Summary
What do they do? PLC provides free civil legal aid across housing, family, immigration, consumer, health and other matters in Orange County. Its medical-legal partnerships include HIV-related legal help and hospital-based clinics, but ordinary support is not restricted to those services. A conditional legal-health estimate now uses explicit case-mix, resolution and finite health assumptions at full recipient resource cost; it is not a complete portfolio return.
Why we’re interested in this organization:
Clinical partners offer a concrete route to people with treatment and social barriers.
Original accounts make donated legal resources and ordinary expenditures separately inspectable.
Legal access, privacy and housing protections can have important value even where QALYs are not measured.
Our main reservations:
External MLP evidence is mixed and does not establish an average health gain for all civil cases.
Health-specific throughput, treatment continuity and marginal allocation are not publicly quantified in the reviewed evidence.
Volunteer service valuations are large and not equivalent to cash required from a donor or cash benefits delivered to clients.
What do you get for your dollar? $69.7M per better life: ten additional quality-adjusted life years in Los Angeles. Judgment-based partial-health at full recipient cost; remaining portfolio health unpriced..
3800*.25=950 potentially health-relevant cases; *.25 resolution increment *.25 funding response=59.375 expected changed cases; *.9 overlap factor=53.4375. Each carries .03 utility for two discounted years. Fractional cases are expectations, not observed case outcomes.
1. What do they do?
Public Law Center, EIN 95-3709253, is an Orange County pro bono legal-aid recipient. Ordinary support covers direct representation, advice, clinics, nonprofit assistance and impact litigation across many practice areas. Its current homepage reports nearly 3,800 cases and over 75,000 staff/volunteer hours in an unspecified 'last year'; these are approximate scale indicators, not a dated clinical cohort. Recipient scope
The AIDS Legal Assistance Project addresses insurance disputes, housing, employment, privacy and estate/family matters for low-income people living with HIV. Not all such work changes medication adherence or survival. ALAP
Current MLPs include Orange County Health Care Agency, biweekly Hoag clinics and weekly South Orange County family-resource-center clinics. The Health Law Unit handles coverage eligibility, denied services/drugs/equipment, medical review and billing. Partnerships Health law
2. Monitoring and information sharing
The current website describes services and staffing, but the reviewed sources do not provide annual ALAP/health-law unique-client counts, the share initially out of HIV care, coverage retained because of representation, or linked clinical outcomes. A clinic schedule does not identify its patient volume, completed representation or health yield.
Useful monitoring would follow each resolved legal barrier into otherwise-missed treatment, sustained treatment duration, clinical severity, actual household exposure and health change. Legal success without changed care remains a legal outcome; a successful insurance appeal is not automatically the lifetime benefit of treatment. Compare with the help the patient would receive from case managers, hospital advocates, other lawyers and existing programs.
The official-linked volunteer list demonstrates live demand for representation across several legal specialties. It is evidence of potential volunteer matching work, not an audited cash funding gap or an estimate of additional health cases. No private client narrative or identifying detail is reproduced. Volunteer opportunities
3. Qualitative assessment
A Philadelphia feasibility study randomized two service organizations, enrolling 202 people with HIV. The intervention site had higher odds of viral suppression at three months (OR 2.42, 95% CI 1.06–5.49); the six-month estimate was not significant. With only one site in each arm, site-specific care and implementation differences cannot be confidently separated from the intervention. This is encouraging mechanism evidence, not a portable PLC risk reduction or a lifetime treatment effect. Original study
An individually randomized primary-care MLP trial found lower stress and fewer emergency visits but higher anxiety and hospital use. Some additional hospital use may represent appropriate access, rather than harm; nonetheless, the mixed outcomes do not justify a universally positive QALY-per-legal-case assumption. Original randomized trial
The START antiretroviral trial establishes a real clinical bridge when treatment actually changes: among initially healthy adults with CD4 counts above 500, serious AIDS/non-AIDS events or death occurred at 1.38 versus 0.60 per 100 person-years with deferred versus immediate treatment. That 0.0078 event-per-person-year difference is not a PLC effect. Current patients, interruption duration, event mix and treatment alternatives may differ substantially. It can anchor a conditional clinical calculation, not establish the local strategy-equivalent exposure produced by legal aid. ART was used during 94% of immediate-arm versus 28% of deferred-arm follow-up, so this difference cannot be multiplied directly by additional ART-years. Original START paper
Housing stability, safety from abuse, reduced financial distress and equitable legal access may generate substantial benefits outside this HIV branch. Conversely, litigation stress, privacy risks, delay and opportunity costs matter. None is silently assigned zero in a claimed complete portfolio return.
The new central scenario is broader than HIV treatment alone: 25% of the approximate 3,800 annual cases are assumed to involve a potentially material health barrier, including access to care, safe housing or personal safety. The current health-law scope and volunteer case list make these mechanisms plausible, but do not establish that percentage. Of those cases, a 25% incremental implemented-resolution probability is assumed relative to hospital advocates, other lawyers and existing protection. A further 25% funding response discounts grants, reserves and volunteer replacement. These are explicit subjective priors, not observed PLC rates.
A changed case receives a net 0.03 annual survival-adjusted utility gain for two years, then zero. This small finite health area is a judgment about heterogeneous clinical, safety and stress effects, not an effect imported from START or the MLP trials. A 10% deduplication/overlap reduction prevents treating repeated legal matters and shared health improvements as fully independent. One affected person's trajectory per case is counted; no automatic family-size or lifetime multiplier is used. Zero and harm remain plausible. Legal and systemic value outside this health-relevant component is unpriced.
4. What do you get for your dollar?
Full recognized resource expense is $21,372,374 in 2024: audited expense of $21,201,323 plus $171,051 of direct event costs netted against revenue. This includes $12,509,436 of donated legal services. The comparable totals are $19,002,911 in 2023 and $13,652,011 in 2022; the three-year mean is $18,009,099. These are not cash-only fundraising needs. 2024 audit 2023 comparative audit
For a non-donated accrual-expense spending view, original returns give $8,691,886+$171,051=$8,862,937 in 2024, $7,293,144+$149,786=$7,442,930 in 2023 and $5,706,142+$150,079=$5,856,221 in 2022. The mean is $7,387,363. The 2024 audit-minus-donated-services comparison differs by $1. Donated legal time is a real resource but neither a cash bill nor evidence of health impact; its accounting valuation should not be confused with the much larger promotional valuation of all legal work. 2024 return 2023 2022
At full resource cost, $1 million per 10 LA QALYs requires 213.72 net additional QALYs annually; $100,000 requires 2,137.24. Spread across the approximate 3,800 total cases, that is 0.0562 or 0.5624 net QALY per case, after all counterfactual adjustments. This is a required average, not an estimate that every case is a health case. The non-donated accrual-expense view requires 88.63 or 886.29 QALYs instead.
In a clinical illustration only, applying START's 0.0078 event reduction per randomized-strategy follow-up year and assigning five QALYs per avoided composite event gives 0.039 QALY per full-equivalent START-like strategy-year. The five-QALY value is a subjective illustration, not a measured mean. Meeting the full-resource $1 million target would require about 5,480 full-equivalent START-like strategy-years after funding and attribution discounts. This shows why modest short-term viral-suppression acceleration alone cannot establish an attractive recipient-wide return.
Under those stated priors, the full-resource conditional price is about $69.67 million per 10 LA QALYs: 3.06753 net modeled QALYs against $21,372,374 annual cost. Positive joint stress cases range from about $883,717 to $73.56 billion per 10, not confidence limits. Excluding donated legal services changes the central price to approximately $28.89 million per 10 without changing health; that is a different cost perspective, not the preferred full-resource result.
Model, assumptions and sensitivity
Full annual recognized recipient resource cost including donated legal services and netted event addback. Health-relevant resolution component, not MLP-only expense or full portfolio return. This price includes donated legal services, rather than only dollars a donor must supply; it is not a verified next-dollar cash return.
g=1 for modeled Orange County direct-client health, within LA/Orange. Wider litigation spillovers not counted.
A(T)=sum(y=1..T)(1.03^-y). QLA=K*e*a*b*q*A(T)*z*g. K=3800,e=.25,a=.25,b=.25,q=.03,T=2,z=.9,g=1 => QLA=3.067531105665. Price10=10*21372374/QLA. Qportfolio=QLA+Qother-H; other non-overlapping health unknown.
- C
- 21372374 USD annual full recognized resources (observed). Accepted audit and event reconciliation retained. [plc-audit24]
- C_nondonated
- 8862937 USD non-donated accrual expense (observed). Alternative perspective, not central. [plc-99024]
- K
- 3800 approximate annual legal cases (observed). Homepage year unspecified; not health cases or unique patients. [plc-home]
- e
- 0.25 health-relevant case fraction (judgment). Clinical access, housing/safety and stress pathways plausible; actual case mix unknown; test .1–.5. [plc-health] [plc-case-list]
- a
- 0.25 incremental implemented health-relevant resolution probability (judgment). Relative to existing protection and alternative advocates; not observed win rate; test .05–.6. [plc-mlp] [plc-case-list]
- b
- 0.25 proportional ordinary-funding response (judgment). Grant/reserve/volunteer substitution; test .05–.75. [plc-audit24] [plc-fellow]
- q
- 0.03 annual net survival-adjusted utility gain per changed case (judgment). Finite clinical/safety/stress prior, not a trial effect; includes routine treatment burdens; test0–.1. [plc-mlp-rct] [plc-health]
- T
- 2 years of health benefit (judgment). No effect thereafter; test1–3.
- z
- 0.9 unique non-overlapping outcome factor (judgment). Repeated matters and shared utility; test .7–1.
- g
- 1 LA/Orange direct-client share (observed). Orange County direct-client branch only. [plc-home]
- d
- 0.03 annual discount (judgment). Applied once per finite health year.
- Qother
- null other non-overlapping portfolio health (unknown). Nonclinical and systemic effects not assumed zero. [plc-home]
central: Cost: $21.4M; Los Angeles QALYs: 3.0675311056650014; all-population QALYs: 3.0675311056650014. K=3800;e=0.25;a=0.25;b=0.25;q=0.03;T=2;z=0.9;g=1;discount=.03. Explicit subjective joint case, not confidence bound.
low: Cost: $21.4M; Los Angeles QALYs: 0.002905339805825243; all-population QALYs: 0.0032281553398058258. K=3800;e=0.1;a=0.05;b=0.05;q=0.005;T=1;z=0.7;g=0.9;discount=.03. Explicit subjective joint case, not confidence bound.
high: Cost: $21.4M; Los Angeles QALYs: 241.8462708434952; all-population QALYs: 241.8462708434952. K=3800;e=0.5;a=0.6;b=0.75;q=0.1;T=3;z=1;g=1;discount=.03. Explicit subjective joint case, not confidence bound.
No additional health resolution: Cost: $21.4M; Los Angeles QALYs: 0; all-population QALYs: 0. a,b or q=0.
Illustrative net harm: Cost: $21.4M; Los Angeles QALYs: -1; all-population QALYs: -1. One LA QALY net loss from delay, privacy or conflict; not observed.
Whole portfolio unestimated: Cost: $21.4M; Los Angeles QALYs: unknown; all-population QALYs: unknown. Other pathways are not assumed zero.
Counterfactual: Existing public/hospital care, legal protection, alternative lawyers, volunteer availability and already-supported fellowships continue. a is additional implemented resolution within PLC's gross case cohort, not an extra coalition discount on already-attributed outcomes. b separately measures capacity response to general support.
Attribution: Approximate all-case count is filtered for health relevance, additional resolution and gift response. z reduces repeated matters/overlapping health. One finite person-level trajectory per changed case. No separate START/HIV credit added to the same insured treatment.
Subjective best estimate of a broad legal-health component. Case mix, additional resolutions and utility are not measured or source-calibrated local probabilities. Trials motivate plausibility and caution, not numerical transfer. Zero/harm and wide joint cases retained.
Sensitivity
- Central $69,672,884.36/10; favorable $883,717.33; weak $73,562,390,041.77.
- No lifetime HIV gain or separate household multiplier; finite two-year area only.
- Halving e, a, b or q separately doubles positive price.
- Non-donated cost perspective removes real contributed resources and must be labeled separately.
- The broad health-case prior is consequential and not demonstrated by selected case narratives.
Unresolved inputs
- Dated unique annual case mix and health-relevant fraction.
- Implemented resolutions versus alternative assistance.
- Representative finite health utilities and harms.
- Marginal staffing/volunteer conversion and funding response.
- Non-overlapping systemic portfolio effects.
5. Funding and previous grants
The latest audit reports $3.11 million in cash and investments and $3.75 million in financial assets available for general expenditure within one year. It restates prior-year legal-settlement revenue by $970,624 and reports a $1.76 million 2024 decline in net assets. This suggests financial pressure but is not a current marginal work plan. The unmodified audit opinion includes an emphasis on that revenue correction. Audit and liquidity note
A May 2026 Cornell announcement describes an accepted two-year Equal Justice Works fellowship joining PLC and Emilio Nares Foundation to serve families of children with cancer and other serious illnesses. This is a concrete emerging clinical partnership; fellowship support is already part of the counterfactual, and its announcement does not supply patient volume or an unfunded expansion tranche. Fellowship
The official-linked donation form identifies PLC and offers General Support alongside restricted alternatives. This report evaluates ordinary general support. The next useful diligence is a recipient-level allocation and staffing plan, volunteer conversion capacity, replacement grants and a health-case outcome sample. Existing hospital, public and volunteer resources should be preserved in the counterfactual rather than counted as wholly purchased by a new gift. Donation route
Annual expenses
Organization-level spending, including programs, administration and fundraising. The research list averages three comparable, consecutive full fiscal years when available.
- FY 2022: $13.7M; Public Law Center, EIN 95-3709253, 12-month period, Accrual audited full recognized resources including donated legal services and restored netted event expenses. Source
- FY 2023: $19.0M; Public Law Center, EIN 95-3709253, 12-month period, Accrual audited full recognized resources including donated legal services and restored netted event expenses. Source
- FY 2024: $21.4M; Public Law Center, EIN 95-3709253, 12-month period, Accrual audited full recognized resources including donated legal services and restored netted event expenses. Source
6. Sources
- 2024 audited financial statements and restated 2023 comparative balances (date shown in document is auditor date, not verified publication date). Public Law Center / independent auditor. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- 2023 audited financial statements with 2022 expense comparison (date shown in document is auditor date, not verified publication date). Public Law Center / independent auditor. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- 2024 original Form 990. Public Law Center / IRS. Published: 2025-11-14; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- 2023 original Form 990. Public Law Center / IRS. Published: 2024-11-14; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- 2022 original Form 990. Public Law Center / IRS. Published: 2023-11-15; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Current recipient scope and reported case volume. Public Law Center. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Current medical-legal partnerships and clinic schedules. Public Law Center. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- AIDS Legal Assistance Project services. Public Law Center. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Health Law Unit service scope. Public Law Center. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Official-linked donation route and General Support option. Public Law Center / Network for Good. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Integrating Legal Aid into HIV Care: viral suppression trial. Martinez et al. / AIDS and Behavior. Published: 2025-10-11; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Medical-Legal Partnership Effects on Mental Health, Health Care Use, and Quality of Life. Liaw et al. / Journal of the American Board of Family Medicine. Published: 2023-04-07; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Initiation of Antiretroviral Therapy in Early Asymptomatic HIV Infection. INSIGHT START Study Group / NEJM. Published: 2015-07-20; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- New two-year pediatric medical-legal fellowship. Cornell Law School. Published: 2026-05-14; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Official-linked current volunteer case opportunities. Public Law Center. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.