GiveBetter x Los Angeles

Maternal Mental Health NOW

Perinatal mental-health training, access and peer support

Research time: 7 min on GPT-6 Astra Light
  • Research — reviewed programs, finances and impact evidence.

Updated: 2026-09-14

Donate

Summary

What do they do? Maternal Mental Health NOW trains providers and supports parents facing perinatal mental-health challenges. It became independent from Community Partners on July 1, 2025. Our numerical scenario uses the full program operating budget and estimates training plus peer-support health effects, not the entire social and policy portfolio.

Why we’re interested in this organization:

  • Provider training has a plausible multiplier through clinical practice, with randomized external health-outcome evidence.

  • Sana Sana supplies ongoing, culturally responsive local peer support rather than only a resource listing.

  • Primary reporting distinguishes unique clients from repeated interactions and describes reimbursement barriers.

Our main reservations:

  • The $1.17m denominator is a reported operating budget, not an audited current annual expense; the tiny standalone transition return cannot replace it.

  • Training attendance and confidence do not establish changed clinical practice, caseload or health effects.

  • Central benefits depend heavily on subjective transfer and funding assumptions; zero and adverse effects remain possible.

What do you get for your dollar? $26.6M per better life: ten additional quality-adjusted life years in Los Angeles. Conditional partial-health estimate; other organizational outcomes remain unpriced..

Central training pipeline: 800 records→400 effective unique frontline trainees→12,000 unique lower-risk postpartum care opportunities→300 reference-equivalent opportunities after transfer/additionality/funding. Peer pipeline: 150 callers→9.375 high-risk RCT-equivalent participants after transfer/additionality/funding→1.03125 fewer probable-depression cases at 12 weeks, translated with .1 utility×12/52 year. These are expected model quantities, not observed treated cases. No infant mortality or lifetime recurrence multiplier.

1. What do they do?

The current mission and model combine provider training, stigma reduction and access to care. Sana Sana offers ongoing peer contact and resource navigation for LA County parents. The FY25 impact report dates independence from Community Partners to July 1, 2025; today’s gift is not a gift to all of the former sponsor’s projects.

2. Monitoring and information sharing

The donation page reports 800+ trainees and 150 warmline callers during 2024–25. We do not add 300 support-group participants to callers because overlap and attendance definitions are unresolved. The December 2025 Sana Sana white paper distinguishes repeated interactions from unique clients, reports low survey response, and describes weekly 30–60-minute support. Its billing projections are not actual reimbursement. Provider confidence and non-random differences between home-visitor and clinic screening are not causal health outcomes.

3. Qualitative assessment

The PoNDER economic analysis found a small adjusted six-month QALY gain from intensive UK health-visitor training in lower-risk postpartum women; uncertainty included no health gain. Our training model retains only 10% of that reference effect before further additionality and funding reductions. A Canadian peer-support trial found less probable depression at 12 weeks in high-risk women, but no significant difference at 24 weeks after referral of severe cases. It supports short-term benefit, not permanent remission. LAMMHA’s funder report identifies MMHN as training coordinator within a larger clinical coalition; all clinical outcomes cannot be assigned to MMHN.

4. What do you get for your dollar?

The FY25 report gives a $1.17m operating budget. The model uses that full-program planning scale, with $1.0m–$1.5m cost sensitivities, pending actual successor accounts. The original FY2025 standalone 990-EZ has only $1,513 expenses and no payroll while the operational program remained sponsored; using that as the cost of its reported work would be wrong. No comparable three-year recipient expense mean is available. The central training/peer health component is about $26.58m per 10 LA-MSA QALYs. This is a conditional planning estimate, not a complete portfolio return or validated historical cost-effectiveness result.

Model, assumptions and sensitivity

Full recipient program annual planning budget of $1.17m, not the $1,513 standalone pre-operation return and not former sponsor total. Modeled continuation year with current successor delivery assumed; actual full recipient expenses unverified. External clinical labor, insurer spending and participant time excluded from donor cost.

LA MSA is Los Angeles plus Orange counties. Sana Sana eligibility is LA County, so peer g=1. Training is available beyond LA and online; training beneficiary share .8 central (.5–.95) is judgment, not trainee/HQ location evidence. No global or state-policy spillovers added.

Q_training_all=T*d*L*r*a*b*q; Q_peer_all=P*e*rP*aP*b*u*(w/52). Q_LA=k*(gT*Q_training_all+Q_peer_all)/(1.03^delay); Q_all=k*(Q_training_all+Q_peer_all)/(1.03^delay); price=10*C/Q_LA. Central T800,d.5,L30,r.1,a.5,b.5,q.002; P150,e.11,rP.25,aP.5,u.1,w12;k.9,gT.8,delay1,C1170000. Training .6 all-pop QALYs and peer .02379808 before overlap/delay; final .54506628 all-pop and .4402119119 LA.

C
1170000 USD/planning year (judgment). Continuation-year full program cost anchored to reported FY25 operating budget, not actual audited expense. [mmhn-impact25]
T
800 training participant records/FY25 (observed). Published 800+ floor; not patients or unique active clinicians. [mmhn-donate]
d
0.5 effective unique frontline trainee fraction (judgment). Allows repeat attendance and nonclinical roles. [mmhn-about]
L
30 unique lower-risk postpartum parents/trainee/year (judgment). Plausible limited annual caseload, not published MMHN caseload; tested 5–100.
r
0.1 clinical-effect transfer fraction (judgment). Brief heterogeneous courses may deliver much less change than intensive health-visitor package. [ponder-clinical]
a
0.5 training additionality (judgment). Other training and existing care reduce counterfactual effect. [lammha-current]
b
0.5 ordinary funding responsiveness (judgment). Funding may preserve uncovered capacity or displace grants; no verified marginal queue. [mmhn-impact25] [mmhn-whitepaper]
q
0.002 QALY/lower-risk postpartum parent over 6 months (observed). Published adjusted randomized economic estimate,95%CI−.001 to .004; not MMHN efficacy. [ponder]
P
150 warmline callers/FY25 (observed). Currentdonationpage; no added group participants or repeatcalls. [mmhn-donate]
e
0.11 absolute reduction in probable depression at 12 weeks (observed). External high-risk RCT rounded 25%−14%; not measured MMHN outcome. [peer-rct]
rP
0.25 peer-effect transfer fraction (judgment). Different baseline risk, intensity and population. [peer-rct] [mmhn-whitepaper]
aP
0.5 peer counterfactual additionality (judgment). Support or treatment may otherwise be available. [mmhn-sana]
u
0.1 utility gain per incremental case (judgment). Conservative illustrative mapping of probable-depression change; not a measured SF-6D result.
w
12 weeks of benefit (judgment). Subjective 12-week benefit-area assumption, not a measured duration inferred from endpoint prevalence. No significant 24-week group difference supports finite extrapolation but does not establish this benefit area. [peer-rct]
k
0.9 cross-route nonoverlap factor (judgment). No linked participant identifiers; prevents full addition of overlapping benefits.
gT
0.8 LA+Orange training beneficiary fraction (judgment). Missionlocal but trainings canextendbeyondregion; no measuredresidence distribution. [mmhn-about]
delay
1 years to mean benefit realization (judgment). Discount future annual delivery and follow-up at 3%; no added lifetime multiplier.

Training/peer health component; planned full cost: Cost: $1.2M; Los Angeles QALYs: 0.44021191187453323; all-population QALYs: 0.545066280806572. {"d":0.5,"L":30,"r":0.1,"a":0.5,"b":0.5,"g":0.8,"q":0.002,"rP":0.25,"aP":0.5,"k":0.9,"u":0.1,"w":12,"C":1170000} All non-reference clinical conversions are judgment; no statistical interpretation of combined bounds.

low stress scenario: Cost: $1.5M; Los Angeles QALYs: 0.0000816840926064227; all-population QALYs: 0.00009867438386855863. {"d":0.25,"L":5,"r":0.01,"a":0.1,"b":0.1,"g":0.5,"q":0.0005,"rP":0.1,"aP":0.1,"k":0.7,"u":0.05,"w":6,"C":1500000} All non-reference clinical conversions are judgment; no statistical interpretation of combined bounds.

high stress scenario: Cost: $1.0M; Los Angeles QALYs: 85.26811053024645; all-population QALYs: 89.74189693801344. {"d":0.9,"L":100,"r":0.5,"a":0.8,"b":0.8,"g":0.95,"q":0.004,"rP":0.75,"aP":0.8,"k":1,"u":0.15,"w":12,"C":1000000} All non-reference clinical conversions are judgment; no statistical interpretation of combined bounds.

zero stress scenario: Cost: $1.2M; Los Angeles QALYs: 0; all-population QALYs: 0. {"d":0.5,"L":30,"r":0.1,"a":0.5,"b":0,"g":0.8,"q":0.002,"rP":0.25,"aP":0.5,"k":0.9,"u":0.1,"w":12,"C":1170000} All non-reference clinical conversions are judgment; no statistical interpretation of combined bounds.

downside stress scenario: Cost: $1.2M; Los Angeles QALYs: -0.20970873786407765; all-population QALYs: -0.2621359223300971. {"d":0.5,"L":30,"r":0.1,"a":0.5,"b":0.5,"g":0.8,"q":-0.001,"rP":0,"aP":0.5,"k":0.9,"u":0.1,"w":12,"C":1170000} All non-reference clinical conversions are judgment; no statistical interpretation of combined bounds.

Counterfactual: Current grants, commissioned training, other educators, clinical providers and referral services persist without the next ordinary gift. a and aP remove substitution by alternative training/support; b discounts donation-to-expanded/preserved service responsiveness. The 2022–26 LAMMHA grants and enacted screening laws are baseline, not fresh gift outcomes.

Attribution: T is an output floor, d removes duplicate/non-frontline training records, L is a subjective annual unique lower-risk postpartum caseload per effective trainee, and r scales the intensive UK training reference to heterogeneous MMHN courses. Peer rP allows lower intensity and different risk profile than the high-risk RCT. k removes cross-route overlap. No additional LAMMHA, screening, group-attendance or awareness QALYs are layered onto these pathways.

Best-effort partial-health scenario, heavily judgment-driven; no empirically measured MMHN causal conversion. Positive scenarios are not confidence bounds. Reference training QALY CI includes zero; negative case retained. Full policy, anti-stigma, workforce and infant/family outcomes are unpriced, not known to be absent.

Sensitivity

  • The positive low/high scenarios are stress tests, not calibrated probability quantiles; training caseload and clinical implementation dominate. Zero additional funding response yields zero benefit.
  • The original training Table 5 QALY difference is .002 with 95% CI−.001 to .004. Cost-saving probability is not a 99% probability of improved health; NHS cost savings are not subtracted from this donor numerator.
  • Training benefit ends at six-month follow-up for each modeled parent, with only one annual cohort. Peer benefit is .1 utility for 12 weeks per incremental probable-depression case; no persistence beyond 24 weeks assumed. The peer benefit area is a subjective scenario, not the trial's measured duration of improvement.
  • At the central $1.17m budget, $1m/10 requires 11.7 LA QALYs; $100k/10 requires 117. Central modeled component=.44021. With other factors fixed, training caseload would need about 835 lower-risk parents per effective trainee to approach $1m/10; do not treat that threshold as observed capacity.
  • Cost should be updated from reconciled current recipient accounts; $1,513 is not a cheaper valid scenario. Paid clinical follow-through is a necessary complementary resource and could materially raise societal costs.

Unresolved inputs

  • Successor full-year actual accounts, sponsor assets/liabilities transferred, and whether $1.17m includes all sponsorship/transition overhead.
  • Unique trainees by role, course completion, baseline competence, LA+Orange beneficiary residence and eligible annual caseload.
  • Controlled or credible comparison of training-induced screening, treatment engagement and patient-reported health outcomes.
  • Unique warmline and group participants, overlap, dose, baseline clinical risk, attrition and controlled outcomes.
  • Marginal staffing/service plan, contractual grant commitments, billing actually collected, and donor substitution.

5. Funding and previous grants

The FY25 operating-budget graphic attributes 55% to foundations/corporate, 25% government, 15% earned income and 5% individuals. Public and philanthropic support already finances delivery. The current LAMMHA page describes the 2022–26 coalition program, closed enrollment and clinic implementation grants; these belong in the baseline. The Sana Sana paper examines prospective billing, not guaranteed revenue, and DHCS confirms specialty-system peer support is a defined benefit rather than universal reimbursement for every peer interaction. Ordinary gifts may preserve uncovered capacity, replace other funding or fund administration; 50% marginal responsiveness is an explicit judgment. A post-transition budget, sponsor transfer reconciliation and cash runway would materially improve the estimate.

Annual expenses

Organization-level spending, including programs, administration and fundraising. The research list averages three comparable, consecutive full fiscal years when available.

  • FY 2025: $2K; Maternal Mental Health NOW Inc, EIN99-1790214, pre-operating standalone entity only, 12-month period, Original Form990-EZ line17. Not full operational program expense because fiscal sponsorship continued through June30,2025; excluded from comparable mean and model cost.. Source

6. Sources

  1. Mission and model. Maternal Mental Health NOW. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  2. FY25 impact report and operating budget. Maternal Mental Health NOW. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  3. Original standalone FY2025 Form 990-EZ. Maternal Mental Health NOW / IRS; ProPublica host. Published: 2026-03-23; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  4. Current donation and output page. Maternal Mental Health NOW. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  5. Sana Sana current service eligibility. Maternal Mental Health NOW. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  6. Sana Sana white paper, December 2025. Maternal Mental Health NOW. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  7. PoNDER training economic analysis; Table5. Henderson et al., Psychological Medicine. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  8. Randomized health-visitor training clinical trial. Morrell et al., BMJ. Published: 2009-01-15; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  9. Postpartum peer-support randomized trial. Dennis et al., BMJ. Published: 2009-01-15; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  10. LAMMHA current coalition and funding. Community Clinic Association of Los Angeles County. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  11. LAMMHA implementation, roles and findings. Bennett, Grover and Vredevoogd / CHCF. Published: 2025-10-23; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  12. Medi-Cal peer-support benefit. California DHCS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.