Summary
What do they do? Community Water Center supports California communities seeking safe, reliable household water. Its portfolio includes project assistance, organizing and policy rather than just treatment equipment. The conditional estimate prices finite project-acceleration health against all recipient costs; broader policy and non-health benefits remain unpriced.
Why we’re interested in this organization:
Current project pages distinguish construction, completed connections and operating treatment systems.
The treatment pilot reports actual contamination reduction and operating costs rather than only outreach counts.
Technical assistance may unlock public infrastructure much larger than the charity's own spending.
Our main reservations:
Public grants already fund important projects, so their entire benefits cannot be assigned to a new private gift.
The clearest treatment evidence concerns exposure reduction, not measured human cancer or QALY gains.
The recipient's marginal project allocation, implementation acceleration and partner counterfactual remain unmeasured.
What do you get for your dollar? $2237.2M per better life: ten additional quality-adjusted life years in California. Conditional partial-health estimate at full recipient cost; other portfolio benefits unpriced..
Central 948 conditional residents gain one year of earlier reliable water before causal factors; 5.925 net additional resident-years after them. These are modeled equivalents, not reported beneficiaries.
1. What do they do?
CWC is the California 501(c)(3), EIN 80-0267674. Its donation page describes flexible support for communities facing unsafe water; it does not promise a priced treatment installation. The recipient portfolio includes infrastructure assistance, organizing and policy, not just the pilot used below to inspect a health pathway. Ordinary donation route and charitable identity Current policy portfolio
As currently reported, sixteen TCP treatment systems are online for more than seventy residents in Monterey and San Benito counties. Maintenance and monitoring are publicly funded through 2028. These are operating services, not evidence that the next donation buys sixteen additional systems. Current TCP treatment status and public funding
2. Monitoring and information sharing
The pilot documented substantial contaminant removal: operating systems reduced TCP below the 0.005 microgram/L regulatory limit and usually below the 0.0006 detection threshold. Participants already received bottled drinking/cooking water. One installed system was offline because well repairs were needed; bacterial problems and eventual carbon replacement matter to durability. June 2023 domestic-well TCP pilot final report
Measure additional person-years of lower exposure against actual bottled water, alternative treatment, planned connection dates and interruptions. Separate oral, inhalation and microbial hazards. Track household occupancy and dose, not simply systems installed; a repeatedly serviced household is not a new lifetime beneficiary each visit.
Springfield's 158-household project is under construction with January 2027 completion anticipated, not yet 158 completed connections. West Goshen reports 44 participating households connected in August 2025, with a $3.4 million DWR grant to Tulare County. Those pages substantiate delivery and cooperation but neither proves a new donation's effect on completion or timing. Springfield construction and anticipated completion West Goshen completed connections and public capital grant
3. Qualitative assessment
Reliable household water can improve convenience, security and dignity in addition to health. Those benefits are not automatically QALYs. Community consent and resident organizing may be essential to infrastructure adoption even when the hardware is publicly financed; conversely, another technical-assistance provider or agency may finish a project without this gift.
OEHHA's TCP assessment uses rodent tumor evidence, a conservative cancer potency and linear low-dose extrapolation. Its regulatory risk calculation is not a measured expected incidence in CWC residents. The published health goal and legal maximum are different concepts; exceeding a legal limit is not a binary transition from zero to certain disease. August 2009 TCP public-health-goal technical assessment Final TCP public health goal announcement
A useful next investigation is a named project held up specifically by flexible community-engagement or engineering resources, with a documented alternative completion date and public funding commitment. That would let a donor evaluate months of exposure avoided and leverage without crediting the entire public investment.
4. What do you get for your dollar?
The conditional project-acceleration price is $2.24 billion per ten California QALYs, using all $6,434,794 of recipient costs. This is a narrow health planning scenario, not a complete portfolio valuation or an inference that water organizing has little total value. We use two project-equivalents of 158 households—the scale of Springfield, not a forecast that Springfield is gift-dependent—with three residents per household and one year of earlier reliable water. Two projects, occupancy, acceleration and health yield are subjective priors.
The current Springfield completion plan belongs in the baseline. A 10% incremental coalition acceleration effect, 25% CWC contribution and 25% ordinary-funding response discount the conditional population once each. We assume a net utility gain of 0.005 per person-year from reduced water-related illness or clinically meaningful distress beyond bottled-water alternatives; this is not an empirical conversion of convenience, dignity or contaminant levels. It gives 0.028762 California QALYs. No lifetime cancer or mortality benefit is added. Actual gains could be zero or adverse, and other policy effects remain unpriced.
The earlier TCP inhalation-only calculation remains a useful caution, not a health estimate for all water projects: low-dose regulatory risk is not observed cancer incidence. For complete societal comparison, include public capital and ongoing operation, alternative expenditures and unrecognized partner resources. A sensitivity adds $1 million per project-equivalent after the same attribution factors; that is a resource stress assumption, not a current grant price.
Model, assumptions and sensitivity
Whole annual gross recipient resources; priced health only from conditional project acceleration. Other portfolio outcomes unknown. Public capital/operation not included in donor central; additional resource sensitivity disclosed. Annual full cost is a ratio normalization, not a verified donation tranche; proportional scaling to an ordinary gift assumes the stated project-capacity response.
California residents at California water projects only, g_CA=1. Springfield is a scale anchor, not the entire attributable portfolio or a headquarters shortcut.
Q_CA=J*H*n*T*p*a*b*u/(1+d); C=E; price10=10*C/Q_CA. J=project equivalents; H=households/project; n=residents/household; T=years earlier safe reliable water; p=coalition incremental acceleration, a=CWC contribution, b=funding response. No health beyond T and no additional cancer branch. Social-resource stress adds J*1000000*p*a*b to C. For the two-year high case replace T/(1+d) with 1/(1+d)+1/(1+d)^2.
- E
- 6434794 USD/year gross recipient expense (observed). 2024 expense plus netted event cost. [990-24] [schedule2024]
- H
- 158 households/project scale anchor (observed). Current Springfield planned connections, not additional gift-caused households. [springfield]
- J
- 2 conditional project equivalents (judgment). Subjective annual portfolio scale, not named unfunded projects.
- n
- 3 residents/household (judgment). Occupancy judgment.
- T
- 1 years of acceleration (judgment). Finite one-year gain, not asset life.
- p
- 0.1 incremental coalition acceleration fraction (judgment). Subjective chance/intensity beyond baseline.
- a
- 0.25 CWC causal share (judgment). Partner and public-agency contribution retained.
- b
- 0.25 ordinary-funding response (judgment). Contracts, reserves and capacity substitution.
- u
- 0.005 QALY/person-year (judgment). Subjective clinically meaningful net health change; not convenience valuation.
- d
- 0.03 annual discount (judgment). End-of-year convention.
- Q_other_CA
- null California QALYs (unknown). Other policy and health pathways omitted.
Conditional project acceleration: Cost: $6.4M; California QALYs: 0.028762135922330102; all-population QALYs: 0.028762135922330102. J=2;H=158;n=3;T=1;p=.1;a=.25;b=.25;u=.005;d=.03.
Weak acceleration: Cost: $6.4M; California QALYs: 0.000004271844660194175; all-population QALYs: 0.000004271844660194175. J=1;H=44;n=2;T=.25;p=.02;a=.1;b=.1;u=.001;d=.03.
Favorable finite portfolio: Cost: $6.4M; California QALYs: 9.069846356866812; all-population QALYs: 9.069846356866812. J=5;H=158;n=4;T=2;p=.3;a=.5;b=.5;u=.02;discount one benefit year at year1 and one at year2, no benefit later.
No added health: Cost: $6.4M; California QALYs: 0; all-population QALYs: 0. No acceleration or complete substitution.
Net adverse stress: Cost: $6.4M; California QALYs: -1; all-population QALYs: -1. One California QALY lost; subjective displacement/implementation stress.
Complete portfolio unpriced: Cost: $6.4M; California QALYs: unknown; all-population QALYs: unknown. Unpriced policy and non-health effects may dominate.
Add attributed capital stress: Cost: $6.4M; California QALYs: 0.028762135922330102; all-population QALYs: 0.028762135922330102. 2*$1m*.1*.25*.25=$12,500; no extra health.
Counterfactual: Publicly funded construction, bottled drinking water, existing treatment and alternative technical assistance proceed. Credit only faster or more reliable service beyond that baseline, not planned January 2027 Springfield completion.
Attribution: p separates implementation change from existing construction; a is CWC's share among partners; b is gift response. Each applied once. Utility already nets alternative water use and ordinary inconvenience is not counted as health.
All exposure-to-health and donor-response values are uncalibrated judgments. Regulatory TCP risk is not used as an expected all-project cancer effect. Narrow health price should not rank the complete policy portfolio.
Sensitivity
- Central $2237244833.755274/10 CA QALYs. Adding $12,500 attributed capital stress gives $2241590825.3164554.
- No fixed construction lifetime is credited. Shorter alternative-care delay shrinks health.
- Public capital and operating resources require project-specific societal accounting; $1m/project is not observed.
Unresolved inputs
- Gift-sensitive project list and counterfactual delivery dates.
- Resident occupancy, actual contaminant/pathogen exposure and substitute-water access.
- Net health utility or disease outcomes; no measured conversion presently.
- Public and partner resource use, donor substitution and other portfolio effects.
5. Funding and previous grants
Original accrual returns and Schedule D yield gross recognized expenses of $3,135,262 in 2022, $4,877,854 in 2023 and $6,434,794 in 2024; the comparable three-year mean is $4,815,970.00. The 2023 return supplies the earlier comparative total. Original 2023 Form 990 with 2022 comparative totals
For 2024, expenses comprised $5,902,430 program, $428,372 administration and $96,614 fundraising. Revenue was $8,690,157, including $4,157,338 program-service fees; net assets were $8,222,989, with $1,401,143 donor-restricted. Grants paid were $400,000. Functional expense ratios do not measure marginal effectiveness, and accounting fee income does not establish absence of public funding. Original 2024 Form 990
The corrected expense series restores $8,671 of separately netted 2023 event costs and $7,378 in 2024; 2022 has none. Original Schedule D reconciles these gross amounts to audited expense, with no donated-service addback. These costs remain recipient resources, not all public construction costs. A model of an actual new gift must include all resources that gift consumes, not apply a low program-only cost to the full portfolio. Existing public treatment funding and public construction grants create substitution and timing questions. Neither a balance-sheet surplus nor a funded pilot proves that all other useful work is funded; neither proves an immediately scalable cash gap. Current TCP treatment status and public funding West Goshen completed connections and public capital grant
Annual expenses
Organization-level spending, including programs, administration and fundraising. The research list averages three comparable, consecutive full fiscal years when available.
- FY 2022: $3.1M; Community Water Center, EIN 80-0267674, 12-month period, Accrual gross recipient expense including separately netted event costs; Schedule D donated-service adjustment absent.. Source
- FY 2023: $4.9M; Community Water Center, EIN 80-0267674, 12-month period, Accrual gross recipient expense including separately netted event costs; Schedule D donated-service adjustment absent.. Source
- FY 2024: $6.4M; Community Water Center, EIN 80-0267674, 12-month period, Accrual gross recipient expense including separately netted event costs; Schedule D donated-service adjustment absent.. Source
6. Sources
- Ordinary donation route and charitable identity. Community Water Center. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Current TCP treatment status and public funding. Community Water Center. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- June 2023 domestic-well TCP pilot final report. Community Water Center. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Springfield construction and anticipated completion. Community Water Center. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- West Goshen completed connections and public capital grant. Community Water Center. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Current policy portfolio. Community Water Center. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Original 2024 Form 990. Community Water Center / IRS, hosted by ProPublica. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Original 2023 Form 990 with 2022 comparative totals. Community Water Center / IRS, hosted by ProPublica. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- August 2009 TCP public-health-goal technical assessment. California OEHHA. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Final TCP public health goal announcement. California OEHHA. Published: 2009-08-20; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
- Original 2022 Schedule D expense reconciliation. Community Water Center / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Original 2023 Schedule D expense reconciliation. Community Water Center / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
- Original 2024 Schedule D expense reconciliation. Community Water Center / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.