GiveBetter x California

California Dental Association Foundation

Dental access, community clinical education, professional wellness and prevention

Research time: ~4 min on GPT-6 Astra Light
  • Research — reviewed programs, finances and impact evidence.

Updated: 2026-09-14

Donate

Summary

What do they do? The California Dental Association Foundation supports access to dental care, workforce development and professional well-being. Its redesigned community clinics aim to connect patients with continuing dental care. The conditional estimate prices short-term symptomatic treatment with full recipient and modeled partner resources, not all portfolio benefits.

Why we’re interested in this organization:

  • Dental pain relief and effective ongoing care provide concrete health pathways.

  • Current special-needs care and rural access work reach people facing substantial practical barriers.

  • Original accounts and state grant sources distinguish public program scale from charitable cash leverage.

Our main reservations:

  • Volunteer recruitment and specialist capacity may bind before cash.

  • Public grant administration and professional support prevent treating every donated dollar as urgent treatment spending.

  • Reported procedures, dental-home placements and donated-care value are not measured incremental health.

What do you get for your dollar? $65.6M per better life: ten additional quality-adjusted life years in California. Conditional partial-health estimate at full recipient cost; other portfolio benefits unpriced..

687.6278000000001 modeled delivered course-equivalents; 85.95347500000001 additional course-equivalents before geography; net q=0.00747051387367806 QALY/course.

1. What do they do?

CDA Foundation, EIN 68-0411536, is a distinct charitable recipient from the dental association and its political entities. This report retains the whole Foundation portfolio, including professional wellness, education and grants rather than only volunteer clinical care. Foundation identity and scope Foundation donation route

The redesigned CDA Cares Connects model co-hosts smaller clinics with local providers to facilitate follow-up. A dental-home referral is an intermediate step: the relevant outcome is completed effective ongoing care beyond what would otherwise occur. Evolution of community clinic model

The August 2026 appeal seeks restorative dentists and oral surgeons for approximately ten special-needs patients at a September 19 Long Beach clinic, with general anesthesia and four surgical suites. It identifies Foundation-donated equipment and a Mending Kids partnership. This is a concrete live pathway and a volunteer need, not a verified cash-funded expansion opportunity. September 19 special-needs clinic volunteer request

2. Monitoring and information sharing

The current Connects page still contains a clearly dated October 2024 Trinity County event and cumulative totals. Its 107 dental-home placements are not a current year's treatment yield. No attendance-to-placement completion rate is calculated from these unmatched counts. CDA Cares Connects current program page

The 2025 annual report describes 25 approved rotation sites across seven dental schools, with public-grant work continuing through 2027, and a broad wellness program. Sites, students and professional training do not directly establish additional patient health. 2025 Foundation annual report

A Swedish prospective cohort compared root-canal treatment and extraction in 65 patients, measuring EQ-5D over a year. It found no significant between-treatment QALY difference, though the tooth-preserving group improved health-state values. Both groups received care; there was no untreated-access control. Its utility evidence is relevant to measurement but cannot establish the Foundation's treatment-versus-delay effect. Prospective dental treatment cost and EQ-5D cohort

Track unique patients, diagnoses, severity, completed treatment, time saved versus alternative providers, pain/functional utility, complications and return visits. Separate symptomatic treatment, routine prevention and ongoing dental-home care; count one overlapping pain episode once.

3. Qualitative assessment

A smaller clinic embedded in continuing care may be more useful than an isolated procedure. It also depends on a receiving dentist with capacity and an affordable payment route. For patients requiring anesthesia, transport, surgical availability and clinical suitability matter alongside dental volunteers.

The Foundation also protects existing fluoridation systems and develops communication resources. Its July 2026 account describes historical infrastructure work and present coalition activity; it does not identify an unfunded, donation-sensitive system decision or a causal share of future exposure changes. No numerical fluoridation health credit is added without that bridge, concentration-specific benefits/harms and distinct Foundation attribution. Foundation fluoridation protection work

Likewise, student support and clinician wellness can have real welfare and workforce benefits, but no credible current ordinary-gift conversion into retained clinical capacity was located. Unmodeled does not mean worthless. Association advocacy wins cannot be automatically attributed to this separate recipient.

4. What do you get for your dollar?

The conditional short-term dental-health price is $65.56 million per ten California QALYs. Cost includes all $3,438,139 of recipient spending plus $687,627.80 of modeled partner clinical resources. The partner allowance is not an observed donation valuation: it assumes $1,000 per delivered course, on top of a $1,000 allocated recipient coordination-and-care cost. A 20% symptomatic-care allocation is likewise a judgment, not a reported marginal program share.

The model implies 687.628 delivered course-equivalents before a 50% alternative-care discount and a separate 25% funding-response factor. Per additional course, the finite effect is 80% resolution probability times 0.04 utility gain over a quarter-year, continuously discounted at 3%, minus 0.0005 QALY of treatment burden. These clinical assumptions are not trial estimates, and the model does not multiply by completion twice. A 98% California resident-health share permits a little nonresident leakage despite California clinics.

The modeled gain is 0.629274 California QALYs. No anesthetic special-needs clinic is assumed to have this average burden or severity; its approximately ten planned patients are not used as the annual denominator. Prevention, fluoridation, education and workforce health remain unpriced. Publicly funded rotation and specialty-clinic capacity already available belongs in the counterfactual.

The central burden assumes comparable alternative treatment offsets both benefits and procedural harms for care that would occur anyway. A separate stress retains treatment burden for every funding-responsive course; its price is about $70.3 million per ten California QALYs.

Model, assumptions and sensitivity

All recipient annual expenses plus modeled unrecognized partner resources for the priced branch. Full portfolio cost, partial symptomatic dental health. Actual partner resources remain unknown.

California clinics support g_CA=.98 judgment for resident health, with low .9 and high1. Not inferred from headquarters; Foundation distinct from association and political entities.

N=E*f/k; C=E+N*z; q=s*u*(1-(1+d)^(-T))/ln(1+d)-h; Q_CA=N*a*b*q*g_CA; P10=10*C/Q_CA. k recipient resources/course, z additional partner resources/course. a alternative-care adjustment, b funding response. One pain episode only; no recurrent lifetime credit.

E
3438139 USD/year recipient expenses (observed). Original gross return reconciles to audit. [99024] [schedule2024]
f
0.2 symptomatic-care resource fraction (judgment). Judgment, not restricted gift allocation.
k
1000 USD recipient resources/delivered course (judgment). Coordination/care allocation prior, not fee quote.
z
1000 USD additional partner resources/delivered course (judgment). Volunteer/facility provision; not observed fair value.
a
0.5 alternative-care adjustment (judgment). Otherwise available or later treatment.
b
0.25 ordinary-funding response (judgment). Public/volunteer capacity and substitution.
s
0.8 clinical resolution probability (judgment). Judgment after delivered course.
u
0.04 utility gain while pain avoided (judgment). Subjective, not symptom-score conversion.
T
0.25 years of avoided untreated pain (judgment). Quarter-year only.
h
0.0005 QALY treatment burden/course (judgment). Subjective complications/procedure allowance.
g_CA
0.98 California resident-health share (judgment). California clinics, small leakage allowed. [connects]
d
0.03 continuous discount convention using ln(1+d) (judgment). Annual rate3%.
Q_other_CA
null California QALYs (unknown). Other portfolio clinical and policy effects omitted.

Conditional symptomatic-care central: Cost: $4.1M; California QALYs: 0.6292742949287736; all-population QALYs: 0.6421166274783404. f,k,z,a,b,s,u,T,h,g_CA = 0.2, 1000, 1000, 0.5, 0.25, 0.8, 0.04, 0.25, 0.0005, 0.98; d=.03.

Low benefit and higher resources: Cost: $3.8M; California QALYs: 0.0017284360804394174; all-population QALYs: 0.0019204845338215747. f,k,z,a,b,s,u,T,h,g_CA = 0.1, 2500, 2500, 0.2, 0.1, 0.6, 0.02, 0.1, 0.0005, 0.9; d=.03.

Favorable finite pain relief: Cost: $4.8M; California QALYs: 38.7660090988108; all-population QALYs: 38.7660090988108. f,k,z,a,b,s,u,T,h,g_CA = 0.4, 500, 500, 0.8, 0.5, 0.9, 0.08, 0.5, 0.0005, 1; d=.03.

No added health: Cost: $4.1M; California QALYs: 0; all-population QALYs: 0. No donation-sensitive effective care.

Net adverse stress: Cost: $4.1M; California QALYs: -1; all-population QALYs: -1. One California QALY lost; subjective stress.

Complete portfolio unpriced: Cost: $4.1M; California QALYs: unknown; all-population QALYs: unknown. Other health unpriced.

Retain all funding-responsive treatment burden: Cost: $4.1M; California QALYs: 0.5871570921787737; all-population QALYs: 0.5991398899783404. Central delivery/benefit assumptions; Qall=N*b*(a*s*u*integral-h), N=E*.2/1000,b=.25,a=.5,h=.0005. Alternative care does not offset any procedure burden; no extra clinical success/completion multiplier.

Counterfactual: Medi-Cal and alternative dentists, scheduled publicly funded capacity and partner volunteers continue. Count earlier effective treatment beyond these alternatives, not every referral or future clinic attendee.

Attribution: Completion is built into delivered course unit; s is clinical success, not another completion rate. a discounts comparable alternative care, b financing/capacity response, each once. Partner cost added once only for unrecognized resources. Because a multiplies the net effect including h, the central assumes equivalent alternative treatment offsets both benefit and burden for the (1−a) portion. h is incremental burden for the care actually changed, not all gross delivered courses. A separate unoffset-treatment-harm stress retains burden for all funding-responsive courses.

Allocation, clinical yield and partner resources are judgments. Dental cohort compares two active treatments and does not calibrate treatment-versus-delay utility. Complete portfolio value remains unknown.

Sensitivity

  • Unrecognized partner cost provision can be replaced with measured opportunity cost; do not use billed charity-care value as QALYs.
  • Prompt alternative care collapses the avoided-pain duration; general anesthesia requires a different burden model.
  • All clinical assumptions are subjective; favorable cases are not statistical bounds.

Unresolved inputs

  • Current unrestricted allocation and funded/volunteer bottlenecks.
  • Completed symptomatic courses, resident mix and untreated delay.
  • Measured pain utility, resolution and complication outcomes.
  • Partner resource value and other portfolio health.

5. Funding and previous grants

Original accrual Form 990 expense is $1,179,645 in 2022, $1,341,823 in 2023 and $3,438,139 in 2024. The comparable mean is $1,986,535.67; the 2023 filing supplies its prior-year comparative. Original 2023 Form 990 with 2022 comparative

The 2024 return records $3,143,336 program expense, $210,552 administration and $84,251 fundraising. Revenue is $2,770,863, including $2,356,175 government grants. Grants paid total $1,670,455. Net assets are $2,298,280, with $1,462,104 unrestricted and $836,176 restricted. The deficit and program growth warrant current liquidity questions but do not prove a particular clinic is cash constrained. Original 2024 Form 990

The 2025 annual report's $4,294,748 financial presentation comprises access to care, charitable care, grants/scholarships and education; it is not silently treated as a comparable full-recipient Form 990 expense year. 2025 Foundation annual report

Community clinical rotations have public tobacco-tax funding; the Foundation administers this program rather than independently financing all associated care. Publicly funded dental-school community rotations The state specialty-clinic program has $50 million authorized, including $2.5 million administration and $47.5 million awards, and is no longer accepting applications or scheduling new rounds. Existing funded facilities are not new private-gift leverage by default. Specialty Dental Clinic Grant Program funding and status

Freshness matters: DHCS now states the dental-benefit changes for certain existing adult members are delayed to July 1, 2027. Earlier 2026 materials with a July 2026 start are stale; new enrollment eligibility rules differ. The actual patient's current insurance and provider access must inform the care counterfactual. Current Medi-Cal dental benefit-change FAQ

Fresh original 2022–24 returns and Schedule D show no event/COGS addback and no recognized donated-service adjustment; each audited expense reconciliation matches the return. This does not prove volunteer clinicians or donated partner facilities have no resource cost. The model adds an explicitly judgmental partner-cost provision rather than labeling return expenses complete societal resources.

Annual expenses

Organization-level spending, including programs, administration and fundraising. The research list averages three comparable, consecutive full fiscal years when available.

  • FY 2022: $1.2M; California Dental Association Foundation, EIN68-0411536, 12-month period, Accrual Form990 total expense, calendar year. Source
  • FY 2023: $1.3M; California Dental Association Foundation, EIN68-0411536, 12-month period, Accrual Form990 total expense, calendar year. Source
  • FY 2024: $3.4M; California Dental Association Foundation, EIN68-0411536, 12-month period, Accrual Form990 total expense, calendar year. Source

6. Sources

  1. Foundation identity and scope. CDA Foundation. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  2. CDA Cares Connects current program page. CDA Foundation. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  3. Evolution of community clinic model. CDA Foundation. Published: 2026-01-14; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  4. September 19 special-needs clinic volunteer request. CDA Foundation. Published: 2026-08-18; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  5. 2025 Foundation annual report. CDA Foundation. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  6. Original 2024 Form 990. CDA Foundation / IRS via ProPublica. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  7. Original 2023 Form 990 with 2022 comparative. CDA Foundation / IRS via ProPublica. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  8. Current Medi-Cal dental benefit-change FAQ. California DHCS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  9. Specialty Dental Clinic Grant Program funding and status. California Treasurer / CHFFA. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  10. Publicly funded dental-school community rotations. CDA Foundation. Published: 2025-07-21; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  11. Prospective dental treatment cost and EQ-5D cohort. Wigsten et al., Clinical and Experimental Dental Research. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  12. Foundation fluoridation protection work. CDA Foundation. Published: 2026-07-13; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  13. Foundation donation route. CDA Foundation. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-13.
  14. Original 2022 Schedule D expense reconciliation. CDA Foundation / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  15. Original 2023 Schedule D expense reconciliation. CDA Foundation / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.
  16. Original 2024 Schedule D expense reconciliation. CDA Foundation / IRS. Published: not stated; retrieved: 2026-09-14.