GiveBetter x California

Essential Access Health

Sexual and reproductive health funding, clinical support, research and advocacy

Research time: 9 min on GPT-6 Astra Light
  • Research — reviewed programs, finances and impact evidence.

Updated: 2026-09-14

Donate

Summary

What do they do? Essential Access Health supports sexual and reproductive health services, training and public-program administration. Its California partner-treatment program supplies medication for eligible partners unlikely to obtain timely clinical care. The conditional estimate prices only repeat-infection prevention against all recipient costs; the larger reproductive-health portfolio remains unpriced.

Why we’re interested in this organization:

  • Partner STI treatment has randomized evidence of reducing persistent or recurrent infections.

  • The organization operates a concrete medication distribution pathway with site logs and expired-dose reporting.

  • Current public funding announcements and original returns allow scrutiny of pass-through funding and substitution.

Our main reservations:

  • No verified ordinary-gift allocation, incremental medication yield or currently unfunded treatment queue was found.

  • Large restricted public grants and reimbursements are not equivalent to private-donation-sensitive additional care.

  • Sex, pathogen, treatment timing and recurrent-infection risks materially change the QALY conversion.

What do you get for your dollar? $543.6M per better life: ten additional quality-adjusted life years in California. Conditional partial-health estimate at full recipient cost; other portfolio benefits unpriced..

Central 23337.961 eligible index-patient offer-equivalents before funding response; 90.2495294937617 repeat infections avoided before geography. Modeled quantities, not medication-log counts.

1. What do they do?

This is the entire Essential Access Health recipient, EIN 95-2564024, rather than a restricted medication project. Its activities include provider funding, training, clinical research and policy. The official site links the ordinary donation route, but no gift or endorsement was made. Current programs and ordinary donation link

One inspectable clinical pathway is California expedited partner therapy: eligible providers obtain free medication for partners unlikely to receive prompt treatment. This is a delivery mechanism, not evidence that every distributed dose is taken or prevents infection. California free partner-treatment program

2. Monitoring and information sharing

The medication system requires site-specific logs and reporting of expired stock, with a licensed repackager shipping on the organization's request. The index patient's own treatment matters because a partner pack can otherwise be diverted to that patient. Useful marginal monitoring would add unique index patients offered treatment, partner uptake, alternative access, repeat infection and the funding source of each additional offer. Partner medication distribution and accountability FAQ

In a 2005 randomized trial, persistent or recurrent infection at 3–19 weeks occurred in 121/931 standard-referral patients versus 92/929 expedited-treatment patients: relative risk 0.76 (95% CI 0.59–0.98). Effects differed by pathogen; the composite absolute reduction cannot simply be paired with the highest sex-specific disease burden. Randomized expedited partner treatment trial

A later Washington stepped-wedge community trial increased EPT receipt but its adjusted population outcomes were uncertain: chlamydia positivity prevalence ratio 0.89 (0.77–1.04) and gonorrhea incidence ratio 0.91 (0.71–1.16). Clinic efficacy therefore does not establish the population return on a statewide implementation dollar. Washington community randomized EPT implementation trial

3. Qualitative assessment

Access, privacy and reproductive autonomy can matter independently of measured health. This report does not convert avoided births or the monetary value of care into QALYs. Training attendance, grant awards and reimbursed visits likewise are not themselves health outcomes.

EPT supplements rather than universally replaces clinical evaluation. Current CDC guidance describes its role when partners are unlikely to access timely care; trial transfer must respect current eligibility and treatment practice. Current clinical treatment of gonorrhea

The strongest next diligence request is a costed, currently unfunded California delivery margin: how many additional eligible patients would receive and use partner treatment, compared with Medi-Cal, Family PACT, ordinary partner referral and other free sources? Existing payment alternatives are explicitly described on the patient page. Partner medication and existing payment options

4. What do you get for your dollar?

The conditional EPT repeat-infection prevention price is $543.57 million per ten California QALYs, charging all $46,675,922 of gross recognized recipient spending. This narrow component must not be presented as a complete reproductive-health return. A 5% EPT allocation and $100 full delivery-resource cost per eligible index-patient offer are judgments, not observed marginal program costs or medication quotes. The resource allowance includes drug, logistics, counseling and partner delivery; an additional partner-resource sensitivity is retained.

The trial's absolute repeat-infection difference is 121/931 minus 92/929, about 3.094 percentage points among followed participants. A 50% transfer factor discounts current patient mix, follow-up selection, treatment practice and the uncertain community implementation evidence. A separate 25% funding-response factor discounts payer replacement and existing free supply. We use a judgmental 0.01 discounted QALY per repeat infection avoided, not the largest female infection burden paired indiscriminately with a pooled effect. A 98% California resident share gives 0.858685 California QALYs.

No partner or downstream transmission benefit is added, no new lifetime is assigned to recurrences, and no extra adherence factor duplicates the trial strategy effect. The underlying disease model uses finite sequela duration; an additional 3% one-year timing discount only moves the avoided infection to the delivery date. Routine medication harms and missed clinical evaluations could offset benefits; zero and adverse stress cases remain.

Model, assumptions and sensitivity

Whole annual recipient gross recognized costs. Only EPT repeat-infection health priced, not complete portfolio. k includes modeled delivery resources; partner-resource stress tests additional unrecognized costs.

California delivery sites verified, but beneficiaries may include nonresidents: g_CA=.98 subjective, low .9/high1. Not the California share of all Title X or other operations.

N=C*f/k; infections_all=N*b*delta*t; Q_all=infections_all*v/(1+d); Q_CA=Q_all*g_CA. delta=121/931-92/929. v is already discounted finite QALY loss per avoided infection; d only one-year event timing. P10=10*C/Q_CA. No secondary transmission or repeated lifetime branches.

C
46675922 USD/year gross recipient resources (observed). Original2024 full cost plus inventory and donated services. [990-24] [schedule2024]
delta
0.030936560222638715 absolute repeat-infection risk difference (observed). Trial follow-up counts121/931 minus92/929; not current organization effect. [trial]
f
0.05 EPT allocation fraction (judgment). Judgment, not observed ordinary-dollar allocation.
k
100 USD full delivery resources/index-patient offer (judgment). Judgment includes delivery chain, not medication price.
b
0.25 ordinary funding additionality (judgment). Existing free sources/payers and capacity substitution.
t
0.5 clinical and implementation transfer (judgment). Discount for trial follow-up, modern care and uncertain community outcomes. [community] [trial]
v
0.01 discounted QALY/repeat infection avoided (judgment). Judgment below female modeled losses; no claimed observed sex/pathogen mix, finite sequelae and prompt retreatment matter. [qaly]
g_CA
0.98 California resident-health share (judgment). California sites with modest leakage allowance. [ept]
d
0.03 annual event-delay discount (judgment). One future-year timing, not second discount of sequela years.
Q_other_CA
null California QALYs (unknown). Larger reproductive-health and other portfolio effects unpriced.

Conditional EPT central: Cost: $46.7M; California QALYs: 0.8586848437270531; all-population QALYs: 0.8762090242112787. f=.05;k=100;b=.25;t=.5;v=.01;g=.98;d=.03.

Weak delivery and low burden: Cost: $46.7M; California QALYs: 0.00019767275586206448; all-population QALYs: 0.00021963639540229388. f=.01;k=300;b=.05;t=.1;v=.00094;g=.9;d=.03.

Favorable EPT delivery: Cost: $46.7M; California QALYs: 22.43095101980873; all-population QALYs: 22.43095101980873. f=.1;k=50;b=.5;t=.8;v=.02;g=1;d=.03.

No additional health: Cost: $46.7M; California QALYs: 0; all-population QALYs: 0. No added delivery or no transfer.

Net adverse stress: Cost: $46.7M; California QALYs: -1; all-population QALYs: -1. One California QALY lost; subjective medication/displacement stress.

Complete portfolio unknown: Cost: $46.7M; California QALYs: unknown; all-population QALYs: unknown. Other effects unpriced.

Additional partner-resource stress: Cost: $49.0M; California QALYs: 0.8586848437270531; all-population QALYs: 0.8762090242112787. Add $100 for each C*.05/100 offer-equivalent, beyond k allowance; same health.

Counterfactual: Existing public funding and free EPT distribution, ordinary partner referral, Medi-Cal/Family PACT and timely alternative care continue. b discounts donation-dependent delivery beyond them. Current level Title X award is baseline, not an unresolved withholding.

Attribution: Trial strategy effect includes imperfect partner delivery; no second completion/adherence discount. t is external-to-current population/implementation transfer, b funding response. No partner infection health counted separately.

Allocation, marginal unit resources, patient mix and donation response remain subjective. The community trial has uncertain population effects. Finite clinical conversion is transferred conservatively but not identified for repeat infections in this population.

Sensitivity

  • Central price $543574541.2415442/10 CA QALYs.
  • Adding $100 additional partner resources for every modeled offer increases cost by 5%, with no added health.
  • Setting v to female chlamydia's highest modeled loss without matching population/effect would overstate evidence.
  • Community-scale effect may be zero; local distribution outputs are not proof otherwise.

Unresolved inputs

  • Current marginal EPT allocation, total delivery cost and unmet eligible demand.
  • Index-patient pathogen/sex mix, timely alternative treatment and repeat-infection burden.
  • Gift-induced delivery beyond existing public/free supply.
  • Other portfolio health, harm and shared-provider resource costs.

5. Funding and previous grants

Original accrual returns and Schedule D yield gross expenses of $31,893,649 in 2022, $52,995,581 in 2023 and $46,675,922 in 2024, averaging $43,855,050.67. The earlier comparative comes from the 2023 return. Original 2023 Form 990 with 2022 comparative totals

In 2024, $40,147,199 was classified as program expense and $6,525,628 as administration. Revenue was $37,119,151, including $32,635,022 government grants. Despite the revenue-expense deficit, unrestricted net assets rose from $7,995,747 to $8,641,940 while restricted net assets fell from $15,543,653 to $5,998,097. This is consistent with restricted-fund spending timing and does not establish an unrestricted cash crisis. Neither balances nor functional ratios identify marginal cost-effectiveness. Original 2024 Form 990

April 2026's announcement says California and Hawaii Title X received one year of level funding; describing the prior withholding as still unresolved would be stale. 2026 Title X award received

June 2025's final-award announcement described $36.5 million cumulatively awarded for uncompensated care, including reimbursement of earlier services. Those patients cannot all be attributed to a new gift. June 2025 uncompensated-care awards

Current HCAI information now describes a new $30 million uncompensated-care allocation within broader 2026–27 reproductive-health appropriations, with administrator procurement expected in September 2026. Essential Access administered prior funds, but the new award is not yet established as its revenue. State appropriations do not prove all needs are met; they do require avoiding duplicate private-donor credit. Current reproductive-health appropriations and administrator procurement

Fresh original three-year reconciliations restore inventory costs of $17,637, $2,695 and $1,635, plus $1,460 of donated services in 2024. Investment expenses of $57,667, $45,699 and $40,332 already included in return expense are retained, not added twice. No separately netted event cost is reported.

Annual expenses

Organization-level spending, including programs, administration and fundraising. The research list averages three comparable, consecutive full fiscal years when available.

  • FY 2022: $31.9M; Essential Access Health, EIN 95-2564024, 12-month period, Accrual gross recognized recipient expense including netted inventory cost, donated-service adjustment and investment fees.. Source
  • FY 2023: $53.0M; Essential Access Health, EIN 95-2564024, 12-month period, Accrual gross recognized recipient expense including netted inventory cost, donated-service adjustment and investment fees.. Source
  • FY 2024: $46.7M; Essential Access Health, EIN 95-2564024, 12-month period, Accrual gross recognized recipient expense including netted inventory cost, donated-service adjustment and investment fees.. Source

6. Sources

  1. Current programs and ordinary donation link. Essential Access Health. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  2. 2026 Title X award received. Essential Access Health. Published: 2026-04-03; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  3. Current reproductive-health appropriations and administrator procurement. California HCAI. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  4. June 2025 uncompensated-care awards. Essential Access Health. Published: 2025-06-24; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  5. California free partner-treatment program. Essential Access Health. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  6. Partner medication distribution and accountability FAQ. Essential Access Health. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  7. Partner medication and existing payment options. Essential Access Health. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  8. Randomized expedited partner treatment trial. Golden et al., New England Journal of Medicine. Published: 2005-02-17; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  9. Washington community randomized EPT implementation trial. Golden et al., PLOS Medicine. Published: 2015-01-15; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  10. Modeled quality-adjusted life-year losses per chlamydia and gonorrhea infection. Li et al., Journal of Infectious Diseases. Published: 2023-02-18; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  11. Current clinical treatment of gonorrhea. CDC. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  12. Original 2024 Form 990. Essential Access Health / IRS via ProPublica. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  13. Original 2023 Form 990 with 2022 comparative totals. Essential Access Health / IRS via ProPublica. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  14. Original 2022 Schedule D expense reconciliation. Essential Access Health / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  15. Original 2023 Schedule D expense reconciliation. Essential Access Health / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  16. Original 2024 Schedule D expense reconciliation. Essential Access Health / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.