Summary
What do they do? Downtown Women's Center combines supportive housing with health, employment and advocacy for women and survivors of violence in Los Angeles. A conditional estimate prices housing-and-support health benefits against the full consolidated recipient's resource cost. Other health, employment and systemic benefits remain unpriced, so this is not a complete portfolio ranking.
Why we’re interested in this organization:
Housing is a large, concrete part of the recipient's work rather than a small selected pilot.
The latest consolidated audit and current impact report support an explicit cost-to-resident bridge.
Randomized external evidence supports an incremental housing-stability mechanism.
Our main reservations:
Observed retention and service counts do not establish health gains caused by DWC.
Person-years, counterfactual housing, health utility and funding responsiveness require subjective assumptions.
Public contracts, restricted assets and a capital project complicate the effect of an ordinary additional gift.
What do you get for your dollar? $165.1M per better life: ten additional quality-adjusted life years in Los Angeles. Housing-and-support partial-health only; full recipient resources.
700 reported housed residents become 525 assumed exposure person-years. Multiplying by .30 incremental exposure and .25 funding response gives 39.375 additional person-years before geography. A .05 survival-adjusted utility gain is applied for that year only.
1. What do they do?
This report covers Downtown Women's Center, EIN 31-1597223, and its consolidated housing entity—not the similarly named organization in Texas. Its 2025 impact report describes 4,499 women and survivors served through housing, wellness, employment and advocacy. The webpage title refers to 2026, but its reported activity year is 2025. The report models the dominant housing-and-support health pathway at full recipient cost; it does not treat the CAPABLE pilot as the entire charity.
Housing and community services are concentrated in Los Angeles. The central LA/Orange benefit share is 98%, an explicit allowance for residence changes and boundary uncertainty rather than a measured client-address percentage. No benefit is assigned merely because the headquarters is local.
2. Monitoring and information sharing
The current report records 700 housed residents: 163 in permanent supportive housing and 537 in community-based housing, including 176 new residents. These are people served, not measured person-years or 700 newly prevented episodes of homelessness. The model applies an assumed average exposure of three-quarters of a year. Reported 97% retention is an annual organizational measure, not lifetime housing security or a randomized counterfactual.
CAPABLE began in April 2025, and 92% of its reported participants had stable or improved daily functioning. The denominator, comparison group and separate improvement rate are not supplied. This combined measure is not added as a second health benefit. Reported meals, appointments, therapy and case-management contacts are likewise not counted as independent QALYs. Future evaluation should link unique residents to housing exposure, alternative placements, utilities and outcomes after exit.
3. Qualitative assessment
A five-city randomized Housing First trial found 71% versus 29% of time stably housed, with small improvements in quality of life and functioning. That supports a causal housing mechanism, but the Canadian serious-mental-illness population and treatment package are not identical to DWC. The quality-of-life standardized effect is not a QALY gain. The central 30% incremental exposure assumption is deliberately below that trial's 42-percentage-point difference, but is still a transfer judgment—not an estimated DWC effect.
The health bridge is less secure. A 2026 observational analysis found that adjustment for comorbidity and other factors explained much of the health-related quality-of-life association with homelessness. A 2021 preference survey valued a hypothetical homelessness state, not the causal health effect of housing. Its large utility loss is not imported. The central 0.05 utility gain for one additional housed person-year is a subjective, survival-adjusted health prior, tested from zero to 0.15; it includes mental and functional health once.
A 2026 housing microsimulation projects 1.89 discounted lifetime QALYs for older adults, alongside continuing housing costs. Applying that lifetime benefit to a single DWC budget year would mismatch costs and benefits. This model instead stops after one year and adds no separate mortality gain. The dominant housing branch is useful for understanding the donation mechanism, but day-center health, employment, advocacy and future housing development remain unpriced.
4. What do you get for your dollar?
The original consolidated audits give recognized gross expenses of 2023 $27,250,997, 2024 $29,047,316 and 2025 $30,530,472, averaging $28,942,928.33. Each restores direct event costs netted from revenue: $109,610, $135,652 and $281,365 respectively. The figures use one consistent consolidated accrual perimeter, not a mixture of parent-only returns and audits.
For 2025, $30,249,107 of reported expense plus $281,365 of event costs equals recognized gross cost. The audit separately values 9,700 hours of unrecognized volunteer services at approximately $405,000. Adding that resource produces the central $30,935,472 denominator. Recognized in-kind contributions of $905,043 and depreciation/amortization of $861,496 are already included and are not added again. Corresponding unrecognized volunteer valuations were $284,673 in 2024 and $237,106 in 2023; they are disclosed separately rather than silently mixed into the annual accounting series.
Housing program expense was $17,494,065, against $5,824,263 for health and wellness and $3,559,078 for other programs. The model retains all fundraising, administration and other program cost. It assigns 39.375 donor-responsive additional housing-and-support person-years before geographic adjustment, yielding 1.87318 LA QALYs and about $165.15 million per 10. Positive joint stress cases span about $6.74 million to $40.46 billion per 10, not confidence limits. Capital acquisitions and outside public/health resources require separate cohort accounting; this is not a full social-cost estimate.
Model, assumptions and sensitivity
Full consolidated recipient recognized gross cost plus disclosed unrecognized volunteer resource; health component limited to housing and associated support.
g=.98 is a judgment about LA/Orange resident benefit from LA-focused housing, not a verified address-weighted share.
C=30249107+281365+405000=30935472. Q=N*f*a*b*q*g/1.03, with N=700,f=.75,a=.30,b=.25,q=.05,g=.98. Q=1.8731796116504853 LA QALYs. Price10=10*C/Q. Qportfolio=Q+Qother-H, with Qother unidentified.
- C
- 30935472 USD annual consolidated resource cost (observed). Recognized gross $30,530,472 plus audit-estimated $405,000 unrecognized volunteer value; valuation is approximate. [audit25]
- N
- 700 reported housed residents in 2025 (observed). 163 supportive-housing and 537 community-based residents; not verified person-years. [impact]
- f
- 0.75 average exposure years per annual resident (judgment). No resident entry/exit person-time supplied; test .5–1. [impact]
- a
- 0.3 incremental exposure fraction versus alternative (judgment). Canadian randomized housing effect supports mechanism, not local rate; test .1–.6 and zero. [hf]
- b
- 0.25 proportional marginal funding response (judgment). Contracts, restricted capital and reserves permit substitution; test .05–.75. [audit25] [impact]
- q
- 0.05 survival-adjusted utility gain per additional housed person-year (judgment). Mental/functional health once, not hypothetical preference loss or lifetime microsimulation result; test 0–.15. [hf] [confounding] [utility] [lifetime]
- g
- 0.98 LA/Orange beneficiary fraction (judgment). LA-focused housing, with unmeasured moves and boundary leakage; test .9–1. [impact] [audit25]
- d
- 0.03 one-year discount (judgment). One finite year only; no post-year persistence credit.
- Qother
- null non-overlapping portfolio LA QALYs (unknown). Other clinical, employment, advocacy and development pathways remain unpriced. [impact]
Conditional housing-and-support health component: Cost: $30.9M; Los Angeles QALYs: 1.8731796116504853; all-population QALYs: 1.9114077669902911. N=700; f=0.75; a=0.3; b=0.25; q=0.05; g=0.98; one year discounted 3%. Subjective joint stress case, not confidence bounds.
Weak housing and health increment: Cost: $30.9M; Los Angeles QALYs: 0.007645631067961166; all-population QALYs: 0.008495145631067963. N=700; f=0.5; a=0.1; b=0.05; q=0.005; g=0.9; one year discounted 3%. Subjective joint stress case, not confidence bounds.
Favorable housing and health increment: Cost: $30.9M; Los Angeles QALYs: 45.87378640776699; all-population QALYs: 45.87378640776699. N=700; f=1; a=0.6; b=0.75; q=0.15; g=1; one year discounted 3%. Subjective joint stress case, not confidence bounds.
No additional health: Cost: $30.9M; Los Angeles QALYs: 0; all-population QALYs: 0. a, b or q equals zero.
Illustrative net harm: Cost: $30.9M; Los Angeles QALYs: -1; all-population QALYs: -1. One LA QALY of net loss from disruption or other harms; not observed.
Whole-portfolio return unestimated: Cost: $30.9M; Los Angeles QALYs: unknown; all-population QALYs: unknown. Omitted pathways cannot be assumed zero for ranking.
Counterfactual: Other housing providers, public contracts and health services continue. a reduces gross exposure for housing and support that would occur without DWC; b separately adjusts how much proportional capacity responds to an ordinary marginal gift.
Attribution: Annual residents are converted to person-years before assigning a finite incremental health trajectory. Retention, contacts, CAPABLE functioning and future units are not counted again. No lifetime survival term.
Conditional subjective component best estimate, not a complete portfolio return. Causal health utility and funding elasticity are especially weakly identified. Positive stress cases are not probability bounds; zero and harm remain possible.
Sensitivity
- Central price $165,149,523.34 per 10 LA QALYs; favorable $6,743,605.54; weak $40,461,633,219.05.
- Removing the $405,000 unrecognized volunteer valuation changes cost only, retaining $30,530,472 recognized gross expense.
- Halving funding responsiveness or incremental health utility doubles the positive component price.
- Annual person-year exposure is capped at one; no lifetime benefit is bought with one operating year.
- Outside landlord/public health resources and future capital costs are not fully identified; adding induced resource costs worsens the resource-inclusive price.
Unresolved inputs
- Resident-level person-time, address and alternative-housing counterfactual.
- Representative causal health utilities and outcomes after housing exit.
- Marginal unrestricted budget and placement response to private funding.
- Capital cohort cost and future operating commitments.
- Non-overlapping clinical, employment and advocacy outcomes.
5. Funding and previous grants
The 2025 audit reports $20,163,690 of grant income; this is not identified as entirely governmental. Financial assets available within one year were $11,184,101, with substantial restricted assets excluded. Conditional government awards of roughly $11.055 million through June 2027 were unrecognized because performance conditions remained; they are not unrestricted cash or a verified private-funding gap. The current impact report says government funding for new placements decreased in 2025, without quantifying the marginal effect of a private gift.
An ordinary gift could preserve staffing or placements beyond contract coverage, or substitute for reserves, grants or another donor. The central 25% proportional funding response is a judgment about that margin. The 97-unit development is future capacity and is not credited as already occupied. No automatic leverage is assigned to the capital campaign.
The model requires 309.35472 net LA QALYs per annual resource denominator to reach $1 million per 10, or 3,093.5472 for $100,000 per 10. Its priced branch does not approach those thresholds centrally, but omitted pathways are unknown rather than zero. No outreach, donation or endorsement was made.
Annual expenses
Organization-level spending, including programs, administration and fundraising. The research list averages three comparable, consecutive full fiscal years when available.
- FY 2023: $27.3M; Downtown Women's Center and consolidated entity, EIN 31-1597223, 12-month period, Consolidated calendar-year accrual recognized gross expense, restoring separately netted direct event costs; unrecognized volunteer valuation disclosed separately.. Source
- FY 2024: $29.0M; Downtown Women's Center and consolidated entity, EIN 31-1597223, 12-month period, Consolidated calendar-year accrual recognized gross expense, restoring separately netted direct event costs; unrecognized volunteer valuation disclosed separately.. Source
- FY 2025: $30.5M; Downtown Women's Center and consolidated entity, EIN 31-1597223, 12-month period, Consolidated calendar-year accrual recognized gross expense, restoring separately netted direct event costs; unrecognized volunteer valuation disclosed separately.. Source
6. Sources
- 2025 consolidated audited statements; auditor date April 28, 2026. DWC / independent auditor. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- 2024 consolidated audited statements. DWC / independent auditor. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- 2023 consolidated audited statements. DWC / independent auditor. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- 2025 impact report on Annual Report 2026 webpage. DWC. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Current financials index. DWC. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Ordinary recipient donation page. DWC. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Multicity Housing First randomized trial. Aubry and colleagues / Psychiatric Services. Published: 2015-12-01; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Homelessness and health-related quality of life: adjusted observational analysis. Lo and colleagues / Psychiatric Quarterly. Published: 2026-02-27; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Hypothetical homelessness utility survey. Rajan and Tsai / Medical Care. Published: 2021-12-01; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Stable housing health and economic microsimulation for older adults. Gande and colleagues / JAMA Health Forum. Published: 2026-04-10; retrieved: 2026-09-14.