GiveBetter x USA

Help America Hear

Prescription hearing-aid access, professional fitting and student support

Research time: 11 min on GPT-6 Astra Light
  • Research — reviewed programs, finances and impact evidence.

Updated: 2026-09-14

Summary

What do they do? Help America Hear connects financially eligible people with donated prescription hearing aids and professional fitting services across the United States. Its program covers moderate to profound hearing loss and includes limited follow-up, while patients still face evaluation, accessory and possible fitting costs. The charity also provides student scholarships; the health case rests on sustained hearing and communication improvements rather than the retail value of devices or scholarships.

Why we’re interested in this organization:

  • Hearing aids have a direct, testable clinical mechanism, with randomized US evidence of sustained improvement in communication.

  • Professional fitting and a last-resort financial screen can target people whose needs are not met by standard insurance or inexpensive retail devices.

  • The small recipient reports actual fitted people and modest reserves, permitting concrete per-case and funding-capacity tests.

Our main reservations:

  • No public current waiting-list, manufacturer quota or provider-capacity budget establishes how many extra completed fittings a donation buys.

  • Hearing-specific benefits are clearer than generic QALY gains, and long-term use or replacement is not tracked publicly for this recipient.

  • Full costs include substantial fundraising events and scholarships; eligibility fees, care access and an unresolved registration data flag warrant follow-up.

What do you get for your dollar? $689K per better life: ten additional quality-adjusted life years in USA. Hearing and communication; full recipient support costs.

The FY2025 return repeats an over-120 people/services narrative also present in earlier returns; this is not a verified annual cohort. It separately lists 164 donated device items, a different unit. Gross expense $426,522 minus $123,000 noncash aids equals $303,522, or $2,529.35 using a hypothetical 120-recipient denominator: a rough cost diagnostic, not an observed annual cost per patient. Conditional c=$3,000 and b=0.6 imply two additional fitted patients per arithmetic unit; net clinical QALYs per such patient are approximately 0.0733 before geography.

1. What do they do?

The current program provides two prescription hearing aids, custom molds and one year of limited service for eligible people with moderate to profound hearing loss. It screens income, assets, insurance and alternatives. A $250 deposit is applied to fitting if charged, or refundable when the clinician donates services; patients pay for evaluations, medical clearance, batteries and other excluded items. The FAQ still describes an application fee and a $36,000 income cap, while the current program page describes income tiers. Those discrepancies should be resolved from the current application, not blended into one rule. The FY2025 return reports over 120 people receiving hearing aids/services and a separate scholarship program.

2. Monitoring and information sharing

The return provides service counts but no linked hearing thresholds, completion denominator, device-use logs, hearing handicap scores or long-term utility outcomes. Schedule M records 164 contributed hearing-aid items valued at $123,000; that is not 164 newly treated people or a matched cohort of bilateral fittings. The current site describes events and scholarships but mixes current and older dates. Provider follow-up is useful, yet the FAQ offers only 3–5 visits or up to one year, depending on the provider. Sustained use, repairs, access barriers and replacement after that year determine health durability. The same ‘over 120’ wording appears in all three reviewed returns; it is not a reconciled annual fitting cohort.

3. Qualitative assessment

The ACHIEVE communication analysis found a roughly 9-point advantage on the 40-point hearing-handicap scale through three years. Placebo-controlled US research also supports genuine hearing benefit. A Singapore delayed-start trial estimated a 0.12 HUI utility difference at three months, but used selected volunteers, a modified scoring procedure and assumed long-term use. In contrast, ACHIEVE's generic RAND-36 analysis found no significant physical or mental composite benefit. We therefore test a smaller 0.04 annual utility improvement without treating it as an observed recipient effect. The primary cognition trial was null overall despite subgroup differences; no dementia prevention or mortality gain is credited.

4. What do you get for your dollar?

Our best estimate: About $690,000 per 10 USA QALYs. A $10,000 normalization buys roughly two otherwise-additional fittings, each yielding about 0.073 net QALY before geography. Four-year use and 0.04 annual utility improvement are judgments; generic utility nulls and fixed capacity can erase benefits. We adopt $3,000 per supported fitting, rounded up from the historical non-in-kind diagnostic, and 60% financing/capacity additionality. Existing last-resort fitting capacity and modest reserves support a nonzero response, while the 40% discount allows sponsor and provider constraints. These are judgments, not measured marginal rates. Favorable, zero and adverse cases remain in the transparent model; positive scenarios are not confidence bounds or verified funding offers.

Model, assumptions and sensitivity

Ordinary unrestricted recipient support, with all recipient fundraising, operations and scholarships retained in the planning cost. G=$10,000 is normalization only. c=$3,000 is a conditional full-support cash-cost prior anchored to gross expenses less identifiable donated aids divided by a conservative120-patient denominator; this ratio is not a verified production function. Patient tests, travel and fitting costs and donated provider/device resource costs are separately disclosed, not claimed free to society.

Official program and return describe nationwide domestic services and no foreign operations. Conditional g=.99 allows incidental nonresident benefit; range.98–1. USA includes residents of50states and DC. Headquarters location and citizenship are not allocation keys.

D=sum[t=1..T]((1−m)/1.03)^t. N=(G/c)×b. Q_all=N×(s×u×p×D−h). Q_USA=Q_all×g. Price per10=10G/Q_USA only if positive. b is financing/provider/manufacturer additionality; s is benefit not otherwise obtained; p is sustained effective use; u is utility gain while using devices. h is an adverse-burden allowance retained for all additional fittings even when s=0. Central inputs are explicit judgments, with wide sensitivity tests.

G
10000 USD normalization (judgment). Arithmetic only; not a funding commitment.
FY2025 gross accounting expense
426522 USD (observed). 278776 PartIX +147746 PartVIII direct event costs; no asset-sale basis treated as operating expense. [hah-99025]
FY2025 donated aids
123000 USD recorded fair value (observed). ScheduleM164items; matching expense line. Book value is not benefit or replacement cost. [hah-noncash] [hah-99025]
Historical recipient count floor
120 people (observed). Narrative says over120;120 used only as conservative denominator, not exact matched fitting count. [hah-99025]
c
3000 USD/marginal completed fitting (judgment). We adopt $3,000 per supported fitting, rounded up from the historical non-in-kind diagnostic, and 60% financing/capacity additionality. Existing last-resort fitting capacity and modest reserves support a nonzero response, while the 40% discount allows sponsor and provider constraints. These are judgments, not measured marginal rates. [hah-99025] [hah-noncash] [hah-program]
b
0.6 financing and capacity additionality (judgment). We adopt $3,000 per supported fitting, rounded up from the historical non-in-kind diagnostic, and 60% financing/capacity additionality. Existing last-resort fitting capacity and modest reserves support a nonzero response, while the 40% discount allows sponsor and provider constraints. These are judgments, not measured marginal rates. [hah-99025] [hah-program]
s
0.7 fraction of benefit not otherwise available (judgment). Last-resort screening supports targeting; allow30% alternative access/benefit. Range0–.9. OTC alternatives do not cover all ages/severities. [hah-program] [hearing-medicare] [hearing-otc]
u
0.04 QALY/year while effectively aided (judgment). One-third of Singapore.12 short-term HUI difference, discounted for modified scoring and generic-US composite nulls. Stress0–.10; not an HHIE-to-QALY mapping. [hearing-utility] [hearing-generic] [hearing-communication]
p
0.75 effective sustained-use fraction (judgment). Allows nonuse, partial use, poor fit, maintenance and limited follow-up. Range.5–.9. Not a measured recipient adherence rate. [hah-faq] [hearing-utility]
T
4 years (judgment). Conditional four-year benefit; evidence supports three-year communication effect and program allows application everyfiveyears, but that is not proof of durability. Range1–5. [hearing-communication] [hah-program]
m
0.02 annual competing mortality probability (judgment). Broad mixed-age allowance; actual age mix absent. Range.01–.04; no mortality benefit credited.
h
0.001 QALY/additional fitting (judgment). Small acclimation/discomfort/adverse burden allowance, not an observed serious-harm rate; test0–.002. Retained when alternative benefit offsets hearing gains. [hearing-cognition] [hah-program]
g
0.99 USA resident health share (judgment). Domestic mission and operations; outcome-weighted residence unknown. Range.98–1. [hah-program] [hah-99025]

Best estimate — explicit judgment: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 0.14511181107982615; all-population QALYs: 0.14657758694931936. c=3000; b=0.6; s=0.7; u=0.04; p=0.75; T=4; m=0.02; D=3.5375615940314136; h=0.001; g=0.99. Hearing/function only; no mortality or dementia prevention credited. We adopt $3,000 per supported fitting, rounded up from the historical non-in-kind diagnostic, and 60% financing/capacity additionality. Existing last-resort fitting capacity and modest reserves support a nonzero response, while the 40% discount allows sponsor and provider constraints. These are judgments, not measured marginal rates.

Cautious fitted-device hearing/function model: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 0.14511181107982615; all-population QALYs: 0.14657758694931936. c=3000; b=0.6; s=0.7; u=0.04; p=0.75; T=4; m=0.02; D=3.5375615940314136; h=0.001; g=0.99. Hearing/function only; no mortality or dementia prevention credited.

Efficient coordination with durable otherwise-unavailable hearing benefit: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 4.624568735488061; all-population QALYs: 4.624568735488061. c=700; b=0.9; s=0.9; u=0.1; p=0.9; T=5; m=0.01; D=4.446773820084557; h=0.0005; g=1. Hearing/function only; no mortality or dementia prevention credited.

Short use, alternatives and adverse burden: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: -0.0002949514563106797; all-population QALYs: -0.0003009708737864078. c=4000; b=0.2; s=0.3; u=0.01; p=0.5; T=1; m=0.04; D=0.9320388349514562; h=0.002; g=0.98. Hearing/function only; no mortality or dementia prevention credited.

Manufacturer or provider capacity fixed: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 0; all-population QALYs: 0. c=3000; b=0; s=0.7; u=0.04; p=0.75; T=4; m=0.02; D=3.5375615940314136; h=0.001; g=0.99. Hearing/function only; no mortality or dementia prevention credited.

Equivalent hearing achieved elsewhere: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: -0.00198; all-population QALYs: -0.002. c=3000; b=0.6; s=0; u=0.04; p=0.75; T=4; m=0.02; D=3.5375615940314136; h=0.001; g=0.99. Hearing/function only; no mortality or dementia prevention credited.

No QALY gain under generic quality-of-life measure: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 0; all-population QALYs: 0. c=3000; b=0.6; s=0.7; u=0; p=0.75; T=4; m=0.02; D=3.5375615940314136; h=0; g=0.99. Hearing/function only; no mortality or dementia prevention credited.

Counterfactual: The financial screen makes otherwise-unmet need plausible but does not prove no alternative care. s allows Medicare Advantage, Medicaid, veterans' programs, other charities, family purchase or suitable OTC options. b separately discounts existing sponsorship, fixed donated-device quotas, provider slots and reserves. c includes failed applications/administration through the whole-recipient historical anchor; p discounts post-fitting use, not completion twice.

Attribution: No extra hearing gain is credited to both scholarship and standard-program recipients. Scholarship cash and awareness receive no assumed health benefit but remain in cost; their separate benefits are unquantified. Each recipient is counted once, not once per device. Clinical priors transfer from external trials with better follow-up, not from device retail values. The main uncertainty is donation-sensitive completed care, so numerical cases are conditional and do not establish a favorable bound.

We adopt $3,000 per supported fitting, rounded up from the historical non-in-kind diagnostic, and 60% financing/capacity additionality. Existing last-resort fitting capacity and modest reserves support a nonzero response, while the 40% discount allows sponsor and provider constraints. These are judgments, not measured marginal rates. Zero and adverse outcomes remain possible; the quantified pathway is not a complete portfolio valuation.

Sensitivity

  • At conditional clinical inputs and c=$3000, achieving$1million per10 requires b≥.4135; achieving$100000 requires b≥4.135, impossible. Lower costs or larger sustained clinical benefit are required for the tighter threshold.
  • At b=.6 and other conditional inputs, c must be≤$4353 for$1million per10 or≤$435 for$100000 per10. A free manufacturer device alone does not establish either full-support cost.
  • At c3000 and b.6, annual effective-use utility u must be≥.02773 for$1million per10 or≥.27248 for$100000. Generic quality-of-life nulls make the former uncertain; the latter exceeds the adopted hearing-utility evidence.
  • The best estimate uses judgmental funding-sensitive fittings; current observed marginal capacity would improve it. Zero manufacturer/provider capacity expansion means b=0.
  • Adding$1325 percase as an illustrative resource allowance for donated devices and external fitting/testing support increases the conditional social-cost price by44%, to about$993000 per10. This is not a procurement quote; actual donated opportunity cost and patient expenses are missing.
  • Reducing benefit to one year, or substantial failure to obtain replacement/repairs after the included service year, erodes most of the four-year gain.
  • No dementia, survival, earnings or scholarship-value addition is made. Communication points and device market values cannot be added to QALYs.
  • Current webpage deposit terms and FAQ fee/income language conflict. If up-front costs exclude the poorest or reduce completed care, historical referral counts overstate reachable benefit.
  • Case-mix and current donation allocation could differ from historical120-person volume. The whole-recipient model intentionally retains event and scholarship costs instead of pricing only the best donated-device episode.

Unresolved inputs

  • Current marginal budget linking unrestricted donations to otherwise-unfunded completed fittings, with confirmed manufacturer quantities and professional appointments.
  • Reconciled person/device/cohort counts, scholarship overlap, inventory movement and cost of failed applications or missing follow-up.
  • Current application fee/deposit and income-tier terms; patient testing, travel, batteries, repair and fitting costs.
  • Recipient hearing severity, age and previous/alternative aid access; repeated measured hearing-function, utility and device-use data.
  • Long-term follow-up and repair/replacement capacity after the included service period.
  • Original-registry verification of a CauseIQ CA registration flag ('Dissolution Pending', as ofJune3,2026). This is unverified, may concern CA registration only, and is not evidence of national closure; current official program remains live.
  • Outcome-weighted50states/DC residence and manufacturer/provider opportunity cost.

5. Funding and previous grants

The FY2025 original return shows $278,776 functional expense plus $147,746 direct fundraising-event costs, giving $426,522 gross accounting expense. Removing $123,000 recorded donated aids gives a $303,522 non-in-kind expense proxy, not cash flow or marginal cost. Functional spending includes $40,000 scholarships. Event net income excludes $194,060 event contributions: adding those to $45,380 event receipts and subtracting direct costs gives $91,694 before other fundraising expenses, so the negative net-event line alone does not show a loss-making event. Revenue less functional expense was −$15,225 and unrestricted net assets $71,754. Small reserves support possible funding need, but do not establish available extra donated devices or clinicians. Original Medicare does not cover aids; other coverage and charity programs may. OTC aids are intended for adults with mild-to-moderate loss, not a universal alternative for this program's population.

A secondary index includes a California registration flag that has not been resolved against the original registry. This does not establish national closure or ineligibility. We withhold a donation recommendation and checkout button until the relevant status is clarified; the research model is not legal or tax advice.

Annual expenses

Organization-level spending, including programs, administration and fundraising. The research list averages three comparable, consecutive full fiscal years when available.

  • FY 2023: $386K; Help America Hear Inc., EIN20-0878279, 12-month period, Fiscal year ending February; Form990 PartIX functional expense plus PartVIII direct fundraising-event costs, consistently restored gross accounting expense including donated aids.. Source
  • FY 2024: $437K; Help America Hear Inc., EIN20-0878279, 12-month period, Fiscal year ending February; Form990 PartIX functional expense plus PartVIII direct fundraising-event costs, consistently restored gross accounting expense including donated aids.. Source
  • FY 2025: $427K; Help America Hear Inc., EIN20-0878279, 12-month period, Fiscal year ending February; Form990 PartIX functional expense plus PartVIII direct fundraising-event costs, consistently restored gross accounting expense including donated aids.. Source

6. Sources

  1. Original return for fiscal year ended February28,2025. Help America Hear / IRS via ProPublica. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  2. Original return for fiscal year ended February29,2024. Help America Hear / IRS via ProPublica. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  3. Original return for fiscal year ended February28,2023. Help America Hear / IRS via ProPublica. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  4. FY2025 Schedule M: donated hearing aids. Help America Hear / IRS via ProPublica. Published: 2026-01-13; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  5. Current prescription hearing-aid eligibility, deposit and exclusions. Help America Hear. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  6. FAQ and follow-up service terms. Help America Hear. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  7. Current national programs, scholarship and events. Help America Hear. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  8. Cost-utility analysis of hearing aids: randomized delayed-start study. Kaur et al., BMC Health Services Research. Published: 2020-12-01; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  9. ACHIEVE randomized trial: communicative function. Sanchez et al., Journal of the American Geriatrics Society. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  10. ACHIEVE randomized trial: generic health-related quality of life. Huang et al., JAMA Network Open. Published: 2024-11-21; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  11. ACHIEVE randomized trial: primary cognition outcome. Lin et al., Lancet. Published: 2023-07-18; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  12. Hearing-aid service delivery placebo-controlled trial. Humes et al., American Journal of Audiology. Published: 2017-03-01; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  13. Hearing aid coverage. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  14. OTC hearing aids: intended population and limitations. US Food and Drug Administration. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  15. Third-party California registration field requiring original-registry verification. Cause IQ. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.