GiveBetter x California

California School-Based Health Alliance

School-health technical assistance, training, regional coalitions and policy

Research time: 7 min on GPT-6 Astra Light
  • Research — reviewed programs, finances and impact evidence.

Updated: 2026-09-14

Donate

Summary

What do they do? The California School-Based Health Alliance helps schools and providers start, finance and improve school health services. It is a statewide intermediary, not the operator of every clinic it assists. The conditional estimate prices enabled mental-health care against all recipient costs, while other health pathways remain unpriced.

Why we’re interested in this organization:

  • A concrete implementation role can help existing public and clinical resources reach students.

  • Current accounts identify the recipient's own cost and the distinction between restricted funding and flexible reserves.

  • School-based treatment has credible clinical evidence, while current alliance materials identify real operational barriers.

Our main reservations:

  • Seven partner-center openings are not seven openings caused by a new donation.

  • Public agencies, clinics and other technical-assistance providers are substantial counterfactual alternatives.

  • No source identifies the next unrestricted dollar's additional delivered treatment, health effect or policy probability.

What do you get for your dollar? $26.9M per better life: ten additional quality-adjusted life years in California. Conditional enabled mental-health care QALYs at full recipient cost; other portfolio health and additional clinical resources separate..

Central 45.80416 substantial engagement-equivalents, 916.0832 conditional completed episodes, and 57.2552 net additional California episode-equivalents. Modeled outputs, not observed counts.

1. What do they do?

This is the Oakland-based California charity, EIN 94-3201896, not the separate national School-Based Health Alliance. Its ordinary donation route supports a statewide intermediary portfolio. Current technical assistance covers start-up partnerships, billing, confidentiality, clinical integration and mental-health service development; some support is contracted and members receive limited included hours. General donation route Current technical-assistance services

The 2025 report records direct partnerships around seven newly opened health or wellness centers, alongside training and advocacy. It also reports 691 conference attendees and 1,751 webinar participants; those measures show reach, not additional student treatment or improved health. Current Inland Empire materials include 2026 meetings, supporting ongoing regional operations rather than relying entirely on a historical report. 2025 impact report and partnerships Inland Empire coalition and 2026 meetings

2. Monitoring and information sharing

Follow the chain from assistance to changed practice to delivered care: a district completes billing enrollment, hires or retains a clinician, provides additional completed treatment, and improves a student's health relative to available care elsewhere. A claim for reimbursement of an already-delivered visit may improve financing without causing that visit. A newly opened wellness space may not offer the same services as a primary-care clinic.

DHCS's current fee-schedule page reports 700 enrolled educational entities and services submitted for 77,762 unique students, while offering another readiness cohort. These are statewide program figures, not CSHA's attributable reach, and enrollment differs from actual service delivery. The page is current to the 2026 rollout; the report does not freeze the earlier cohort count. Current CYBHI fee-schedule program and participation

A useful alliance dashboard would link each substantial assistance engagement to the prior bottleneck, alternative assistance, implementation date, additional clinical hours, distinct students, completed care and finite symptom/function changes. Count overlapping treatment episodes once and retain refusals, dropout and adverse experiences rather than only successful referrals.

3. Qualitative assessment

The Community Preventive Services Task Force supports school-based health centers in low-income communities, drawing on 46 studies searched through July 2014. Outcomes include preventive care, asthma and utilization, but designs and service mixes vary; some outcomes were unfavorable or mixed. A historical median reduction in hospital visits cannot be applied to every current California student. The review itself identifies QALY cost as an evidence gap. School-based health centers: task-force systematic review

The SHIELD randomized trial in 14 Pennsylvania high schools found treatment initiation in 1.2% of the universal-screening group versus 0.5% of targeted-referral students. That is a small absolute increase, not a doubling of everyone's health. Initiation was the endpoint, not remission or suicide prevention; school readiness and follow-up constrained transfer. Its report also discusses a California middle-school trial without an initiation improvement. SHIELD randomized school depression-screening trial, final research report

A separate 63-adolescent randomized trial in five New York school clinics found that a structured interpersonal therapy improved depression symptoms and functioning relative to usual treatment over 16 weeks. This supports a treatment-quality pathway but does not establish that CSHA teaches this therapy, that its partners deliver it, or a utility conversion. Randomized effectiveness trial of interpersonal psychotherapy in school clinics

The alliance's naloxone case study concerns La Clínica's work and directs schools to public drug supply. It is not evidence that CSHA itself dispenses those doses or that private cash purchases a scarce drug stock. Similar attribution discipline applies across the portfolio. La Clínica naloxone case study

4. What do you get for your dollar?

The conditional mental-health implementation estimate is $26.85 million per ten California QALYs. It charges all $2,290,208 of recipient spending to a narrow enabled-care benefit, not the entire portfolio. A subjective 40% allocation to substantial implementation support is near the reported technical-assistance share, but is not an observed marginal allocation. We assume $20,000 per substantial engagement and 20 completed treatment episodes per engagement before causal discounts. These are planning priors, not quoted prices or observed clinical yields.

A 25% net implementation contribution accounts for other assistance and care that would otherwise occur; a separate 25% funding response accounts for contracts, reserves and marginal capacity. Together they imply 57.255 additional episode-equivalents. An average utility improvement of 0.05 for 112 days is a judgment informed only in horizon by the school-clinic trial. There is no later benefit, mortality claim or second response multiplier. Discounting at 3% yields 0.852850 California QALYs.

The central price excludes new public/provider clinical resources from recipient expenses, so it is not a societal cost-effectiveness estimate. A sensitivity adds $2,000 per attributed additional episode, a judgmental full-course resource cost, with no additional health credited. Other preventive, reproductive, asthma and policy effects remain unpriced rather than truly zero. The wide scenarios include failed implementation and harm; they are not statistical bounds.

Model, assumptions and sensitivity

Full annual recipient gross expense, all functions. Only enabled mental-health care is priced. Additional public/provider clinical resources are disclosed in sensitivity; no claim of complete societal or portfolio return.

g_CA=1 for explicitly modeled California school student care. Independent state denominator; no credit for national dissemination or nonresident downloads.

J=C*f/k; episodes=J*n*a*b; Q_CA=episodes*u*T/365*g_CA/(1+d). P10=10*C/Q_CA. C=E. T=112 days centrally, no later effect. Resource sensitivity C_social_proxy=C+episodes*z; same Q. Other portfolio QALYs remain unknown.

E
2290208 USD/year gross recipient expense (observed). Original full-recipient return including investment fees. [990-25] [schedule-2025]
f
0.4 fraction allocated to substantial implementation assistance (judgment). Judgment near reported technical-assistance share; not marginal spending observed. [990-25]
k
20000 USD per substantial engagement (judgment). All-function allocated assistance resource assumption; not 2–5 included member hours or a quoted fee.
n
20 completed care episodes per engagement conditional on implementation (judgment). Judgment, not seven openings multiplied by an invented caseload.
a
0.25 net implementation and alternative-care contribution (judgment). Discount for public assistance, partner work and otherwise delivered care.
b
0.25 ordinary-funding response (judgment). Contract/reserve/capacity additionality, applied once.
u
0.05 average utility difference (judgment). Judgment, not conversion of a depression symptom effect.
T
112 days (judgment). Finite external trial horizon used conservatively; no claim of later persistence. [ipt]
g_CA
1 California share of priced student care (judgment). Direct California care only. [impact]
d
0.03 annual discount rate (judgment). One end-of-year delivery discount.
z
2000 USD public/provider resources per additional episode (judgment). Judgmental resource sensitivity, not observed billing.
Q_other_CA
null California QALYs (unknown). Other clinical and policy health not priced.

Conditional enabled-care central: Cost: $2.3M; California QALYs: 0.8528504322383295; all-population QALYs: 0.8528504322383295. f=.4; k=20000; n=20; a=.25; b=.25; u=.05; T=112; g=1; d=.03.

Weak delivery and short benefit: Cost: $2.3M; California QALYs: 0.00016204158212528258; all-population QALYs: 0.00017057008644766588. f=.2; k=50000; n=5; a=.05; b=.1; u=.01; T=28; g=.95; d=.03.

Favorable implementation: Cost: $2.3M; California QALYs: 51.17102593429979; all-population QALYs: 51.17102593429979. f=.6; k=10000; n=50; a=.5; b=.5; u=.1; T=112; g=1; d=.03.

No added delivered care: Cost: $2.3M; California QALYs: 0; all-population QALYs: 0. a=0 or b=0.

Net adverse stress: Cost: $2.3M; California QALYs: -1; all-population QALYs: -1. One California QALY lost from displacement or harmful implementation; subjective stress, not measured.

Complete portfolio unpriced: Cost: $2.3M; California QALYs: unknown; all-population QALYs: unknown. Other pathways may dominate either way.

Add attributed clinical resources: Cost: $2.4M; California QALYs: 0.8528504322383295; all-population QALYs: 0.8528504322383295. Central clinical model; add 57.2552*2000 USD, applying a and b once, not to health again.

Counterfactual: Districts and clinics may start services with existing grants, state/county technical assistance or their own staff. Reimbursement for care already supplied does not cause that care. Credit additional treatment or earlier treatment versus the actual alternative, including off-campus access and finite waiting time.

Attribution: a combines partner/alternative-assistance and alternative-care displacement; b separately captures gift-dependent capacity and contract replacement. n counts completed episodes conditional on implementation, not all referrals. Utility is an average treatment difference; no extra completion or response factor.

Implementation unit costs, completed-care yield and utility are subjective priors, not source-calibrated estimates. External evidence supports possible clinical pathways but not the alliance's particular treatment mix. Broad stress cases are not bounds. The utility prior represents expected net health area over the stated finite horizon, including treatment burden, within-horizon fade and competing mortality; it is not an endpoint score held indefinitely. No survival extension is credited.

Sensitivity

  • Central price $26853571.428571433/10 CA QALYs; clinical-resource sensitivity $28196250.000000004.
  • Halving average utility or effective duration doubles price; no lifetime benefit.
  • An engagement that only finances already delivered visits yields zero new health.
  • Unrecognized volunteer and other public opportunity costs remain outside the recipient series.

Unresolved inputs

  • Current flexible-funding priorities and costed assistance engagements that cannot be covered by existing contracts
  • Alternative implementation dates and resources for each partner, including county/DHCS support and district staff
  • Incremental clinical hours, treatment completion, appropriate service mix and unique students attributable to assistance
  • Finite expected utility effects, dropout, recurrence and harm relative to actual community care
  • Marginal public and provider resources committed to any leveraged expansion, plus health opportunity costs
  • Policy-specific adoption probability changes and implementation attributable to a new recipient gift

5. Funding and previous grants

Original twelve-month accrual returns report expenses of $1,656,677 (FY2023), $2,328,566 (FY2024) and $2,290,208 (FY2025), a mean of $2,091,817.00. The FY2024 return provides the earlier comparative figure. Original FY2024 Form 990 with FY2023 comparative totals

FY2025 functional expenses were $1,746,919 program, $402,107 management and $141,182 fundraising. The return describes $978,529 of technical assistance and $553,830 of outreach; these are accounting programs, not priced increments. Revenue was $2,669,296, including $1,458,756 government grants. The IRS expense total exceeds the audit's $2,287,841 by $2,367 of investment-management fees; the FY2024 difference is likewise its $2,113 fee. The displayed series consistently uses IRS totals. Original FY2025 Form 990 Original FY2024 Form 990 with FY2023 comparative totals

The audit reports total net assets of $2,106,107 but $1,534,685 restricted. Unrestricted net assets fell by $169,357 to $571,422, including a $515,000 board-designated reserve. It identifies $761,026 of financial assets available for general expenditure within a year and approximately $1.047 million of conditional cost-reimbursement grants not yet recognized. Neither the restricted surplus nor those conditional commitments are unrestricted spare cash; neither establishes a priced donation gap. FY2025 audited financial statements with FY2024 comparative totals

CSHA explains a public reimbursement route for school behavioral-health care. LACOE also provides grant-supported communities of practice, guidance and training. These resources can complement CSHA, but they are real alternatives when assessing whether an ordinary gift changes implementation. Private funds might pay for non-reimbursable coordination or flexible assistance; a district-by-district bottleneck and funding plan is needed before treating that possibility as observed leverage. Alliance explanation of behavioral-health financing Public capacity grants and technical-assistance alternatives

Fresh original-return checks show no separately netted event or inventory costs and no Schedule D donated-service addback in 2023–25. The 2023 reconciliation is $1,654,795 audited expense plus $1,882 investment fees, matching $1,656,677; the previously reported later fee reconciliations also match. Partner clinical resources and unrecognized volunteers are not thereby costless.

Annual expenses

Organization-level spending, including programs, administration and fundraising. The research list averages three comparable, consecutive full fiscal years when available.

  • FY 2023: $1.7M; California School-Based Health Alliance, EIN 94-3201896, 12-month period, Accrual Form 990 total expense, July–June fiscal year; includes investment-management fees consistently, unlike audit net presentation.. Source
  • FY 2024: $2.3M; California School-Based Health Alliance, EIN 94-3201896, 12-month period, Accrual Form 990 total expense, July–June fiscal year; includes investment-management fees consistently, unlike audit net presentation.. Source
  • FY 2025: $2.3M; California School-Based Health Alliance, EIN 94-3201896, 12-month period, Accrual Form 990 total expense, July–June fiscal year; includes investment-management fees consistently, unlike audit net presentation.. Source

6. Sources

  1. General donation route. California School-Based Health Alliance. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  2. 2025 impact report and partnerships. California School-Based Health Alliance. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  3. Current technical-assistance services. California School-Based Health Alliance. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  4. Inland Empire coalition and 2026 meetings. California School-Based Health Alliance. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  5. Alliance explanation of behavioral-health financing. California School-Based Health Alliance. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  6. Current CYBHI fee-schedule program and participation. California Department of Health Care Services. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  7. Public capacity grants and technical-assistance alternatives. Los Angeles County Office of Education. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  8. Original FY2025 Form 990. California School-Based Health Alliance / IRS, hosted by ProPublica. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  9. Original FY2024 Form 990 with FY2023 comparative totals. California School-Based Health Alliance / IRS, hosted by ProPublica. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  10. FY2025 audited financial statements with FY2024 comparative totals. California School-Based Health Alliance, hosted by Candid. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  11. School-based health centers: task-force systematic review. Community Preventive Services Task Force / The Community Guide. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  12. SHIELD randomized school depression-screening trial, final research report. Sekhar and colleagues / PCORI, hosted by NLM. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  13. Randomized effectiveness trial of interpersonal psychotherapy in school clinics. Mufson and colleagues / Archives of General Psychiatry; Mount Sinai repository. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  14. La Clínica naloxone case study. California School-Based Health Alliance. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  15. FY2023 original Schedule D gross expense reconciliation. California School-Based Health Alliance / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  16. FY2024 original Schedule D gross expense reconciliation. California School-Based Health Alliance / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  17. FY2025 original Schedule D gross expense reconciliation. California School-Based Health Alliance / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.