Summary
What do they do? Legal Action Center uses legal services, litigation and policy advocacy to reduce discrimination against people with substance use disorders, HIV/AIDS, or arrest and conviction records. It works on access to health care alongside employment, housing, education, privacy and other civil rights. A finite judgment model estimates MOUD-access health from individual and prospective targeted policy work, with other civil-rights and health pathways unpriced.
Why we’re interested in this organization:
Removing an actual treatment barrier offers a concrete route to better health, and methadone and buprenorphine have substantial mortality evidence.
Recent litigation produced enforceable institutional changes with admission-denial monitoring, rather than only awareness or recommendations.
National policy work could reach many more people than direct representation, while the charity also reports a substantial New York legal-service caseload.
Our main reservations:
No public model links additional unrestricted funding to extra treatment initiation, retention or health outcomes after other actors' contributions.
Much of the portfolio produces important non-health benefits that cannot simply be relabeled QALYs.
Current financial publications disagree on revenue and net assets; expense totals can be reconciled, but a marginal funding plan and reserve restrictions still need clarification.
What do you get for your dollar? $239.9M per better life: ten additional quality-adjusted life years in USA. Judgment-based partial-health: recipient Form 990 expenses excluding donated legal services..
Central direct pathway yields 1.734375 donor-responsive retained treatment-years; separate future targeted-policy pathway yields 6. L=4.938368555103658 discounted QALYs per avoided near-term death over10years, already adjusting utility and competing mortality.
1. What do they do?
LAC combines individual representation, institutional litigation, national and state policy work, coalitions and professional training. The 2025 annual report describes insurance assistance, health-care discrimination cases, criminal-record remedies and alternatives to incarceration. Its January 2026 Medicare comments seek lower treatment barriers and better network oversight. These show an active health-policy portfolio, not evidence that the requested reforms were adopted or caused additional care.
2. Monitoring and information sharing
The FY2025 Form 990 reports 869 New Yorkers helped with 1,770 civil cases: 808 clients had conviction-record issues, 37 substance-use-disorder issues and 24 HIV/AIDS issues. The 2025 annual report instead reports calendar-year activity, including 999 clients and 1,980 cases; these periods should not be mixed in a cost-per-case calculation. Neither series identifies additional medication treatment or survival. In the 2025 nursing-facility settlement, two facilities agreed to nondiscrimination policies, training and one year of admission-denial reporting. Actual additional admissions and patient outcomes are the decisive next measures.
3. Qualitative assessment
The best-judgment model prices one credible health pathway—additional retained MOUD access—while leaving much of this civil-rights institution’s value unpriced. A Massachusetts cohort study followed 17,568 overdose survivors; methadone and buprenorphine were associated with adjusted all-cause mortality hazard ratios of 0.47 and 0.63 respectively. This is observational evidence, not a trial of LAC. A 2024 Medicare study also associated greater medication exposure with lower fatal-overdose risk, but its older population differs from many legal clients. Treatment access only matters clinically if patients initiate and retain effective care. The nursing-facility settlement is jointly produced with Disability Rights North Carolina and applies directly to two facilities; it should not be priced as a nationwide change in admissions. Employment, dignity, privacy and avoided incarceration can be valuable without forcing them into an unsupported health conversion.
A difference-in-differences study of the 2014 small-group insurance parity expansion found more residential treatment but less agonist medication. That is not an evaluation of LAC or every parity reform. It does show why coverage, spending and total admissions are inadequate substitutes for the mix and duration of effective treatment.
4. What do you get for your dollar?
The central cost excludes donated legal services; including recognized donated resources raises the estimate from $239.9 million to $283.5 million per 10 USA QALYs.
The consistent Form 990 expense series is $8.19 million for FY2023, $8.65 million for FY2024 and $8.98 million for FY2025, years ending March 31. The FY2025 return assigns $2.71 million to legal services. Dividing by its matched 869-client count gives about $3,100 per legal client, before allocating shared support and donated services; this is an average workload measure, not a price for an additional successful case. Audited expenses reported in the annual report are $10.61 million, including $1.63 million donated services excluded from the 990. We do not combine those accounting bases in the three-year average.
A conditional mortality bridge is possible: 0.005–0.020 fewer deaths per additional retained treatment-year, multiplied by 5–15 discounted quality-adjusted years per death prevented, gives 0.025–0.30 QALYs per net treatment-year. Both ranges are explicit judgments informed by clinical evidence, not measured LAC effects or statistical confidence limits. To meet $100,000 per ten USA QALYs, LAC's enabling contribution would need to cost roughly $250–$3,000 per additional attributable USA treatment-year; the $1 million threshold permits $2,500–$30,000. Clinical provision also uses public or private resources. The missing quantity is how many such years LAC actually causes at the margin; an insurance approval, favorable policy or legal client is not automatically a retained treatment-year.
For scale, NIDA's historical 2018 report cites preliminary delivery costs of $5,980 per buprenorphine patient-year and $6,552 for methadone with associated services. These are not current quotes. Even these historical prices imply about $6,000 in downstream delivery resources per treatment-year, additional to legal or advocacy spending and before medical cost offsets.
The finite judgment central is $239.95 million per 10 USA QALYs, with 0.37431 QALYs per annual full-recipient support cost. The37 reported SUD clients are reduced for OUD relevance, access changed beyond alternatives, uptake, retention and funding response; they are not37successful treatment restorations. The separate prospective policy branch assumes four opportunities, each involving100 eligible people, a .15 attributable implementation probability change, .4 uptake and .5 retained years. This is a planning prior informed by an active legal-policy portfolio and a concrete two-facility precedent, not a replay of the completed settlement. No overlap with direct clients is allowed.
This estimate charges all Form990 recipient spending, not only legal-service expense. Using the annual report’s rounded $10.61 million including pro bono resources increases the price by 1.181 times; source reconciliation remains as previously disclosed. Clinical provision and outside partner resources add further social cost. A finite price does not establish an available funding gap or endorsement.
Model, assumptions and sensitivity
Ordinary unrestricted gift across legal, policy, other programs and shared support. annual recipient spending uses Form990 expenses excluding donated services; full economic resource use additionally includes pro bono services and clinical/public implementation costs. An unrestricted gift is not assumed restricted to MOUD litigation.
Count residents of the 50 states plus DC. Individual New York clients and the North Carolina case lie inside this boundary. National insurance and policy work may extend to territories; no resident-weighted marginal share was found. A 100% USA share applies only to explicitly identified in-boundary clients, not automatically to the full portfolio.
At full annual recipient cost C=8981593: Ydirect=S*o*v*u*t*b; Ypolicy=K*dp*N*up*tp*b; L=sum(y=1..T) U*((1-m)/1.03)^y; Qall=(Ydirect+Ypolicy)*d*L; QUSA=Qall*g. Direct and prospective policy recipients are disjoint. b funding responsiveness appears once. dp is net LAC contribution versus other counsel, so no extra coalition multiplier. Retained treatment exposure at most one year; post-averted-death survival finite, no extra lifetime term.
- Illustrative gift G
- 100000 USD (judgment). Scale for a transparent hurdle calculation, not a minimum gift or a restricted opportunity.
- FY2025 recipient990 spending
- 8981593 USD/year (observed). Year endedMarch31,2025; excludes donated services recognized in audited statements. [lac-99025]
- FY2025 legal-service spending and clients
- [2710399,869] USD/year; clients/year (observed). Matched fiscal-year average supports a workload denominator, not causal outcomes or marginal capacity. [lac-99025]
- Fiscal-year clients with SUD legal issues
- 37 clients/year (observed). Not equivalent to OUD patients, MOUD cases or restored treatment; broader policy work can affect other people. [lac-99025]
- Observed mortality difference during versus out of treatment
- [0.0052,0.0248] deaths/person-year (observed). Arithmetic differences in Sordo's pooled crude rates:9.5−4.3 and36.1−11.3 per1000person-years; observational and heterogeneous, not causal bounds. [moud-sordo]
- Conditional additional mortality reduction d
- [0.005,0.02] deaths/net retained treatment-year (judgment). Tempered clinical sensitivity range informed by cohort differences. Baseline risk, fentanyl exposure, induction risk and confounding can move true effects outside it. [moud-sordo] [moud-larochelle] [moud-jones]
- Discounted remaining QALYs per prevented death L
- [5,15] QALYs/death (judgment). Illustrative survival/utility envelope, not full remaining life expectancy. Depends on age, comorbidities, later relapse and mortality; no patient-level LAC estimate.
- Historical clinical delivery benchmark
- [5980,6552] USD/treatment-year in2018 report (observed). NIDA cites preliminary Department of Defense estimates; source price base not updated. Illustrates external resource requirements, not LAC cost or a current price. [nida-treatmentcost]
- S
- 37 reported annual SUD-issue legal clients (observed). Observed37clients retained from accepted original return; not all MOUD cases. [lac-99025]
- o
- 0.5 see formula and rationale (judgment). Half of SUD legal clients judged to concern a treatment-relevant OUD access barrier; not measured. [lac-settlement] [moud-sordo]
- v
- 0.5 see formula and rationale (judgment). Half those cases judged to improve access beyond other counsel or enforcement; not observed win rate. [lac-settlement] [moud-sordo]
- u
- 0.75 see formula and rationale (judgment). Three-quarters of newly eligible direct clients judged to take up effective medication. [lac-settlement] [moud-sordo]
- t
- 0.5 see formula and rationale (judgment). Half a year of additional retained treatment, not lifetime adherence. [lac-settlement] [moud-sordo]
- b
- 0.5 see formula and rationale (judgment). Half of proportional legal/policy capacity judged responsive to unrestricted funding, allowing reserves and replacement. [lac-settlement] [moud-sordo]
- K
- 4 see formula and rationale (judgment). Four prospective targeted implementation opportunities at the annual full-recipient scale: an order-of-magnitude planning prior, not four observed unfunded lawsuits. [lac-settlement] [moud-sordo]
- dp
- 0.15 see formula and rationale (judgment). 15percentage-point implementation probability change due to LAC contribution after other counsel; not case success probability. [lac-settlement] [moud-sordo]
- N
- 100 see formula and rationale (judgment). 100eligible people per prospective targeted policy opportunity, not nationwide statutory coverage. [lac-settlement] [moud-sordo]
- up
- 0.4 see formula and rationale (judgment). 40percent additional medication uptake among eligible policy recipients; alternatives already incorporated. [lac-settlement] [moud-sordo]
- tp
- 0.5 see formula and rationale (judgment). Half a year of retained additional policy-induced treatment; no future recurring cohorts. [lac-settlement] [moud-sordo]
- d
- 0.01 see formula and rationale (judgment). One percentage point annual mortality reduction, below some observed cohort contrasts and within prior tempered clinical range; observational confounding remains. [lac-settlement] [moud-sordo]
- U
- 0.75 see formula and rationale (judgment). Post-rescue utility .75, not full health. [lac-settlement] [moud-sordo]
- m
- 0.05 see formula and rationale (judgment). 5percent annual competing mortality after the prevented near-term death; no indefinite survival. [lac-settlement] [moud-sordo]
- T
- 10 see formula and rationale (judgment). Post-averted-death health stops after10years; horizon is judgment. [lac-settlement] [moud-sordo]
- g
- 0.98 see formula and rationale (judgment). 98percent 50states+DC residence; excludes territories and foreign spillovers. [lac-settlement] [moud-sordo]
Best estimate — explicit partial-health judgment: Cost: $9.0M; USA QALYs: 0.3743129040751226; all-population QALYs: 0.3819519429337985. {"S":37,"o":0.5,"v":0.5,"u":0.75,"t":0.5,"b":0.5,"K":4,"dp":0.15,"N":100,"up":0.4,"tp":0.5,"d":0.01,"U":0.75,"m":0.05,"T":10,"g":0.98}. Finite prospective judgment, not observed throughput or confidence limits.
Weak joint judgment stress: Cost: $9.0M; USA QALYs: 0.00005582518485901846; all-population QALYs: 0.00005876335248317733. {"S":37,"o":0.2,"v":0.2,"u":0.4,"t":0.25,"b":0.1,"K":1,"dp":0.02,"N":25,"up":0.2,"tp":0.25,"d":0.002,"U":0.5,"m":0.1,"T":5,"g":0.95}. Finite prospective judgment, not observed throughput or confidence limits.
Favorable joint judgment stress: Cost: $9.0M; USA QALYs: 90.24120546594843; all-population QALYs: 90.69467886024968. {"S":37,"o":0.8,"v":0.8,"u":0.9,"t":1,"b":0.75,"K":8,"dp":0.3,"N":500,"up":0.6,"tp":1,"d":0.02,"U":0.85,"m":0.03,"T":15,"g":0.995}. Finite prospective judgment, not observed throughput or confidence limits.
No additional net health: Cost: $9.0M; USA QALYs: 0; all-population QALYs: 0. No incremental implementation or no clinical benefit; no incremental harm.
Illustrative net health loss: Cost: $9.0M; USA QALYs: -1; all-population QALYs: -1. One net USA QALY lost through disruption, displaced care or adverse substitution; stress test, not an observed estimate.
Remaining portfolio health unpriced: Cost: $9.0M; USA QALYs: unknown; all-population QALYs: unknown. Other non-overlapping pathways could add or subtract health; no invented portfolio uplift.
Rounded recognized-resource cost including pro bono: Cost: $10.6M; USA QALYs: 0.3743129040751226; all-population QALYs: 0.3819519429337985. {"S":37,"o":0.5,"v":0.5,"u":0.75,"t":0.5,"b":0.5,"K":4,"dp":0.15,"N":100,"up":0.4,"tp":0.5,"d":0.01,"U":0.75,"m":0.05,"T":10,"g":0.98}. Finite prospective judgment, not observed throughput or confidence limits. Approximate10.61million annual-report expense including donated services; not a new audited exact reconciliation.
Counterfactual: No-gift world includes existing staff, funded cases, other counsel, federal enforcement, advocacy coalitions, insurers and clinical providers. A change caused earlier counts only the additional benefit during acceleration. Successful historical cases are not repeatable units automatically purchased by a new donor. Public funding may be shifted rather than increased; measure net effective care, not budget totals.
Attribution: Use probability difference with versus without the incremental LAC work, not all beneficiaries of a coalition win. Partners and clients are necessary contributors. Keep individual-case and policy-spillover beneficiaries separate to avoid duplicate credit. Count patient residence, not LAC headquarters. Do not count legal damages, insurance savings, employment income and medical savings as QALYs. Changes in treatment mix can be harmful as well as helpful; subtract displaced effective medication treatment rather than assuming every coverage expansion has a positive sign.
Genuine best-judgment partial-health estimate. Legal-to-treatment implementation parameters are weak priors, not measured client outcomes or bounded probabilities from source data. Broad joint scenarios, zero and adverse cases remain. Other HIV, incarceration, civil-rights and economic value is not assumed worthless.
Sensitivity
- ForG=$100,000, $100,000 per10 requires10USAQALYs and $1million per10 requires1. With d×L=0.025–0.30, required netUSA treatment-years are33.3–400 and3.3–40 respectively.
- At a diagnostic midpoint d=0.01 andL=10, q=0.10. Required netUSA treatment-years are100 or10. These are clinical/model judgments only, not a central gift effect.
- If a policy produces1000gross treatment-years but only10% are causally attributable to extra LAC work after substitution, only100 count;95% USAshare reduces this to95. Neither1000,10% nor95% is an observed LAC parameter.
- As a deliberately narrow direct-case test, all37SUD-issue clients receiving one extra attributable retained MOUDyear would yield0.925–11.1QALYs. Against the fullFY2025budget this is roughly$8.1m–$97m per10. This is not a whole-organization estimate or upper bound: SUD cases may not restoreMOUD, and policy spillovers, HIVcare and other health gains are omitted.
- At fullFY2025budget, annual USAhealth hurdles are about898QALYs for$100k per10 and90QALYs for$1m per10. Full societal costing raises the numerator by additional clinical care and partner resources; medical savings are not health gains.
- Halving retention, counterfactual additionality or clinical benefit doubles the price; zero additional benefit leaves no finite positive price. Older, medically complex patients may have lower remainingQALYs and higher immediate risks, so one universal treatment-year value is inappropriate.
- Repeated treatment-years need survival weighting; do not count the same averted death multiple times or assume lifetime treatment retention. The mortality-only bridge omits morbidity and infection effects, which require separate estimates and overlap checks.
- The parity study found no statistically significant overall clinical-outcome or spending effect; its null result is not proof that all targeted access reforms fail. It argues for case-specific implementation assumptions rather than importing a generic positive policy multiplier.
Unresolved inputs
- Current unrestricted marginal budget and unfunded opportunity pipeline: staff/cases/campaigns that a gift adds, including support, pro bono constraints and alternatives.
- For direct health cases: baseline denial, treatment indication, resolution, additional initiation, retention duration and what would happen with other counsel/enforcement.
- For policy work: affected in-scope population, plausible probability difference attributable to incremental effort, actual implementation, provider capacity and uptake rather than statutory eligibility alone.
- Clinical baseline mortality, age/comorbidity distribution, quality-of-life weights and survival after averted death; measure treatment-months and avoid attributing all mortality associations causally.
- Coalition contributions, public/private spending replacement and displaced services, overlapping beneficiaries, territory share and downstream resource costs.
- Reconcile annual-report versus Form990 revenue/netassets and establish restricted versus available reserves before inferring marginal funding urgency.
5. Funding and previous grants
The FY2025 return records $6.47 million revenue against $8.98 million expenses and $11.94 million ending net assets. Net assets are not freely spendable cash or proof that new donations are unnecessary. The annual report gives different revenue and net-asset figures for the same stated period; without reconciliation, we rely on the return for those quantities and do not infer runway. Government contracts, foundations, individual support and donated professional work all matter. A costed current funding gap, restrictions and the next unfunded hires or cases were not found.
LAC's October 2025 opioid-settlement recommendations explicitly identify missing baseline funding, outcome and other-funder information in public spending reports. That is also central to evaluating the charity: protecting or redirecting appropriations can help, but only incremental effective services count after replacement by other government, insurer or private funding. Published historical achievements cannot be attributed to a new gift.
Annual expenses
Organization-level spending, including programs, administration and fundraising. The research list averages three comparable, consecutive full fiscal years when available.
- FY 2023: $8.2M; Legal Action Center of the City of New York, Inc., 12-month period, Form 990 recipient total expenses, fiscal year ending March 31; excludes donated services. Source
- FY 2024: $8.7M; Legal Action Center of the City of New York, Inc., 12-month period, Form 990 recipient total expenses, fiscal year ending March 31; excludes donated services. Source
- FY 2025: $9.0M; Legal Action Center of the City of New York, Inc., 12-month period, Form 990 recipient total expenses, fiscal year ending March 31; excludes donated services. Source
6. Sources
- 2025 Annual Report; calendar activities and FY2025 financial page 19. Legal Action Center. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- FY2025 Form 990 (tax year 2024), pp1–2 and Schedule D. Legal Action Center / IRS. Published: 2026-01-16; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- FY2024 Form 990 (tax year 2023), current and prior-year expenses. Legal Action Center / IRS. Published: 2025-02-13; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Nursing-care substance-use-disorder discrimination settlement. Disability Rights North Carolina / Legal Action Center. Published: 2025-10-08; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Comments on CY2027 Medicare Advantage and Part D changes. Legal Action Center. Published: 2026-01-26; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Recommendations to New York Opioid Settlement Fund Advisory Board. Legal Action Center. Published: 2025-10-15; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Medication for OUD After Nonfatal Overdose and Association With Mortality. Larochelle et al. / Annals of Internal Medicine. Published: 2018-06-19; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Mortality risk during and after opioid substitution treatment: systematic review and meta-analysis. Sordo et al. / BMJ. Published: 2017-04-26; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Overdose, Behavioral Health Services, and MOUD After a Nonfatal Overdose. Jones et al. / JAMA Internal Medicine. Published: 2024-08-01; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- 2018–2019 Annual Report: official donation route. Legal Action Center. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Do Policies to Increase Access to Treatment for Opioid Use Disorder Work? Working Paper 29001 (later published 2023). Barrette, Dafny and Shen / NBER. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Medications to Treat Opioid Use Disorder, June 2018 report, p32. National Institute on Drug Abuse. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.