GiveBetter x USA

Cribs for Kids

Safe-sleep equipment distribution, caregiver education and hospital/partner training

Research time: 10 min on GPT-6 Astra Light
  • Research — reviewed programs, finances and impact evidence.

Updated: 2026-09-13

Donate

Summary

What do they do? Cribs for Kids provides portable sleep spaces and infant safe-sleep education through local distribution and a large partner network. It also trains caregivers and professionals, certifies hospitals and sells safe-sleep products to partner organizations. The intended health benefit is fewer sleep-related infant deaths when families replace hazardous sleep arrangements with sustained safer practices.

Why we’re interested in this organization:

  • A physical sleep space can remove a concrete barrier that education alone cannot solve, and home-visit studies confirm that many distributed cribs are used.

  • The organization has a functioning distribution and training network, with current filings identifying actual donated cribs rather than only people reached.

  • There is a credible epidemiological link between hazardous sleep and infant death, so a mortality model is possible when behavior change and baseline risk are explicit.

Our main reservations:

  • Receiving or using a crib does not establish consistent safe sleep; follow-up studies show replacement purchases, continued bed-sharing and unsafe bedding.

  • Sales profits already finance much of the work, so a national unrestricted donation may not create the same effect as a newly funded local crib package.

  • Current unit prices, marginal allocation and high-risk sustained behavior change are unknown; the central is not a high-confidence bargain and does not quantify possible training-system benefits.

What do you get for your dollar? $3.7M per better life: ten additional quality-adjusted life years in USA.

Original FY2025 narrative:1,421 locally donated cribs and1,600 grant cribs;535 domestic certified hospitals plus overseas/military sites;935,000 births reached. Do not combine stock/cumulative reach with annual new behavior change. Central arithmetic gives10 nominal material packages,5 after funding/capacity additionality, and1 risk-period-equivalent changed sleep pattern per calculation unit; modeled prevented deaths=.001 before geography.

1. What do they do?

Partner organizations purchase cribs and other products, provide education and distribute resources in their own communities. The national recipient also donates equipment: its FY 2025 return reports 1,421 local cribs and 1,600 through 40 Building Blocks awardees. These accomplishments are not a matched marginal donation cohort. The same return reports 535 certified hospitals across 46 states, plus military and overseas hospitals, and 935,000 births within the program's reach. Reach is not verified behavior change. A grant kit includes a play yard, sheet, wearable blanket, book, pacifier and education materials.

2. Monitoring and information sharing

The current FAQ says ordinary partners are not required to submit annual reports. Consequently, partner counts and product shipments are weak evidence for consistently safe sleep or mortality impact. A Georgia multisite evaluation had 615 matched pre/post surveys but only 66 follow-ups;66.1% of respondents already expected to use a recommended sleep surface without the program. A 75-family home-visit study found 93% using the provided crib, but that is not proof of exclusive use. In a 2026 qualitative study, families appreciated cribs while often using other sleep arrangements or adding bedding. These findings motivate a much smaller sustained incremental behavior factor than the headline crib-use percentage.

3. Qualitative assessment

The AAP evidence review supports a firm, separate sleep surface and other safe-sleep practices. Mortality evidence is mainly observational: pooled case-control evidence finds elevated bed-sharing risk, while another analysis shows substantial variation by hazardous circumstances and no significant overall excess in its low-hazard group. We therefore do not apply a large published odds ratio to every infant. A randomized mobile-education trial improved several self-reported practices, but nursing quality improvement alone did not. A 2025 hospital-program evaluation observed 31 versus 26 sleep-related deaths at four hospitals; small ecological counts, concurrent changes and no randomized mortality comparator prevent treating that 16% decline as Cribs for Kids' causal effect. Crucially, the Pennsylvania PRAMS analysis modeled that hospital initiative separately from Cribs for Kids designation. Designation's adjusted associations with all four practices were near null, with confidence intervals crossing 1. This does not prove no certification benefit, but it rules out treating the other initiative's association as a measured certification effect.

4. What do you get for your dollar?

The conditional material-provision central is about $3.7 million per 10 USA QALYs, with favorable and pessimistic stress tests near $48,000 and $1.2 billion; zero additionality is also possible. We assume $500 for a delivered, taught and supported package, then discount the share of national funding reaching this pathway, replacement funding, and sustained behavior change. This is a full-support cost judgment, not a current product quote: the price list is unavailable because of tariffs and supply-chain changes. The model credits no extra mortality benefit to unmeasured hospital training; that could materially improve total effectiveness but cannot be inferred from births reached. High-volume partner purchases and already-funded grants are not attributed to the next donation.

Model, assumptions and sensitivity

Ordinary unrestricted recipient donation, not a restricted local crib purchase. G=$10,000 is calculation normalization. a allocates the donation to the material-plus-education pathway; c includes its procurement, delivery, teaching, follow-up and proportional support costs. All other dollars remain in the donor numerator. Commercial partner purchases are not treated as donation-caused. No offset from retail sales or medical savings is claimed. Other program health effects are unquantified rather than assumed scientifically zero.

Local grants and the core partner network serve US communities. Central g=.99 and pessimistic.95 allow overseas military, Canadian/Israeli hospital and other foreign spillovers, which the return explicitly mentions. g is a judgment about outcome-weighted resident benefit, not the fraction of hospitals. USA means50states+DC, not citizenship.

N = (G×a/c)×b. Δdeaths = N×u×r×e. Q_all = Δdeaths×L. Q_USA = Q_all×g. Price per10 =10G/Q_USA. u is the incremental full-risk-period-equivalent transition to safer sleep, already discounting alternative crib access, partial use and delayed provision; r is the remaining sleep-related mortality risk of infants whose behavior changes, and e is the causal fraction removed by that change. L is discounted QALYs per prevented infant death. No separate education effect is added to the same infant.

G
10000 USD normalization (judgment). Arithmetic only; not a confirmed funding tranche.
FY2025 functional expense
2633922 USD (observed). Form990 PartIX, excludes COGS and direct event costs. [cfk-99025]
FY2025 COGS
9231646 USD (observed). PartVIII line10b; must restore for gross costs. [cfk-99025]
FY2025 direct event costs
49675 USD (observed). PartVIII line8b, separate from functional fundraising expense. [cfk-99025]
FY2025 gross accounting expense
11915243 USD (observed). 2633922+9231646+49675; not annual cash outflow or marginal cost. [cfk-99025]
a
0.5 material-pathway allocation (judgment). Material-resource functional expense1277796 is48.5% of2633922, but commercial mix prevents a direct allocation inference. Use.5 prior, range.2–.8; other pathways' health remains unquantified. [cfk-99025] [cfk-faq]
c
500 USD/supported material package (judgment). No current quote. Broad full-support allowance for crib/accessories, freight, teaching and support, range175–1000. Does not use net operating expense/partner shipments. A current unit-cost and allocation budget is decisive. [cfk-catalog] [cfk-building] [cfk-99025]
b
0.5 funding/capacity additionality (judgment). Sales profits, inventories/reserves and grant commitments could finance the same work; range.2–.9 and zero. [cfk-99025] [cfk-faq]
u
0.2 incremental risk-period-equivalent safer-sleep share (judgment). Well below observed crib use; multisite study finds most would otherwise use recommended surfaces, selective follow-up and practice decline. Includes replacement access, inconsistent use and late delivery; range.05–.6. [cfk-multisite] [cfk-homevisit] [cfk-qual26] [sleep-mobile-rct]
r
0.002 remaining sleep-related death risk/behavior-changing infant (judgment). Two per1000 for targeted unsafe-sleep subgroup, not national mean. National SUID burden about3400 deaths in2024 supplies scale, not this subgroup rate. Range.001–.004. [sleep-cdc] [sleep-risk-pooled] [sleep-risk-context]
e
0.5 causal risk fraction removed (judgment). Conservative relative reduction for genuinely changed hazardous sleep conditions; cannot prevent every SUID mechanism. Range.2–.7, plus zero; no case-control odds ratio directly treated as intervention efficacy. [sleep-aap] [sleep-risk-pooled] [sleep-risk-context]
L
27 discounted QALYs/prevented infant death (judgment). Approximate80-year horizon at.9 average utility and3% discount gives27.2 before further competing-risk allowance; round27. Range22–30. No parental bereavement or lifetime economic output added.
g
0.99 USA resident health share (judgment). Core domestic distribution, with explicit foreign/military hospital reach. Outcome-weighted share unknown; range.95–1. [cfk-99025]
Hospital/system pathway incremental health
null QALYs/USD (unknown). Need newly improved births attributable to national funding, durable practice change and appropriate risk bridge. Births reached and ecological mortality decline cannot identify it. [cfk-99025] [sleep-hospital25] [sleep-prams25]

Cautious material-provision pathway: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 0.02673; all-population QALYs: 0.027. a=0.5; c=500; b=0.5; u=0.2; r=0.002; e=0.5; L=27; g=0.99; additional packages=5; prevented deaths=0.001. Judgment-only material pathway; other health mechanisms unquantified.

Low-cost provision reaching otherwise unsafe high-risk sleep: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 2.0736; all-population QALYs: 2.0736. a=0.8; c=175; b=0.9; u=0.6; r=0.004; e=0.7; L=30; g=1; additional packages=41.142857142857146; prevented deaths=0.06912. Judgment-only material pathway; other health mechanisms unquantified.

Limited allocation, behavior change and preventable risk: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 0.00008360000000000003; all-population QALYs: 0.00008800000000000004. a=0.2; c=1000; b=0.2; u=0.05; r=0.001; e=0.2; L=22; g=0.95; additional packages=0.4; prevented deaths=0.0000040000000000000015. Judgment-only material pathway; other health mechanisms unquantified.

Existing resources or alternative equipment fully substitute: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 0; all-population QALYs: 0. b=0 or u=0; no additional safe sleep or mortality benefit.

Behavior changes mainly among low-hazard families: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 0.0040095; all-population QALYs: 0.00405. Central inputs but r×e=.00015 instead of.001, resembling a low absolute risk difference from external case-control modeling. Not a directly transferable effect.

Central with undiscounted lifetime benefit: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 0.07425; all-population QALYs: 0.075. L=75 undiscounted QALYs; central otherwise. Contrasts the consequence of discounting, not an extra outcome.

Counterfactual: b discounts for sales-funded provision, reserves, other donors and partner capacity. u separately discounts households that would obtain a crib anyway, follow safe sleep without the intervention, continue unsafe practices or receive equipment after much of the risk period. r is not the mortality risk of every child reached; it applies to the higher-risk behavior-changing subgroup. A crib that replaces another safe surface has no modeled mortality benefit.

Attribution: Central a=.5 is a cautious allocation prior motivated by the recipient's material-resource program versus education/collaboration portfolio, not an audited restricted-donation split. Full cost c is not obtained by dividing national net expense by all partner shipments. Teaching included in the package is counted only through u; separate hospital certification, public messaging and research benefits remain unquantified. The central is therefore a conditional conservative pathway scenario, not a complete measured portfolio total or guaranteed lower bound.

The causal chain is credible but weakly quantified for this recipient. No trial establishes deaths prevented per donated crib. Behavior-changing infants' risk, sustained adherence and the next donation's allocation dominate. Joint favorable/pessimistic cases are stress tests, not probability intervals. Unquantified hospital/system benefits could dominate, but their causal access and marginal funding bridge must be separately established. Misassembly, added padding or displacement to sofas could reduce or reverse benefit; no claim that equipment is risk-free.

Sensitivity

  • At central a,b,u,L,g and c=$500, meeting$100,000 per10 requires a per-changed-infant risk difference r×e≥.03741; meeting$1million requires≥.003741. Central r×e=.001 meets neither; these required differences exceed central total risk.
  • At central health and additionality assumptions, maximum c is about$13.37 for$100,000 per10 and$133.65 for$1million. A bare product quote is not a supported-package cost.
  • Reducing b from.5 to.1 raises the central price fivefold. An organization with a positive sales margin may have plenty of inventory but still need specific last-mile delivery funding; an actual marginal budget would distinguish these cases.
  • Crib-use rates over90% cannot substitute for u=.2. Partial bed-sharing, added soft items and provision after peak risk materially reduce effective coverage.
  • With r×e=.00015, central price is about$24.9million per10. Low-hazard bed-sharing risk is debated; high relative odds do not imply large absolute benefits for every family.
  • Crediting the unmodeled education/system pathway would lower the price if it truly adds health. At a$1million threshold, it must add at least.07327 USA QALY per calculation unit beyond this central material pathway; that is a testable funding-to-outcome gap, not an assumed benefit.
  • At central settings, undiscounted75-QALY life valuation yields about$1.35million per10, compared with$3.74million under27 discounted QALYs.
  • Any adverse change in sleep arrangements or equipment misuse could erase benefit. CPSC guidance requires appropriate products and setup; no mortality reduction is inferred from distribution alone.
  • In the PRAMS study, Cribs for Kids designation aORs were1.16(.86–1.56) for back sleep,1.06(.86–1.30) for separate surface,1.07(.87–1.31) for no soft bedding and.91(.75–1.12) for room sharing without bed sharing. These are observational conditional associations, not zero-effect proof; none supports a precise positive mortality conversion.

Unresolved inputs

  • A current national unrestricted marginal budget separating extra donated packages, sales-funded operating costs, education/certification expansion and reserves.
  • Current package procurement, shipping, instruction, follow-up and support cost; price list is unavailable publicly because of tariffs.
  • A linked recipient cohort with pre-existing safe surface, actual alternative purchase/support, delivery age and repeated observed or validated sleep practice through the risk period.
  • Baseline remaining sleep-related mortality risk for the behavior-changing subgroup, including smoking/substance exposure and infant age, not only demographic averages.
  • Causal risk reduction from this actual intervention, with competing causes, unsafe substitution and adverse product-use behavior included.
  • Additional hospital births whose sleep practices improve because of national unrestricted funding, net of hospital/public requirements and other campaigns.
  • Outcome-weighted50states/DC residence share for domestic and overseas activities.
  • Reconciliation of fiscal-year versus calendar-year accomplishment dates and grant launch/award counts; do not treat all return narrative counts as contemporaneous completed deliveries.

5. Funding and previous grants

The FY 2025 original return shows $12.620 million gross inventory sales and $9.232 million cost of goods sold. Its $2.634 million functional expense excludes those goods and $49,675 direct event costs; restoring both gives $11.915 million gross accounting expense. Functional spending is $1.943 million program, $0.584 million management and $0.107 million fundraising. Contributions were only $181,536, including $70,560 noncash, while the net operating surplus was $925,012. Net assets were $5.438 million, mostly unrestricted, though much is inventory, receivables and property rather than cash. Sales proceeds fund free training and resources. This is a real enterprise with resources, not evidence of an urgent unfunded crib queue. The expense series consistently includes COGS and direct event costs; it is not divided by donated crib counts.

Annual expenses

Organization-level spending, including programs, administration and fundraising. The research list averages three comparable, consecutive full fiscal years when available.

  • FY 2023: $8.0M; Cribs for Kids Inc., EIN25-1442806, 12-month period, Fiscal year ending June30; Form990 PartIX total plus PartVIII cost of goods sold and direct fundraising-event costs, consistently restored gross accounting expense.. Source
  • FY 2024: $9.2M; Cribs for Kids Inc., EIN25-1442806, 12-month period, Fiscal year ending June30; Form990 PartIX total plus PartVIII cost of goods sold and direct fundraising-event costs, consistently restored gross accounting expense.. Source
  • FY 2025: $11.9M; Cribs for Kids Inc., EIN25-1442806, 12-month period, Fiscal year ending June30; Form990 PartIX total plus PartVIII cost of goods sold and direct fundraising-event costs, consistently restored gross accounting expense.. Source

6. Sources

  1. FY2025 original Form990 including inventory costs and program accomplishments. Cribs for Kids / IRS via ProPublica. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  2. FY2024 original Form990. Cribs for Kids / IRS via ProPublica. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  3. FY2023 original Form990. Cribs for Kids / IRS via ProPublica. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  4. Current partner purchasing, reporting and education model. Cribs for Kids. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  5. Current pricing notice: tariffs and supply-chain increases. Cribs for Kids. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  6. Official donation pathways. Cribs for Kids. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  7. Building Blocks grant launch and kit contents. Cribs for Kids. Published: 2025-02-28; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  8. Multisite safe infant sleep education and crib distribution:615 paired and66 follow-up surveys. Salm Ward et al., International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health. Published: 2021-06-29; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  9. Crib-delivery program with home observation in75 families. Engel, Ahlers-Schmidt and Suter, Kansas Journal of Medicine. Published: 2017-08-30; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  10. Qualitative evaluation after free crib provision. Bettinger et al., Kansas Journal of Medicine. Published: 2026-06-26; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  11. Randomized trial of mobile messages and nursing quality improvement. Moon et al., JAMA. Published: 2017-07-25; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  12. Five case-control studies of bed-sharing and SIDS. Carpenter et al., BMJ Open. Published: 2013-05-20; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  13. Two case-control studies stratified by hazardous circumstances. Blair et al., PLOS ONE. Published: 2014-09-19; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  14. Hospital safe-sleep program with ecological mortality follow-up. Stringer et al., Worldviews on Evidence-Based Nursing. Published: 2025-05-08; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  15. 2024 US SUID counts; updated August2026. CDC. Published: 2026-08-13; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  16. Evidence base for2022 infant safe-sleep recommendations. American Academy of Pediatrics. Published: 2022-06-21; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  17. Safe-sleep product and setup guidance. US Consumer Product Safety Commission. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  18. Pennsylvania PRAMS hospital initiative, with separate Cribs for Kids designation covariate. Decker et al., Pediatrics / Pennsylvania Department of Health. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.