GiveBetter x California

Center for Independent Living

Independent living services, assistive technology and accessibility

Research time: 11 min on GPT-6 Astra Light
  • Research — reviewed programs, finances and impact evidence.

Updated: 2026-09-13

Donate

Summary

What do they do? The Berkeley Center for Independent Living helps people with disabilities live in their communities. It provides equipment loans and repairs, home-access support, peer programs and other services in Northern Alameda County. An ordinary gift supports the recipient’s broad services; the quantified estimate below covers repair and loaner benefits only.

Why we’re interested in this organization:

  • Repairing a mobility device or removing a home barrier can change daily function directly.

  • The residential-access page identifies a real geographic funding limitation rather than only asserting general need.

  • Current accounts and primary studies permit separating recipient costs, public funding and plausible health pathways.

Our main reservations:

  • No current completed-repair volume, marginal cost or delay-reduction evaluation was identified.

  • An equipment loan may bridge days before an insured repair rather than create years of new mobility.

  • The full recipient includes advocacy, training and support whose marginal health returns differ from equipment services.

What do you get for your dollar? $59.2M per better life: ten additional quality-adjusted life years in California. Repair/loaner health only; full gift cost; other benefits unestimated.

Central at C=$100,000: $10,000 of modeled portfolio allocation; 22.203 gross attempted slots at k=$450.39279; 11.101 after financing/capacity adjustment; 8.881 completed appropriate episodes; 4.441 that beat an equivalent alternative; 62.168 otherwise-lost functional person-days regained. With du=0.10, finite duration and start delay this produces 0.01689533 California QALYs. No episode, day or utility value is an observed CIL outcome.

1. What do they do?

CIL serves Northern Alameda County residents through a broad independent-living portfolio. It is the Berkeley charity with EIN 23-7175191, not the similarly named Corporation for Independent Living at cil.org. Its current service pages offer loans of wheelchairs, ramps and other equipment as inventory permits, with a repair-request route. This is evidence of delivery capability, not an assured inventory or turnaround time. Current programs and Northern Alameda County service area Assistive technology loaners and repairs

Home-access work includes modifications such as ramps and grab bars. Berkeley's publicly funded program is distinct from nearby cities, where CIL says lack of funding limits it to consultations. A gift might enable otherwise-unfunded modifications, but no priced expansion plan establishes that an unrestricted gift would go there. Residential access and geographic funding gap

2. Monitoring and information sharing

The most useful repair measure is additional person-days with a safely functioning device compared with the actual alternative: vendor repair, insurance, another loaner, self-repair or going without. Record request and completion dates, device fit and use, recurrent failures, outside repair availability and resulting health/function. Repeat repairs for one person must not each receive an entire lifetime benefit. Assistive technology loaners and repairs

The attendant registry prioritizes high-risk people when provider supply is scarce. Matching information is not itself paid care, filled hours or prevented institutionalization. CIL should measure additional sustained care hours and health outcomes, including cases where the limiting resource is a worker rather than coordination money. Personal attendant services and limited provider registry

Original returns provide financial detail but broad, partly historical program descriptions rather than current cohort outcome data. The audit index flags FY2023/FY2024 internal-control weaknesses. The underlying audit download was unavailable in this review, so neither the exact finding nor its resolution is independently established here; this is a follow-up item, not a finding of fraud. Filing and audit index

The city’s draft FY2025 CAPER reports seven CIL-supported rental accessibility projects. These are publicly supported outputs, not additional donor-caused health.

3. Qualitative assessment

A multicenter observational wheelchair study found frequent repairs and adverse consequences, including being confined at home; another reported median repair time of 14 days. These document a meaningful problem, but they do not estimate the causal effect of CIL repair or a health-utility decrement. Vendor users may differ in severity, device complexity and resources. Factors influencing wheelchair repairs and consequences Wheelchair repairs: delays, causes and associated outcomes

Other branches have credible external evidence. The HIPI randomized home-modification trial estimated an adjusted reduction in home fall injuries, with a crude estimate whose interval included no effect. Its New Zealand households and modification package are not interchangeable with CIL's client mix or every ramp installation. HIPI home modification cluster-randomized trial

Living Well was evaluated with a randomized wait-list design in 246 consumers across independent-living centers. Results support some improvement in secondary conditions and health-related outcomes. The investigators' later synthesis says symptom days returned to baseline by twelve months and health costs by two months; neither perpetual savings nor lifelong QALYs are justified. CIL currently offers the curriculum, but delivery fidelity, additional enrollment and local results remain unknown. Health promotion: evaluation of Living Well with a Disability Living Well with a Disability: intervention and follow-up synthesis Living Well Senior Program

Independence, access and dignity are important even when incompletely measured by QALYs. Disability status is not a discount on a person's worth; any quantitative benefit should be a change in their experienced health or function, not an assumption that disability makes a life less valuable.

4. What do you get for your dollar?

A limited-pathway conditional estimate is about $59 million per ten California QALYs from additional repair/loaner capacity, with the costs of the ordinary recipient gift retained. This is not a measured CIL result or a comprehensive estimate of its other programs. The native bridge is staff time and materials → completed appropriate episodes → otherwise-lost functional days restored. Those uncertain steps are now stated numerically rather than hidden behind a break-even threshold.

The central scenario allocates 10% of an ordinary gift to this capacity. It assumes a $34 hourly wage, 35% employment loading, four staff hours and $100 materials per attempted episode, then applies the latest recipient total/program cost ratio of 1.588 for support. The wage is a rounded proxy from a current CIL specialist vacancy, not a repair-technician quote; the other service inputs are judgments. This produces about $450 per attempted episode. Financing/capacity replacement halves delivery; 80% completion/fit and 50% improvement over equivalent alternatives reduce it further.

For a truly additional episode, the scenario assumes a 0.10 health-utility improvement for fourteen otherwise-lost days, beginning after a quarter-year implementation delay, discounted at 3% annually. Fourteen days is a transfer assumption, not CIL's measured acceleration. CIL's current month-long response queue is actually longer than the external survey's median completed-repair time, so alternative services must be checked. Favorable and adverse joint assumptions span roughly $272,000 to $1.82 trillion per ten QALYs, with zero additional gain also possible. These are stress scenarios, not confidence bounds. They show how little a short repair-acceleration model can establish about the full recipient's return. Home access, transition support, health education, advocacy and other effects may dominate and remain unestimated; their value is not asserted to be zero.

Model, assumptions and sensitivity

Ordinary unrestricted gift, C=$100,000 analytical normalization. Full gift remains charged even though this model quantifies only a repair/loaner health pathway. f is an explicit marginal portfolio allocation, not a restricted donation. Unit cost k includes wages, employment loading, materials and allocated recipient support. This is donor-dollar cost, not a societal-cost estimate; donated device and partner resource opportunity costs remain unknown.

g_CA=1 for the short-duration direct-service scenario, based on Northern Alameda County eligibility. National advocacy benefits are not counted. This is an inference about weeks of local client benefit, not location of headquarters.

k=(w*b*h+p)*o USD per attempted repair/loaner episode. N=C*f/k*m*s*a additional successfully restored-function episodes, where m is financing/capacity additionality, s is fit/completion success, and a excludes otherwise equivalent timely alternatives. q=du*exp(-r*L)*(1-exp(-r*D/365))/r for D days gained beginning L years after gift. Q_all=N*q; Q_CA=g_CA*Q_all; price_10_CA=10*C/Q_CA if positive. Each episode is counted only for the actual counterfactual interval with lost function; sum person-days without overlaps and no repeated lifetime award. Other CIL channels remain unestimated.

C
100000 USD ordinary gift (judgment). Calculation normalization; not a verified funding request.
FY2025 total expenses
4370584 USD/year (observed). Original return Part IX recipient total; retained financial scale. [99025]
FY2025 program expenses
2752037 USD/year (observed). Original Part IX program column; not a repair-only budget. [99025]
f
0.1 ordinary gift share supporting repair/loaner capacity (judgment). A modest share within a broad portfolio. Core consumer services includes AT along with housing, home modification and transitions; repair-only allocation is not reported. Stress 0.02–0.25. The allocated share includes its corresponding support costs; k is therefore support-loaded, not a second charge to the total gift. [99025] [repairs]
w
34 USD direct wage/hour (judgment). Rounded proxy from current $33.99/hour community independent-living specialist vacancy; not a verified repair technician wage. General CIL careers page states starting pay $28/hour. Stress $28–40. [cil-job-specialist] [cil-jobs]
b
1.35 employment-cost multiplier on wage (judgment). 35% benefits/payroll/paid-leave loading; CIL advertises extensive benefits but actual marginal load is unreported. Stress 1.2–1.5. [cil-jobs]
h
4 staff hours per attempted episode (judgment). Intake, handling, repair or loaner preparation, fitting and closeout combined. No local time-motion study; stress 2–8 hours. [repairs] [cil-at]
p
100 USD materials per attempted episode (judgment). Average repair/cleaning/component allowance, not device retail price or CIL observed invoice. Stress $50–500; actual case mix could exceed this.
o
1.5881269038170636 recipient support-loading factor (judgment). Central proxy equals observed total/program expense ratio 1.5881269; applying average support loading to marginal service cost is a judgment. Stress 1.3–2, not an accounting confidence bound. [99025]
m
0.5 financial/capacity additionality (judgment). Half the modeled allocation adds usable service capacity after grant/reserve replacement and staffing constraints. Public grants are large, while requests and volunteer needs suggest unmet demand. Stress 0.1–0.8 plus zero. [99025] [cil-at]
s
0.8 completed appropriate-function fraction (judgment). Repair/loaner can fail or be unsuitable. External SCI repair survey's completion data motivate uncertainty, not a measured CIL success rate. Stress 0.5–0.95. [cil-repair-study-full]
a
0.5 fraction beating equivalent timely alternatives (judgment). Half successful episodes deliver function otherwise lost after allowing insurance/vendors, state loan centers, EDI and backups. Stress 0.1–0.9. [repairs]
D
14 functional days gained per truly additional episode (judgment). Finite acceleration prior, not observed days saved. External survey median repair duration was 14 days; CIL reports roughly one month before responding, so its current service is not automatically faster. Stress 2–60 days. [repairs] [cil-repair-study-full]
du
0.1 health-utility increment during gained days (judgment). Assumed health-related change from restored appropriate mobility function; not a valuation of the person's life. Stress 0.02–0.2. Does not monetize independence, rights or all social benefits.
L
0.25 years before gained function begins (judgment). Central quarter-year implementation/queue delay; stress 0.05–0.5.
r
0.03 annual continuous QALY discount (judgment). Explicit convention; survival set to one over at most 60 days with no mortality gain claimed.
g_CA
1 California share of short direct health gain (judgment). Local client eligibility and short horizon; no nationwide spillover credited. [repairs]
incremental partner/device opportunity cost
null USD (unknown). Donated equipment, public loan shipping, external repair and any public costs induced by expansion not measured.

Central — partial-health conditional scenario: Cost: $100K; California QALYs: 0.016895330225604348; all-population QALYs: 0.016895330225604348. {"f":0.1,"w":34,"b":1.35,"h":4,"p":100,"o":1.5881269038170636,"m":0.5,"s":0.8,"a":0.5,"days":14,"u":0.1,"g":1,"cost":450.3927899225193,"N":4.440568421053229,"q":0.003804767458486105,"Q":0.016895330225604348,"price":59187952.33043336,"L":0.25}; r=0.03. All nonfinancial pathway inputs are judgments; not empirical bounds.

Favorable joint stress scenario: Cost: $100K; California QALYs: 3.6752904258494232; all-population QALYs: 3.6752904258494232. {"f":0.25,"w":28,"b":1.2,"h":2,"p":50,"o":1.3,"m":0.8,"s":0.95,"a":0.9,"days":60,"u":0.2,"g":1,"cost":152.36,"N":112.23418220005249,"q":0.0327466227650537,"Q":3.6752904258494232,"price":272087.34117083624,"L":0.05}; r=0.03. All nonfinancial pathway inputs are judgments; not empirical bounds.

Adverse joint stress scenario: Cost: $100K; California QALYs: 5.507581637880014e-7; all-population QALYs: 5.507581637880014e-7. {"f":0.02,"w":40,"b":1.5,"h":8,"p":500,"o":2,"m":0.1,"s":0.5,"a":0.1,"days":2,"u":0.02,"g":1,"cost":1960,"N":0.005102040816326531,"q":0.00010794860010244826,"Q":5.507581637880014e-7,"price":1815678941774.0188,"L":0.5}; r=0.03. All nonfinancial pathway inputs are judgments; not empirical bounds.

No added function: Cost: $100K; California QALYs: 0; all-population QALYs: 0. m=0, a=0 or D=0: funding substitution, equal alternative service or no acceleration. No finite positive cost-per-QALY.

Counterfactual: CIL's existing grants, payroll and inventory, insured/vendor service, publicly financed device loan centers, Easy Does It emergency repair and individual backups continue. A donor-funded slot must actually accelerate restoration relative to these options. CIL's current month-long response queue is NOT itself the number of functional days lost or saved.

Attribution: m discounts replacement of grant/reserve funding or staffing constraints; a separately discounts equivalent alternative repair/loaner service and usable backups. s accounts for failed or unsuitable delivery. Do not count one disability-related utility improvement separately as avoided injury, isolation and mobility restoration. No attribution of all recipient work to the repair branch.

A bottom-up subjective conditional central, not a measured CIL effect and not a comprehensive estimate of every recipient benefit. Wage and organization support scale have source anchors; allocation, labor time, materials, completion, substitution and health gain are judgments. Favorable/adverse scenarios are simultaneous stress tests, not confidence limits. Zero and harms are not excluded. Omitted institutional-transition, access, counseling, education and rights benefits could materially change a full-portfolio estimate; this partial model should not be read as proof of a poor overall return.

Sensitivity

  • Central partial-health price is about $59 million per ten California QALYs, favorable about $272,000 and adverse about $1.8 trillion. These joint stress scenarios are not confidence limits.
  • Halving f, m, s, a or du halves modeled QALYs. Doubling episode cost k doubles price. Longer counterfactual loss, not a longer loan recorded on paper, is needed to increase D.
  • At central delivery yield, reaching $1 million per ten QALYs requires roughly 59 times more health gain than the 14-day repair scenario supplies. Substantially longer unresolved access problems or separately demonstrated benefits from other programs could alter that assessment.
  • Current CIL response time is longer than the external median completed-repair time. Replacing D with that queue length without checking alternatives would overstate donation impact.
  • Home modifications are not added merely because a ramp is durable. Public funding substitution, who would otherwise remain without access, severity and duration are separate unresolved inputs.
  • The model's high partial-pathway price is not an estimate that unmodeled CIL services provide no value. Preserve this scope warning beside any displayed number.

Unresolved inputs

  • Actual marginal allocation to repair/loaner capacity and costed staffing plan.
  • Hours, materials, completed repairs/loaners, device fit and unique client follow-up.
  • Unfunded versus already-financed demand and whether money or skilled labor/inventory is limiting.
  • Counterfactual functional days without CIL, alternative providers, backups and measured utility.
  • Separate nonoverlapping home-access, institutional transition, Living Well and advocacy effects; these may dominate the partial model.
  • Marginal third-party resource cost and current audit/control remediation evidence.

5. Funding and previous grants

Original returns report full-recipient expenses of $2,986,495 (FY2023), $3,662,458 (FY2024) and $4,370,584 (FY2025), all June-ending twelve-month periods. The three-year mean is $3,673,179. FY2024 functions were $3,017,406 program, $644,978 management and $74 fundraising. Original FY2024 Form 990 with FY2023 comparative totals

FY2025 expenses split into $2,752,037 program, $1,362,449 management and $256,098 fundraising. Revenue was $3,996,267, including $3,223,822 government grants and $349,468 other contributions. Compensation and benefits totaled $3,219,987. The operating deficit was $374,317; net assets were $7,809,089, of which $2,385,204 carried donor restrictions. Net assets are not all immediately available cash. Functional allocations changed substantially; they are accounting categories, not measures of effectiveness. Original FY2025 Form 990, IRS electronic filing

CIL says services are free and supported by government, foundations and individuals. Publicly funded Berkeley modifications, insured equipment alternatives and other donors all matter to substitution. A reported funding gap outside Berkeley is promising but does not price the ordinary-gift margin. The general donation page supports the broad portfolio and includes optional designated routes; this report assumes no designation and records no actual donation. Eligibility, free services and funding General donation route

CIL's current careers page posts a $28/hour starting-pay floor and benefits, while the AT page seeks skilled repair and preparation volunteers. These support a labor-capacity pathway but do not prove that cash is the binding constraint or that a donation funds a new position.

Annual expenses

Organization-level spending, including programs, administration and fundraising. The research list averages three comparable, consecutive full fiscal years when available.

  • FY 2023: $3.0M; Center for Independent Living, EIN 23-7175191, 12-month period, Accrual Form 990 total functional expenses; year ended June 30. Source
  • FY 2024: $3.7M; Center for Independent Living, EIN 23-7175191, 12-month period, Accrual Form 990 total functional expenses; year ended June 30. Source
  • FY 2025: $4.4M; Center for Independent Living, EIN 23-7175191, 12-month period, Accrual Form 990 total functional expenses; year ended June 30. Source

6. Sources

  1. Current programs and Northern Alameda County service area. Center for Independent Living. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  2. Eligibility, free services and funding. Center for Independent Living. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  3. Assistive technology loaners and repairs. Center for Independent Living. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  4. Residential access and geographic funding gap. Center for Independent Living. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  5. Personal attendant services and limited provider registry. Center for Independent Living. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  6. Living Well Senior Program. Center for Independent Living. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  7. General donation route. Center for Independent Living. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  8. Original FY2025 Form 990, IRS electronic filing. Center for Independent Living / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  9. Original FY2024 Form 990 with FY2023 comparative totals. Center for Independent Living / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  10. Filing and audit index. ProPublica / IRS and Federal Audit Clearinghouse. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  11. Wheelchair repairs: delays, causes and associated outcomes. Wheelchair repair investigators, Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. Published: 2024-10-18; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  12. Factors influencing wheelchair repairs and consequences. Worobey and colleagues, Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. Published: 2021-04-09; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  13. Health promotion: evaluation of Living Well with a Disability. Ravesloot and colleagues, Health Education Research. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  14. Living Well with a Disability: intervention and follow-up synthesis. Ravesloot and colleagues, CDC MMWR. Published: 2016-02-12; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  15. HIPI home modification cluster-randomized trial. Keall and colleagues, The Lancet. Published: 2015-01-17; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  16. Assistive Technology: current queue, non-emergency scope and volunteer needs. Center for Independent Living. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  17. Current careers pay and benefits. Center for Independent Living. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  18. Community Independent Living Specialist vacancy. Center for Independent Living / Gusto. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  19. Wheelchair Repairs: Delays, Causes, and Associated Outcomes — author institution abstract. Worobey et al. / University of Minnesota. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  20. Draft PY2024 / FY2025 Consolidated Annual Performance and Evaluation Report. City of Berkeley. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  21. FY2025 Form 990 Schedule O. Center for Independent Living / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.