Summary
What do they do? Inner City Law Center combines eviction defense with benefits access, housing-condition litigation and policy advocacy in Los Angeles. Its legal services can protect housing and income for people facing serious disadvantage. The numerical scenario below prices only the short-term health contribution of eviction prevention against recipient-wide costs; it is not a complete portfolio valuation.
Why we’re interested in this organization:
A concrete route connects legal representation to housing stability, with some randomized evidence that representation changes possession outcomes.
The recipient reports completed cases and housing outcomes, not only consultations.
Public-benefits and systemic work may deliver important benefits beyond the priced housing component.
Our main reservations:
Reported evictions prevented are not a comparison with what would have happened without assistance.
Current public right-to-counsel funding and other legal-aid providers may replace part of a new gift.
Health utility, marginal funding response and donated-resource accounting remain judgmental or unreconciled.
What do you get for your dollar? $131.2M per better life: ten additional quality-adjusted life years in Los Angeles. Conditional partial-health estimate; other organizational outcomes remain unpriced..
875 reported prevention outcomes become 700 distinct relevant cases, 175 incremental preventions and 87.5 funding-attributable preventions before geography; 85.75 within LA under the central assumptions. Six-month health improvement is hypothetical, not measured.
1. What do they do?
ICLC provides tenant defense, benefits assistance, housing-condition litigation and systemic advocacy. The current program description places these services within a broader anti-homelessness portfolio, not an eviction-only charity. Current clinics and 2026 activity establish continuing operations.
2. Monitoring and information sharing
The 2024 impact report records 875 evictions prevented, 1,589 cases closed and 3,403 people served. These categories overlap and are not added. It does not establish unique counterfactual evictions averted or sustained health effects. The most useful next evidence would link distinct cases to housing and health at six and twelve months, alongside a comparable untreated or differently served group.
3. Qualitative assessment
The District Court randomized trial found substantially better possession outcomes from full representation than limited assistance in a selected setting. The companion Housing Court experiment found no significant advantage, supporting a genuine zero case. Separately, judge-assignment research connects eviction to subsequent housing instability and hospital use; it does not supply a QALY conversion. Benefits recovery, better housing conditions and policy work are important but unpriced here.
4. What do you get for your dollar?
The original returns imply gross Form 990 accrual expenses of $17,090,749 in 2022, $18,745,042 in 2023 and $20,403,467 in 2024, including separately netted event costs. Their mean is $18,746,419. The central resource denominator adds the report’s $12,354,422 donated-service valuation to 2024 Form 990 expenses, reaching $32,757,889. This reconstruction exceeds the impact report’s total by $146,191 and is not a verified audit reconciliation. The conditional housing-health price is about $131.2 million per ten LA QALYs; sensitivity excluding donated legal services is $81.7 million. Neither number values the full portfolio, and neither supports ranking ICLC as though its other work had zero value.
Model, assumptions and sensitivity
Recipient-wide annual cost, not tenant-defense program cost. The central reconstruction adds the separately reported donated legal-service valuation to 2024 gross accrual Form 990 expenses. It is not an audited full-resource amount: the $146,191 reconciliation gap remains. Sensitivities use Form 990 gross expense excluding donated legal services and the impact report's stated total. The numerator prices only short-term eviction-related health, not a whole-portfolio return or full societal analysis.
LA MSA is Los Angeles and Orange counties. Direct legal services are Los Angeles-focused; g=.98 is a judgment allowance for beneficiary residence outside the boundary, not an observed geocoded share. Statewide policy spillovers are unpriced.
Q_all=N*d*a*b*q/(1+r); Q_LA=g*Q_all; price10=10*C/Q_LA. N=875 reported prevention outcomes; d=.8 unique relevant index clients; a=.25 genuinely incremental versus alternatives; b=.5 marginal funding response; q=.06 utility improvement for .5 year=.03 QALY; r=.03 one-year delay; g=.98; C=20,326,674+76,793+12,354,422=32,757,889. No household-size multiplier, recurring annual credit or separate hospital/benefits QALYs.
- C_990
- 20403467 USD per 2024 recipient-year (observed). Part IX total plus Part VIII line 8b; no gaming or inventory cost shown. [iclc-99024]
- C_donated
- 12354422 USD valued donated professional services per year (observed). Report valuation; potential accounting reconciliation uncertainty, not an incremental cash need. [iclc-impact24]
- N
- 875 reported eviction-prevention outcomes in 2024 (observed). Provider claim, not counterfactual effects. [iclc-impact24]
- d
- 0.8 distinct relevant index clients per reported outcome (judgment). Deduplication and classification allowance; .6–1 scenarios, no empirical ICLC rate.
- a
- 0.25 incremental prevention fraction versus other assistance (judgment). Judgment informed by positive and null legal-aid trials; not their ITT coefficient or an ICLC causal rate. [greiner-district] [greiner-housing]
- b
- 0.5 funding-responsive share after finance substitution (judgment). No current unrestricted marginal case schedule; range includes zero.
- q
- 0.03 undiscounted QALYs per additional prevention (judgment). One index person improves utility by .06 for six months. Research supports health relevance, not this utility. No lifetime, mortality, household or earnings addition. [collinson]
- g
- 0.98 LA beneficiary share for priced direct-service outcomes (judgment). Los Angeles service focus with residence allowance .9–1; no statewide policy allocation. [iclc-programs]
- r
- 0.03 annual discount rate; one-year delivery delay (judgment). Finite one-year timing adjustment; q already has six-month duration.
Conditional eviction-health component, reconstructed resources: Cost: $32.8M; Los Angeles QALYs: 2.4975728155339803; all-population QALYs: 2.5485436893203883. d=.8, a=.25, b=.5, q=.03, g=.98; not a whole-portfolio return.
Weak transfer and substantial substitution: Cost: $32.8M; Los Angeles QALYs: 0.02867111650485437; all-population QALYs: 0.031856796116504854. d=.6, a=.05, b=.25, q=.005, g=.9.
Stronger conditional housing-health pathway: Cost: $32.8M; Los Angeles QALYs: 31.856796116504853; all-population QALYs: 31.856796116504853. d=1, a=.5, b=.75, q=.1 for at most one year, g=1; no lifetime benefits.
No marginal outcome or health effect: Cost: $32.8M; Los Angeles QALYs: 0; all-population QALYs: 0. a, b or q is zero; no finite health price.
Original Form 990 gross expense excluding donated legal services: Cost: $20.4M; Los Angeles QALYs: 2.4975728155339803; all-population QALYs: 2.5485436893203883. Excludes donated professional resources; does not imply they have zero opportunity cost.
Impact-report total; reconciliation remains unverified: Cost: $32.6M; Los Angeles QALYs: 2.4975728155339803; all-population QALYs: 2.5485436893203883. Financial discrepancy sensitivity, not a verified audit total.
Counterfactual: Existing public contracts, right-to-counsel programs, limited assistance, other counsel, tenant self-help and settlements continue. a concerns legal outcome additionality at case level; b separately concerns whether more unrestricted resources change volume rather than replace existing finance. Already enacted policy wins are not new-gift benefits.
Attribution: No coalition policy credit is claimed. d reduces possible repeated or insufficiently defined prevention records. Only one index client receives the finite utility benefit; financial recovery and family members are not added.
Subjective conditional component model, not a causal estimate of ICLC or probability confidence interval. External trials justify a possible legal mechanism and a zero scenario, not these parameter values. Utility conversion is an explicit prior. Unpriced portfolio may dominate, so do not use this component price as a complete rank.
Sensitivity
- Central price is approximately $131.2m per ten LA QALYs, versus $81.7m on Form 990 gross expense; favorable component assumptions yield about $10.3m. Zero is not excluded.
- For a whole-portfolio $1m per ten QALYs price, annual attributable LA health benefit must reach 327.57889 QALYs at reconstructed resource cost; at $100k it must reach 3275.7889. This is a diagnostic, not a claim that legal benefits are all health.
- Halving funding responsiveness or utility doubles the conditional component price. Other portfolio outcomes are not assigned a convenient multiplier.
Unresolved inputs
- Reconciled 2024 audit and accessible 2025 financial statements, including gross netted costs and donated resources.
- Unique case-level prevention definition, counterfactual housing retention and six/twelve-month outcomes.
- Current donation-sensitive volume, public-contract restrictions and alternative-provider capacity.
- Measured health utility and separate causal benefit/policy outcomes with overlap and LA allocation.
5. Funding and previous grants
A general gift can sustain staff, coordination and cases not completely financed by contracts. The original 2024 return reports positive annual net income and substantial net assets; those balances do not establish unrestricted cash available for every program. Current public-funding advocacy and already adopted tenant protections belong in the baseline. We assume only half of annual activity-equivalent funding translates into additional services after financing substitution, with zero retained as a plausible outcome. No verified immediate funding gap or extra-case commitment was found.
Annual expenses
Organization-level spending, including programs, administration and fundraising. The research list averages three comparable, consecutive full fiscal years when available.
- FY 2022: $17.1M; Inner City Law Center, 12-month period, Accrual original Form 990 Part IX plus separately netted event costs; excludes donated legal services. Year-specific reconciliation is in the report.. Source
- FY 2023: $18.7M; Inner City Law Center, 12-month period, Accrual original Form 990 Part IX plus separately netted event costs; excludes donated legal services. Year-specific reconciliation is in the report.. Source
- FY 2024: $20.4M; Inner City Law Center, 12-month period, Accrual original Form 990 Part IX plus separately netted event costs; excludes donated legal services. Year-specific reconciliation is in the report.. Source
6. Sources
- Current operations and 2026 news. Inner City Law Center. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- What We Do. Inner City Law Center. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- 2024 Impact Report. Inner City Law Center. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- 2024 original Form 990. Inner City Law Center / IRS, hosted by ProPublica. Published: 2025-11-12; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- 2023 original Form 990. Inner City Law Center / IRS, hosted by ProPublica. Published: 2024-11-12; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- 2022 original Form 990. Inner City Law Center / IRS, hosted by ProPublica. Published: 2023-11-06; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Filing index, including inaccessible 2025 audit. ProPublica. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- The Limits of Unbundled Legal Assistance. Greiner, Pattanayak and Hennessy / Harvard Law Review. Published: 2013-02-20; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- How Effective Are Limited Legal Assistance Programs?. Greiner, Pattanayak and Hennessy. Published: 2012-03-12; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Eviction and Poverty in American Cities. Collinson et al. / Quarterly Journal of Economics. Published: 2023-09-18; retrieved: 2026-09-14.