general pharmacy access. Rx Outreach. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Current Fill the Gap eligibility and formulary. Rx Outreach. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Patient assistance programs. Rx Outreach. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Current donor purpose and annual volume claim. Rx Outreach. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Why Free & Charitable Clinics Partner with Rx Outreach. Rx Outreach. Published: 2026-04-06; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Pet prescriptions are also filled. Rx Outreach. Published: 2026-03-02; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- December 2025 grants include Fill the Gap expansion. Deaconess Foundation. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Effect on Treatment Adherence of Distributing Essential Medicines at No Charge. Persaud et al., JAMA Internal Medicine. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Adherence at 2 years with distribution of essential medicines at no charge. Persaud et al., PLOS Medicine. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Full Coverage for Preventive Medications after Myocardial Infarction. Choudhry et al., New England Journal of Medicine. Published: 2011-11-14; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Effect of Medication Co-payment Vouchers on P2Y12 Inhibitor Use and Major Adverse Cardiovascular Events. Wang et al., JAMA. Published: 2019-01-01; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- 2026 Medicare drug coverage costs. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Cost Plus Drugs pharmacy model. Mark Cuban Cost Plus Drug Company. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- 2023 Annual Report, unaudited financial pages. Rx Outreach. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.