GiveBetter x Los Angeles

Human Options

Survivor housing, counseling, legal advocacy and violence prevention

Research time: 9 min on GPT-6 Astra Light
  • Research — reviewed programs, finances and impact evidence.

Updated: 2026-09-14

Donate

Summary

What do they do? Human Options provides emergency and transitional housing, counseling, legal advocacy and prevention services for people affected by relationship violence in Orange County. A new gift could sustain additional survivor services, but public contracts, alternative providers and existing resources may replace part of its effect. The estimate models a counseling and post-shelter safety health component against the whole recipient's costs, not the complete value of its portfolio.

Why we’re interested in this organization:

  • Housing and counseling provide concrete routes to safety and mental-health improvement, supported by relevant external trials.

  • The current service offering includes continuing care and practical legal and housing support, rather than awareness alone.

  • Three original returns allow gross recipient expenses, including separately netted fundraising costs, to be checked.

Our main reservations:

  • Reported participation and safe housing exits do not establish additional outcomes caused by a donation.

  • The modeled program intensity, adult eligibility, funding response, utility and geographic shares are subjective assumptions.

  • Prevention, legal rights, child development and other benefits remain unpriced; the component must not be presented as a complete portfolio rank.

What do you get for your dollar? $44.7M per better life: ten additional quality-adjusted life years in Los Angeles. Conditional partial-health estimate; other organizational outcomes remain unpriced..

Central counseling branch: 600 distinct eligible/intensity-equivalent records; 300 are funding-responsive, and 25.5 additional depression-threshold improvements follow after transfer. Central residential branch: 249 adult equivalents; 8.0925 additional people avoid any repeat physical violence over the two-year reference endpoint after transfer and funding response. These are model outputs, not observed Human Options outcomes. Finite utility improvements and overlap then convert them to health.

1. What do they do?

Human Options (EIN 95-3667817) operates residential and community services in Orange County. The current services page describes shelter, counseling, legal advocacy, personal empowerment, care management and prevention. Its family resource centers serve several Orange County communities. CalOptima enrollment is required for its enhanced care management pathway; this is not a general insurance-free clinical program.

The FY 2025 annual report reports 1,200 individuals receiving broadly described healing support and 498 survivors and families finding safe haven. Those are scale anchors, not verified treatment completions. They are not simply added: the model discounts eligibility and repeated or overlapping beneficiaries.

2. Monitoring and information sharing

The annual report's 90% safe-housing-at-exit claim has no public comparison group or long-term retention denominator. Hotline calls, knowledge gains and referrals are not separately credited as health. The current homepage's 2025 hotline total differs from the fiscal-year report, so neither is used as a unique-client denominator.

For a donor-sensitive evaluation, request distinct clients by age, program and residence; completed counseling intensity; safety and stable housing after exit; validated symptom and utility outcomes; and adverse events. Follow everyone offered services, including those who leave early, and compare against available public and nonprofit alternatives. Track the actual staff, rent assistance or other bottleneck that ordinary funds can change. Current operations

3. Qualitative assessment

The PATH randomized trial tested specialist psychological sessions added to ordinary domestic-violence advocacy. At twelve months, 29% versus 46% exceeded the depression threshold, but only 64% were followed up. There was no demonstrated reduction in further abuse or improvement in physical health. This supports a mental-health mechanism, not a claim that Human Options implements the same intervention or achieves its result.

The post-shelter advocacy trial found 24% versus 11% free from further physical violence over two years. It involved intensive ten-week advocacy for adult women after shelter; transferring this result to mixed residential records requires a substantial adjustment. The Domestic Violence Housing First study also found better housing and mental-health outcomes, but was observational despite weighting and adjustment. Its scale scores are not QALYs and are not added as another benefit.

The current PEP description is a ten-week psychoeducational group, not proof of PATH-style psychological treatment. Counseling, housing and advocacy may overlap in the same person's recovery; the model explicitly reduces double counting. Safety, dignity and legal rights have value beyond the priced health component.

4. What do you get for your dollar?

The conditional central component is about $44.7 million per ten LA QALYs, using $7,595,219 of recipient-wide gross annual expense. It covers modeled counseling and post-shelter safety benefits only. It is not a complete portfolio return or the cost of purchasing a restricted clinical program.

For counseling, 1,200 reported participants are reduced to 50% distinct people with relevant eligibility and sufficient service intensity. Half the external depression-threshold difference is retained, ordinary funding responsiveness is 50%, and a 0.15 utility improvement lasts half a year. The latter is a judgmental clinical conversion, not a utility measured in the trial. This gives 1.8567961165 discounted all-population QALYs before cross-program overlap.

For residential services, the mixed 498-person/family count is multiplied by 0.5 adult index-person equivalents per record. The external 13-percentage-point reduction in any repeat physical violence is halved for transfer, with the same 50% funding response. Avoiding repeat violence is assigned 0.10 utility for half a year, credited with a two-year delay because the external endpoint is at two years. This adds 0.3813978697 QALYs before overlap.

Retaining 80% after cross-program overlap and 95% for LA/Orange beneficiary residence yields 1.7010274295 LA QALYs. No homicide, suicide, lifetime cure, separate child multiplier or additional annual reabuse benefit is added. Stronger and weaker assumptions span approximately $1.9 million to $20.5 billion per ten QALYs, with zero and unquantified downside also possible; these are stress scenarios, not confidence bounds.

Model, assumptions and sensitivity

Full recipient gross accrual Form 990 expense, including separately netted direct event costs. Not a restricted counseling or shelter denominator. The modeled health component covers counseling and post-shelter safety; prevention, legal rights and other portfolio outcomes remain unpriced. Additional external health-care, housing and volunteer opportunity costs are not comprehensively estimated.

LA MSA consists of Los Angeles and Orange counties. Current direct services focus on Orange County. g = 0.95 is an explicit judgment for residence during benefit, allowing some survivors to move beyond the boundary; it is not measured and ranges from 0.85 to 1 in stress scenarios. Headquarters location alone does not establish allocation.

Q_all(D) = (D / C) × k × [Np × dp × rp × b × ep × up × Tp / (1 + d) + Ns × ds × rs × b × es × us × Ts / (1 + d)^2]. Q_LA(D) = g × Q_all(D); price per ten QALYs = 10 × D / Q_LA(D). C = 7595219; Np = 1200; dp = 0.5; rp = 0.5; b = 0.5; ep = 0.17; up = 0.15; Tp = 0.5; Ns = 498; ds = 0.5; rs = 0.5; es = 0.13; us = 0.10; Ts = 0.5; k = 0.8; g = 0.95; d = 0.03. Displayed normalization D = C is an annual scale comparison, not an assurance of linear expansion.

C
7595219 USD per recipient fiscal year (observed). FY 2025 Part IX $7,312,028 plus Part VIII event cost $283,191; accrual accounting, all programs and overhead. [ho-99025]
Np
1200 reported people receiving broadly described healing support (observed). Annual-report scale, not verified adult therapy completions or causal recovery. [ho-report25]
dp
0.5 distinct eligible and sufficiently intensive adult-equivalent records per participant (judgment). Allows child/family mix, lighter support and repeated records. It is not an observed completion rate. [ho-services] [ho-report25]
rp
0.5 external psychological effect retained (judgment). Human Options treatment fidelity, intensity and usual-care context differ; the reference trial also had substantial attrition. [path] [ho-pep26]
ep
0.17 external difference in depression-threshold prevalence at twelve months (observed). 46% minus 29% in PATH follow-up; not a Human Options success rate or QALY measurement. [path]
up
0.15 utility improvement per modeled depression-threshold improvement (judgment). Hypothetical mean health gain; crossing a questionnaire threshold does not itself establish remission or this utility difference.
Tp
0.5 years of psychological utility improvement (judgment). Half-year finite benefit, discounted with a one-year delay. No future recurrence-free lifetime assumed.
Ns
498 reported residential survivors/families (observed). Mixed-unit annual-report language; not directly a count of adult women completing intensive advocacy. [ho-report25]
ds
0.5 adult index-person equivalents per reported residential record (judgment). Conservative mixed-unit, age and overlap allowance; no observed adult fraction is claimed.
rs
0.5 external post-shelter safety effect retained (judgment). Older intensive advocacy trial does not match all residential pathways or modern alternative services. [cap99] [ho-services]
es
0.13 external difference in no repeat physical violence over two years (observed). Original paper page 49 reports 24% versus 11% without further physical violence by 24 months. This is a person-level cumulative risk difference, not episodes per year. [cap99]
us
0.1 utility difference per modeled avoided-repeat-violence outcome (judgment). Includes the finite health contribution of safety; not avoided homicide or the full welfare value of being safe.
Ts
0.5 years of credited safety-related utility improvement (judgment). At most half a year, with a two-year delay. No annual re-credit for the same survivor.
b
0.5 ordinary-funding responsiveness after replacement (judgment). No verified marginal queue; existing public contracts, alternative providers and resources reduce direct gift-to-volume proportionality. [ho-99025] [ho-services] [ho-pep26]
k
0.8 nonoverlapping health retained across branches (judgment). Cross-program unique clients and overlapping symptoms are unmeasured; do not add all branch health without a reduction.
g
0.95 LA/Orange resident benefit fraction (judgment). Orange County-focused services, with allowance for relocation outside the MSA during benefits. [ho-services]
d
0.03 annual discount rate (judgment). Psychological outcome delayed one year and cumulative safety endpoint delayed two years.

Conditional counseling and safety health component: Cost: $7.6M; Los Angeles QALYs: 1.701027429540956; all-population QALYs: 1.79055518899048. Central inputs; entire recipient costs; unpriced portfolio is not zero.

Weak intensity, transfer and funding response: Cost: $7.6M; Los Angeles QALYs: 0.003701189556037327; all-population QALYs: 0.004354340654161561. dp = 0.25; rp = 0.1; b = 0.1; up = 0.05; Tp = 0.25; ds = 0.35; rs = 0.1; us = 0.02; Ts = 0.25; k = 0.6; g = 0.85. External benchmarks and delays unchanged; not a confidence bound.

Strong service match and sustained finite benefit: Cost: $7.6M; Los Angeles QALYs: 40.2874917522858; all-population QALYs: 40.2874917522858. dp = 0.9; rp = 1; b = 0.75; up = 0.25; Tp = 1; ds = 0.75; rs = 1; us = 0.2; Ts = 1; k = 1; g = 1. External benchmarks and delays unchanged; not a confidence bound.

No additional service or clinical benefit: Cost: $7.6M; Los Angeles QALYs: 0; all-population QALYs: 0. Complete replacement or no effective intervention transfer; no finite positive price.

Adverse net effect remains unquantified: Cost: $7.6M; Los Angeles QALYs: unknown; all-population QALYs: unknown. Retaliation, unsafe transitions, ineffective treatment or lost alternative services may outweigh health gains; no fabricated negative bound.

Counterfactual: Public grants, CalOptima, other domestic-violence providers, ordinary advocacy, family support and existing reserves continue. The external counseling effect is already relative to ordinary advocacy, and the safety effect is relative to post-shelter usual services. b reduces added throughput for financing/provider replacement; rp and rs separately reduce clinical transfer. Past housing exits and advocacy successes are not newly purchased benefits.

Attribution: dp discounts mixed ages, intensity and participant definitions before applying the adult psychological reference. ds translates mixed residential person/family records into adult index-person equivalents; no family-size multiplier is used. k reduces overlap between mental-health recovery and safety in the same survivors. No second physical-abuse or housing-first health effect is stacked on these terms.

Explicit subjective conditional central for a substantial direct-service health component, not an empirically calibrated portfolio expectation. Current costs and reported scale are observed; marginal volume, intervention matching, clinical utility and LA share are not. Zero and adverse net effects remain possible. The endpoint-risk differences do not prove permanent prevention, remission or QALYs.

Sensitivity

  • The central price is approximately $44.7 million per ten LA QALYs. Halving ordinary-funding responsiveness doubles this price.
  • At current recipient cost, $1 million per ten QALYs requires 75.95219 additional LA QALYs; $100,000 requires 759.5219. These requirements exceed the modeled component but do not price the omitted portfolio.
  • Removing the post-shelter safety branch leaves the psychological component; no mortality or separate housing-first uplift replaces it.
  • External outcome thresholds are imperfect clinical summaries. If they do not imply a utility difference, that branch contributes no QALYs even if its legal or social outcome improves.
  • Primary financials include recognized noncash contributions; unrecognized volunteer time, survivor travel and external provider costs would require a separate societal analysis.

Unresolved inputs

  • Distinct current participants by age, program and county; whether the reported 498 counts people, families or mixed records.
  • Counseling intensity, clinical fidelity, engagement and outcomes versus usual services; no proof that PEP is PATH.
  • Ordinary-donation allocation, restrictions, replacement finance and a costed unmet service queue.
  • Repeat-violence follow-up, safety harms, residence after relocation and cross-branch client overlap.
  • Preference-based utility and finite duration; prevention, child, legal and broader portfolio effects without double counting.
  • Accessible audit reconciliation, recognition of donated services and current resource costs beyond the 2025 return.

5. Funding and previous grants

Original FY 2023, FY 2024 and FY 2025 returns all select accrual accounting. Part IX expenses plus separately netted event costs are $7,094,996, $8,075,513 and $7,595,219, averaging $7,588,576. No separate netted rental, gaming or inventory costs were reported. These are full-recipient Form 990 costs, not a verified marginal cash budget.

In FY 2025, government contributions were $3,981,606. Part IX allocates $5,877,004 to programs, $1,042,079 to management and $392,945 to fundraising, before $283,191 of direct event costs. Residential and community services account for $5,458,074 of program expenses; their scale is material, but that allocation does not identify an extra gift's use. The return reports $6,459,250 net assets without donor restrictions, not all held in cash.

The return's $895,341 revenue-expense deficit differs from the $305,378 net-asset decline because it separately reports $430,963 unrealized investment gains and $159,000 other changes. The annual report uses different revenue and expense presentation. A listed audit could not be downloaded in this review, so its reconciliation and opinion are not asserted. Historical deficits alone do not prove an immediate staffing gap.

The PEP flyer identifies FaCT public funding, while the current care-management service is tied to CalOptima. Existing contracts and other providers remain in the counterfactual. Ordinary donations might pay unreimbursed counseling, flexible assistance or continuity, but no costed incremental queue or current matched-gift offer was verified. The donation page was inspected without a transaction.

Annual expenses

Organization-level spending, including programs, administration and fundraising. The research list averages three comparable, consecutive full fiscal years when available.

  • FY 2023: $7.1M; Human Options, Inc., 12-month period, Accrual Form 990 gross expense: Part IX plus separately netted direct event costs.. Source
  • FY 2024: $8.1M; Human Options, Inc., 12-month period, Accrual Form 990 gross expense: Part IX plus separately netted direct event costs.. Source
  • FY 2025: $7.6M; Human Options, Inc., 12-month period, Accrual Form 990 gross expense: Part IX plus separately netted direct event costs.. Source

6. Sources

  1. Current operations. Human Options. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  2. Current services and eligibility. Human Options. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  3. Annual Report 2024–2025. Human Options. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  4. Original Form 990, year ended June 30, 2025. Human Options / IRS, hosted by ProPublica. Published: 2025-11-04; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  5. Original Form 990, year ended June 30, 2024. Human Options / IRS, hosted by ProPublica. Published: 2024-10-25; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  6. Original Form 990, year ended June 30, 2023. Human Options / IRS, hosted by ProPublica. Published: 2023-11-09; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  7. Current filing and audit index. ProPublica. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  8. Personal Empowerment Program, updated January 12, 2026. Human Options. Published: 2026-01-12; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  9. Donate. Human Options. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  10. Psychological advocacy towards healing: randomized trial. Ferrari et al. / PLOS ONE. Published: 2018-11-27; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  11. Reducing Violence Using Community-Based Advocacy for Women With Abusive Partners. Sullivan and Bybee / Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  12. Domestic Violence Housing First and survivors' outcomes over two years. Sullivan et al. / JAMA Network Open. Published: 2023-06-26; retrieved: 2026-09-14.