Summary
What do they do? Housing Rights Center helps residents address discrimination and secure disability-related housing accommodations. A conditional estimate uses investigated cases and fair-housing resources to model additional health-relevant resolutions at full recipient cost. Ventura benefits are excluded through an explicit geographic assumption, and rental-program administration remains unpriced.
Why we’re interested in this organization:
Current case narratives describe tangible accommodation changes, not only awareness.
Original returns report investigations separately from inquiries.
The mechanism can protect access and stability for people with disabilities.
Our main reservations:
Resolution probability, utility gain and funding responsiveness are subjective assumptions.
The current audit status is unclear despite a numerical Schedule D reconciliation.
Other fair-housing and rental-administration benefits remain unpriced, so the component is not a portfolio ranking.
What do you get for your dollar? $94.7M per better life: ten additional quality-adjusted life years in Los Angeles. Housing-accommodation partial-health only; full recipient cost.
233 observed LA city/county investigations at $1,999,328 associated program resources; extrapolation to $2,929,777 fair-housing resources yields 341.4337 investigation-equivalents. After deduplication, eligibility, counterfactual resolution and funding, central 9.6028 additional health-relevant outcomes before geography. Each receives a finite two-year .03 utility trajectory.
1. What do they do?
This report covers Southern California Housing Rights Center, EIN 95-2572642, doing business as Housing Rights Center. Its current services include counseling, investigations and education. The recipient also administered rental-related public programs in the latest fiscal year; it is not simply an accommodation clinic.
The coverage page explicitly includes both LA and Ventura Counties. Ventura is outside the LA/Orange metropolitan boundary. The model estimates the share of fair-housing case outcomes accruing to LA residents rather than attributing all benefits to its LA headquarters. No separate Orange County caseload is established.
2. Monitoring and information sharing
The FY2025 return identifies 188 City of LA and 45 LA County investigations, against far larger inquiry and potential-discrimination counts. These 233 investigations are not 233 successful remedies or prevented evictions. Counts from the city and county contracts may overlap, so a deduplication prior is applied.
The 2026 newsletter gives concrete examples involving assistance animals and threatened displacement. They show a mechanism but are selected successes, not a success rate. A summer-2024 newsletter also describes accessible-unit transfers and mobility modifications. The needed next data are all closed cases, failures, implemented remedies, residence and finite health follow-up.
3. Qualitative assessment
A successful accommodation can remove a daily barrier or preserve a home that supports a person's disability needs. The model assigns health only to a subset of investigations and only when the resolution differs from what would happen through the landlord, HUD, California enforcement or another advocate. It adds no automatic life-years for every housing case.
External evidence supports caution as well as plausibility. CAPABLE combined home changes with nursing and occupational therapy and reduced disability in selected older adults. HRC does not deliver that clinical package. Conversely, the OTIS randomized trial found no beneficial average fall or QALY result from its home-assessment intervention. Neither trial supplies HRC's effect size. The central 0.03 utility-year gain for two years is an explicit judgment about health-relevant, successfully changed accommodations—not a measured HRC effect or a CAPABLE transfer estimate.
The priced branch covers accommodation-related health within fair housing. Counseling outside investigations, discrimination litigation, deterrence, rental processing and dignity can matter. Their value is not zero merely because it is not quantified. A reported Ventura settlement is not counted as an LA outcome. These boundaries prevent a complete-portfolio ranking.
4. What do you get for your dollar?
Original gross accrual expenses were FY2025 $4,696,526, FY2024 $4,465,598 and FY2023 $8,670,376. No separately netted rental, fundraising-event, gaming or inventory costs were shown. Their mean is $5,944,166.67. FY2023 includes $4,397,050 of emergency rent relief in other expenses, explaining much of the change; it is retained as recipient expenditure, not erased to make the mean smaller.
The latest return divides program expenses into $1,059,837 for City of LA fair housing, $939,491 for county fair housing, $930,449 for other-city contracts and $1,612,552 for rental-program activity. Part III includes inconsistent 'including grants' values, sometimes greater than the expense field; those values are not used as separate costs or grants delivered. The expense fields sum to Part IX program cost. Full recipient cost includes $154,197 reported administration and is not replaced with a selected clinic budget.
Schedule D reports matching statement and return expenses, with no donated-service exclusion. However, Schedule O says the records were undergoing a mandatory audit, and the reviewed index supplied no recent completed audit. These remain return-based figures, not an independently verified current audit. Unrecognized volunteer/legal resources are unknown. The conditional component is about $94.67 million per 10 LA QALYs, with positive joint stress cases from $1.97 million to $115.66 billion; these are not confidence limits.
Model, assumptions and sensitivity
Full recipient expense; health estimate limited to accommodation-related investigation outcomes.
g=.9 applies to estimated all-contract fair-housing cases and excludes Ventura; actual residence share is unknown. LA city/county investigation anchor is observed, extension to other contracts is a judgment.
DLA=1059837+939491=1999328; D= DLA+930449=2929777. N=233*(D/DLA)=341.4337422 assumed investigation-equivalents. A(T)=sum(y=1..T)(1.03^-y). Q=N*z*e*a*b*q*A(T)*g. Central z=.9,e=.5,a=.25,b=.25,q=.03,T=2,g=.9 gives Q=.4961172433. Price10=10*4696526/Q. Qportfolio=Q+Qother-H; Qother unknown.
- C
- 4696526 USD full annual recipient cost (observed). Part IX, with no separately netted activity costs shown. [99025]
- NLA
- 233 reported city/county investigations (observed). 188+45; not verified unique or successful cases. [99025]
- DLA
- 1999328 USD city/county fair-housing expense (observed). Sum of two Part III expense fields; grants fields not used. [99025]
- D
- 2929777 USD all fair-housing contract expense (observed). Adds $930449 other-city contracts; excludes rental-program activity. [99025]
- caseScaling
- 1 equal investigation intensity per fair-housing dollar across contracts (judgment). Produces N=NLA*D/DLA; actual other-city investigations missing. [99025]
- z
- 0.9 unique-case adjustment (judgment). Cross-contract duplicate records unobserved; test .7–1.
- e
- 0.5 health-relevant disability/accommodation share (judgment). Current examples establish plausibility, not prevalence; test .2–.7. [cases26] [cases24]
- a
- 0.25 additional implemented outcome probability (judgment). Compared with public/landlord/alternative assistance; test .05–.6. [cases26] [rights]
- b
- 0.25 proportional marginal funding response (judgment). Contract and reserve substitution; test .05–.75. [99025]
- q
- 0.03 annual survival-adjusted utility gain per changed case (judgment). Not an estimate from CAPABLE or OTIS; includes mental and functional health once; test 0–.08. [cases24] [capable] [otis]
- T
- 2 years of health effect (judgment). No benefit after two years; sensitivity one to three; mortality and recurrence absorbed in q.
- g
- 0.9 LA/Orange resident fraction of estimated all-contract effects (judgment). Ventura explicitly excluded; no county count weighting claimed; test .7–.98. [about]
- d
- 0.03 annual discount (judgment). Each finite year discounted once; no additional lifetime term.
- Qother
- null non-overlapping LA portfolio health (unknown). Rental administration, broader legal action and deterrence unpriced. [99025] [services]
Conditional accommodation-health component: Cost: $4.7M; Los Angeles QALYs: 0.4961172433437499; all-population QALYs: 0.5512413814930555. N=341.43374223739175;z=0.9;e=0.5;a=0.25;b=0.25;q=0.03;T=2;g=0.9;discount=.03. These are joint subjective scenarios, not confidence bounds.
Weak delivery and health effect: Cost: $4.7M; Los Angeles QALYs: 0.0004060741109134029; all-population QALYs: 0.0005801058727334328. N=341.43374223739175;z=0.7;e=0.2;a=0.05;b=0.05;q=0.005;T=1;g=0.7;discount=.03. These are joint subjective scenarios, not confidence bounds.
Favorable delivery and health effect: Cost: $4.7M; Los Angeles QALYs: 23.85098586440974; all-population QALYs: 24.337740677969123. N=341.43374223739175;z=1;e=0.7;a=0.6;b=0.75;q=0.08;T=3;g=0.98;discount=.03. These are joint subjective scenarios, not confidence bounds.
No additional implemented health benefit: Cost: $4.7M; Los Angeles QALYs: 0; all-population QALYs: 0. a=0, b=0 or q=0.
Illustrative net harm: Cost: $4.7M; Los Angeles QALYs: -1; all-population QALYs: -1. One LA QALY lost through conflict, delayed housing or other consequences; not observed.
Whole-portfolio return unestimated: Cost: $4.7M; Los Angeles QALYs: unknown; all-population QALYs: unknown. Other pathways cannot be assumed zero for a recipient ranking.
Counterfactual: Existing landlord compliance, public enforcement and other assistance continue. a is the increment in a health-relevant implemented outcome over that baseline, not the observed fraction of winning cases. b separately discounts resource substitution and marginal capacity.
Attribution: N extrapolates observed investigations using fair-housing program resources, not inquiry counts or all recipient spending. z deduplicates. e limits cases to meaningful disability/housing-health changes. One affected person's utility trajectory per case is assumed; no automatic household or life-expectancy multiplier.
Explicit subjective component best estimate, not empirical resolution rates, local QALY measurement or a complete portfolio return. Zero and harm are plausible; positive cases are joint stress tests.
Sensitivity
- Central $94665647.34 per 10 LA QALYs; favorable $1969111.90; weak $115656868383.85.
- Removing imputed other-city cases scales N down to233; this tests contract-intensity extrapolation separately from geography.
- Halving either additional resolution probability or utility effect doubles the positive price.
- A three-year financial mean is not the modeled marginal denominator because emergency relief expenditure changed sharply.
- A resource sensitivity adding landlord/outside costs increases cost; benefits from those services must not be claimed without their contribution.
Unresolved inputs
- Unique investigations across all contracts, with residence.
- Implemented accommodation rates versus alternative assistance.
- Representative diagnoses, utility changes and persistence.
- Unrestricted marginal funding allocation and contract replacement.
- Recent completed audit, donor-service resources and prior-period adjustment explanation.
- Non-overlapping rental-administration, counseling and litigation health effects.
5. Funding and previous grants
FY2025 government contributions were $2,652,295, and municipal pass-through contracts are central to delivery. Total revenue was $4,896,330, including $150,000 classified as operating support in other income. Unrestricted net assets were $5,216,333 and cash was $4,447,781, but liabilities and contract obligations limit how much is freely deployable. A $501,720 prior-period net-asset adjustment is not explained by the reviewed supplemental narrative; it is not current operating income.
Existing fair-housing law and public complaint channels belong in the counterfactual. Private gifts may fund cases beyond contract rules, earlier intervention or improvements in implementation; they may also replace reserves or other funding. The central 25% proportional funding response is a judgment, not evidence of an uncovered staffing gap. Rental-program continuation in a tax narrative is not proof of a current open cash-aid program: the public service site directs people seeking rental assistance to 211.
The full-portfolio break-even requirements are 46.96526 net LA QALYs annually for $1 million per 10, and 469.6526 for $100,000 per 10. Landlord modifications, outside legal enforcement and participant time are additional social costs. No outreach or donation was made.
Annual expenses
Organization-level spending, including programs, administration and fundraising. The research list averages three comparable, consecutive full fiscal years when available.
- FY 2023: $8.7M; Southern California Housing Rights Center, EIN 95-2572642, 12-month period, June-ending gross accrual Form 990 expense; no netted activity addback shown. Schedule D matches reported statement expense, but completed recent audit not independently verified.. Source
- FY 2024: $4.5M; Southern California Housing Rights Center, EIN 95-2572642, 12-month period, June-ending gross accrual Form 990 expense; no netted activity addback shown. Schedule D matches reported statement expense, but completed recent audit not independently verified.. Source
- FY 2025: $4.7M; Southern California Housing Rights Center, EIN 95-2572642, 12-month period, June-ending gross accrual Form 990 expense; no netted activity addback shown. Schedule D matches reported statement expense, but completed recent audit not independently verified.. Source
6. Sources
- FY2025 original Form 990. Housing Rights Center / IRS. Published: 2026-05-13; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- FY2025 expense reconciliation. Housing Rights Center / IRS. Published: 2026-05-13; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- FY2025 supplemental explanations and audit status. Housing Rights Center / IRS. Published: 2026-05-13; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- FY2024 original Form 990. Housing Rights Center / IRS. Published: 2025-05-15; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- FY2024 expense reconciliation. Housing Rights Center / IRS. Published: 2025-05-15; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- FY2024 supplemental explanations and audit status. Housing Rights Center / IRS. Published: 2025-05-15; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- FY2023 original Form 990. Housing Rights Center / IRS. Published: 2024-05-14; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- FY2023 expense reconciliation. Housing Rights Center / IRS. Published: 2024-05-14; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- FY2023 supplemental explanations and audit status. Housing Rights Center / IRS. Published: 2024-05-14; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Current LA and Ventura coverage. HRC. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Current counseling, investigations and education. HRC. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- April–June 2026 accommodation examples. HRC. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Summer 2024 newsletter: mobility, safety and accommodation cases. HRC. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- CAPABLE randomized clinical trial. Szanton and colleagues / JAMA Internal Medicine. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- OTIS randomized home modification trial. Cockayne and colleagues / NIHR. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Existing fair-housing rights and public enforcement. US HUD. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Ordinary recipient giving page. HRC. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Reported Ventura Section 8 settlement; excluded as LA-specific evidence. HRC. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.