GiveBetter x USA

Remote Area Medical

Volunteer-powered mobile dental, vision and medical clinics

Research time: 10 min on GPT-6 Astra Light
  • Research — reviewed programs, finances and impact evidence.

Updated: 2026-09-14

Donate

Summary

What do they do? Remote Area Medical organizes free dental, vision and medical clinics using volunteer clinicians, paid operational staff and local community hosts. Patients can obtain basic dental treatment or an eye examination and glasses, often with general medical care, without insurance or identification. Its domestic clinic network and Tennessee telehealth program address immediate access barriers, while reported international activity requires a separate USA attribution check.

Why we’re interested in this organization:

  • Eyeglass correction has randomized evidence of improved visual functioning, giving this recipient a concrete clinical mechanism.

  • On-site treatment and glasses can remove referral, insurance and payment barriers that otherwise stop care from being completed.

  • Detailed current audits, procedure counts and explicit host responsibilities permit a useful cost and capacity test.

Our main reservations:

  • Clinician availability and community hosting constrain expansion; donations do not automatically add completed care.

  • Headline patient totals conflict in geographic framing, and glasses, eye exams and dental procedures are not interchangeable unique-person outcomes.

  • No public cohort establishes severity, sustained correction, dental pain relief, alternatives or the generic health gain needed for a reliable USA QALY price.

What do you get for your dollar? $1.3M per better life: ten additional quality-adjusted life years in USA. Vision benefit; full cash-support costs.

2025 N_v=7999 eye exams,15013 pairs; no unique meaningful-correction denominator. C/32770=$321.11 per reported patient and C/7999=$1315.49 per eye exam when all non-volunteer recipient cost is assigned to that pathway. The latter intentionally includes costs supporting dental and other services. Conditional b=.5 implies 3.80 additional exam-pathways per arithmetic unit, not a verified extra-patient promise.

1. What do they do?

RAM's clinic FAQ describes free basic dental treatment, eye examinations and glasses, with general medical services. Patients normally choose dental or vision on a given day. No insurance or identification is required, but first-come access can mean an overnight wait. Community hosts recruit volunteers, secure venues and arrange lodging; planning may take a year or more. RAM supplies equipment and operating systems and bears most delivery costs. Tennessee telehealth connects an on-site nurse with a volunteer physician as a bridge to continuing primary care.

2. Monitoring and information sharing

The 2025 impact account reports 32,770 patients, 7,999 eye exams, 15,013 pairs of glasses, 11,557 teeth extracted, 4,333 fillings and 4,228 telehealth encounters. These are different units, not additive health gains. Crucially, Form 990 Part III says 7,402 of the reported patients were served in the Philippines and nine of 436 clinics were there, while the impact page frames the same headline around 27 states. The return's foreign-activity checklist and the audit's limited-foreign-operations description do not reconcile the outcome scope. Vision counts need location, unique recipients, pre/post acuity and sustained-use data; dental counts need patient-level pain and completion data.

3. Qualitative assessment

A US randomized trial in 131 older adults with correctable impairment found better vision-specific function after immediate glasses or magnifiers than after delayed treatment at three months. It did not establish a RAM QALY gain. A cross-sectional utility study elicited substantial losses for uncorrected near and distance impairment, but hypothetical time-trade-off responses in selected patients are not a causal treatment effect. The conditional model therefore uses a smaller 0.04 utility improvement only for meaningfully corrected patients. The VISIBLE trial found no significant overall fall reduction and increased outdoor falls among less-active participants; no blanket fall-prevention credit is assigned. Appropriate prescription, adaptation and follow-up matter.

4. What do you get for your dollar?

Our best estimate: About $1.3 million per 10 USA QALYs from vision correction. The 7,999 annual exams imply about 3.8 funding-sensitive examinations per $10,000 at the $10.52 million cash-support anchor. We allow unsuccessful correction, alternative care, nonuse and geographic leakage, then value improved vision over three years. The separate full-resource scenario includes recorded donated labor. We adopt 50% financing-sensitive throughput: cash supports a demonstrated clinic network, but volunteers, hosts and replacement funding constrain expansion. The 75% USA health share is a cautious allocation judgment, not a raw patient share. Full cash-support expenses are charged against vision health; dental and other medical benefits remain unpriced. Favorable, zero and adverse cases remain in the transparent model; positive scenarios are not confidence bounds or verified funding offers.

Model, assumptions and sensitivity

Ordinary unrestricted recipient support. All recipient functions, fundraising, rental expenses and depreciation are retained in C; only recorded volunteer labor is removed for a support-dollar throughput anchor. C=10522622 is not marginal cash cost. The full-resource sensitivity restores volunteer labor. Local host costs, volunteer travel, unrecorded supplies and patient waiting/travel are additional societal costs not fully measured. G=10000 is arithmetic normalization only.

USA means residents of 50 states and DC, not clinic citizenship or headquarters. Original return includes 7402 Philippine patients in 32770 total, while blog describes 27 states. 25368/32770=.7741 is a raw patient ratio, not a health-weighted share and not used as observed g. Unknown geographic/service-scope reconciliation; conditional g=.75 with .5 and 1 stress cases. Some reported international output may be affiliate activity outside recipient costs. That must be reconciled before using any total as a production denominator.

D=sum[t=1..T]((1−m)/1.03)^t. q_v=f×s×u×p×D−h. A=N_v×q_v+H_other. Q_all=(G/C)×b×A; Q_USA=Q_all×g; price=10G/Q_USA if positive. N_v is eye exams, not pairs. f is fraction yielding meaningful correction, p effective sustained use, s benefit not obtained otherwise. h is incremental adverse burden versus the actual alternative. It remains at s=0 only when an extra exam or prescription imposes new burden; identical replacement care cancels shared harms. H_other is annual-scale net dental/medical QALYs after deduplication and harms. Central b and g are judgments; H_other=0 leaves other health unpriced, not a proven lower bound.

G
10000 USD normalization (judgment). Arithmetic scale only.
FY2025 gross expense
19852655 USD (observed). Audited total with all functions and donated services; independently visual-checked. [ram-audit25]
Recorded volunteer labor
9330033 USD accounting value (observed). Recognized expense and contribution, not donor cash or health benefit. [ram-audit25] [ram-tax25]
C
10522622 USD per annual historical service scale (judgment). 19852655−9330033; entire recipient remaining expense. Includes 172918 rental expense netted from tax return, depreciation and some noncash supplies. Not a marginal cash-cost estimate. [ram-audit25] [ram-tax25]
N_v
7999 eye exams in2025 (observed). Output scope/location and unique persons unresolved; do not use 15013 pairs as patients. [ram-output25] [ram-tax25]
b
0.5 funding/capacity-sensitive throughput fraction (judgment). We adopt 50% financing-sensitive throughput: cash supports a demonstrated clinic network, but volunteers, hosts and replacement funding constrain expansion. The 75% USA health share is a cautious allocation judgment, not a raw patient share. Full cash-support expenses are charged against vision health; dental and other medical benefits remain unpriced. [ram-faq] [ram-host] [ram-audit25]
f
0.6 meaningful correction per eye exam (judgment). Conditional 60%; .2–.9 stress. Exams can detect nonrefractive disease or produce small prescription changes. Recipient severity and dispensing completion absent. [ram-faq] [vision-rct]
s
0.5 fraction of benefit not otherwise obtained (judgment). Allows later public, charitable or purchased correction. Test 0–.8. Access barriers support need but do not measure substitution. [ram-faq]
u
0.04 QALY per effectively corrected year (judgment). Small transfer judgment relative to cross-sectional uncorrected utility deficits; not a NEI-VFQ mapping or measured RAM treatment effect. Test 0–.08. [vision-rct] [vision-utility]
p
0.8 effective sustained use (judgment). Allows nonuse, breakage, loss and poor adaptation. Test.5–.9; recipient follow-up missing. [vision-rct] [vision-harm]
T
3 years (judgment). Conditional durability,1–4 years; not established by short trial. [vision-rct]
m
0.01 annual competing mortality (judgment). Mixed-age allowance; no survival benefit. Stress.005–.03.
h
0.0002 QALY per additional exam pathway (judgment). Adverse/adaptation burden allowance, not observed event rate. Includes weak-correction pathways. Test.0001–.0005; no broad falls benefit. Incremental relative to actual alternative care; shared burdens cancel under identical replacement. [vision-harm]
g
0.75 USA health share (judgment). We adopt 50% financing-sensitive throughput: cash supports a demonstrated clinic network, but volunteers, hosts and replacement funding constrain expansion. The 75% USA health share is a cautious allocation judgment, not a raw patient share. Full cash-support expenses are charged against vision health; dental and other medical benefits remain unpriced. [ram-tax25] [ram-output25]
H_other
0 net QALYs per annual historical scale (judgment). We adopt 50% financing-sensitive throughput: cash supports a demonstrated clinic network, but volunteers, hosts and replacement funding constrain expansion. The 75% USA health share is a cautious allocation judgment, not a raw patient share. Full cash-support expenses are charged against vision health; dental and other medical benefits remain unpriced. [ram-output25]

Best estimate — explicit judgment: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 0.0753153208445622; all-population QALYs: 0.10042042779274961. C=10522622; N=7999; b=0.5; f=0.6; s=0.5; u=0.04; p=0.8; T=3; m=0.01; D=2.772964336014393; h=0.0002; g=0.75. Dental and medical net outcomes unquantified, set zero only for this vision-path test. We adopt 50% financing-sensitive throughput: cash supports a demonstrated clinic network, but volunteers, hosts and replacement funding constrain expansion. The 75% USA health share is a cautious allocation judgment, not a raw patient share. Full cash-support expenses are charged against vision health; dental and other medical benefits remain unpriced.

Vision-only conditional throughput case: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 0.0753153208445622; all-population QALYs: 0.10042042779274961. C=10522622; N=7999; b=0.5; f=0.6; s=0.5; u=0.04; p=0.8; T=3; m=0.01; D=2.772964336014393; h=0.0002; g=0.75. Dental and medical net outcomes unquantified, set zero only for this vision-path test.

Durable high-yield vision case: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 1.446097156939923; all-population QALYs: 1.446097156939923. C=10522622; N=7999; b=1; f=0.9; s=0.8; u=0.08; p=0.9; T=4; m=0.005; D=3.671546124436823; h=0.0001; g=1. Dental and medical net outcomes unquantified, set zero only for this vision-path test.

Short weak correction with alternatives: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: -0.00008903186546463245; all-population QALYs: -0.0001780637309292649. C=14000000; N=7999; b=0.1; f=0.2; s=0.2; u=0.01; p=0.5; T=1; m=0.03; D=0.9417475728155339; h=0.0005; g=0.5. Dental and medical net outcomes unquantified, set zero only for this vision-path test.

No additional clinic throughput: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 0; all-population QALYs: 0. C=10522622; N=7999; b=0; f=0.6; s=0.5; u=0.04; p=0.8; T=3; m=0.01; D=2.772964336014393; h=0.0002; g=0.75. Dental and medical net outcomes unquantified, set zero only for this vision-path test.

Extra duplicative exam without additional correction benefit: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: -0.0005701288139020864; all-population QALYs: -0.0007601717518694486. C=10522622; N=7999; b=0.5; f=0.6; s=0; u=0.04; p=0.8; T=3; m=0.01; D=2.772964336014393; h=0.0002; g=0.75. Dental and medical net outcomes unquantified, set zero only for this vision-path test. This is extra, duplicative care with new burden; it is not a mere change of provider for identical care.

Recorded volunteer resource costs included: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 0.039919831984993895; all-population QALYs: 0.053226442646658524. C=19852655; N=7999; b=0.5; f=0.6; s=0.5; u=0.04; p=0.8; T=3; m=0.01; D=2.772964336014393; h=0.0002; g=0.75. Dental and medical net outcomes unquantified, set zero only for this vision-path test.

Counterfactual: b discounts donor replacement, reserves, fixed volunteer slots and local-host constraints, separately from s for patient alternatives. Patients may obtain later care through Medicaid, community clinics, other charities, family payments or low-cost optical services. No-insurance status does not prove no substitute. Public funding saved is not counted as a health gain; any downstream use is unmodeled. Donated clinician opportunity cost may include other care forgone. The negative alternative-care test means an extra duplicative exam or prescription with no extra correction benefit. It is not identical replacement care, for which shared burdens cancel.

Attribution: Full recipient expense supports only the vision pathway in the conditional test; dental and medical benefits are not silently attributed to glasses. Two pairs do not create two independent QALY streams. Extractions/fillings can overlap within the same pain episode. Screening and telehealth encounters are not credited without treatment completion. Geography and affiliate-cost scope need reconciliation. A positive conditional number does not overcome unknown marginal throughput.

We adopt 50% financing-sensitive throughput: cash supports a demonstrated clinic network, but volunteers, hosts and replacement funding constrain expansion. The 75% USA health share is a cautious allocation judgment, not a raw patient share. Full cash-support expenses are charged against vision health; dental and other medical benefits remain unpriced. Zero and adverse outcomes remain possible; the quantified pathway is not a complete portfolio valuation.

Sensitivity

  • Conditional vision-only price≈$1.33 million/10; favorable≈$69000; unfavorable and fixed-capacity cases have no positive price. These are not confidence limits or a bounded range.
  • At conditional clinical inputs and g=.75, b must be≥.6639 for $1 million/10 or≥6.639 for $100000/10. The tighter threshold cannot be achieved on that vision pathway merely by funding more of the same mix.
  • At b=.5 and g=.75, annual-scale total net QALYs must be≥280.603 for $1 million/10 or≥2806.033 for $100000/10. Conditional vision supplies 211.337; H_other must add≥69.266 or≥2594.695 respectively. These are required net health gains, not outputs or measured effects.
  • Restoring recorded volunteer resource cost raises the conditional price to≈$2.51 million/10, still excluding unrecorded volunteer travel, host expenditure and patient waiting. This is a resource-cost sensitivity, not the cash donation price.
  • If all meaningful corrections occur in USA residents, g=1 reduces the conditional vision price to≈$996000/10; if g=.5 it rises to≈$1.99 million. Neither patient counts nor affiliate headquarters establish this health share.
  • If treatment merely replaces equivalent later correction, s=0 preserves adverse burden and produces negative net modeled vision health. If cash cannot unlock clinicians/hosts, b=0 gives zero.
  • A $100 eye-exam-and-glasses fundraising illustration is not substituted for the full-recipient $1315 historical cost per eye-exam pathway. Restricting spending to a favored program would answer a different donation question.
  • Improved visual function does not automatically mean fewer falls, survival, learning gains or earnings; no such addition is credited. Dental pain relief may be important but teeth extracted cannot be assigned independent patient-level QALYs.

Unresolved inputs

  • Funding-contingent clinic/telehealth expansion plan, confirmed clinicians and hosts, contribution replacement and current cost per additional completed service mix.
  • Reconciliation of 32770 headline patients,7402 Philippine patients,436 clinics and 7999 eye exams, with domestic/foreign resident health and recipient-versus-affiliate cost scope.
  • Unique patients with meaningful corrected acuity, severity, prior glasses, dispensing completion and sustained use; generic utility and adverse effects.
  • Unique symptomatic dental patients and causal pain/function improvement, duration, repeat procedures, complications and alternative treatment timing.
  • Medical screening referrals, diagnoses, treatment initiation and longitudinal outcomes, avoiding overlap with dental/vision cases.
  • Current building/capacity utilization, loan repayment funding, local host costs, volunteer travel/opportunity cost and patient waiting/travel burden.

5. Funding and previous grants

The FY2025 audit reports $19,852,655 total expenses, including $9,330,033 donated labor, versus $15,134,442 in 2024. Schedule D reconciles $10,349,704 tax functional expense plus $172,918 rental expenses and donated labor to the audited total. Thus $10,522,622 is a non-volunteer expense proxy, still including depreciation and some in-kind supplies, not cash flow. General contributions fell from $9.12 million to $7.43 million and operating cash flow was −$1.46 million. Yet $6.91 million of financial assets remained available within a year. RAM acquired two headquarters buildings, spent $7.12 million on property/equipment and took a $2.5 million interest-only loan due December 2027, collateralized by a CD. Asset-sale gains and temporary rent are not repeatable clinic funding. These facts suggest possible funding need but do not establish extra clinician slots or a funding-contingent clinic backlog.

Annual expenses

Organization-level spending, including programs, administration and fundraising. The research list averages three comparable, consecutive full fiscal years when available.

  • FY 2023: $12.4M; Remote Area Medical (EIN58-1647546), 12-month period, Audited accrual total expense including recognized donated services and direct rental/event costs. Source
  • FY 2024: $15.1M; Remote Area Medical (EIN58-1647546), 12-month period, Audited accrual total expense including recognized donated services and direct rental/event costs. Source
  • FY 2025: $19.9M; Remote Area Medical (EIN58-1647546), 12-month period, Audited accrual total expense including recognized donated services and direct rental/event costs. Source

6. Sources

  1. FY2025 audited financial statements, with 2024 comparative. Remote Area Medical / Pugh & Company. Published: 2026-07-31; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  2. FY2024 audited financial statements, with 2023 comparative. Remote Area Medical / Pugh & Company. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  3. FY2025 original Form 990, Part III and Schedule D reconciliation. Remote Area Medical / IRS. Published: 2026-08-18; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  4. RAM by the Numbers: Our Impact in 2025. Remote Area Medical. Published: 2026-02-04; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  5. Current clinic access and volunteer capacity FAQ. Remote Area Medical. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  6. Community hosting: responsibilities, costs and planning time. Remote Area Medical. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  7. Current mobile clinics and Tennessee telehealth. Remote Area Medical. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  8. Donation illustrations for vision, telehealth and dental care. Remote Area Medical. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  9. Free eye exams and eyeglasses: current program description. Remote Area Medical. Published: 2026-05-08; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  10. Randomized immediate versus delayed refractive correction in older US adults. Coleman et al., Journal of the American Geriatrics Society. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  11. Utility and uncorrected refractive error. Tahhan et al., Ophthalmology / Johns Hopkins University. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  12. VISIBLE randomized trial: glasses, falls and adverse effects. Haran et al., BMJ. Published: 2010-05-25; retrieved: 2026-09-13.