GiveBetter x Los Angeles

Neighborhood Legal Services of Los Angeles County

Civil legal aid, housing stability and health-care access

Research time: 8 min on GPT-6 Astra Light
  • Research — reviewed programs, finances and impact evidence.

Updated: 2026-09-14

Donate

Summary

What do they do? NLSLA provides free civil legal help to low-income LA County residents. Housing representation, health-care access and public benefits offer concrete health pathways, alongside self-help, domestic violence, disaster and systemic advocacy work. The numerical estimate prices only a modeled health component using the whole organization's costs; it is not the value of all legal rights or policy outcomes.

Why we’re interested in this organization:

  • Current original audited accounts, detailed case categories and explicit 2026 priorities make costs and mechanisms auditable.

  • California's Shriver evaluation includes Los Angeles and supports improved legal outcomes, with important design limitations.

  • LA County eligibility provides direct geographic attribution without assigning all statewide litigation effects to LA.

Our main reservations:

  • No measured marginal case yield or recipient-specific QALY conversion; most model links are subjective judgments.

  • Public contracts, other legal aid, substantial reserves and in-kind attorneys complicate ordinary-gift additionality.

  • The partial health price must not be displayed as a complete portfolio return; unpriced rights, safety and systemic effects may dominate.

What do you get for your dollar? $193.5M per better life: ten additional quality-adjusted life years in Los Angeles. Housing, care and benefits health only; other impacts unestimated.

Additional health-relevant stable-housing years, effective health-access years and benefit-receipt years among LA clients; legal closures and favorable credit orders are intermediate outputs.

1. What do they do?

NLSLA (EIN 95-2408642) represents low-income LA County residents in housing, health care, public benefits and other civil matters, and operates self-help and medical-legal partnerships. Its health service description includes coverage and treatment denials, equipment, in-home support and medical debt. Debt relief for care already received is not automatically new treatment or health. Medical-legal partnerships connect legal help with clinical settings; a developing partnership is not counted as operational capacity.

The original 2024 return reports 8,531 attorney/advocate assisted legal and case-management cases, including 2,483 housing, 1,893 health and 1,162 public-benefit closed cases. These are activities, not proven additional resolutions. Its 61,350 self-help users and online traffic are excluded from the numerical model because service intensity and overlap are unresolved. Original 2024 Form 990

2. Monitoring and information sharing

The July 2017 Judicial Council evaluation randomized 424 tenants across oversubscribed Kern, LA and San Diego programs for one month. Crucially, its reported analysis excluded 31 assigned clients who did not receive full representation and 10 comparison clients who obtained other counsel. It is therefore not a clean intention-to-treat estimate. Section 8 tenants were excluded from randomization, and all participants sought help. The analyzed groups had positive credit-related outcomes in 45% versus 17% of cases, but landlords obtained possession in roughly three quarters of cases in both groups. This is evidence for a less damaging transition, not a 94% eviction-prevention rate. Selected one-year interview results are not used as a causal housing-retention estimate.

The Oregon Medicaid randomized experiment supports a coverage-to-mental-health pathway while finding no significant improvement in measured physical health at two years. Its mental-health score is not a QALY. The model's 0.02 utility-year per meaningful health-access improvement is explicitly judgment, not a trial estimate.

Request unique clients across case categories, representation intensity, net coverage/treatment months, actual stable housing following resolution, benefit receipt rather than awards, and validated health utility. Compare against alternative counsel and ordinary public-service appeal routes. Track delayed cases and lost opportunities, not only favorable closures.

3. Qualitative assessment

Legal protection has intrinsic and economic value beyond health. The numerical component includes three concrete pathways but does not price domestic-violence safety, disaster recovery, education, family rights, self-help or statewide litigation. Their omission is not evidence of zero value and makes the component unsuitable for an unqualified cross-charity portfolio ranking.

The 2025 review of priorities sets 2026 resource priorities: housing 40%, health 25%, economic security 10%, domestic violence/family 7%, self-help 15%, community advancement 2% and disaster 1%. These board priorities establish broad scope, not how an extra unrestricted dollar will be allocated. Public agencies and coalition partners remain in the counterfactual. No statewide settlement or proposed policy is assigned wholly to NLSLA or wholly to LA.

4. What do you get for your dollar?

The illustrative central health component is about $193.5 million per 10 LA QALYs, using all $41,529,139 of audited annual recipient expenses. This is a partial health price, not the whole portfolio's return. Full costs are retained rather than selecting a cheap restricted program. No claim is made that this expenditure level can be purchased again at the same marginal productivity.

The housing bridge starts with 2,483 closed cases, the external 28-percentage-point credit-outcome difference, 50% transfer to mixed NLSLA cases, a 25% judgment probability that the incremental legal improvement produces a meaningful one-year health-relevant housing improvement, and 0.02 utility-years for that improvement. Health uses 1,893 cases × 20% additional meaningful access × 0.02 utility-years. Benefits use 1,162 cases × 15% additional receipt × 0.01 utility-years. A 25% ordinary-funding responsiveness factor and 80% overlap retention apply to the sum, then a one-year 3% discount. The result is about 2.15 LA QALYs per annual cost normalization.

None of the probabilities or utility weights after the external legal benchmark is empirically calibrated for NLSLA. All effects end after one year; no repeated-case lifetime benefit, household multiplier, mortality or face-value debt conversion is added. Conservative and favorable judgments are stress tests, not statistical bounds; full substitution gives zero. A harmful net outcome remains possible but lacks a defensible numerical bound.

Model, assumptions and sensitivity

Entire recipient audited annual expenses including in-kind legal services, overhead and subgrants; not a restricted health or housing gift. Numerical return is only a health component; unpriced portfolio outcomes remain unknown.

g=1 for modeled direct LA County resident cases, a subset of LA+Orange MSA. No Orange activity needed for eligibility. Statewide litigation benefits are not assigned g=1 and are unpriced.

Q_LA(D)=(D/C)*b*k*g*[Nh*deltaCredit*rH*pH*uH + Nm*pM*uM + Np*pP*uP]/(1+d). C=41529139; b=.25; k=.8; g=1; Nh=2483; deltaCredit=.28; rH=.5; pH=.25; uH=.02; Nm=1893; pM=.2; uM=.02; Np=1162; pP=.15; uP=.01; d=.03. All benefits limited to one year. Partial price=10*D/Q. Whole-portfolio Q=Q_component+Q_other-H, with latter terms unestimated.

C
41529139 USD annual all-resource recipient expense (observed). Includes professional in-kind resources; current 2025 audited expense. [audit25]
Nh
2483 2024 closed housing cases (observed). Not additional evictions prevented. [99024]
Nm
1893 2024 closed health cases (observed). Mix includes access, debt and other help. [99024]
Np
1162 2024 closed public-benefit cases (observed). Not successful receipt. [99024]
deltaCredit
0.28 difference in positive credit-related legal outcome fraction (observed). 45% minus 17% external analyzed groups; post-randomization exclusions prevent pure ITT interpretation. [shriver]
rH
0.5 external legal effect retained (judgment). Mixed housing-case intensity, modern usual care and analytic selection. [shriver]
pH
0.25 health-relevant improvement per extra favorable credit result (judgment). Not observed health effect; most tenants still moved. [shriver]
uH
0.02 one-year QALYs per meaningful housing improvement (judgment). Finite morbidity/stress bridge, no lifetime or household multiplier.
pM
0.2 additional meaningful health access per health case (judgment). Allows debt-only and unsuccessful cases, public appeals and existing coverage. [health]
uM
0.02 one-year QALYs per additional health-access improvement (judgment). Modest morbidity hypothesis; not a direct Oregon utility estimate. [oregon]
pP
0.15 additional meaningful benefit receipt per case (judgment). No empirical success fraction claimed.
uP
0.01 one-year QALYs per additional benefit-receipt improvement (judgment). Finite stress/material deprivation health component only; no cash-to-QALY face-value conversion.
b
0.25 ordinary-funding responsiveness (judgment). Marginal capacity after public, partner and reserve substitution; no verified shortfall. [audit25]
k
0.8 nonoverlapping health benefit retained (judgment). Cross-category unique clients unknown.
g
1 modeled direct-client LA MSA benefit fraction (judgment). LA County resident service scope; does not apply to systemic effects. [home]
d
0.03 one-year discount rate (judgment). All effects terminate after one year.
Q_other
null LA QALYs from unpriced portfolio (unknown). Domestic violence, disaster, education, self-help and policy not assigned zero. [priorities]

Subjective central health component — not whole portfolio: Cost: $41.5M; Los Angeles QALYs: 2.1462330097087383; all-population QALYs: 2.1462330097087383. Central inputs; full recipient costs, one year, LA direct-client scope; broader portfolio unpriced.

Weak marginal capacity and health conversion; not confidence bound: Cost: $41.5M; Los Angeles QALYs: 0.044461747572815534; all-population QALYs: 0.044461747572815534. b = 0.1; k = 0.6; rH = 0.25; pH = 0.1; uH = 0.01; pM = 0.05; uM = 0.005; pP = 0.05; uP = 0.002. Benefits last one year.

Strong additionality and meaningful outcomes; not confidence bound: Cost: $41.5M; Los Angeles QALYs: 57.26941747572816; all-population QALYs: 57.26941747572816. b = 0.75; k = 1; rH = 1; pH = 0.5; uH = 0.05; pM = 0.5; uM = 0.05; pP = 0.4; uP = 0.03. Benefits last one year.

Full replacement or no health change: Cost: $41.5M; Los Angeles QALYs: 0; all-population QALYs: 0. No additional health.

Unquantified adverse net effect: Cost: $41.5M; Los Angeles QALYs: unknown; all-population QALYs: unknown. Stress, delay, adverse legal resolution or harmful policy trade-offs can outweigh health gains; no fabricated negative bound.

Counterfactual: Public contracts, approved LSC carryover, existing legal aid/self-help, non-Shriver counsel, public appeals, partners and reserves continue. b reflects how ordinary funds change total case capacity versus those alternatives; legal probabilities then reflect substantive resolution beyond no additional NLSLA case.

Attribution: Housing external comparison already incorporates alternative self-help; rH reduces transfer to mixed case intensity and post-randomization selection. pH is subsequent health-relevant improvement, not an additional legal success rate. k handles cross-case health overlap. No multiplicative household, coalition, debt or partner grant credit.

Explicit subjective central for priced component. Not a full-portfolio ranking estimate. No posterior confidence claim: public finance, service mix, marginal capacity and health bridge could move return greatly; zero and unquantified downside retained.

Sensitivity

  • At central component Q=2.1462330097087383, using cash-resource proxy C=32854242 yields $153078635.22450712/10 QALYs, conditional on continued donated professional capacity.
  • At $1 million/10 QALYs the full $41,529,139 cost requires 415.29139 incremental LA QALYs, versus 2.14623 in the component scenario; $100 thousand requires 4,152.9139. These thresholds do not establish likely marginal yield.
  • Health-case access probability and utility supply most of the central priced component; request actual additional covered/treatment months before increasing them.
  • 2025 current cost / 2024 case volume is conservative but not a matched-year productivity observation.
  • Do not add unpriced systemic effects as an arbitrary multiplier merely to improve ranking.

Unresolved inputs

  • 2025/26 unique case volumes and unrestricted-funded marginal completed cases after public reimbursement and substitute counsel.
  • Net health-access months and preference-based utility for successful cases, not debt face value.
  • Current housing case intensity, unique-client overlap and actual stable-housing duration after resolution.
  • Costed ordinary-gift allocation and hiring queue, reserve policy and grant restrictions.
  • Finite causal attribution and LA share for systemic litigation; domestic violence, disaster, education and self-help outcomes.

5. Funding and previous grants

Audited 2025 accounts, with 2024 comparatives, report expenses of $41,529,139 and $38,289,241. The 2023 audit reports $31,413,744. These comparable calendar-year accrual totals include imputed donated services; the three-year mean is $37,077,374.67. The 2025 financial-statement opinion is unmodified, dated April 27, 2026; this is not claimed as the publication date or as proof of every grant-compliance issue being clear.

2025 revenue was $45,369,370, including $29,829,464 government contracts and $8,674,897 donated materials/services. Expenses were $36,691,117 program, $4,038,649 management and $799,373 fundraising. Removing imputed donations gives a $32,854,242 cash-resource proxy, not a verified marginal cash budget. Using it alone lowers the same modeled health price by about 21%; it assumes volunteer capacity remains available and is a sensitivity, not the central cost definition. Program subgrants of $5,736,120 are included once, not credited again as independently caused partner outputs.

Year-end net assets were $22,164,478, including $3,352,752 donor-restricted and $10,018,955 board-designated. The liquidity note reports $20,614,098 financial assets available within a year after specified deductions; this includes receivables/investments and is not bank cash. Client trust deposits are not spendable charity resources. Refundable public advances cannot be treated as unrestricted cash. LSC basic-field advances of $3,921,034 include resources reserved for 2026; approved carryover is part of the continuation counterfactual. These facts do not prove a funding gap or that every donation immediately adds a lawyer.

The newer costs are combined conservatively with the latest detailed 2024 case counts: no proportional caseload increase is assumed from expense growth, which partly reflects additional imputed legal services. A current costed intake queue, reimbursement conditions, hiring capacity and use of unrestricted reserves would materially improve the marginal model.

Annual expenses

Organization-level spending, including programs, administration and fundraising. The research list averages three comparable, consecutive full fiscal years when available.

  • FY 2023: $31.4M; NLSLA, EIN 95-2408642, 12-month period, Accrual GAAP audited total expenses including donated materials/services; calendar year. Source
  • FY 2024: $38.3M; NLSLA, EIN 95-2408642, 12-month period, Accrual GAAP audited total expenses including donated materials/services; calendar year. Source
  • FY 2025: $41.5M; NLSLA, EIN 95-2408642, 12-month period, Accrual GAAP audited total expenses including donated materials/services; calendar year. Source

6. Sources

  1. Current services and LA County beneficiary scope. NLSLA. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  2. Original financial documents index. NLSLA. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  3. 2025 audited statements with 2024 comparatives. NLSLA / Harrington Group. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  4. 2023 audited statements. NLSLA / Harrington Group. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  5. Original 2024 Form 990; case categories. NLSLA / IRS via ProPublica. Published: 2025-11-13; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  6. December 2025 review of 2026 priorities. NLSLA. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  7. Health Consumer Center services. NLSLA. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  8. Medical-legal partnerships. NLSLA. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  9. Tenant services. NLSLA. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  10. July 2017 Sargent Shriver Civil Counsel Act evaluation. Judicial Council of California / NPC Research. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  11. Oregon randomized Medicaid experiment. Baicker et al., NEJM. Published: 2013-05-02; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  12. Organization-linked ordinary donation route. NLSLA. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.