Summary
What do they do? Homeless Health Care Los Angeles provides street outreach, overdose response, behavioral health, hygiene and housing support. Its Los Angeles teams reach people facing unusually high risks and barriers to conventional services. Teams combine emergency response with ongoing services for people experiencing homelessness.
Why we’re interested in this organization:
Direct street response can add urgent treatment when nobody else would intervene in time.
Organization-specific research and current county reporting provide more substance than activity totals alone.
Original audits disclose service costs, substantial public funding and liquid resources.
Our main reservations:
Most revenue is government-linked, and unrestricted gifts have no verified marginal allocation or unfunded response queue.
Reported reversals are not unique lives saved; other rescuers and continued mortality risk matter.
The portfolio includes many services whose marginal health is not quantified, and an older HHCLA-delivered randomized brief-intervention trial found no significant outcome benefit.
What do you get for your dollar? $9.6M per better life: ten additional quality-adjusted life years in California.
Staff response/reversal episodes; unique patients; additional timely administrations/resuscitations; unique-person survival and health utility. Historical event count is neither drug doses nor deaths prevented.
1. What do they do?
HHCLA's current service portfolio spans outreach, behavioral health, community engagement, employment and housing navigation. Its homepage also identifies wound care, psychiatric care, acupuncture and hygiene facilities. We assess the ordinary recipient rather than treating a donation as restricted to its most promising clinical work. The street-team account describes opportunistic encounters using naloxone, oxygen, an AED and subsequent paramedic support; this is a concrete mechanism, not an independent estimate of effectiveness.
2. Monitoring and information sharing
Los Angeles County's provider page credits HHCLA outreach teams with more than 360 overdose reversals during 2024. We use 360 only as a historical benchmark, not a current annual count or an estimate of deaths prevented. The 2006–08 Skid Row program evaluation enrolled 66 participants and followed 47 at three months; 22 reported responding to 35 overdoses. Knowledge and appropriate response practices improved, but there was no randomized comparison and reported scene mortality did not fall. This establishes a high-exposure delivery setting, not a donation-sensitive mortality effect. Current unique-patient counts, repeat episodes, alternative rescue and longer follow-up remain decisive.
3. Qualitative assessment
The case for the quantified pathway is additional timely rescue, not the proposition that all harm-reduction activity has identical value. HHCLA staff delivered an SBIRT trial involving 732 jail participants; after baseline adjustment, the groups did not differ significantly on substance use, treatment engagement, HIV-risk behavior or quality of life at follow-up. That older intervention is not the current street-response program, but cautions against assigning broad counseling or referral counts automatic health credit. A Massachusetts overdose-survivor cohort observed 4.7 deaths per 100 person-years and associations between medication treatment and lower mortality. It supports continuing-risk and treatment-retention concerns, not a causal estimate for HHCLA. Our finite survival model uses explicit transfer judgments and does not award multiple lifetimes to repeat rescues.
4. What do you get for your dollar?
The FY 2025 audit reports $25,876,205 in full expenses, including $4,168,667 directly assigned to the harm-reduction center before allocated indirect costs. The model deliberately uses full recipient spending, not that attractive program denominator. It combines a historical 360-event benchmark with explicit judgments about current marginal event density, duplicate patients, additional timely rescue, mortality reduction and funding substitution. Its cautious central implies about $9.6 million per ten California QALYs. Joint stress tests range from roughly $160,000 to $12.8 billion per ten, with zero or adverse health possible outside the finite range. These are conditional planning scenarios, not a confidence interval or empirically measured return. Other service benefits receive zero quantified credit, not a finding that they are worthless. Full care, housing and future medical resource costs are not a net societal-cost estimate.
Model, assumptions and sensitivity
Full recipient ordinary-gift cost. E is audited all-function annual expense, not harm-reduction program expense. C=100000 normalization only. Benefits of other portfolio functions are unquantified and assigned zero in the conditional numerical model, with costs retained; not a claim of zero actual health.
Current direct service and historical rescues are in Los Angeles. Quantified pathway assumes all modeled health remains in California; migration is unmeasured, so a lower geographic fraction is a sensitivity rather than invented precision. Training spillovers are not quantified.
Candidate future response episodes N=C/E*R*lambda. Unique additional deaths prevented D=N*unique*rescue*delta*funding. L=sum(t=1..T)[utility*(1-m)^t/(1.03)^t]/1.03, finite years of health following an event at end of year 1. Q_CA=D*L*g. price10=10*C/Q_CA. This approximation requires unique-person accounting: all repeated rescues of one person share one survival/utility trajectory. More generally Q=sum_person integral_0^T[(S1*u1)-(S0*u0)]/(1.03)^t dt, with later alternative rescue and treatment in S0. Do not add separate lifetime credit for later repeat rescues.
- C
- 100000 USD full recipient gift (judgment). Normalization only
- E
- 25876205 USD FY2025 all-function expenses (observed). Original audit statement of activities and functional expenses; includes gross event expenses [audit25]
- R
- 360 historical calendar2024 response episodes (observed). County says more than360; use360 floor, not current total or exact count [county]
- lambda
- 1 current marginal response-density multiplier (judgment). Cautious unchanged absolute event benchmark against newer full cost; current growth could change either numerator or denominator [current-budget] [audit25] [county]
- unique
- 0.7 unique-person credit fraction (judgment). Repeat response deduplication prior, not measured person count [wagner]
- rescue
- 0.3 incremental timely-care fraction (judgment). Other witnesses/EMS often act; mobile team may reach unseen emergencies [street] [wagner]
- delta
- 0.2 absolute mortality probability reduction (judgment). Assumed conditional episode fatality reduction, not observed survival fraction; causal value unmeasured
- funding
- 0.3 gift-sensitive service fraction (judgment). Cautious substantial replacement discount in predominantly government-supported portfolio;90% government revenue does not mechanically imply10% additionality [audit25]
- utility
- 0.7 quality of life while alive (judgment). Transfer assumption, no recipient utility series
- m
- 0.06 annual mortality probability after rescue (judgment). Continuing high-risk prior; external cohort4.7deaths/100personyears provides context but is not this probability or population [survivors]
- T
- 20 years finite horizon (judgment). Finite stress-test horizon, not forecast life expectancy
- discount
- 0.03 annual health discount (judgment). Model convention
- g
- 1 California fraction quantified health (judgment). Local encounters; migration unknown [home] [county]
- other portfolio health
- null QALYs per dollar (unknown). No health assigned from hygiene, housing, counseling, HIV/HCV testing or training without additionality/clinical bridge [services] [sbirt]
Cautious full-cost central: Cost: $100K; California QALYs: 0.10444189905615264; all-population QALYs: 0.10444189905615264. {"id":"central","lambda":1,"unique":0.7,"rescue":0.3,"delta":0.2,"funding":0.3,"utility":0.7,"m":0.06,"T":20,"L":5.958024670560652,"raw":1.3912395577326737,"D":0.01752961842743169,"q":0.10444189905615264,"price":9574701.427655535}; g=1; all other quantified branches=0
Higher response yield and causal leverage: Cost: $100K; California QALYs: 6.247439665911243; all-population QALYs: 6.247439665911243. {"id":"favorable","lambda":3,"unique":0.85,"rescue":0.6,"delta":0.35,"funding":0.8,"utility":0.8,"m":0.03,"T":30,"L":10.482157739408319,"raw":4.173718673198021,"D":0.5960070265326773,"q":6.247439665911243,"price":160065.57141422853}; g=1; all other quantified branches=0
Low marginal activity and heavy substitution: Cost: $100K; California QALYs: 0.00007790602551750972; all-population QALYs: 0.00007790602551750972. {"id":"pessimistic","lambda":0.25,"unique":0.3,"rescue":0.05,"delta":0.05,"funding":0.1,"utility":0.6,"m":0.1,"T":10,"L":2.9865367215204635,"raw":0.34780988943316843,"D":0.00002608574170748763,"q":0.00007790602551750972,"price":12835977619.924221}; g=1; all other quantified branches=0
No incremental delivery or rescue: Cost: $100K; California QALYs: 0; all-population QALYs: 0. funding=0 or rescue=0; no finite positive price
Counterfactual: Existing government contracts, other witnesses, paramedics and other naloxone programs continue. funding discounts whether a gift changes services; rescue discounts whether an otherwise similar episode receives additional timely care. delta is the causal fatality-risk difference conditional on that extra timely care, not the observed proportion surviving.
Attribution: No distinct naloxone, oxygen, CPR, outreach and paramedic lifetime claims for the same event. Unique-person adjustment is an explicit prior, not proof that registry deduplication was done. Public funding and other services are complements but not all attributable to private gifts.
Numerical model is judgment-based partial health accounting over full recipient cost. Calendar2024 reversal reporting and FY2025 expense periods are not matched; their ratio is a deliberately conservative benchmark, not observed cost per event. lambda explicitly captures current scale, program mix and marginal-versus-average productivity. No scenario is a probability-weighted expected value or a validated bound.
Sensitivity
- Central roughly$9.57m per ten California QALYs; favorable$160k; pessimistic$12.84bn. Extremes are joint stress tests approaching zero, not credible interval endpoints.
- At central L=5.958, $1M per ten requires0.16784 unique additional deaths prevented per$100k; $100k requires1.67841. Central0.01753 is below both.
- At other central assumptions, lambda must rise9.5747-fold to reach$1M per ten, or95.747-fold for$100k. Such improvements require evidence of a genuinely more productive marginal channel, not re-labeling the whole gift as harm-reduction restricted.
- Replacing auditedFY2025 cost with a$40m current budget while holding absolute response count constant lowers health by25.876205/40; actual new response volume could offset this, but is unknown.
- If half modeled health occurs outside California after migration, price doubles. No arbitrary geography discount is embedded.
- Other clinical or housing pathways could improve overall value. At central modeled0.10444Q/$100k, unquantified branches need an additional0.89556Q to reach$1M per ten or9.89556Q to reach$100k, without double-counting the same survival or disability.
- The entire portfolio is costed, but donated labor, partner resources, downstream care and medical savings are not comprehensively priced. A donor-cost estimate is not a societal-cost estimate.
Unresolved inputs
- Costed unfunded ordinary-gift allocation and current team/clinical capacity beyond government contracts.
- Matched current fiscal-year response volumes and expenses by service, including all-function overhead.
- Unique-person longitudinal response linkage, alternative rescuer timing and net episode mortality reduction.
- Clinical mix, health utility and additional completed treatment for non-overdose branches.
- Migration and location of health gains; actual donor replacement versus genuine expansion.
- Reconcile current$40m budget with2025audit and specify which new contracts/capacity explain growth.
5. Funding and previous grants
The FY 2025 audit reports approximately 90% of revenue from state/federal grants or contracts, directly or indirectly. It also shows $7.42 million cash and $14.05 million financial assets available within one year, largely including contract receivables, against a goal of 90 days' operating expenses. These balances are not all uncommitted spending money. Costs reimbursed by contracts may continue without private gifts; gifts might fill genuine uncovered staffing needs or mainly replace other support. The current executive article describes a $40 million budget, newer and larger than FY 2025 audited spending, but provides no detailed budget or response-specific expansion plan. We therefore stress-test rather than assume historical productivity persists. The original FY 2024 and FY 2025 audits establish a consistent three-year expense series; audit figures are gross of event expenses and differ from netted IRS extracts.
Annual expenses
Organization-level spending, including programs, administration and fundraising. The research list averages three comparable, consecutive full fiscal years when available.
- FY 2023: $16.1M; Homeless Health Care Los Angeles, EIN95-4074970, 12-month period, US GAAP audited fiscal year endedJune30, full functional expense including fundraising-event costs; summarized prior-year audit comparatives. Source
- FY 2024: $19.2M; Homeless Health Care Los Angeles, EIN95-4074970, 12-month period, US GAAP audited fiscal year endedJune30, full functional expense including fundraising-event costs; summarized prior-year audit comparatives. Source
- FY 2025: $25.9M; Homeless Health Care Los Angeles, EIN95-4074970, 12-month period, US GAAP audited fiscal year endedJune30, full functional expense including fundraising-event costs; summarized prior-year audit comparatives. Source
6. Sources
- Current portfolio and recipient identity. HHCLA. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Services. HHCLA. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Donate. HHCLA. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Letters from Skid Row. HHCLA. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Radical Thinking Is Solving Homelessness. HHCLA. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- FY2025 audited financial statements and federal single audit. HHCLA / independent auditor; Federal Audit Clearinghouse copy. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- FY2024 audited financial statements with FY2023 comparisons. HHCLA / independent auditor; Federal Audit Clearinghouse copy. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Provider Advisory Committee: 2024 award narrative. Los Angeles County Department of Public Health. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Evaluation of an overdose prevention and response training programme in Skid Row. Wagner and colleagues, International Journal of Drug Policy. Published: 2009-03-05; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Randomized SBIRT study with jail inmates. Prendergast and colleagues, Journal of Substance Abuse Treatment. Published: 2016-12-30; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Medication for OUD after nonfatal overdose and mortality cohort. Larochelle and colleagues, Annals of Internal Medicine. Published: 2018-06-19; retrieved: 2026-09-13.