GiveBetter x USA

American Nonsmokers’ Rights Foundation

Smoke-free policy evidence, technical assistance and worker education

Research time: 7 min on GPT-6 Astra Light
  • Research — reviewed programs, finances and impact evidence.

Updated: 2026-09-14

Donate

Summary

What do they do? ANRF maintains tobacco-control policy data and supplies education, training and technical assistance for smoke-free environments. It supports community and worker coalitions, including hospitality and casino workers, while addressing gaps in workplace and housing protection. Its charitable operations are distinct from Americans for Nonsmokers’ Rights, the related lobbying organization.

Why we’re interested in this organization:

  • Secondhand tobacco smoke is an established health hazard, and sustained protection has a credible exposure-to-health mechanism.

  • Policy and employer implementation can protect many people for years without purchasing a clinical service for each person.

  • July 2026 disclosure of federal-funding-driven service reductions establishes a concrete capacity pressure, though restoring data services still needs a health-yield bridge.

Our main reservations:

  • Recorded laws and nationwide protected populations are cumulative outputs, not health changes caused by this recipient or the next dollar.

  • Strong health evidence does not identify the foundation's effect on adoption, enforcement, durability or alternative action by employers and governments.

  • Small-area claims of large immediate cardiac benefits conflict with better-controlled US studies; the clinical and implementation ranges remain wide.

What do you get for your dollar? $6.2M per better life: ten additional quality-adjusted life years in USA. Smoke-free protection; cardiac health.

Additional discounted years of sustained smoke-free protection for previously exposed nonsmoking residents; verified reduction in exposure, coronary events and respiratory symptoms. No conversion of database records or policies into health without implementation.

1. What do they do?

The foundation provides tobacco-policy surveillance, information, webinars, training and technical assistance to workers and public-health partners. Its scope includes workplaces, casinos, bars, music venues, housing, campuses and commercial-tobacco policies on Tribal lands. The 2024 return, Schedule R, identifies Americans for Nonsmokers' Rights (EIN 94-2598713), a separate 501(c)(4). This report concerns ANRF, EIN 94-2922136; joint ANR/F publicity is not automatically attributable to the charitable recipient.

2. Monitoring and information sharing

The 2024 annual report records 708 new laws analyzed, a database with 20,675 laws and a training institute with over 150 attendees. It also describes casino-worker and Tribal partnerships. These support implementation capacity but are not evidence of incremental health. The July 1, 2026 summary lists 62.8% coverage for workplaces, restaurants and bars, and 47.9% when gambling venues are also required. Neither is the fraction of people newly protected by ANRF. Source population denominators are not a current 2026 census estimate, and tables include separate DC/territory sections. The shareholder memo explicitly asks companies to study the financial implications of smoke-free policies, not to implement them; a successful report resolution is several steps short of exposure reduction. The July 2026 update also celebrates cancellation of a Detroit airport cigar lounge. The linked ANR release acknowledges that airport officials cited economic uncertainty as their primary reason. This is an affiliate/coalition claim with a material competing counterfactual, not a clean ANRF outcome.

3. Qualitative assessment

CDC identifies secondhand smoke as a cause of coronary disease, stroke and lung cancer. In an Irish controlled before-after study, nonsmoking bar workers' cotinine fell much more after the Republic's smoke-free law than in Northern Ireland, with improved respiratory symptoms. That supports actual exposure reduction but does not measure ANRF or US QALYs. A large US difference-in-differences study found no short-term AMI or heart-failure hospitalization reduction after controlling county trends; it cannot exclude longer-term benefit. This materially tempers large immediate-effect claims. The conditional model uses a reduced cardiac pathway, explicit baseline-risk and latency judgments, and no automatic quitting, cancer, childhood or marijuana-health credit. Smoke-free housing enforcement must avoid eviction, inequitable punishment and displacement of smoking into more harmful settings; workplace alternatives should protect workers without using punitive enforcement as the health mechanism.

4. What do you get for your dollar?

Our best estimate: About $6.2 million per 10 USA QALYs through smoke-free protection. The modeled annual yield implies about 25 additional protected person-years per $10,000, with roughly 0.00064 net QALY each before geography. This allows partial exposure reduction, latency and downside; a tenfold greater yield improves the price to about $617,000. We choose 10,000 net additional discounted protected person-years per annual cost equivalent. A planning construction is 50,000 exposed people × 50% probability of changing protection × 20% charitable contribution × 50% funding response × 90% enforcement × 4.58 discounted years: about 10,300, rounded to 10,000. These are judgments, not an observed pipeline. National reach and service cuts support a possible funding response; cumulative national coverage receives no credit. Favorable, zero and adverse cases remain in the transparent model; positive scenarios are not confidence bounds or verified funding offers.

Model, assumptions and sensitivity

All ANRF recipient costs, including administration, fundraising, data, education and grants; excludes the separate 501(c)(4). P must reflect portfolio allocation, paid-contract substitution and next-dollar capacity. Additional employer/public enforcement resources are separate social costs; no claim they are free.

P and N count previously exposed nonsmokers across all supported geography before allocation. The conditional g=0.99 then allocates resulting health benefits to residents of the 50 states and DC, including tribal residents. Territories, international beneficiaries and foreign tourists are excluded from the resulting USA total, not pre-excluded from P. g is a judgment, not an observed health-weighted share.

Q_USA=(G/C)*P*[(rD*L+rM*qM)*z*w*t-h]*g; G=10000 normalization. P=sum_j N_j*delta_p_j*a_j*e_j*sum_t retention_jt/(1.03)^t, after ordinary-funding additionality and portfolio allocation. N_j is previously exposed nonsmoking residents across all supported geography, before applying g; delta_p is net adoption/maintenance/acceleration probability; a is charitable-recipient causal share if delta_p is coalition-level; e is enforcement. Do not discount the same attribution twice. Cost per 10=10G/Q_USA if positive.

G
10000 USD normalization (judgment). Model disclosure only.
C
3927527 USD annual full recipient cost (observed). 2024 gross recipient expense; no netted direct costs identified. [anrf-tax24]
P
10000 additional attributable discounted protected person-years per annual-cost equivalent (judgment). We choose 10,000 net additional discounted protected person-years per annual cost equivalent. A planning construction is 50,000 exposed people × 50% probability of changing protection × 20% charitable contribution × 50% funding response × 90% enforcement × 4.58 discounted years: about 10,300, rounded to 10,000. These are judgments, not an observed pipeline. National reach and service cuts support a possible funding response; cumulative national coverage receives no credit.
P-probe
10000 protected person-years (judgment). Illustrative yield, not anchored to cumulative national coverage.
rD
0.001 unexposed fatal coronary events/person-year (judgment). Hypothetical worker baseline; requires age/sex/clinical calibration, not a measured ANRF cohort. [cdc-shs]
rM
0.002 unexposed nonfatal coronary events/person-year (judgment). Non-overlapping morbidity rate; not deaths or all cardiac admissions. [cdc-shs]
z
0.25 relative excess coronary risk (judgment). CDC reports 25–30% coronary disease excess with SHS; applying it to fatal and nonfatal worker events separately is an explicit extrapolation, not observed trial effect. [cdc-shs]
w
0.5 fraction of SHS excess risk removed (judgment). Workplace policy does not remove home/other exposure; not a linear conversion from measured cotinine. [allwright-worker]
t
0.5 latency and causal-transport factor (judgment). Discounts immediate/full reversal of long-term risk and conflicting US policy estimates. [hoekstra-bans] [shetty-bans]
L
10 discounted QALYs lost per premature coronary death (judgment). Hypothetical age/morbidity-weighted remaining health; not full life expectancy.
qM
0.3 discounted QALYs lost per nonfatal coronary event (judgment). Includes acute and sustained morbidity without duplicating fatal cases.
h
0.00002 QALY downside per protected person-year (judgment). Illustrative allowance for displacement/enforcement harms; not measured incidence or a validated bound.
g
0.99 USA resident health share (judgment). Predominantly domestic recipient scope, but territories/foreign benefits need a health-weighted audit. [anrf-policy26]

Best estimate — explicit judgment: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 0.01619530559560762; all-population QALYs: 0.016358894541017795. {"C":3927527,"P":10000,"rD":0.001,"rM":0.002,"z":0.25,"w":0.5,"t":0.5,"L":10,"qM":0.3,"h":0.00002,"g":0.99}; P is a hypothetical net additional discounted protected person-year yield at the full annual recipient cost scale, not observed coverage. We choose 10,000 net additional discounted protected person-years per annual cost equivalent. A planning construction is 50,000 exposed people × 50% probability of changing protection × 20% charitable contribution × 50% funding response × 90% enforcement × 4.58 discounted years: about 10,300, rounded to 10,000. These are judgments, not an observed pipeline. National reach and service cuts support a possible funding response; cumulative national coverage receives no credit.

10,000 net protected person-years at annual cost scale: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 0.01619530559560762; all-population QALYs: 0.016358894541017795. {"C":3927527,"P":10000,"rD":0.001,"rM":0.002,"z":0.25,"w":0.5,"t":0.5,"L":10,"qM":0.3,"h":0.00002,"g":0.99}; P is a hypothetical net additional discounted protected person-year yield at the full annual recipient cost scale, not observed coverage.

100,000 net protected person-years; same health assumptions: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 0.16195305595607615; all-population QALYs: 0.16358894541017793. {"C":3927527,"P":100000,"rD":0.001,"rM":0.002,"z":0.25,"w":0.5,"t":0.5,"L":10,"qM":0.3,"h":0.00002,"g":0.99}; P is a hypothetical net additional discounted protected person-year yield at the full annual recipient cost scale, not observed coverage.

High-yield and higher-risk conditional test, not a bound: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 2.8924689760248627; all-population QALYs: 2.921685834368548. {"C":3927527,"P":250000,"rD":0.002,"rM":0.003,"z":0.3,"w":0.75,"t":0.8,"L":12,"qM":0.5,"h":0,"g":0.99}; P is a hypothetical net additional discounted protected person-year yield at the full annual recipient cost scale, not observed coverage.

Low-risk implementation with adverse net result: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: -0.00003982658807947087; all-population QALYs: -0.00004022887684795038. {"C":3927527,"P":1000,"rD":0.0002,"rM":0.0005,"z":0.1,"w":0.2,"t":0.2,"L":5,"qM":0.1,"h":0.00002,"g":0.99}; P is a hypothetical net additional discounted protected person-year yield at the full annual recipient cost scale, not observed coverage.

No additional protection: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 0; all-population QALYs: 0. {"C":3927527,"P":0,"rD":0.001,"rM":0.002,"z":0.25,"w":0.5,"t":0.5,"L":10,"qM":0.3,"h":0.00002,"g":0.99}; P is a hypothetical net additional discounted protected person-year yield at the full annual recipient cost scale, not observed coverage.

Only nonfatal cardiac pathway: Cost: $10K; USA QALYs: 0.000441117273032114; all-population QALYs: 0.0004455730030627414. {"C":3927527,"P":10000,"rD":0,"rM":0.002,"z":0.25,"w":0.5,"t":0.5,"L":10,"qM":0.3,"h":0.00002,"g":0.99}; P is a hypothetical net additional discounted protected person-year yield at the full annual recipient cost scale, not observed coverage.

Counterfactual: Count only protection newly caused or preserved by additional unrestricted support relative to employers' voluntary policies, laws already scheduled, public enforcement, other nonprofits and paid contracts. P can be zero. If counting acceleration, count only the years gained, not lifetime policy benefits.

Attribution: P is an explicitly unresolved net causal output, not total laws, covered population, press coverage, shareholder-report votes or the affiliate's lobbying success. Coalition contribution, enforcement, reversal and geographic attribution must be case-specific.

We choose 10,000 net additional discounted protected person-years per annual cost equivalent. A planning construction is 50,000 exposed people × 50% probability of changing protection × 20% charitable contribution × 50% funding response × 90% enforcement × 4.58 discounted years: about 10,300, rounded to 10,000. These are judgments, not an observed pipeline. National reach and service cuts support a possible funding response; cumulative national coverage receives no credit. Zero and adverse outcomes remain possible; the quantified pathway is not a complete portfolio valuation.

Sensitivity

  • The conditional clinical yield is 0.0006425 QALY per protected person-year before geographic attribution. At g=.99, support must cost at most $63.6075 per net protected person-year for $1 m per 10 USA QALYs, or $6.36075 for $100 k per 10.
  • At C=$3,927,527, these require P at least 61,746 or 617,463 additional, attributable discounted protected person-years. A five-year protection period has 4.5797 years at 3% year-end discounting: about 13,483 fully attributable continuously protected people reach the first threshold, before any further coalition/funding discount.
  • If only 10% of a coalition outcome belongs to ANRF and 50% of marginal funding adds capacity, the same five-year threshold would require roughly 270,000 actual newly protected exposed nonsmokers, assuming full enforcement. This is a planning test, not an observed pipeline.
  • Under the same P=10,000 test, removing mortality credit worsens the price to about $227 m per 10; long-term cardiac extrapolation drives most modeled benefit. Younger low-risk cohorts or short-lived policies can be much less valuable.
  • A hypothetical added $100 public/employer implementation cost per net protected person-year alone would exceed the $63.61 resource threshold for $1 m per 10. Marginal public costs must therefore be measured separately from the donor-support ratio.
  • Adverse enforcement, eviction, displacement and substitution from lower-risk nicotine products can offset benefits in some program branches. No smoking-cessation, cancer or childhood benefit is added without a distinct causal bridge and overlap check.
  • Population without comprehensive statutory protection is not identical to workers with measured smoke exposure; do not use the 37.2% coverage complement as the N cohort. Likewise, change in cumulative coverage cannot identify the marginal foundation contribution.

Unresolved inputs

  • A prospective next-dollar portfolio budget and specific campaigns/contracts that would shrink or expand with unrestricted funding.
  • For each opportunity: exposed nonsmoking residents, baseline age/risk, policy adoption without ANRF, charitable versus lobbying-affiliate contribution, enforcement, survival and acceleration duration.
  • Attributable protected person-years per marginal dollar, not cumulative law coverage or policy database use.
  • Cost and expected policy/exposure effect of restoring services curtailed after federal funding losses, plus current renewed contracts and flexible reserves.
  • US resident versus territory/international health share and worker versus occasional patron exposure.
  • Age-specific coronary event risks, utility/lifetime losses, risk-reversal timing and observed displacement/enforcement downsides.
  • Additional public/employer implementation costs and any healthcare savings, kept separate from health outcomes.

5. Funding and previous grants

At 2024 year-end, ANRF had $567,050 unrestricted net assets, $236,713 cash and $566,257 investments against $892,952 liabilities, including $552,126 deferred revenue. Its board-designated fund is not wholly disposable cash. Revenue fell short of functional expense by $138,184; government grants fell from $1.28 m to $742 k while fee-based program revenue rose from $104 k to $593 k. This suggests less financial slack than many large institutions, but a deficit alone does not prove the next gift adds effective implementation. Paid data/technical-assistance contracts, foundations, government staff, employers, unions and the lobbying affiliate are relevant substitutes or co-producers. Current public activity establishes continuing work, not a verified marginal hiring/campaign budget or causal adoption probability. More concretely, the July 29, 2026 update says federal funding losses have already reduced the free lists/maps service and shifted some specialized outputs to paid quotes. This is observed service contraction and a plausible use of flexible funding; the remaining question is the exposure and health consequence of restoring those services.

Annual expenses

Organization-level spending, including programs, administration and fundraising. The research list averages three comparable, consecutive full fiscal years when available.

  • FY 2022: $3.5M; American Nonsmokers’ Rights Foundation (EIN 94-2922136), standalone, 12-month period, Form 990 full recipient functional expenses plus identified netted direct costs. Source
  • FY 2023: $3.5M; American Nonsmokers’ Rights Foundation (EIN 94-2922136), standalone, 12-month period, Form 990 full recipient functional expenses plus identified netted direct costs. Source
  • FY 2024: $3.9M; American Nonsmokers’ Rights Foundation (EIN 94-2922136), standalone, 12-month period, Form 990 full recipient functional expenses plus identified netted direct costs. Source

6. Sources

  1. 2024 Form 990. American Nonsmokers’ Rights Foundation / IRS. Published: 2025-11-17; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  2. 2023 Form 990. American Nonsmokers’ Rights Foundation / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  3. 2022 IRS-released return with revised financial values. American Nonsmokers’ Rights Foundation / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  4. Earlier posted 2022 Form 990, superseded values. American Nonsmokers’ Rights Foundation. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  5. 2024 annual report. American Nonsmokers’ Rights Foundation. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  6. Summary of smoke-free state laws and population protection. American Nonsmokers’ Rights Foundation. Published: 2026-07-01; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  7. About the foundation and current services. American Nonsmokers’ Rights Foundation. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  8. Shareholder memo requesting financial-policy studies. American Nonsmokers’ Rights Foundation. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  9. Health problems caused by secondhand smoke. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Published: 2025-01-31; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  10. Smoke-free workplaces and Irish bar-worker health. Allwright et al. / BMJ. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  11. Nationwide smoking-ban and hospitalization assessment. Ho et al. / Medical Care Research and Review. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  12. Changes in US hospitalization and mortality after smoking bans. Shetty et al. / Journal of Policy Analysis and Management. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  13. July2026 lists and maps update and reduced services. American Nonsmokers’ Rights Foundation. Published: 2026-07-29; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  14. Detroit airport cigar lounge cancellation; affiliate statement. Americans for Nonsmokers’ Rights (501c4). Published: 2026-07-16; retrieved: 2026-09-13.